0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

JBL EON518S Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from hood river oregon July 15, 2014Music Background:
    been a drummer about 25 years pro and hobby

    awesome subs for the money

    i play a lot of outside venues and they are great as well as inside

  • from Clyde, NY USA July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Musician/DJ

    Awesome!!!

    As soon as i hooked it up and had sound resonating from this sub, i was hooked. An A plus woofer.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Working Band

    Outstanding Sub!!!

    I was blown away at the clarity in our vocals with the built in high filter pass,and the added thump from the kick drum and bass guitar. Our Eon G2 speakers sounded great before adding the subs but now I can't believe we lived without them. Don't wait, buy these!

  • from Rochester, NY February 6, 2014Music Background:
    25+ years in the DJ business

    EON18S

    After reading all the reviews posted thruought the web, I decided to purchase this sub to go with my 15" Alto powered loud speakers. I own several passive subs 18" subs, but was looking for a powered one for smaller gigs. Upon arrival of this speaker, I took it directly to a small venue without testing it. It blew me away!!! Clean crisp base that shook the entire dance floor. I am so pleased with it that I have decided to purchase a second one. Thanks Sweetwater for the 0% finance and super fast delivery.

  • from United States January 3, 2014Music Background:
    pro DJ Producer

    awesome woofer

    ive been a pro dj for nearly 10 years ive used a wide verity of sound equipment i thought i had amazing sound with mackie speakers and woofers, man was i wrong. using JBL none active speakers and this woofer i have achived a much bigger sound. best money ive ever spent on sound gear.
    blue skies

  • from Salado, Texas December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Retired Pro Musician, Sound and Recording

    Mighty Low

    Light with a huge sound. Added a completely deep dimension to our already great sound. Thanks to Sweetwater for helping me decide which sub to purchase.

  • from Virginia October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, DJ, Singer

    Most Portable 18" Available

    There is no 18" woofer that I know of that weighs less than the 518s. It's only 65 pounds and the side handles are a great design that makes a two-man (or two-woman) carry a breeze. Well-designed, JBL quality, heavy-duty metal grille.

  • from Fulton, Mo May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Dj

    JBL EON518s

    I'm was needing some extra bass because I only have 12" powered speakers. They do the job for some small weddings in a decent size room and about 100 people but I have been having bigger parties to do and after purchasing this sub I am satisfied. It makes a BIG difference in my sound. My choices was between the eon 518s , ALTO TS 15, and EV ZXA1 12 inch sub. The alto & Ev both are very lite weight 59 lbs. and this jbl 65 lbs. and a bigger 18" sub. The alto is 1200 watts max the Ev 700 max and the jbl 1000 max all closely related. The only reason I purchased the jbl is on a long history in sound quality and performace durability. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 star is because it's a little ackward to pick up. Overall I'm happy after using on my first big wedding. It was a hit and the tips was confirmation that I made the right choice.

  • from USA November 26, 2012Music Background:
    self-employed musician

    lightweight and punchy

    plenty of headroom. very lightweight versus the big sound you can achieve. my back thanks me every time i use these.

  • from Newark, OH March 16, 2010Music Background:
    amateur sound engineer

    Convenient and portable

    I bought the 518's to go with a pair of EON 515's to replace an older passive system. Their best attribute is the convenience of the integrated amps and their portability. They are ridiculously light, but also pack a pretty good thump.

    I ordered the 515's and a pair of the 518S subs, but they arrived a day apart. When I got the 515's first, I tried them out by themselves and initially, I was really concerned about the output. They sounded really nice at low volumes, but if you boost the low frequencies and turn them up, they peak fairly easily. Bass eats up that 350 watts pretty fast.

    Once I got the subs and split the signal with the built-in high-pass filter, it was a different story. I ended up getting really nice and unexpected clarity and tone. Vocals and guitar were reproduced nicely - and at significant volume. This would not have been the case without the use of these subs.

    Based on my applications, the 518's produced all of the bottom end I needed, and had plenty to spare. It produced really thick and clean-sounding kick drum and bass, and even enhanced guitar and vocals.

    I would have liked to have seen a more detailed user manual. It's very basic. The 518's have a polarity switch, but the manual doesn't say much about it other than, "if the bass response isn't what you like, try flipping the switch" (basically). Doesn't explain what the polarity function is, or what flipping the switch does.

    Overall, I'm very pleased with these subs. They are a vital companion to the 515's.

Questions about the JBL EON518S?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close