0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 36 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Vintage Sunburst?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Vintage Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 3, 2016

    Worth every penny

    For the price, an amazing guitar. Mine came with the frets in beautiful shape and plays great. I wish I had bought two for the price...

  • from Nampa Idaho October 21, 2016Music Background:
    I play one hell of a radio.

    What a deal!

    I am not the most knowledgeable about guitars and playing guitars but I do know quality when I see it. And this folks is a quality piece. It has a fantastic tone that I would say is inviting. Once I pick it up the time flies by. I can play for hours and its provided me with the therapy that I need. Buy it you will not regret your purchase.

  • from August 17, 2016

    Best Buy

    If you want a Les Paul and can't afford a Gibson, buy this guitar. You will not be disappointed. I bought a Faber Lock Tone Kit to replace the stop bar in order to mass couple (lock down) the stop bar to the body and raise the stop bar (with the included Faber metal shims) just enough so that the strings do not touch anything except the bridge and nut and only touching the stop bar once after their entrance into the stop bar. I also replaced the nut and the bridge saddles with Tusq after replacing the bridge with a Gotoh. The resulting sustain, tone and tuning stability is exceptional. This is a Chinese guitar body with American (Gibson) electronics installed inside of it. Without any of my modifications, it still has to be one of truly great stock guitars that I have ever played.

  • from Nevada June 5, 2016

    My tribute to the Tribute

    I have been playing guitar on and off for 60 years. I have owned many Gibsons, Fenders, Taylor's, etc. They were very good guitars for the most part. I am not going to debate sound here, I am just going to say that this guitar looks, feels, and sounds like the real deal- and I say it is. This same guitar with the same materials, built to the same standard of finish and made in the USA would be around $3000. You won't have to apologize for picking and playing this guitar, it speaks for itself. This guitar is not good but... This guitar is good and...
    I am very pleased to have this guitar. I am happy to recommend it! Sweet water is the place to buy it, they are great in every way!

  • from Vidor Texas March 30, 2016Music Background:
    Active player, Gospel, rock and roll, blues........

    Epiphone Tribute Plus

    I was amazed with the finish on this baby, I didn't want to get a red sunburst like every body else. This is as close to an American Gibson as you can get, this is a top of the line Epiphone. If you bought a top of the line Gibson Les Paul you would have to spend thousands, sure you would get a case with it " but wait " I got a case with mine. I pulled the pickups when I put my new Elixer strings on it and the pickups are 57 classic and classic + pickups. I had it for three weeks before I could play it as I was sick, I'm very happy with this guitar.

  • from NYC March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Studio/Live performance

    Perfect

    I genuinely couldn't be happier with this guitar! I was thinking of buying the plus top pro instead because it looked identical but was about $200+ cheaper or the Gibson studio faded because it was only $50 more and I extremely glad I chose this one!

    So much value for the buck, right off the Gibson USA classic '57 pickups sound amazing and they're an upgrade for a Gibson Les Paul! There's also no comparison between the sustain you get from an actual maple top and a veneered top.

  • from CLE December 16, 2015

    Great Les Paul

    What a great guitar. The finish is beautiful. Not a flaw on it. I think the craftsmanship it just as good if not better than USA model. The Sweetwater setup out of the case was perfect. Nice low action just how I like. All I had to do was tune it up and plug in. If you are in the market for a Les Paul, why pay four times the price for a Gibson? Get this one.

  • from Bothell, WA December 10, 2015Music Background:
    50 some years of amateur musicianship

    Put This in Your Pipe and Smoke It...

    After many hours of going through all the variations of Les Paul editions, finding one that met my desires as well as my budget was proving to be more challenging than I thought it would be. What I truly wanted was beyond my reach, both as a player and the funding. Wouldn't be prudent to buy a $10,000 guitar and only know a few chords. Sadly, Gibsons are not in my foreseeable near future. However, just as there are luxury car lines that have more humble brethren (or sitstern?), so too, does Gibson. The Epiphone line of Les Pauls feature quality in a value that can be attained by anyone of any skill level. Of all the LPs in the Epi lineup, I wanted something that had a classic look, feel, and tone of a vintage Gibson. For me, the VS design is timeless, and the '57 Gibson USA pickups give it that dark, smoky tone I really love. Some day I will be able to bend those notes just like my guitar heroes, and this Les Paul will make me feel like I can for now until I actually do.

  • from North Carolina August 14, 2015

    Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus

    Purchased this guitar this week from Sweetwater after spending a lot of time researching an Epiphone Les Paul. Excellent finish and quality control. The set up was perfect, I was not disappointed. I have been purchasing instruments for years and Sweetwater has the best customer service-period! I have purchased guitars from other online retailers and brick and mortar stores and have had to return them. This has never happened with Sweetwater. Thanks Ed Needler.

  • from Chandler, AZ July 7, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician for 40 years

    For the price there's no comparison!

    I received my Les Paul tribute about a week ago and really wanted to put it through it's paces before I reviewed it. I have to say I am very impressed with the overall quality of this guitar. I own a '81 Gibson Les Paul custom which I absolutely love, and the sound quality of my new Epi is very comparable. From the hot pickups and better than average electronics, to the beautiful finish and low action, this axe would make the great Les Paul proud if he were still around. My sales engineer, Mike Winebrenner has always been very courteous and helpful with all of my purchases from Sweetwater, and I couldn't imagine going anywhere else for music gear. Thanks again guys for another flawless and rewarding transaction.

  • from June 21, 2015

    Great Guitar

    Seriously just an all around great guitar for an unreal price. Everything stated about the finish is true, mine is flawless, can't find a thing wrong with it. Sounds as good as any Gibson I have ever heard or played.

    Sweetwaters customer service is as good as it gets. Bought mine two weeks before the 15% off sale and they hooked me right up and applied the discount to my purchase, zero hassle involved.

  • from Rockville, MD June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    excellent guitar, great value

    This thing is great. The finish is flawless the setup is beautiful and above all else it sounds freakin fantastic. Sweetwater was awesome and had very speedy service. My sales engineer Ben Chambless was super helpful. The '57 pickups sound like pure magic. Everything from rock to blues just sounds superb and the guitar plays like a dream right out of the case. Just changed the strings to my go to D'Addarios and she was good to go!!! 10/10 would recommend this guitar to anyone.

  • from Johnsonburg pa.. April 18, 2015Music Background:
    dabbling around for about 25 years

    great guitar!

    The quality of Epiphones nowadays are top notch. I have a friend who has been playing in local bands for 50 years. He bought a new Gibson les paul recently. and he couldn't tell the difference except for the name on the headstock. Fit, Finish, playability, everything is great the flame top is amazing. And as always great service and fast delivery from Sweetwater..

  • from Fort Wayne, IN January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby Guitar Player for 30 years

    Great guitar, great price

    Overall I am astounded at the quality and sound of this guitar. I was a tad skeptical buying my first Epiphone, but let me tell you... wow. Great tone, the fit and finish is well done, and it flat out looks incredible. The folks at Sweetwater were insanely helpful while I put them through the paces trying to find the exact one I wanted as well. I. Am. A. Believer. and will be back for more...

  • from Michigan January 24, 2015Music Background:
    30 plus years hobbyist

    Very Nice Les Paul

    If your thinking about adding one of these to your collection, it makes for a great addition. For the money it can't be beat. The looks are just perfect and the playing/sound are top notch. Of the seven guitars I own this is only beat by my Fender American Standard. Which is in my opinion the best guitar made for the money. I ordered this in the vintage sunburst and the finish is flawless. I'm sure you have read about everything this comes with, but I must say that the Gibson pick-ups are great! And on top of everything else, you get a nice hard case with it. All in all compared to the Gibson Standard your mainly just paying an extra 2500.00 plus for the name on the headstock. So if your thinking about getting one, I don't think you will have any regrets once its plugged in and in your hands. Just replace the strings to your liking and enjoy. Also the service from Sweetwater is very nice.

  • from United States November 12, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist 15 years,ametur luthier,

    tribute + incredible

    I've owned this guitar for 2 years now,and i got in 2012.best components: Gibson 57'classics for the pick ups,which are excellent and cost 300.00 by themselves.This guitar is put together very well,deep set neck joint for good sustain,switchcraft switch,push pull pots for coil split,(single coil for the neck,and hum b for the bridge is my favorite),all in all probably the same exact guitar a some 2000.00 gibson,just with epiphone on the headstock.If it wasn't for Epiphone i probably would never even consider paying 2000.00 for a guitar.I would just build one from a kit or something.

  • from Canada June 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, retired punk-rock 'professional'

    Excellent Value

    I want to start off by saying that I am a huge fan of Gibson and have owned several Gibsons throughout my life. That being said, I have always been very skeptical of the little brother, Epiphone. For the longest time, I looked at Epiphone as a far inferior product, a knock off, and something only a beginner would play. Well let me now say that since I first played this guitar my opinion has been completely changed. The look and feel of this guitar rivals any of the Gibsons I have owned and the sound is incredible.

    It is hard not to compare this to its Gibson cousin, but playing this guitar side-by-side with a Les Paul Standard, there is a slight tonal difference but cranked up and with a full band, this guitar holds it's own very well.

    And the value??? Unreal. The Gibson pickups, decent hardshell case, and quality of this guitar exceed expectations and price-point. The 'strap locks' are garbage, so be ready to throw those away, and the coil-tapping is underwhelming (at least for my sound/style)

    Since buying this guitar I have reevaluated my entire guitar perspective and now I am the proud owner of 2 other Epi's.

    If you are the type of person to buy just one amazing guitar, you may opt for the $2000 more LP Standard, but if you are like me and love nothing more than a rack full of solid guitars, add this to your arsenal and you won't be disappointed.

  • from Fort Worth, Texas March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Used to play, then didn't, now playing again and lovin it!!!

    Look No Further

    BLOWN AWAY IS RIGHT!!! I'm so freakin stoked about this guitar. I didn't expect this quality for the money. I've had it for 2 weeks now and when I'm not playing it, I'm daydreaming about playing it. Best thing I've ever done.

  • from Grundy, VA November 23, 2013

    Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus

    Beautiful guitar, sounds amazing, well worth the money, plus a hardshell case, you cant beat it. Espically from sweetwater, this was my first order from them, and ill never do business with another company

  • from United States November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Have played most my life in many bands as a keyboardist or Pianistif you well, but always loved guitar. Blues and classic rock, along with R&B and Jazz is my music of chose.

    More guitar than you know,

    Ok this may not be a Gibson, but to the ones of you that think its less of a guitar you are very wrong. First its as close to a Les Paul Stander you can get, the body is a Solid one piece with a hard carved maple top. Then she has Gibson 57 classic pickups that sound Amazing, and all the hardware is first rate. Grover locking tuners, tone pro Bridge, and a great 60s neck that is set deep in the body.
    The way this guitar plays and sounds is better than guitars that I have played costing 3 times a much. Look for 599.00 you well and can not find any better guitar at that price, if this guitar was priced at 999.00 it would be a great price. I have always loved the Fender Strat and I always well, but this has become my Favorite guitar to play, I love this Les Paul 1960s tribute. Before you put one off just because its not a Gibson go and play one. Epiphone is a very fine Instrument in the 1960s tribute plus, and to me there best made. Someday I'll have a Gibson Les Paul Stander, but till then I'm very happy with my Epi Les Paul.

  • from BLUFFTON IN. October 9, 2013Music Background:
    MUSICIAN

    les paul tribute

    this guitar is amazing looks and feels like a 2300.00 gibson the 57 pickups are awsome i would recommend it to anyone that wants a great guitar. thanks sweetwater for holding it for me you guys rock

  • from Virginia Beach Va July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Les Paul tribute plus

    Rivals most Gibson's fit and finish is awesome Gibson pick ups are great I love the slim taper neck 10 out of 10

  • from July 12, 2013Music Background:
    playing guitar for years and in a band.

    Awesome guitar

    Well, i've had this guitar for two months its amazing specially for rock, which might sound harsh but it is true.
    The only thing that annoys me about the guitar is its got fret buzz.
    Anyways looking for a cheap gibson ? forget about it and get one of these.

  • from Grayson, GA May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Music Amateur/Hobbyist Re-Born

    This Gibson '57 Classic pickup-equipped Epiphone Les Paul is too good to limit myself to just one

    A month has passed since I bought an Epiphone Les Paul 1960 Tribute Plus in Faded Cherry Sunburst. I love all of my 3 Epiphone Les Pauls as each has its own characteristic and distinctive tone and quality. But the Gibson '57 Classic pickup-equipped 1960 Tribute Les Paul gives me the most pleasing tone. And each day I ask myself how Epiphone is able to put a lot of Gibson Les Paul goodness into this model for so little. It is so good to limit myself to just one. So, I bought me another color of this soon-to-be classic model - a Vintage Sunburst. My only complaint is it did not come with a pickguard. So, I emailed Gibson Warranty Department to consider including its pickguard (uninstalled) as part of the package. Also, I asked them if they can make this value-packed Les Paul be available in other finish (ie, Quilt, Birdseye, Koa, etc.) and other 'burst' colors (ie, Tea Burst, Desert Burst, etc.). I will pre-order them as soon as they are announced. By the way, Dave Brow, my awesome Sweetwater Sales Engineer was able to get me an original Epiphone pickguard, for a lot less than what you would normally pay for an after-market replacement. Thanks, Dave!

  • from Orange, CA April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love it!

    I was always an acoustic player but I did catch the electric bug after playing around with my friend's guitar. For the price, this guitar is amazing. The setup was good out of the box (had to do a little nut work since one string was flat at the 2nd fret) but overall took minimal work on my end.

    The Gibson PUP's sound amazing. Very nice clean channel tone and awesome crunch when you need it. This guitar will not disappoint. I highly recommend it if you are looking for a good quality guitar without the massive price.

  • from Jackson, Mi. March 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Absolutely fantastic guitar!

    I have been playing guitar for 20 years and I have played all kinds of guitars, from Gibsons to Fenders to Schecters and I have to say this is my favorite of them all. I play in a classic rock band and my other guitar player, who plays a $2700 Gibson Les Paul, played this guitar for a set one night and liked it as much if not more than his guitar! The tone you get from this guitar is sweet! Great clean tones, vintage crunch tones, blazing leads, and then you can tap the coils and flip the toggle to the rhythm position and you get great bluesy SRV tones! This guitar has it all! Honestly, if you were to play this guitar and then play a Gibson LP while blindfolded you wouldn't know that this guitar costs $2K less than a similiar set up Gibson. You can't go wrong with this guitar. The finish was perfect and the guys at Sweetwater had it set up perfectly. i dont care who you are, beginner to seasoned musician, there is no doubt that you would love this guitar. Rock on!!

  • from Morgantown, WV February 16, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This Guitar Rocks!!

    This purchase was a straight up "No Brainer". The guitar is absolutely stunning and and sounds amazing. The guys at Sweetwater did a great job of setting it up so that it was play ready right out of the case. I did throw on some Elixer strings and tweak the action but, only to suit my playing comfort . After that, i can't put it down. If you want that vintage sound or that hard rock crunch...here you go. Do yourself a favor and get this baby. You won't be disapointed.

  • from HICKSVILLE NEW YORK USA January 29, 2013Music Background:
    LOTA PLAYING OVER THE PAST 50 YEARS

    REALLY COOL EPIPHONE LES PAUL

    VERY ,VERY WELL MADE LES PAUL GUITAR FROM EPIPHONE.NOTHING CAN BEAT THIS OUTSTANDING AND WAY ABOVE AND BEYOND PRODUCT IN SOUND ,LOOKS AND EASE OF PLAYING . A ONCE IN A LIFE TIME GEM.STRIKE WHEN THE IRON IS HOT !! BUY IT NOW.BEFORE IT GOES AND DISAPEARS FROM THE RETAIL SCENE FOR EVER...YOU HAVE TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE IT...

  • from East Coast, USA January 29, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Audio Engineer

    Impressed

    This is a really good guitar. Setup was perfect, fit and finish excellent. How does it sound? As good as a Gibson and way better than the stock epi std(which I also own) The series/ parrallel switches are great for single coilish tones and the pickups are amazing. It took a little time to warm up to the locking tuners, but they stay in tune even though there are no wraps, pull em tight and twist the key...good for the stage. Arend got it here in record time as always. Sweetwater is the ONLY place I will buy a guitar before I've played it.

  • from UTAH November 20, 2012Music Background:
    Professional

    Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus

    I purchased this guitar due to the basic facts of it's overall setup. It came adjusted perfectly, I mean perfect! So here go's the rest of the story!
    I then purchased a Gibson Traditional as well ( as the Les Paul fever really set with the Epiphone Les Paul) I wanted a rounded neck as well as the real thing?
    Bottom line here is the Epi not only holds up but may I say it? Sounds better! I said it............
    Thanks to Andrew whom has always been there for me and go's that extra mile as well.
    This guitar is fantastic!

  • from Saint Clair Shores ,Mi November 6, 2012Music Background:
    Almost 50 years of playing guitar

    Best deal for a Paul

    The Epiphone Les Paul is just fantastic !

    I put Ernie Ball Cobalt strings (10-52) on it and it sings.

    The only beef I have with Gibson/Epiphone is them black inking the fretboard.

    I had to buff and bleach out the fretboard for two days to get it all out.

    Someone needs to contact Epiphone and tell them to stop this practice.

    The wood grain under the ink was just beautiful.

    Applied boiled Linseed oil after to seal the fretboard and it looks just like a custom shop guitar.

  • from Southeast August 19, 2012Music Background:
    Struggling Hobbyist

    Epiphone has a winnrer

    Best guitar I have ever played. Sweetwater did a great job of setting it up, only thing I did was put a new set of D'Addarios on and tweaked itonation. Shipping was real fast and customer service has been excellent. I love the slim taper neck and I can reach the low strings much easier. Love the Grover locking tuners, stays in tune really good. Pickups are out of this world and you can get some varying sounds that are crisp, clean, and bright sounding. Sounds amazing plugged in a Marshall tube amp along with various MXR pedals. Worth every penny, you gt so much for your money with this guitar.

  • from MS June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar. Great price.

    If you are like me and don't have the money and/or the talent for a Gibson Les Paul, you can't go wrong with this Epiphone version. You get a quality overseas-made Les Paul with Gibson USA electronics. When I opened the case (Hard shell LP case included!) I was stunned by the beauty. It's just gorgeous in Vintage Sunburst. The sound? Fantastic. It has that Gibson LP bite and punch I was hoping for by having the USA electronics. Overall, I'm in love with it and I think you would be too if you are an LP guy. I gave a half-star ding because around the 15th fret I have some small grooves cut into my fretboard, but I still love this guitar.

  • from PA June 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, etc

    This one jumped out at me...

    ...while reading through my FB feed. As I mentally clicked off the features I was thinking to myself "yeah, and I have a couple spare thousand to spend". Well, when I finally got to the ticket price, my jaw hit the floor! Had to read it twice to make sure I wasn't drunk or something (and I don't drink).
    This one's got everything you could want, aside from a pickguard. The quality of the craftsmanship is superb. The quality of the hardware is superb. The finish is whacko perfect.
    Sound? Ha...it'll knock your socks off. I've only had it less than a week, so I am still discovering all the many and varied tonal options available with this guitar. But, I will say I haven't heard a single thing I didn't like. It actually inspires me to play better, that's how nice it is. I'm not an expert, but, I've gotta say the only difference between this and it's more expensive pedigreed older brother is the name on the headstock. Epiphone's Les Paul is every bit as good a Les Paul as the original. In fact, I own another Epiphone/Gibson...a Nighthawk, and it's crazy high quality also. This is a very very nicely made guitar, and it sounds every bit as good as it looks. It's made in China, but for all I care it could be made in Antarctica, as long as it's as well made as this guitar. To me, it isn't where it's made, but how it sounds once it's in someone's hands.
    I have 7 guitars...I'll be keeping this one.
    Sweetwater blew me away by having this thing delivered to my door, set up and ready to roll, the 2nd day after I ordered it. In it's own case, no less. I think Sweetwater's the new standard in guitar retail.
    Long story short, buy it.

  • from T-VILLE NORTH CAROLINA October 22, 2016

    FRET BUZZ

    I GOT MINE A FEW YEARS BACK. BEAUTIFUL GUITAR GREAT PICKUPS EVERYTHING IS A ONE EXCEPT IT HAS FRET BUZZ . I'VE BEEN PLAYING AND ADJUSTING ON GUITARS FOR A LONG TIME I THINK IT NEEDS FRET LEVELING I DON'T THINK I BE ABLE TO FIX IT. SO I'LL EITHER SELL IT OR SAVE TO GET IT PROFESSIONALLY REPAIRED. IT'S A SHAME BECAUSE IT'S BUILD AS GOOD AS ANY GIBSON. I SHOULD HAVE SENT IT BACK.

  • from ohio December 12, 2014Music Background:
    muggle

    Conflicted

    Let me say Sweetwater's customer service is best in-class; many organizations should follow their lead. As for the guitar itself, I read many reviews and the guitar shined in said reviews. Rec'd the guitar one day after ordering (I think a Sweetwater rep drove it to my house lol) and not quite what I expected. Everything was perfect out of the box, no problems whatsoever. The Gibson '57s have a nice warm tone, but the fingerboard seems sluggish. I am not a musician - I play in the basement. The fret wire seems high and my fingers kinda drag going up and down. Bare minimum I need to change the strings, but my dilemma is whether to return the guitar and purchase a Gibson LP, or have it professionally set up (new nut, fret leveling etc...) beautiful guitar, but I didn't think there would be a significant difference in playability vs my Gibson SG

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway