0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Epiphone ES-339 PRO - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 49 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone ES-339 PRO - Natural?

Questions about the Epiphone ES-339 PRO - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from CA April 22, 2017Music Background:
    Hobby

    Worthy of the hype

    Just arrived. Absolutely phenomenal guitar. Packed to perfection, was even (basically) tuned when I strummed!

    I gotta ask, how is this guitar so great for the price? It’s really incredible. I bought it cause I wanted a light, easy playing guitar and the reviews were stellar…totally lives up to the hype!

    But seriously, what's the secret here?

  • from Orange County, CA January 31, 2017Music Background:
    Started playing in 1966. Playing again after a 40 year hiatus.

    Bargain of the decade

    Years ago, actually decades ago, I felt that Epiphone was an inferior, low-end guitar brand. In spite of my old memories, I decided to buy a cherry red ES339. After having played it for about 2 months, I have to say that my new Epiphone ES339 is a very, very nice instrument. It's easy to play, fairly light weight, it looks great and it sounds terrific. The workmanship is unbelievably good. There's not a single flaw, and I checked every square inch. I lowered the strings a hair which took about 10 seconds. Still, the intonation was/is spot an. I have my Epiphone ES339 hanging on the wall next to a Les Paul Standard and a Strat. The Epiphone gets the most attention from visitors. Imagine that. It's because it looks very cool. If you've been wanting a semi-hollow guitar, try this one. It's really that good.

  • from Philadelphia suburbs December 8, 2016Music Background:
    Music Industry Professional

    Impressive craftsmanship

    I am not a guitar player initially, but I've wanted a semi-hollow body electric for a long time. I was on the fence between this and the Epi 335. I like the Dot but wanted a smaller body size. Throw in the coil taps with the 339 and it became an obvious choice for me. It's a great looking guitar and it feels comfortable in my hands. It's a well crafted, solid instrument. Having sold a lot of guitars in a previous life, dollar for dollar, this is an incredible value for any non-pro.

  • from R.I. November 15, 2016Music Background:
    50+ years - learning

    my little gem

    I got this for a 'pick-up' guitar. What I mean by pick-up is: one that is small (and light enough) in the lap, not so pricey that I have to worry about leaving around (ready to pick-up).

    The price is RIGHT. The construction, fit, adjustability, finish and quality is as good as ANY. The sound variations/flexibility from those coil-splitting humbuckers is second to NONE.

    It's a comfortable size and weight ... a JOY to sit with ... and noodle all night long.

  • from Columbus Ga. July 18, 2016Music Background:
    55yr Rock,Soul 60,s

    ES 339 Greatness

    Ok, I hate to give reviews. BUT!! ++++
    .I have to say it. This is one great guitar. This is the 3rd Epiphone I,ve owned in the last 4 yrs and it build quality is tops. I'm not a Pro guitar player, although I have been playing for many years. I get Payed to play Keys or Bass so I know great tone and Quality. So if you think the low price means low Quality, forget it. This Guitar is made as well as my American Tele or my high end basses. If you are a Beginner or a seasoned PRO YOU WILL LOVE THIS Guitar.

  • from OHIO May 14, 2016Music Background:
    4193075380

    AWESOME GUITAR!

    HAVE TO SAY REALLY GREAT GUITAR FOR THE MONEY YOU SPEND FOR IT. LOVE THIS GUITAR!!!!
    LOOKS GREAT TOO! I BOUGHT THE RED (CHERRY) BEAUTIFUL COLOR. EPIPHONE OUT DID THEMSELVES ON THIS BABY. GREAT BUY!! PLUS THE FOLKS AT SWEETWATER --JEFF LAW AND OTHERS ARE EXCELLENT TO DEAL WITH! GET THIS GUITAR --YOU WONT REGRET IT !!

  • from Boulder, CO April 3, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Fabulous Guitar

    I have always wanted a thin line semi-hollow but with smaller body. I have previously owned full size hollows and semi hollows but they were always cumbersome to play for my small stature so I could only play them occasionally for short periods of time. When I read about the ES-339 Pro from EPI I was very interested but somewhat skeptical that I could really get the quality, playability and tonal nuance I was hoping for in a guitar at this price point. But review after review across the internet sings praise for this guitar. I asked my sales guy Jason Koons if he would pick me out a really nice one from the current stock and add in the Epi hard case for this as well (taking a big chance here). When it arrived I couldn't believe how insanely great this guitar is. Its just beautiful, no flaws, plays like butter and has warmth and nuance for days. Hands down one of the most versatile and easy playing guitars I have ever owned. Thanks Jason Koons and my friends at Sweetwater. Your the best

  • from Indiana January 31, 2016

    Great Guitar Regardless Of Price

    I've been playing guitar since 1957 during which I have owned and played a lot of guitars. Already owned a 335 copy guitar, but thought that since I really liked the semi-hollow sound that this small body would be a good fit for me.Ordered the guitar and Epi hardshell case about a year ago They arrived the next day with free shipping. (One of the advantages of living only a few hours away. Since that time I have found that I was right!

    I picked mine out from the pictures on the Sweetwater site (a great advantage on a guitar where the wood grain shows). Upon delivery I have to say that I was stunned by the looks and the fit and finish of this guitar. Once I plugged it in and played it I was even more impressed and it became my #1 guitar. Sweetwater's inspection and basic setup was great. It arrived flawless and ready to play after tuning one string slightly. I did put a set of 11's with a wound third on it soon after I tried it out after it arrived.

    The pickups in this guitar sound great, no need to change them. The coil splitting, although rarely used by me, is a nice option and makes a lot of tones available. Of course some say that the split coils don't sound like a Strat, but then neither does a Tele sound like a Strat. Some have said that it doesn't sound that much different than an LP. That could be true if played with a lot of OD or distortion (which I never use), but when played clean it sounds nothing like my LPs.

    This is a great guitar, and not just for the price. Actually it looks, sounds and feels like a much more expensive instrument. Very comforatable guitar to play seated or standing. I recently took it to a jam session with a group of guys I have known for over 50 years, and played in bands with during high school (50+ years ago). They own and play a lot of high priced guitars, but everyone one of them was really impressed with my Epi ES-339 Pro.

    As usual Sweetwater's customer service was great. They offer the type of customer service that used to be more common many years ago, but seems to have been lost in more recent times. It is that customer service that makes them my go-to place. My sales Engineer, Nate Edwards, is great and very helpful.

  • from Chicago Area January 12, 2016

    Great Guitar, Price and Service

    I continue to be impressed by the quality of epiphone products. The 339 was perfect in every way. Sweerwater's price was outstanding. As usual, Dave Wahlent was an excellent customer engineer. I will continue to shop at Sweetwater.

  • from Bear, DE September 30, 2015Music Background:
    retired professional.

    Did I just get really lucky ????

    I own a number of high end custom shop guitars. Every guitar I own was made in the USA. But I wanted a semi-hollow body for some different sounds. I thought long and hard about a Taylor and the Gibson 339. Then I looked at the Epiphone ES-339 PRO in natural finish on the Sweetwater site. I was very skeptical about a Chinese built instrument, but I picked one out of the four shown and it seemed to have a very nice top and back. I then called my sale engineer Aaron Smith and asked his advice on the Epiphone. He stated that he would personally look over the guitar I picked out. After hearing back from him, I purchased the guitar along with a hard shell case. Well, the guitar is just great. The finish is beautiful and the setup is fantastic. So now I'm wondering, did I get lucky? or are all the Epiphone ES-339 PRO's this good? Well I think its a combination of Epiphone building a great guitar for the money and Sweetwater making certain a guitar is setup correctly before it is shipped.

  • from Albany, NY May 30, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    More than I expected

    The video and photos of this guitar on this page do not begin to show its beauty and sound quality of this guitar. Other reviewers have captured this in words better than I am able. The natural finish is kind of a light golden color. I researched semi-hollow bodies for quite awhile before buying the Epiphone ES 339 Pro. I considered Taylor T5 z and Gibson ES 339 as well. I have just been playing electric and learning lead for about a year and have been using a Durango Guitar Works short scale solid body (24" scale length). It has helped my dexterity tremendously but I wanted something with warmer fatter tones and began looking at semi hollowbodies. After listening to many youtube videos I decided on this one. It just seemed to sound better to me. The size and weight are very comfortable and the sound quality is excellent. Buying from Sweetwater and getting the 55 point check seems like a no brainer. The action seems spot on. Highly recommend. Much value at a very affordable price.

  • from Mount Airy, NC May 25, 2015Music Background:
    20 years

    Excellent for the money at sweet water

    Epiphone Es339 pro. Buy it new and buy it from sweet water. Don't just buy it online. Speak to the sales rep and describe the setup you want. Mine was spot on. No buzzing and the fretwork and nutjob was great. Packaging was high quality.

    The guitar is an excellent licensed chinese copy of the Gibson. A few fit and finish details were missed on mine. One volume knob had some damage and the interior rim of the two F holes were rough. Other than that, the guitar plays beautifully. Stays in tune quite well. The tuning knobs have that nice aged yellow cream color. The blond finish allows the wood grain to shine through. Almost looks better from the back than the front.

    On first playing the guitar, I noticed that when bending strings, you could hear and feel a roughness to the fretboard. Because the setup was so good, I decided to try and "play off" the roughness. After about a week, the fretboard was completely clean. Had it not gone away, I'd have tryed some lemon oil and very light sandpaper.

    It is also substantially lighter than a les Paul or fender solid body. It isn't curved like a fender so you can easily end up with creases in your right forearm from the edge of the body of the guitar.

    Playing the guitar unplugged yields a lovely resonance, not quite the power of a full hollow body but it does allow one to play unplugged quietly while still producing enough sound to practice with.

    This guitar also features coil tapping which switches between humbucker pickups and single coil. The single coil option drops the sensitivity of the pickup substantially so you need to plan ahead by reducing volume by 30% at the guitar or on the volume pedal while on humbuckers so you can give it what it needs when you switch to single coil.

    When using the humbuckers, the bridge pickup is a bit quacky when played clean. Neck pickup is very dark. Together they sound marvelous. Going to single coil makes the bridge pickup even more quacky but improves the high end of the neck pickup substantially.

    It is extremely versatile. Experimenting with levels and pickup combinations gives you a myriad of sounds before even touching the amp.

    Great electric guitar to learn on and as a jack of all tones for amateur live settings.

  • from January 19, 2015Music Background:
    ex-pro

    Epiphone ES-339 Pro

    Straight out of the box I was very impressed, this is a great looking instrument. It came with the correct allen key for the truss-rod. With a couple of small adjustments to the bridge height on the bass side and the intonation, the guitar was good to go.
    It feels great in the hands, big enough to get some huge tone without being uncomfortable to play for long periods. The neck is not super thin, just nicely chuncky enough feel comfortable.
    It sounds lovely acoutsticly but once plugged in those ephiphone pro alnico pickups really make it sound special. They have ringing, almost bell-like highs and super fat, meaty lows. All fleshed out with a beautiful, woody depth to the mids. Pop them into single coil mode and they have all the classic jangle and twang you could want (although they drop a little in volume inevitably.) This makes the guitar an extremely versatile tone-monster and ideal for studio or stage. The tuning is rock-solid and it feels nice and loose with .10s on it, excellent for bends and vibrato. This finish on mine is almost perfect apart from a couple of very tiny scratches on the neck binding which do not effect playabiliy in any way. The neck and fretting are superb. No sharp edges and no filler, it's a lovely piece of rosewood. The binding is perfect around the body and the scratch-guard (the 'E' sticker peels off very easily if you don't like how it looks) The paint job is gorgeous wih no flaws at all. I can't think of enough good things to say about this instrument. For the price going here, it is practically a steal. Unless playing metal is your only concern, you owe it to yourself to check the Epi 339 pro out. They can handle almost any style of music and they do it in comfot and style, all for a superb price.

  • from Monroe LA November 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This guitar sounds fine, is versatile, and is a steal

    Buy this guitar. It sounds as good or better than what you would pay $2000 more for. Maybe it sounds just a bit--only a bit-- less complex and tonal than the Gibson Memphis ES-339, but the tones are certainly full, robust, and have that famous semi-hollowbody sound that is so amazingly useful wherever and whatever you are playing. The quality is outstanding, despite some earlier issues with quality control that seem to have been resolved. The neck has been reviewed in a more professional review as being slim but also substantial and strong. More importantly, it can take the abuse of practice.

    You might want to swap out the humbuckings in a few months, depending on whether you are primarily a blues, jazz, or rocker. Wait until you get a feel for what the limits of the sound are. I do mostly Grateful Dead-inspired jazz interpretations and the pickups are fine for me. If your tastes run more towards traditional blues or hard rock, this guitar can easily handle the load. Other destinations may require something different.

  • from Seattle, WA USA November 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AWESOME

    Was really blown away by the construction, the beauty and the sound of this guitar. Especially for the money. The pictures don't do it justice. I would recommend this to anyone beginners to advanced players as an everyday and a gig guitar.

  • from Texas November 11, 2014Music Background:
    Part time Pro

    Fantastic, Versatile Instrument

    The array of tonal variations on this guitar is amazing. Splitting the pickups separately exponentially increases it's versatility. It's a very comfortable instrument to play and according to documentation it contains high quality components. Even the probucker pickups contain the same components as the Gibsons, but not assembled in the US. Quality for the price is awesome and set-up is done by Epiphone in US. This guitar is a bargain and sounds fuller and richer than a Les Paul in my opinion. Great for rock, but reduce your drive/distortion and the dynamics really shine in a sweet, bluesy way.

  • from United States October 26, 2014Music Background:
    Visual Creative, Hand Drummer & Lover of Guitar

    Made The Right Choice Epi 339 Pro

    Pleasantly surprised with how well this guitar was made and how fun it is to play. For blues it's perfect, I changed the strings and Sweetwater did a great setup. Excellent service from Jeff Green as usual.

    This is my third guitar from Sweetwater and every one is a keeper. I can't put this one down. Great tone, amazing sustain, and the wood grain and finish are superb.

  • from Lacey, WA USA October 22, 2014Music Background:
    Ex pro musician, blues enthusiast

    Even better

    There is a bit of a story regarding my natural finish ES339 Pro. I originally ordered a black one. They were out of stock, but I ordered it anyway. Then I noticed that Sweetwater had four of the Natural ones IN STOCK, and I could check out the photos of all of them and pick the one I wanted. I did, and one of them had a little nicer grain in the wood than the others, so I picked that one. I emailed my Sweetwater guy, Nick LaMendola, gave him the serial number of the one I picked, and he swapped my order for the Natural one and had it out the door the next day. And boy, am I ever glad I swapped for the Natural finish! My guitar is just stunningly gorgeous. You can see my review of it below. One thing I forgot to mention in that review is the incredible sustain of this guitar ... it just hangs on for "days". I also forgot to mention that I also ordered the Epiphone hard shell case for it and that case is just as much a class act as the guitar. It is a VERY nice case! You definitely don't want to own a guitar as nice as this and not have a great case for it!

  • from Lacey, WA USA October 21, 2014Music Background:
    Ex pro musician, blues enthusiast.

    It doesn't get any better than this!

    My Epi ES339 Pro in natural finish just blew me away! The workmanship and finish on my guitar is just absolutely flawless, pictures just don't do that natural finish justice, it's just gorgeous.
    The action was set very nicely and the intonation was spot on from Sweetwater. Fretwork is great, the guitar plays just beautifully, no buzzing anywhere ... the neck feels like my old Les Paul Custom that was stolen did. I love the neck on this guitar!
    And those pickups sound fantastic! I have a solid body guitar made of 100% koa with Gibson '57 Classics in it. These pickups don't sound EXACTLY the same, but so close that I'm not even sure which I like the best, and the difference is probably not the pickups but the construction of the two guitars. Suffice to say that these pickups are KEEPERS. This guitar is drop-dead GORGEOUS, it sounds and plays as good as it looks, it is supremely comfortable, extremely versatile, and it's going to keep me grinning ear to ear for years to come! Its Gibson sister can't possibly be any better and you'll just have a $2,000.00 bigger hole in your wallet and no coil taps.

  • from clovis, ca. September 23, 2014Music Background:
    ameture

    EPI ES-339

    I MUST HAVE GOT THE PICK OF THE LITTER. THIS THING LOOKS GREAT IN EVERY RESPECT. HAD TO DROP THE ACTION DOWN A LITTLE. CAME WITH LITE 10 ON STRINGS WHICH I WILL NOT CHANGE TO MY USUAL LITE 9 (FULLER SOUND)
    I OWN A PRS AND JOHNNY A SIGNATURE AND FEEL AS COMFORTABLE WITH THE 339 AS I DO THOSE. FOR THE MONEY YOU GET ALOT OF GUITAR.

  • from Myrtle Beach, SC July 27, 2014Music Background:
    Praise team bass and guitar player, playing 30 years.

    Pleased, and proud

    I've played my new ES339 Pro for about 5 weeks and here is my take: This axe is terrific! I loved being able to select the exact guitar I would receive. It is far more beautiful than pictures suggest. Everyone comments on what a gorgeous guitar this is. The finish is a blond shade more 'creamy' than other natural finishes I've seen. It stands out without being gaudy or un-natural looking. It's light and comfortable to play; the size (in-between a big 335 and a LP) is perfect. The second day I had it I replaced the strings with D"Addario .010 gauge, The action was acceptable, and I left it alone for about 3 weeks, but then dropped it to .050" at the 12th fret and now it's buttery smooth with no fret buzz. Any of my band-mates that pick it up don't want to give it back! As for tone, it's rich and full. I often get pretty rambunctious and dig-in pretty hard with my chord work, and it's got a great, thick tone but still retains definition, even with minor 7ths and major 9ths! Also, the 3 position pickup-select gives 3 true separate tones The 339 Pro has the pull-to-engage single coil feature. On more melodic passages, such as ballads I use this with a chorus effect and have literally turned heads, within the band and from those in the audience that were compelled to comment. This is something I thought I've have no use for, but what a nice tool to have at your disposal. Now best for last; the sustain of this semi-hollow body is incredible! What else can say? Let a chord ring and it goes on and on, just amazing.
    I purchased the hard case with this since it's an 'in-between' size, and it's a beautiful case, but there was a slight flaw. I contacted Sweetwater about it and they could not have been more gracious, professional or expedient; had the replacement within a few days!
    I can't imagine spending what this costs and getting a better value; looks great, comfortable, plays smooth and sounds wonderful. I am absolutely thrilled with this purchase.

  • from PA July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Player 45 years

    Fantastic Guitar for the money!!

    Great quality for the price without a doubt. I own other semi-hollowbodies with much higher price tags but Epiphone nailed it with the 339. The pickups are actually very nice, no need to replace. The controls actually work perfectly for allowing great variation of useable tones. Kudos again for Epi putting out a great guitar.

  • from Valdese, NC June 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Talk about BANG for the BUCK!

    I wanted a decent semi-hollowbody guitar and I didn't really want to break the bank to get one. I looked at a lot of models such as the Fender Starcaster and the Fender JA-90 Thinline Telecaster during this process. After playing around with several models including these mentioned, I decided to buy the Epiphone ES-339. The ES-339 really surprised me with its feel and capabilities of sound and tone variety with the dual coil-tapping humbuckers. I'm also particularly impressed with the scaled down body size on this guitar. It has the fit and feel of a regular electric guitar without the extra bulk of the larger models. This guitar could very easily be my 'main' guitar. I'm totally impressed!

  • from Arcadia, LA May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    INCREDIBLE

    "Blown Away" pretty much sums it up. I originally wanted the Vintage Sunburst, but there were none in stock at the time, and I just couldn't wait any longer. I'm glad that circumstances forced a change of mind-- the pics online just don't do justice to the Natural finish. The creamy binding blends in and complements this finish perfectly.
    Playability is amazing. Smooth as butter. The frets were a little 'rough' in places, but a good playing-in has taken care of it. Also, the G-string nut slot had a bit of a pinch to it-- a small piece of 600 grit sandpaper run thru a couple times, and no more problems.
    The Alnico Classic pickups are amazing, as well. Epi's have, in the past, been synonymous with sub-par pickups. No longer. The neck pickup is as sweet and creamy as you'd want, and the bridge has plenty of bite and clarity. Both together gets a nice, woody tone with the best of both worlds. The neck p'up could be a bit muddy in the lower registers, but dropping it down on the bass side about 1/32" and it's perfect.
    I can't say enough good things about this guitar, really. Been playing for over 20 years, and this one beats everything I've ever owned, including some that were triple the price. Plays great, looks great, sounds great, and with the coil-split function, extremely versatile.

  • from Tampico, IL April 6, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Bass, song writer, studio musician

    Wow - what a great guitar! Unbelievable quality.

    I have been playing for over 42 years and I have may fine instruments. This is one of them. It came ready to play from Sweetwater right out of the box. I am so impressed with the guitar and the craftsmanship of the Epiphone ES 339 Pro. I can honestly say I don't' care where this guitar is made, it's a very fine crafted instrument. Something to be proud of by those who make it and those who own one. Thanks to Nathan Malone for his attention to detail on my order and follow-up! And most of all bravo to Sweetwater's techs and their 55 point check and evaluation to make sure you're getting the best! This is a real steal for the money.

  • from CA October 17, 2013Music Background:
    recording artist

    ES339 love affair @4 months and counting

    Hi folks,

    I've just read everyone's comments since my last visit. Just as I suspected, nary a bad word to be found, the ES339 is a winner.

    The only "modifications" I made were

    1) change the strings!!!! (original Epi strings were awful)

    2) raised the stop tail 3 full turns each side to reduce lateral tension on bridge (this as opposed to "top wrapping" the strings over the tailpiece, like Robben Ford's red SG)

    3) tweaked the truss to get relief at 7th fret down to 0.005" (down from 0.006"), rechecked intonation, remained just fine. Octaves and jazz chords sound good.

    Super soulful guitar, goes great with Boogies, Dumble clones and Marshalls. Does jazz, blues, and electric fusion with the best of them. So much more comfortable than a 335. I love the pickups and would not think of changing them. They have a really nice, lively '57 Classic sound, that to me, sounds more like a mid to late 1960s Gibson pickup. The true test is, how do they sound CLEAN? Answer: Just fine thanks!

    If I were a rich guy, I'd send one of these to Carlton, Ford, Ritenour and Lukather. Jay Graydon too. All those LA studio 335 guys should have one of these. I'd leave the expensive stuff at home and bring the $400 guitar on the road. Nobody in the audience would mind a bit.

    Glad to see everyone likes their 339. Apparently Epiphone is making a very consistently good product. I sometimes suspect much more so than what comes out of Memphis, at 6 times the price.

  • from Austin, TX July 17, 2013

    Awesome Guitars

    I bought this guitar a few months ago. The tone is amazing and I love the feel and natural finish of the instrument. I'm always getting compliments on the looks and sound of this guitar as well, and I actually liked it so much that I bought a second one. Overall the workmanship is very good apart from one very small cosmetic detail, which is the paint on the inside of the f holes. However, the price and sound of this instrument is unbeatable. I highly recommend this guitar!

  • from Atlanta GA USA April 1, 2013Music Background:
    40 year guitar player

    Very Satisfied

    This is one of the best buys out there. I wanted a hollowbody that was more comfortable than the 335 I have and this one is just that. The Chinese manufacturing has really improved and the quality is very high. Contrary to what I had read about this guitar, the coil splitting is really a very usable feature on this guitar and provides a fairly wide variety of very usable tones for a hollowbody. Sweetwater does the best job in the business of ensuring that the guitars they sell are set up to factory specs and that there are no other problems and this one was perfect right out of the box. Jon Gillespie (Sales Engineer) followed up to make sure this was the case as he has done on previous purchases. Sweetwater is the best in terms of service whether its an expensive guitar or a less expensive one like this one.

  • from Denver Area November 16, 2012Music Background:
    28+ years of guitar playing

    Epi ES339 Pro

    I've played guitar for 28+ yrs. and have owned most of the good stuff. I just received the Epi ES 339 Pro from Sweetwater and I'm blown away by the quality of workmanship, the tone and the Pickups! If you blindfolded me and I played this guitar I would swear I was playing a Gibson ES339, except the Gibson doesn't have coil splitting and costs $2100.00 MORE. Great job Epiphone & Sweetwater.
    Thanks Dennis K.

  • from Boise, Idaho USA November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Been playing guitar for 45 years. Started in the old garage band in 1967. Currently retired from a law enforcement carreer, and playing in a Beatles Tribute Band in Boise, Idaho; Tomorrow Never Knows. Thanks Sweetwater!

    Great Guitar

    Great guitar! ( 5 ) Stars! Great service from Sweetwater! Thank you to Aaron Smith and Patrick Dennis!

  • from Ohio Valley, Ohio July 6, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, advanced home recordist, multi-instrumentalist

    Hard to believe VALUE!

    How can you go wrong with this beautiful value? I chose the natural body since I already had an Ibanez AS-73 with a Translucent Cherry Red finish, otherwise, I might have chosen that model. After talking to my sales engineer, Michael Griebe, I was able to snag the last one. When I looked on line a few days earlier, there were three.
    Upon arrival, the guitar was flawless, clean and well set up. That's one big advantage to buying from Sweetwater with their 55-point inspection and set-up. This guitar has Grover tuners as opposed to the listed Wilkinson tuners, but they are just as nice if not better. I am not sure if the pickups are the Probuckers as originally seen in Epiphone ads, but think are Alnico Classic Pro humbuckers. Whatever they are, I approve! Love the coil taps and the smaller, more reasonable body size, Will be using this at my next gig. This model is highly recommended. No regrets. It may be out of stock currently, but more will come in. I also recommend getting the hardshell case since other standard cases will probably not fit the in-between size of the guitar. Also, it is a good idea to have a nice, form fitting hardshell case for semi-hollow bodied guitars.

  • from Eugene (Another home of the Blues, baby!) July 3, 2012Music Background:
    Started playing at 23 , was hired at about 27 on my first audition.The leader told mr to get in another band "right away" when the band broke up -- but I didn't, but I still play and try to get others started.

    Epiphone ES-339 PRO (Natural)

    I love this guitar. Nice tone, you can mix single coil from the neck with humbucker at the bridger and get some deeper and more complex leads that still have bite to them.
    Neck feels smooth and fast.
    Nice hollow body tones can shine through.
    I play mostly leads ('cause I don't sing), and this will riff like crazy.
    I play this currently through a vintage earl 80's Laney Pro Linebacker (50 watts)
    And by the way -- it looks better in person, has a creamy ambience to it -- really nice. I took the pickgaurd off to show off the body.

  • from Birmingham,Al May 28, 2012Music Background:
    Active 35+ years

    Great Guitar

    Wonderful guitar! Fit and finish on mine are flawless. I highly recommend this instrument.

  • from melbourne, FL March 22, 2016

    Epic for the price point!

    I've always wanted a guitar of this style and I'm glad I ended with the ES-339. The neck shape is great and fun to play. The pickups are really amazing - maybe not perfect PAF tone but something very good and musical with lots of nuances to be explored. With the coil tapping you can get TONS of great tone out of this guitar. Set the neck P/U to humbucker and the bridge to single coil, then use the volume and tone for each set to mix up a killer tone. Trust me you can find lots of good usable tones here and its so fun discovering whats possible. You will need a good quality tube amp to really get this guitar going, but it also sounds amazing thru my roland jc40 and marshall asd100. For the money it might be one of the best guitars out there, but only if you don't mind that its from China. I don't and I love it! I should note that a vibration comes from the bridge on my guitar and a skilled local luthier was unable to correct the problem. You can easily hear it when unplugged but luckily doesn't show up when plugged in. The clear finish is really cool and better in person than these pictures show. Comes w/o a case - you will definently need some sort of case - I got a hardshell epiphone case and its perfect for this instrument. Get it - you won't regret it for the price point.

  • from January 15, 2016

    ES 339

    Beautiful guitar. Finish is very nice on this natural guitar. As other reviewers have posted the black on the inside edge of the f holes is a little sloppy but only noticeable upon very close inspection. The set up is pretty good, and the neck is very comfortable. It will probably need some better stings but that's not even really worth mentioning. The guitar arrived two days after I placed the order and was followed up with a phone call from my sweet water salesman verifying everything arrived in order. Customer service has been very good. I would have no issue ordering from sweet water again. Nice axe great customer service!

  • from Ohio August 28, 2015Music Background:
    Classical string, choral, R-n-R, Metal, historical

    Epiphone ES-339 PRO - Natural

    The ES-339 PRO - Natural arrived today in excellent fit and form. Intonation properly set, action remarkably low with no fret interference. Comfortable neck , weight distribution and potentiometer access. Superior grain and finish - many thanks to Sweetwater's Guitar Gallery as I was able to choose the example I preferred. A lot of 'bang for the buck' and an excellent first impression.

  • from New Jersey February 28, 2014Music Background:
    Self-Taught Picker

    I believe unmatched for the quality at that price

    Purchased in last October. Have now had months to enjoy playing. Must say , I don't believe I could have gotten "more" guitar for a cheaper price. 339s might be made in China, but Epiphone's quality control has outdone itself at that price. Not too mention Sweetwater's classy , and professional help . Couldn't have had a better experience shopping online. ......Aric ,,,again thank you !

  • from Prineville Oregon December 18, 2013Music Background:
    A Player

    My New Favorite Guitar

    When this guitar arrived, the strings on it were not acceptable and the fret board was extremely dry. The frets themselves had been filed with the course file and there were still shavings laying loose on the fret board. So in the process of changing strings I got out some steel wool, shined up the frets and put a couple of coats of lemon oil on the fret board. A little bit of work and a new set of strings made this my favorite guitar to play. I've got Les Paul's, Fender Strats and some special built guitars and the 339 Pro sounds better than any of the other guitars. This guitar has made me an Epiphone fan. This is an exceptional value.

  • from Jasper GA September 30, 2013Music Background:
    35 years of playing guitar and bass

    Hard to beat for the price

    Would have gave it a 5, but had to get the guitar setup, cause of neck twisted so bad. But now if it sounded like this out of the box it would have been a very happy 5. Love the guitar now an the case i bought with it. Pickups are great and sounds good with a Peavy Classic 30 tube amp.

  • from CA June 24, 2013Music Background:
    recording artist

    $400 guitars shouldn't sound so good

    If you keep an open mind, you'll get an instrument that does everything you want, for $400.

    Perhaps like me, you've already got a fine collection of American guitars. You always wanted a smaller ES335, like a ES339 or CS356 but couldn't justify the cost, considering you already have an SG and/or Les Paul.

    I noticed some tool marks here and there, dye missing in a few small spots on the fretboard, not quite up to Gibson Custom Shop standards. However, what an outstanding guitar for $400! Did I mention it costs $400? Neck pocket was extremely flush, as was the binding all around. I measured the relief at the 7th fret at .006", not quite my .005" setting, but very very close. I'll bet I could dial in the .005 without any buzzes around the 12 fret.

    I hooked my new Epiphone up to my trusted Ethos, the output fed into a TC G-Major, using a bit of reverb and delay. Gorgeous sounds, lush mid 1970s Larry Carlton and 80s Santana and Robben Ford. All available for $400. Really good sustain.

    Clean tone also surprizingly excellent. Intonation very good, gave it the old Wes Montgomery octave test. Jazz chords sounded really pretty.

    I'll probably never travel with any of my Gibsons, PRS or Fenders, again. If the airlines destroy a $400 Chinese guitar and subsequently reimburse me, I'll get another $400 ES339 guitar.

    One complaint? The F-Holes look like they were colored in with a black Sharpie. The lower F-Hole sometimes looks distorted, as if cut incorrectly. It's just the black Sharpie.

    I might have to buy a few more of these, and sell a few Gibsons :} Nice guitar at any price.

  • from Springfield, MA October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist/performer; have been playing for 12 years

    Great blues guitar for the money

    I have a Gibson LP and a Fender Deluxe Strat but I was looking for something light weight with a nice fat blues sound that didn't break the bank. This guitar is just what I was looking for. It's my first semi-hollow body and it's not much larger than my solid body guitars so it felt comfortable right out of the box. The humbuckers deliver a rich full sound and the coil taps give you more tonal variations if you need them. I rarely use them but you never know. This is the first non-American made guitar that I have purchased and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the fit and finish of this guitar far exceeded my expectations. It's beautiful! I couldn't find any imperfections on it. A few of the frets needed a little polishing and the input jack needed snugging up but so far those are the only problems I've encountered. The guitar stays in tune very well despite my bending the strings a lot. I think that this guitar is a great buy.

  • from United States June 13, 2012Music Background:
    35 years amateur guitarist

    Surprising nice!

    I didn't have high expectations for a cheap guitar made in China, but I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived today. Setup was perfect, finish is good, sound is very nice on the single coils, especially with both pickups selected. The only thing holding me back from the 5 star rating is the double-coil sound on the bridge pickup is a little flat. By comparison, by Gibson ES339 was brighter, but then again, my Epi Sheraton I used to have was also a little flat on the same pickup. But for the price, the playability and versatility of this guitar can't me matched.

  • from hello Cleveland! May 9, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician, luthier

    Epi 339

    This just might be the best value in a guitar under $400, and this and the Ultra 339 are easily the best new Epi models in years.
    They are both more versatile than their much more expensive cousin, the Gibby 339.
    With four pots, three way switch and push pull coil tapping, there are EIGHT available sounds, H/S, H/H, S/H,S/S, neck only or bridge only. humbucking,neck only or bridge only single coil.
    You can get a reasonable 335 sound and fair Tele as well.
    And, beleive it or not- the p'ups are good and work well when split. I've never found humbuckers that sound good split before. This new downscale size is much more 'weildy' than a Dot,.

    This guitar would rate perfect for the sort of guitar it is[-blues/R&B] but it does have that typical Asian feel to the top of the fretboard, i. e., super flat, .with frets that could use more polish.
    The nut is kinda poo, too but most anything under a grand is.
    [ For what I've paid, I'll pull the frets and roll the fretboard edges.]
    No need to change p'ups thou!
    The back neck profile is just fine, however, not too fat like a Sheradon, not too thin like some shredbeast. Too thin, you'll lose tone.

    Be shure to check the pics of each serial #, especially the back/neck, for best colourmatching.
    Get one and get your "Keef' on!

  • from granbury, TX February 8, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Gr8 guitar

    This guitar is very nice sounds gr8 and with the coil split the amount of different tones are unlimited. Super thick humbucker tones and pull out volumes and get bright single coil tho the volume drops off a little. Gotta be careful with the pots tho and don't do like me and break one two days in!!!! Trying to remove knob and pulled the switch right out but luckily I was able to find a complete wiring harness on eBay for under fifty bucks and now good as new. And as always Sweetwater was the best!!!!

  • from Sandpoint , Id. USA September 27, 2014Music Background:
    student

    Epiphone ES-339 Pro

    I was looking for a good lightweight (comfortable) electric guitar that is easy to learn to play. Although it is a little heavier than I thought it might be, it plays and sounds wonderful. I can easily overlook the couple extra pounds. The slightly smaller size is great, cuz I don't have big hands, and you can't beat the price. It's a beauty!

  • from Minneapolis, MN July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Perpetual amateur

    A Player's dream

    The good reports I keep reading about this guitar led me to take a swing at it, and it is a remarkable value, indeed. The feel and playability beats many costlier guitars. This 339 and it's Big Brother--the Epiphone ES-335 Limited Pro--have forced me to re-think the whole high-end guitar thing, of which I have quite a few nice pieces that I'm wondering what I'll do with. Obviously, the finish and craftsmanship of these Epi's constantly reminds you that you're playing a mass-produced import; you won't mistake this for a hand-crafted master-built work of art. Unless you close your eyes. The pick-ups sound good enough for rock'n roll, and the split-coil feature actually works better than what I've been used to--the Epi seems to have very little volume drop, and sounds darn good in single-coil mode. The neck carve on these feels just right to me. The action is fine and tuning is not an issue. I really like playing it with the band, and my expensive guitars get to stay at home. This is such a surprising find for me: a great playing guitar for not a lot of money. Who would have thought?

  • from Annapolis, MD January 25, 2014

    My New Favorite

    Epiphone's 339 is a swiss army knife of tone, chock full of tons of classic sounding goodness. Excellent build quality, comfortable playability, and its variety of tones makes this guitar an unbeatable value. If you're thinking about getting one, do it. You won't be disappointed.

    A quick search will turn up tons of video demos online of folks playing jazz on the 339. Understandable, but I prefer to wail on mine in the style of Alex Lifeson, treating the 339 like a smaller (and cheaper) version of Lifeson's famous 355. All of the early Rush tones seem to leap from the guitar with a few twists of a knob or flip of a switch.

    I'm convinced that whatever your favorite tones are you can find them somewhere in this great workhorse of a guitar.

  • from Richmond, VA. June 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Epiphone ES-339 Pro

    This is listed as a solid body guitar but it is a semi-hollow, a small 335. This is a tremendous value for $399 and a lot less bulky. I have had good luck with Epi necks and frets even though they're not as finished as a Gibson, but for this price who cares? It'll wear in.

    The first one I ordered had one problem fret. The 12th was too low but Sweetwater sent a new guitar immediately.

    I like the Epi more than its Gibson counterpart because of the coil tap. Like many split coils it's a compromise but it does a good enough job of both AND it's nice to be able to split either pickup. There aren't many single coil semi-hollow body guitars out there. Great ax for the money.

  • from Ohio September 30, 2015Music Background:
    Classical, choral, r-n-r, metal, historical

    Epiphone ES-339 PRO - Natural

    Excellent fit and finish , super wood grain / top and back , very pretty.
    Sweetwater Guitar Gallery, 55 point check, and ultra fast shipment are a big plus.
    Humbucking pickups slightly tinny and twangy but a decent basic platform for amps or pedals.
    Some trouble staying in tune ; I changed the strings which helped but think it could use locking machines.
    Slim neck good for players with smaller hands.
    Lots of bang for the buck @ 1/6 the price of the G-brand...and buy the case, too.

Questions about the Epiphone ES-339 PRO - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway