0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Moog EP-3 Universal Polarity Expression Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 33 customer reviews
Questions about the Moog EP-3 Universal Polarity Expression Pedal?

Questions about the Moog EP-3 Universal Polarity Expression Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Vermont February 27, 2017Music Background:
    Solo progressive rock composer, born studio rat

    Express yo self.

    It does what it does, and it does it real well. The trim knob is particularly useful, as i use it for my avalance run, but would be very useful in any other aplications as well. Best expression pedal out there as far as i know, and the price is right.

  • from Raleigh, NC February 8, 2017Music Background:
    Guitars of 50 years, studio operator of 20 years

    Moog EP-3 Expression Pedal

    As usual, Sweetwater was the best and fastest of all. They are the standard by which all musical instrument sales should be held to.

  • from February 4, 2017

    Great Expression Pedal

    Lightweight, sturdy and works great. And you can't beat the price!

  • from NW Ohio December 27, 2016

    Perfect Fit

    Perfect fit for my Fractal Audio FX8. Simple connectivity, function and well built.

  • from October 31, 2016

    Great pedal

    Great construction and nice pedal to work with.

  • from October 30, 2016

    Awesome Expression Pedal!!!

    This Moog expression pedal has everything you need...polarity switch on the bottom and an amount potentiometer on the side. What's also cool is that the cord is not permanently attached like other EP pedals..so you can plug in a longer cord if you want. Definitely recommended!

  • from Richmond, Virginia August 14, 2016Music Background:
    Everything

    Perfect EP

    I use an expression pedal to control the pitch effect on the EHX Pitchfork. I had used a variety of different expression pedals and none of them functioned as perfectly as the Moog. The other pedals I used sometimes after stomping or rolling back to zero would reengage themselves slightly. Now with the pitch fork that means I've suddenly got a very ugly diminished tone coming out of my amp. With the Moog once I roll it back or stomp it down to zero it stays there. It fits well on my pedal board and the height of the pedal makes it easy to control the effect. The pedal has good traction/friction that is evenly distributed across the travel of the pedal.

    The pedal has taken a beating. I have stomped on it, stood all over it, and I think at one point I even sat/landed on it during a show. This will probably be the only expression pedal I will buy for a long time.

  • from Brazil December 17, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Jazz Rock

    Perfect!

    Perfect to tame the Moogerfooger Ring Modulator giving freedom to the hands to play guitar!

  • from Ohio November 5, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist

    EP-3

    It's the perfect companion to my MF's.

  • from October 2, 2015

    Solid Expression Pedal

    This is a physically solid expression pedal with all of the necessary features, at a good price. I have bought several of them.

  • from August 20, 2015

    Terrific pedal

    It's inexpensive, it's solid, it works perfectly. Not much else to say... but then again, nothing else need be said.

  • from Boston June 29, 2015

    Express Yourself

    Great build quality and a solid feel really adds to the fun of playing my Sub 37 for only $40. I have two that I use for the pitch and filter CV options. Also' it comes with the TRS cable needed to connect it to the keyboard unlike the $125 Mission Engineering expression pedal I bought for my Eventide H9.

  • from San Marcos, TX USA March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Playing 44 yrs. Professional musician and college educator.

    Love it!

    Easy to use. It's plastic, but it's still surprisingly hefty. Works perfectly right out of the box. I can't say enough good things about it. I'm using mine with a G-system I just got from Sweetwater. I'm not sure why one owner said the moog cable was a different TRS cable. It uses the standard layout for a trs-trs cable. I ordered a shorter cable with right angle plugs to fit my pedalboard and it worked flawlessly. It does not use a standard guitar cable which is a tip-sleeve cable. (TS) but it definitely does utilize the standard wiring for tip-ring-sleeve. (TRS) Looks like a 1/4" stereo headphone jack on both ends. I liked it so much, I ordered a second one.

  • from Suburban Indy July 11, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboardist, Composer, Performer - Prog Rock and Praise Music

    Built Well... Works Great

    I am using this as an expression pedal for my Roland VK-7 Organ. Why pay up to $200 or more? This does everything you want it to do for 40 bucks. It's well made and works great. The only thing I would possibly change is that I would like it to completely shut off when pulled all the way back. I will be buying more for my other keyboards.

  • from April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works fine with SoftStep

    Bought it to work with my SoftStep foot controller. When I first connected it it did not work at all, but I discovered that the problem was with the adapter cable supplied with Softstep which had a short in it. When I used my own adapter, it worked just fine.

  • from March 9, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Production, Education, Classical Piano

    Awesome Pedal

    I'm blown away by the quality of this pedal for the price. It is a really great pedal...I think I'll have this for years to come. It is a no brainer if you are looking for a rugged pedal that is smooth...very smooth. Any other pedal of this quality would be $80-$100 easily...pick it up you won't be disappointed.

    I got this as a gift from my wife...thanks to our sales engineer Paul...always great service. I have been a Sweetwater customer for over a decade...I see myself being a customer for decades to come.

    God bless and thanks!

  • from Oakland, CA June 20, 2016

    Perfect!

    Works exactly as advertised, very well-built and solid. A great feature is the easily adjustable range dial on the side, much better than the overblown calibration schemes of some expression pedals.

  • from nc April 27, 2016Music Background:
    guitarist, recent synth fan, creator of musics sometimes

    for sub 37

    Works great, no real flaws. Even has a limiter knob. Not the sturdiest exp pedal ever, but a good price and solid stuff from moog as always. The s37 has assignable control for each of the 4 cv inputs and they all work great on their own. I like using the amp to swell the volume and this leaves your hands free to work with other things. Works with my other pedals/interfaces as well. Doubles as a toggle switch for Guitar Rig if you want. Comes with cable.

  • from November 4, 2015

    Excellent - Midi Range adjustment

    Excellent qualify - I love it. One thing that had me thinking I had a defective unit: On the side there's is a little dial ("External level adjustment lets you fine-tune the full range of motion"). When dialed all the way up the CC receives 0 ... 127. However, if dialed back the range is reduced. My "as shipped" setting gave me midi CC11 0 .. 70. Worth keeping an eye on if it does not perform as expected.
    I'm using it with a Kurzweil PC3LE8 and several VSTs (Albion, EWQL, etc.). All works as expected.

  • from Lake Tahoe area September 14, 2015Music Background:
    Musician and composer; mainly guitar and keys

    It's all good

    The Moog brand is generally respected in the music industry for it's high quality, reliable and well appointed hardware and these pedals live up to that reputation. They have a smooth action and the range of the controlled effects are evenly distributed across the full sweep of the pedal. They don't slip around on hard surfaces and the mating surface feels solid and stable under my foot. Given the excellent form and function of these pedals I think that certain other expression and volume pedals are over priced. I seriously doubt there is a better sweep type foot controller on the market.

  • from Maine May 18, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great value..

    This is my first expression pedal, so I was looking for something on a budget. This is a nice smooth working pedal that does what it is supposed to...nice long cord....it is plastic but seems rugged enough...I'm sure there are metal ones available at higher prices but for my use...light duty gigging not too much traveling & banging around, I don't know why anyone would pay more....very pleased with this & Sweetwater service is second to none!....

  • from May 4, 2015

    Solid

    Works with Boss GP10. Very happy, solid.

  • from May 1, 2015

    Works with the Boss GP-10

    Great pedal, very well made. It dose work with the Boss GP-10 but you need to set the polarity switch on bottom correctly. Volume range is (30% to 100%) only. I use it for volume control so I can free up the expression pedal on the GP-10 for other controls.

  • from United States February 24, 2015Music Background:
    musician, composer

    Moog EP-3 Expression Pedal

    I bought the EP-3 for controlling various effects on my Virtual instruments on my computer and to use in conjunction while playing my midi guitar. So far the Unit has worked very well for me far as operation and controlling Volume, Pitch, etc . Havent used it allot yet that is why the 4.5 stars.

    Main use is for my home studio for playing and composing.

    The EP-3 controller is very well built, sturdy, and comes with a 8-10ft cable with 1/4 inch TRS plugs on both ends. It also has a polarity switch on the bottom of the pedal to work with various keyboards, etc. I have mine connected to a AKAI MPK25 mini controller keyboard which has an expression input connection and the keyboard then connects to my computer via USB. I had no problem getting it to operate with my virtual instruments on the computer, and worked right away after being plugged into the AKAI keyboard.

    I looked at other expression pedals and they seemed to look pretty fragile until I saw the EP-3, and I also read many other reviews until I made my decision to get the EP-3.

    Thats about all I can think of right now about the unit.

  • from Norfolk, VA November 11, 2014Music Background:
    Professional keyboardist, Military Musician, Professional Church Musician

    Almost universal

    Cheap, heavy enough, and the polarity switch is great since yamaha doesn't like to play with friends like my rolands and nords. I'd give it 5 stars, but I can't find the same kind of TRS cable to make it work right when I leave the stock cable at home! It's not a standard stereo cable, I'll tell you that.

    Works great when you have the Moog cable -- don't forget it!

  • from Hudson NY September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Expaning possibilities

    This expression pedal really opens up the possibilities of your effects. I bought it to use with my MoogerFooger Ring Modulator, and want to add at least one more. As well as more MoogerFoogers!

  • from Glendale, AZ June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great pedal

    Pedal is built like a tank. Works great with my Roland keyboard. The cable is a bit thin but does the job.

  • from San Jose, CA March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Student, hobbyist

    Quality Pedal

    For the money and as an alternative to your standard ~$100 Boss, EHX, Ernie Ball pedal it's a great choice. The feel of it is better than anything else I've tried and looks good. It's durable enough for me, half a star for being all plastic, but this is $40 were talking about. Really the smooth, controlled feel is the best part. Great Moog product!

  • from OKC October 29, 2016

    A WINNER

    I bought the Moog EP-3 as an economical alternative to its Kurzweil counterpart (to which it bears a strong resemblance) for my Artis 7, not knowing if it was compatible because it wasn't specifically listed by name, as several others are, on the Kurzweil website. No worries, it works just fine. The construction appears to be plenty durable, and the field replaceable cable is a big plus. Altogether, quite a bargain in my opinion.

  • from Boston August 21, 2015

    Does what it's supposed to

    I've had it for a week and it works. It's plastic, so I gave it a 4 instead of 5, but feels very sturdy.
    If you're on the fence about buying an expression pedal, buy it. I've never used an expression pedal before, and the sonic possibilities this opens up are fantastic. I've tried it with my Moog Phaser and Dwarfcraft Gears, and some wonderfully crazy sounds emerge.

  • from Pacifica, CA April 6, 2016

    Doesn't work with Space pedal

    This pedal does not calibrate properly with devices like the Eventide Space pedal. It hits 100% when the throw of the pedal is at about 60%, of the top range of the pedal sweep has zero effect.

    This may work with Moog gear, but don't expect it to work with anything else.

  • from Illinois February 3, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Almost Unusable

    Had high hopes for this pedal based on all the positive reviews, however my experience was obviously much different. The pedal's output was far from linear. The first 80% range of motion only got me to 50% output, and then the last half inch of travel would shoot it up to 100% output. I found it nearly impossible to make any small adjustments above 50%. I ended up having to reverse my input parameters and turn the pedal around backwards which because of the shape was difficult. I guess you get what you pay for and thus the attractive price.

  • from California March 19, 2015

    Moog EP-3 Expression Pedal

    Decent expression pedal. I thought it would be sturdier than advertised. I bought it to use with my Eventide H9 pedal. It worked but not as good as it should. It jumped in variance much too quickly when closer to the heel position. I tried it with a Strymon Lex Rotary pedal and it seemed to respond better. It just did not work as I need it to when plugged into the H9.

Questions about the Moog EP-3 Universal Polarity Expression Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway