0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

JBL EON515XT Reviews

4.5 stars based on 33 customer reviews
  • from August 6, 2014Music Background:
    DJ, Soun engineer

    Great buy

    I has everything i wanted and more. Lightweight power, definition, looks nice. Its a very price efective speaker

  • from N.MICH. July 1, 2014Music Background:
    SEMI-RETIRED 30YR PRO

    AFFORDABLE POWER AND HIGH FIDELITY

    HARD TO BEAT FOR ITS PRICE. I USE ONE 515XT IN CONJUNCTION WITH FISHMAN SA 220. AN AMAZING COMBINATION FOR MY NEEDS FROM A SINGLE TO A 4 PIECE GROUP. I WOULD THINK 2 OF THESE EONS WOULD BE PLENTY OF SWAT FOR MOST VENUES AND CROWD SIZES. IMPRESSIVE SOUND QUALITY....DID I MENTION..UNDER 35 LBS....!!! AND...SWEETWATER BACKS THIER STUFF TO THE MAX...
    ITS A WIN...WIN

  • from May 22, 2014

    Awesome

    I wanted to say how happy I am with my purchase of a jbl eon 515xt speaker from you guys. It arrived just fine and it's pretty flawless. I'm using it as a guitar amplifier with a zoom g3x guitar peddle with amp modeling. It sounds amazing and powerful. Not many people have tried this but I consider myself to be innovative. The speaker gives me a perfectly clean amplifying ability and it's so much lighter than an amp that would have the same output capabilities. And you guys had it free of tax and shipping costs. Amazing!

  • from Georgia April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Gospel Singer & Recording Studio

    JBL Eon's Great

    I have tried these a couple of concerts and wow what a difference they make from my previous speakers. I now have have a fuller sound than ever before. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Waldorf,Maryland March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Professional DJ, Vocalsit, Comedian,Emcee.

    JBL EON 515XT Powered Speakers

    I am so glad that I decided to purchase these speakers. They totally blew me away. The sound was great through the entire frequency range. Might of fact I had them coupled with a pair of Mackie 1501HD subs. I had to dial up the treble and dial dowqm the bass in the EONs. I was playing at the Officres Club Ballroom at Bolling Air Force Base ion Washington,D.C. and this ballroom is very large, a room about 80' X 150' and there was no problemwith filling it with plenty of sound,and clear no clipping. I only ran the EONs at half and it was plenty,I mean plenty.If I need any more powered uppers I will most definitely get me some more JBLs. I would reccomend them to all of my fewllow DJS. You will nevewr think that much sound is coming from such a lightweight speaker.

  • from Waldorf,Md. March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Professional DJ, Vocalist and Comedian

    Awesome in a Light Package

    I Just ordered four of them. Tested them and was blown awa by the sound of the tweeter section and the woofer. The Eq controlls on the back make for a multitude of arrays of sound. Tested them in a small hall(300 People) and it was astounding. I didn't even drive them to the limit ,either.I ran them with a single Mackie HD1501 Subwoofer,I'm thrilled. If I get back to you next year wqithout a problem, I might contact JBL and tell them they have a spokesperson.

  • from North East Ohio January 16, 2014Music Background:
    life long sound tech volunteer

    Positive comments from several

    I love this speaker. We have a small church. A year and a half ago we set up a small sound system using one of these speakers hung on the low ceiling in the center. A few people said it sounded great. We had to change things around a bit so I moved the speaker off to the side and added another one like it. Now several people said it sounds even better with two of these. That surprised me as they are feed one mono signal to the first speaker with a pass through to the second. Anyway, with these turned up to 6 (out of ten) we have plenty of volume and it sounds great.

  • from January 10, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboardist, Sound Engineer

    100% okay!

    The speakers are light weight easy to setup and carry and the sound quality is very impressive haven't tried using the built in EQ because im plugging it in with DBX231. But overall very good speakers for that very affordable price a win win! Thanks Sweetwater - Josh Dillon

  • from Amarillo, Texas December 21, 2013Music Background:
    I love music!

    Bad-ass sound

    I know these speakers were designed for live sound but when my son is not using them with his band i plug them into an old preamplifier i have at home and the sound is incredible. These blow away the Klipsch towers that i have. Amazing.

  • from Firth, Ne November 18, 2013Music Background:
    Full time performer

    Impressive punch from a lightweight speaker!

    This thing is impressive. It has the clear, concise sound I expect from JBl. The handles on top of the speakers were a welcome addition, original eons did not have them. I'm able to use one of these hogs for my main sound, and one as a monitor.

  • from Palm Desert California November 5, 2013

    JBL EON515XT

    I am very satisfied with the speakers sound terrific, and due to the new technology they are so easy to move around because of the light weight thank you very much.

  • from Patchogue NY USA October 8, 2013

    Great piece of equipment !

    Wow! So much power and excellent sound. One of the best investment I made. I highly recommend the Eon515EX

  • from Palm Beach, FL June 11, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    as advertised

    These PA speakers really sound good. I currently only have one. I wanted to hear the system mono in my listening space before committing to two. Currently waiting for Sweetwater to get them back in stock to fill my order for the second one. Let me say that just the single EON515XT sounds fantastic. Vocals sound crisp and clear coming through this PA. Acoustic guitar sounds present and up front.The EQ response curve of these speakers is very kind to the less then ideal listening environment I am using them in. Based on another reviewers comments I purchased and added a DBX DriveRack PX to the system and now the Eon sounds even better. I wouldn't say the DriveRack PX is a must since these speakers sound so good on their own but the unit does add some very nice features to the PA system such as feedback elimination and sub harmonic sweetening. I was considering running a sub with the system but that simply is not necessary with these speakers unless perhaps your using them as a DJ in a club setting playing bass intensive music. For me the full rich sound of the JBL EON 515XT on its own is perfect without any exaggerated frequencies. With the recent price drop on these and the current $100 rebate promotion on the Driverack PA + or the Driverack PX this is the time to get these. It's been my experience that when you see significant price drops with products like these it can sometimes mean they may soon not be available due to a decision to replace the model with something different. Thats not always a good thing. Like others have commented the weight of these speakers is hard to believe. You can easily mount them on speaker poles without any assistance.

    Bottom line the JBL EON515 sounds great and your music will sound great coming from this PA. Get them, if you can catch them in stock.

  • from Texas June 6, 2013Music Background:
    DJ

    Simply The Best

    I am a mobile dj who needed something portable and with high sound quality. I picked up two of these and they sound amazing. I did a wedding with over 150 people and these speakers were more than enough to provide the space with music. I can't recommend these speakers enough!!

  • from RSA September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Mobile DJ

    Don't be fooled by this little monster.

    The clarity and power is very good on this lightweight speaker.But don't expect any base from them.The perfect PA speaker.

  • from Florida July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound, Amateur Musician

    Exceeds Expectations

    If you want rock concert sound in a lightweight easy to handle package this is the speaker for you. I think this design is going to put a severe hurt on the competition.

    Mate a pair of them up to a DriveRack PX and calibrate and you have a sound system that is hard to beat under $2000.

    Has road case accessories that make them even easier to tote around and will offer a protection to make these drivers last a lifetime with proper use and care.

  • from Michigan July 20, 2012Music Background:
    connoisseur

    Air Cannons

    5 stars! Blown away like the air cannon on Myth Busters used to blow out a candle from 100' away. The sound is so clear, with the right music, she might not even mind. Major high fidelity dB SPL. 625 watts of clean power weighing in at a mere 30 pounds really is an engineering marvel. Take 2 and call me in the morning.

  • from Michigan June 23, 2012Music Background:
    Father of some very talented kids. Girls ROCK!

    Fastest Shipping Ever!!!

    My wife kept buggin' me this morning to hurry up, and get out of the shower. Finally, I said, "What's the problem. Are you worried about me draining the hot water tank?" She said, "I thought you might like to see the speakers you ordered yesterday afternoon." "WHAT?" She said, "They're in our living room now." No way... less than 24 hour delivery. We've been using the speakers all day in the back yard. The sound quality is amazing, and we could be heard a block away with the gain pot set to 2. That's a lot of high fidelity dBSPL. Couldn't be happier. Thanks

  • from colfax WA August 10, 2011Music Background:
    DJ company

    These thing rock

    These are the best speakers I have ever had would recommend them to anyone.
    The after sale follow up and help in the order was top notch

  • from Monterey, CA June 8, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer and Musician

    Great Active Speaker

    Have used previous generation JBL EONs in our small church as stage monitors and also as mains and they produce some incredible sound without need for separate power amps. Based on that experience I bought the new JBL EON515XT to use in a portable PA for small to medium sized gigs with a small Mackie mixer with built-in effects for vocals and acoustic guitar. Great! Lot's of power and tons of dynamic range plus very lightweight and portable.

  • from Manchester, NH May 3, 2011Music Background:
    45 years as a pro recording, performing singer songwriter

    Mighty Mite

    I'm gigging regularly as a solo singer/guitarist, using backing tracks. Been a performing pro since 1965. Recently purchased a Roland BA-330, hoping to greatly reduce load-in/load-out. Good little unit, but the Roland can't easily handle noisy saturday night venues. Now, with the addition of 2 carrying lbs, and another $82 spent, I can handle virtually any venue I'm likely to play. I can now gig with the smallest kit I've ever used, with supreme confidence that I'm putting out pristine sound, more head-room and SPL than I'm likely to ever need. Great job, JBL! (Epilogue - trading in the BA-330 on a GR-55 Synth pedal...)

  • from Firth, NE October 29, 2013Music Background:
    performer

    Big sounds from a small package

    I replaced my passive EONs with the powered EON 515 speakers. I play a lot of smaller clubs, and am now able to use one of these as a main and one as a monitor. They can get quite loud, and they fill the room with clear, punchy JBL sound.
    My only complaint is that Jbl gives you a very short power cord with the speaker.
    The guys at Sweetwater are very knowledgable and helpfully.

  • from September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Small package - BIG SOUND!!

    Had to wait 3 weeks for a pair of these little giants, but it sure was worth every second. Tested these out in a road parade for Belize's Independence day on a trailer competing with other sound systems. The sound quality and volume was exceptional. All the DJs around town wanted to play on them. Bass frequency response was tight with smooth silky highs. We had everything set at half. My only recommendation is that they should be used with a compressor to prevent those sudden changes in SPL when switching from one song to another.

  • from N.C. Mn. N.y. April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Percussionest working with electronics

    these are great for electronic percussion

    these are great for electronic percussion.Lots of headroom.Very clean.

  • from USA November 26, 2012Music Background:
    self-employed musician

    versatile and lightweight

    your back will thank you for this design. jbl sound w/ the flexibility of providing a range of uses. clear sound, and did i mention these are light? ....very nice.

  • from Lewiston, ID March 18, 2011Music Background:
    Long time, self-taught ragtime, old-time pianist

    JBL EON515XT is a superior product

    I just received and started using my new JBL EON515XT and have found it to be a superior product with a magnificent sound quality. My Yamaha keyboard sounds very full and professional through this speaker. I highly recommend it for all performance needs, even large venues. It is an attractive unit and can be very easily transported. I am very grateful to Mr. Alan Finkbeiner for his guidance and assistance in selecting this outstanding product.

  • from April 24, 2015

    JBL EON 515xt is Reliable

    I sympathize with anyone who experiences serious problems like a powered PA shutting down during use, but I see no evidence that this is a common problem. The Eon 515xt has worked well for me as a keyboard amp, and I'm sure it would work well in other PA applications. For older synthesizers without reverb builtin, a dedicated keyboard amp might be preferred, but that's no fault of the 515xt.

  • from Delaware May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Why buy anything else

    The best quality at a great price. Tried others but this gets it hands down. Plenty of power and no boxy sound. Tone controls are usable and it has plenty of power, lightweight and smaller than other 115 speakers.

  • from Minnesota July 12, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician since 1964

    Great Sounding but not overly loud compared to my previous speakers.

    I am amazed by the sound of these cabinets. Everything is crisp, clear and punchy with great bass response. The only reason I couldn't give it a full five stars was the 625 watt power rating claims by JBL. My old cabinets, a pair of Carvin LM15A's are rated at 325 watts but yet they are twice as powerful as these JBLs. Still scratching my head over that one. I am able to get the volumes I'm used to but to accomplish the same amount of headroom with my outboard mixer, I need to have the JBL level controls wide open. Maybe manufacturers use a different rating method than when my previous cabs were made. Other than that, sound quality and nice light weight make these cabinets winners. However, I think rating these cabs at 300 watts instead of 625 watts would be generous at best!

  • from Ocean City, MD June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, guitar, synthesizer ,vocals

    Not sure yet

    I am still a bit undecided as to just how much I like this speaker. I had trouble setting it up due to too much EQ. It was sounding very bass. I only bought one of these and was using it along with a Behringer Euro Live 212D. I realized I can't mix them. I have EQ built into my synthesizer, my mixer and now my speaker. I finally decided to just go back to a flat setting and use just the JBL. The result was much better. I need to play with it more and experiment with set ups before I have a final opinion. I work many different venues so it is a challenge. However I am satisfied with it and feel that when I learn how to use it properly I will be thrilled with it. I also feel just 1 KBL515xt will be needed in most of my venues of 150 people.

  • from Richmond, VA June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Not as Loud as Advertised

    I have been using Eon G2s (the previous version to this model). The JBL specs for the G2s are 300 watts woofer and 100 watts horn with an SPL of 129. The 515 XTs spec is 500 watts woofer, 125 watts horn and SPL of 132. I purchased the 515xts based on higher SPL and lighter weight. When using a G2 and 515XT with the same line level from the mixer and same EQ settings (using line-level setting on speakers) , the 515XTs were significantly less loud than the G2s. I had to turn the 515XTs to the 4 o'clock position on the input control to match the same loudness of the G2s at the 12 o'clock position. I repeated this test with the mic-level input and obtained the same results. After matching the G2s and 515XTs volume (by ear) with EQ at "neutral" on both speakers, I found that I had to decrease the bass and increase the treble on the 515XTs to match the clarity of the G2s. I believe I can obtain the volume I need by increasing the output level from my crossover to the 515XTs. However, I believe that the specs that Harmon (JBL) listed for the 515XTs are questionable. The low weight of the 515XTs are nice but, If I had to do it again, I would take a closer look at EV, Yamaha and QSC.

  • from WESTCHESTER July 26, 2013Music Background:
    SINGER DJ

    JBLEON515XT

    GREAT NICE SOUND BUT IF THE HI END GOS TWEETER NOT COVERED

  • from United States, CT March 31, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Shuts Down During Performance

    Be advised, this speaker shuts down during performance for no reason. I purchased my almost 2 years ago is shutting down all all the time now. At the start it was OK, it gets worse. The only way to recover is to pull the power chord then plug it back in, it powers back on in a little bit and keeps happening. It's basically useless at this point. I did some research, seems to be a common problem with this speaker from what I hear. Maybe they fixed it with the new models, trying to contact JBL now.

Questions about the JBL EON515XT?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway