0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Epiphone SG Special - Ebony Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone SG Special - Ebony?

Questions about the Epiphone SG Special - Ebony?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Northeast, PA April 13, 2017

    Great Epiphone SG Special

    Very nice guitar right out of the box. Set-up perfectly and plays really well. ' Bought this to keep out of a case so that I would more often. I'm really amazed at how well these Epiphones are made. 'Love the tone on this one and Sweetwater's Robert W. once again took great care of my order! Thanks very much!!

  • from TX January 5, 2017

    A Great Value

    I've always wanted an SG style guitar to add to my collection. The iconic SG profile was a must have for me and the Epiphone SG Special fit the bill perfectly. I love the short, fat scale on the Epi Special guitars. When the guitar arrived (double boxed), I immediately gave it a good going over and it was completely flawless. Mine is an Indonesian build and is an excellent example. The setup was pretty good out of the box but still room for improvement which is what I like. The controls on the Special are simple, smooth and very reactive. The PUPs are surprisingly clean and articulate.

    This will be an Iommi tribute but just aesthetically, the hardware will remain the same. I was hoping for a very dark rosewood fretboard and that's what I got, it's almost black and will be a great contrast background for the Jockomo cross inlays. Gibson brand, chrome humbucker covers fit the Epi PUPs very well. All in all, I'm extremely pleased and would recommend this guitar to anyone interested in an SG style. Very important also, is the customer service and fast shipping that you get from Sweetwater. They are, without a doubt, THE number one online outlet for guitars, parts and accessories. Thanks to Mr. Thorpe for a great Christmas.

  • from Pennsyvania March 19, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Nice cheap guitar

    I wanted an SG style guitar and this one was cheap enough I wouldn't be afraid to change things around and customize it. I have to say I am impressed with how easy this guitar is to play. I can shred the hell out of it! I also put black metal pickup covers on it and replaced the knobs with sleeker looking ones. The pickups do the job. I may replace them sometime, happy with it all for the moment. The kill button on the tone isn't something I really use, I'd rather have a coil splitter but it is what it is.

  • from Atlanta, GA June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Beginner Guitar!

    This is my first guitar in my 40 year old life. It sounds great and it's easy to play. For the money it is a great deal, and I highly recommend it to anyone starting out on an electric guitar!

  • from Arbutus, MD January 24, 2013Music Background:
    song writer

    Epiphone SG Special (Ebony)

    I purchased the SG Special for my girlfriend for Christmas and she loves it. She's a Telecaster girl but the SG blows her away. She hasn't put it down since she got it!

  • from Michigan City, IN September 4, 2014

    Really Nice!

    This is a very nice basic guitar. It stays in tune and i love the neck and fret board. I didn't have to sand the fret ends. And of course it sounds great!

  • from May 31, 2010

    Great for the money

    i have played this guitar before and it is awesome. the neck feels very comfortable for it being a budget guitar. the pickups give a surprisingly warm sound. an all-around great guitar for its price.

  • from Illinois August 11, 2014Music Background:
    Retired performer

    SG is sweet (especially for the price)

    The guitar is sweet and for the price, even sweeter.

Questions about the Epiphone SG Special - Ebony?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway