0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Taylor ES-Go GS Mini Acoustic Soundhole Pickup Reviews

4.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Taylor ES-Go GS Mini Acoustic Soundhole Pickup?

Questions about the Taylor ES-Go GS Mini Acoustic Soundhole Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Greg Smith
    from Texas May 12, 2014Music Background:
    musician for 40 years

    Taylor ES-Go GS Mini acoustic pickup

    Installation was very easy. Pickup sounds great. I do not hear any of the pickup noise issues I had seen in other reviews.

  • Greg
    from Austin, TX April 18, 2014

    Taylor ES-Go GS Mini acoustic pickup

    Installed in less than 15 minutes.
    Sounds great.

  • Ken FilloffKcfilloff
    from Fort Wayne IN. July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Still learing

    Taylor Ed-g6

    The team at sweetwater excellent sales people

  • Gerry Norris
    from Strathroy, Ontario, Canada April 22, 2012Music Background:
    Long time musician and guitar player

    A Perfect Match

    The Taylor GS Mini is an awesome guitar...far better than I expected...and the Taylor Es-Go pickup designed specifically for the Mini is a perfect match! Rich natural reproduction of the Mini"s bright sound is what you can expect. The pickup "floats" at the soundhole so there's no interference with the vibration of the top unlike other soundhole pickups. A preamp/EQ will help dial in some of the bass..(Remember, It is a travel guitar!) but with this setup, you can play anywhere.

  • Gary
    from Fernandina Beach, Florida January 16, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    ES-Go perfect match for GS Mini

    This pickup is perfectly matched to the GS Mini and the sound of the combination is superb when played through my VOX 30 set to Boutique CL with reverb. The pickup response is even across all of the strings and there is absolutely no noise or hum. No volume control could be an issue for some, but it is not a problem for my situation. Installation was simple, taking about 10 minutes and a small phillips screw driver. The ES-Go/GS Mini combination sounds vintage Taylor - hard to believe the sound is coming from such a small guitar.

  • jim miller
    from St. louis Mo. August 30, 2011Music Background:
    over thirty years having fun playing guitars

    Taylor ES-GO

    The ES-GO is a neat deal. It is so easy to install and works just great though my amps. My hats off to Taylor on this item. I more than happy with my GS Mini and the ES-GO. I have more fun with this set up than playing mt old D-16 or my thirty four year old a Strat. Jim Miller

  • Ray R.
    from Friendsville, Pa. November 21, 2016

    Exactly what I expected

    I haven't played with the pick up much yet, but I have tried it out in my Mini Hog through my Line 6 Spider Jam. It sounds exactly how I expected. I'm used to the characteristics of a magnetic sound hole pick up, and this one sounds as good as any that I've ever experienced. It is super easy to install, and without the pick up touching the sound hole of the guitar, it does not affect the acoustic sound of the guitar one bit. It doesn't look too bad, you can hardly notice it. Definitely pretty cool to be able to plug in any time the opportunity arises with no worries about batteries. I did not have any of the noise that other reviewers have mentioned, and it's pretty well balanced, so it sounds pretty good. The biggest gripe that most will have, is probably the low output. especially if you are used to any of the many really great sounding pick up systems out there. I don't know how the built in systems on Taylor guitars sound, but for the price, and the convenience, I think the ES GO is a great additional value to an already awesome little guitar!

  • Jerry D.
    from Wayzata, MN USA June 14, 2014Music Background:
    Ex pro musician, now a hobbyist

    Made for each other

    I think Taylor Guitars did a fine job on the ES-Go mag pickup for the GS-mini guitar. Installation was a snap, (literally). The unit has little hum or other noise and exhibits a pleasing acoustic tone at lower volumes. When you turn up the volume, it roars nicely. My one gripe would be the lack of a volume-pot thumbwheel; on the unit itself, a minor point. I purchased the Taylor/Rapco v-cable which addresses this concern and which I recommend.

  • The Coastal Gentleman-David Broadbridge
    from Covington, LA September 3, 2015Music Background:
    40 years playing--occasional gigging

    Easy Install!

    Installed in less that 10 minutes. It may come in handy if I'm ever out of town and someone want me to do a live gig and all I have is my travel guitar...I'll be able to plug it in!

  • Dave Tyler - Tylerland Studios
    from Rome, NY September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Producer and Engineer

    Perfect Pickup for the Taylor GS Mini

    The Es-Go pickup was an easy installation and great sounding addition to the Taylor GS Mini. It is more mid range and bass, so one must correct via a pre-amp if a more natural sound is desired.

  • fm
    from NYC NY February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Pretty good sounding pickup!

    I bought this with a GSMini- wanted a small gig rig, and didn't want to be hauling my expensive acoustic out to a bunch of barooms. Dennis Konichi suggested this over the built in GS guitars with built in electronics- This thing is pretty full sounding, less mid-rangey than other acoustic pickups I've used, and overall, the guitar sounds great. I had been using a Dean Markley Pro-Mag for years, which was fine, but this sounds just as good, if not better, and I don't have to worry about forgetting it for a gig- it stays in the guitar.....Still getting used to the size of the guitar a bit, but overall, it's an easy haul and sounds great.

  • Nelson Smith
    from Columbia, North Carolina January 24, 2014

    Easy Installation

    Installation was a snap. Was pleased with the quality and loudness of the sound considering it being a passive pickup. I would have rated it a 5 however it does emit an annoying hiss with the volume turned up due to the pickup's grounding issues. Have ordered the grounding kit with fuse from Taylor, so, hopefully, that will resolve this issue. (Taylor needs to have the grounding fix included with the pickup.)

  • Dick West
    from Hayden, Idaho November 25, 2013Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    ES-Go mini acoustic pickup

    This is an easy to install upgrade for the Taylor GS mini which is a great guitar for those who need a portable, small sized guitar that sounds amazing. I installed this because I camp a lot and wanted something to go along with my Roland AC-33 acoustic amp that can be battery operated. The installation is very easy as the mount is already installed in the guitar. I think if you try this you will not be disappointed!

  • Randy Payment
    from Dover, NH June 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    ES-Go Pickup

    The ES-Go pickup is an easy to add pickup designed specifically for the Taylor GS Mini. The install took around 10 minutes just as advertised.

    I read some negative comments about noise (hum) with the ES-Go. I have a Fender G-DEC 30 amp with numerous modes. In fact there is some hum when using the Acoustic mode on this amp, however the hum is no worse then the hum from my other acoustic guitars. I also have custom mode on the amp which is clean with no gain and high volume which does not have any hum. It seems the ES-Go is not more noisy than other pickups and any hum is probably caused by noisy amp setups with high gain settings.

    It is hard to beat this simple elegant pickup solution for the GS Mini.

  • Nicholas Peter
    from SC, USA May 13, 2013

    ES-Go GS Mini Acoustic Soundhole Pickup

    This product works great. It was so easy to install and it sounds great when plugged up. It hard to even notice that its there but it does a great job at picking up what you are playing. Real good product.

  • June Esquierdo
    from January 30, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Hobbbyist, Church PW Leader

    GS Mini's Ideal Partner

    Fits perfectly with Taylor GS MIni...excellent guitar pickup design and innovation . Installation took me 15 minutes. Tweaking through my Mackie mixer improved the sound. Overall..its a nice pick-up and compliments well with the GS Mini.

  • rich butler
    from galesburg mi usa March 25, 2012Music Background:
    musician, musical instrument dealer

    taylor esgo

    met my expectations very well. nifty, easy to install and use. make sure you get the volume control cable.

  • peter royles
    from Australia June 15, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    taylor ES-GO

    This pick up is very easy to install,
    i,ve had no problem with it, it just needs
    the help of a pre amp to boost the volume
    i have a compresser with a pre amp
    this works well no problems it sounds very clear
    good acoustic tone;

  • John R.
    from Encinitas, CA USA January 11, 2011Music Background:
    long time hobbyist and ocassional performer

    decent pickup and easy to install yourself

    I bought the ES-Go along with the V cable and ended up returning it as I found it too quite for what I wanted it for. I play open mic nights and it is usually too much hassle to use a preamp or DI box. When I run it through my TC helicon Harmony G-XT it sounds great due to the added clarity and boost from the preamp. Without a preamp and just plugging it straight into my Roland SA300 it sounded anemic and a bit muddy. So it really depends on your situation whether or not it would work for you. The best thing is all you have to do to install it is loosen the strings. Remove the strap pin and reinstall the end pin jack, plug the cable into the pickup, slip the pickup under the strings, snap it into place and adjust the height. 10 minutes tops and all you need is a small Phillips head screwdriver. The extra purchase of the V cable gives you the volume and noiseless plug and unplug capability. If you always use a preamp you would probably like the pickup. I opted for a full ES system retrofit at the Taylor factory and was blown away. The down side is that the pickup cost as much as the guitar but for me it was worth every penny.

  • Jeff
    from Lansing Illinois October 28, 2015Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Musician, Songwriter,

    Not for Leftys.

    I was having such a problem with this thing after i installed it. It just didn't sound good, so I called Taylor just to ask a few questions on it and they informed me that this pickup does not work well in the left handed gs mini, so unfortunately i have to send it back. Such a great design for a pickup though and installation couldn't have been simpler.

  • Nelson Smith
    from Columbia, NC March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    swapped mine for a lr baggs

    I had written an earlier review giving it 4 stars. However, since my recent experience with the grounding wire I feel an update is needed. First, when I called Taylor Support after experiencing a hum and hiss from my amps after plugging in, I was told my outlet must not be grounded and was probably the culprit. They said it was not in the es go pickup. I was confused by this answer because my two Taylor's and martin guitar when plugged in did not emit a hiss from the amp. I requested the grounding.kit and paid a relatively large amount for it. I had no problem installing the grounding wire; however, it was a little more difficult than installing the es go. Once installed, the hiss went away. I was a happy camper until a few days ago when the hiss returned. The fuse had blown. I have no clue as to what caused this to happen. I know my house electrical system is grounded as my son is a licensed electrician and verified this. I know there are fuses you can purchase from Taylor, but after checking their web site for a good while I could never find them. I was ticked off by now so I removed the es go from my gs mini and installed a lr baggs m1. The quality of sound was much better and there is no hiss. The baggs was just a little more than the es go and grounding kit combined. Evidently the es go has circuitry issues based on the number of posts that have been posted on this subject. I love my Taylor guitars but their es go pickup is junk.

  • Neil Kraft
    from Ohio June 29, 2013Music Background:
    Novice

    Adequate

    As for ease of installing I give five stars, but for sound and adjustability this pickup is nothing to right home about. I would rather have an under the saddle pickup. I have to process the signal to get a good tone from this.

Questions about the Taylor ES-Go GS Mini Acoustic Soundhole Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway