0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Faded Cherry Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 43 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Faded Cherry Sunburst?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Faded Cherry Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Danville IL January 16, 2017Music Background:
    Playing off and on for 20 years

    Amazed, did not expect how awesome this is!

    So, I was in a music store and messing around with the Paul Reed Smiths, and trying to figure if paying the extra money for the 10 top was worth it.

    Then I saw one of these, and it was so pretty, I thought I would give it a try.

    I am glad I did, I left the store thinking about this guitar, not the Custom 24 I was playing.
    A week later I came back for it, and I adore it. To my wife's amazement, I didn't take out the loan I thought I needed for the PRS to get this.

    I admit I have become pretty gear snobby, but wow, this guitar is outstanding. It feels great and sounds wonderful.

    I play through a Mesa F30 Combo, a Mark 5 25 into a 1x12 Mesa Recto cab, and a MG100HDX into an old VS412 (Marshall Valvestate 412 back when they were still made in England) and its great.

  • from Maryland January 10, 2017

    Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Faded Cherry Sunburst

    I'm totally blown away by this guitar. The action & playability of this guitar rivals any Gibson I've ever played and I do own Gibsons. The Classic 57 Genuine Gibson USA Humbuckers (PAF) split coil pups with push/pull pots deliver everything tone wise I can conjure from Creamy blues to cutting and crunchy rock and metal. Flame top is gorgeous and workmanship is top notch.

    Delivery was fast! Very well double boxed it arrived in excellent condition packed safely in it's case. Guitar inspection & set up before shipping was spot on. Intonation is excellent all over the neck and she stays in tune even without a bone nut. Even that pesky D chord rings out true and clean.

    If your short on funds but love the Gibson Les Paul look, feel and tones look no further! This guitar delivers double in spades! Comes with genuine Epiphone case and Fantastic Sweetwater service and set-up. You will not regret buying one of these!

  • from December 4, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Comparable to Gibson

    I have 3 Gibson LPs -- a Studio, 50s Tribute and 60s Tribute. This guitar, I kid you not, is comparable in sound and feel to my Studio. I have seriously thought about getting another ( in Midnight Blue or Sapphire) because it sounds and plays so great. Am definitely giving Epiphones another look before I get another Gibson.

  • from Skytown June 7, 2016Music Background:
    Long time player

    Flawless

    Like the title says...it is flawless! I'm not sure how long Sweetwater keeps pics on the site, but search for F334574. Bookmatching on the top is better than any Gibson under 5K that I've ever seen. Got lucky with this one. Went over it with a fine tooth comb and everything is perfect! Everything!
    On a side note, I did install a Tusc nut...just because. The nut came pre-slotted (molded in) and the strings ended up too low. Only needed to raise about .004. I didn't know how to shim such a small amount, but finally came up with an idea to use aluminum foil. Folded over until it was the right thickness, flattened and trimmed it, and put it under the nut. No need for glue as the nut is nice and tight in the slot. Came out perfectly! Intonation is now great across the entire neck.
    Thanks to Matt Alexander at Sweetwater for all on his help on picking up this gem!

  • from North Carolina April 4, 2016

    Amazing guitar........

    I've been playing for 40 plus years and in that time i have had everything from high end Gibsons down to 200 dollar guitars. I must say that this guitar is as good and in some ways better than any i have ever had.... The Gibson USA 57 pickups are in my humble opinion, the best ones on the market right now. My other guitars have different models of Duncan's on them and they sound great as well but these are my favorite. Great craftsmanship on this guitar as well. Played and sounded great right out of the box. The complaint I have is that i can't afford to buy a second one for backup at this time but as soon as i can afford it, i will definitely order another one. THANKS Sweetwater for your excellent service as always.....

  • from Albemarle nc March 5, 2016

    Great guitar I have two

    I have two Gidsons.top.of the line and Fenders ..but when I travel to friends or family s I take the ephaphone les paul love them sound and play just as good as the Gibsons ..Sorry it's hard to beat a good Fender. ... for the money there tribute is a GREAT GUITAR ...A set of good strings and set up right..heard to beat ..thanks for reading. .Chuck ..in Albemarle NC

  • from Pensacola, FL January 29, 2016Music Background:
    I play many instruments piano, synths, baritone, guitar, and a songwriter

    my new baby

    own and play a good many guitars, and when I picked up this baby it is just one of those instruments that begs to be played... the action is wonderful the tone superb I'm impressed

  • from Texas July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging for 30 years

    Buy 2!

    So I am one of those guys always searching for a better guitar. I never seem to be able to find one that covers every single tone I could possibly need. Seems simple right? LOL well my search is over this baby goes from Les Paul growl almost to Tele sparkle. You cant quite get the fender chime, but its so close and sounds so balanced you wont care. Last nite I had the other guitar player in the band give a try and I never got it back all nite. He was blown away with the versatility. This coming from a guy who brings 4 electrics to a gig.This guitar could single handedly kill the sales of Gibson Les Pauls! With the Gibson electronics and hardware this is a steal. You could buy 2 of theses and still get out cheaper!!! I know I know cheaper doesn't help on stage when you're looking for tone. Make no mistake there is no compromise here!!!! BUy 2!!! Thanks to my salesman Josh Lively, great service and very friendly customer service.......great experience Thanks Sweetwater

  • from southeast June 28, 2015Music Background:
    20+ year accomplished recording artist

    As Good As ANY

    20+ year Pro/recording Artist and Luthier. First of all, the guys at Sweetwater are the absolute best in this world, no doubt.
    I bought one of these when they were first released and just ordered another one. You see a lot of "For the money" remarks which is absolutely true BUT...this guitar is loaded folks. It has the best components, electronics, that you can have in a guitar along with the `57 classic pups. Nice Mahogany, actually old wood, and the method used in the setting of the neck is also top notch. Now Ive owned/played about every kind of guitar out there and in my opinion this guitar is right up there on top. The top is laminated and not notched but so what, its not like its going to pop off. The mahogany used is old wood and the grain is excellent on my existing guitar. I spoke with a few people at Gibson and finally spoke with a person who explained the facts about the Mahogany. If you`re a vet guitarist then you probably have a way you like the guitar to be set up. When building these guitars, they have a neutral way of setting them up, some better than others of course, but you probably tweek your guitars to suite you so you understand when you see comments about string height, action, etc. that these are more or less rookie remarks. Most all guitars that I have owned needed tweeking, and even fret leveling and Im talking about American Deluxe models of Strats, and Les Pauls so I dont get anxious about this fact. You have to understand that these people build tons of these guitars so how can they possibly check in detail every aspect of a guitar?? They cant. So yeah, "for the money" you can`t possibly beat it but in all actuality, compared to the market prices of guitars today, this guitar should cost more like $2,000.00. Just buy one and then join a jam session with another guitarist playing any version of Gibson les paul and listen for yourself.

  • from North Carolina June 18, 2015

    My new Paul

    I traded my 1985 Gibson Les Paul just to get rid of it. I vowed I would never own another Les Paul. Then came the Epiphone 1960 Tribute Plus. Everything I had against the Gibson was corrected in this model. My new Les Paul plays like a dream with all of the heavy sounds of the Seth Lover 57 Pups. The workmanship is magnificent and the setup by Sweetwater was spot on. I can recommend this instrument to all serious players, be amateur or pro, give it a chance.....you'll see what I mean.

  • from June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Simi-pro and instruction

    Why pay more?

    In 1992 I purchased a new LP Standard, cost about $1200... regrettably when the kids were young I had to sell it. Over the past 12 years I have missed having a Les Paul, I loved the guitar but just couldn't justify the price of new one, especially when compared to custom models for about the same price.

    Enter the Epiphone LP Tribute Plus... I had never actually played one of these in a store, just read the reviews from multiple sites. My fantastic wife knew I had been wanting another LP for years so she ordered me one as an early father's day gift (yea pretty darn cool, right!?!). I wasn't sure what to expect, it had the same pickups as my old one and electronics but what would it really play like?

    After spending about 12 hours playing it since Saturday I'm, as the 5 stars note, "Blown Away." The weight, the frets, the sound, the binding are everything I could have hoped for, it is easily as nice as my former guitar. What my other didn't have was a top that looked this nice nor locking tuners. Sustains like it was in Spinal Tap and just "feels" great, if you know what I mean.

    Sweetwater was fantastic as always and my Rep, Josh, now "ours" I guess, took great care of my wife when she ordered.

    Things to note when the guitar arrived. - Packed well, double boxed plus the case is really decent. The fretboard was quite dirty with shavings from the frets being cut/polished. Note it didn't "look" dirty, you could just tell when you played it. The frets were excellent, no jagged edges and quite smooth. Personally I would rather the frets be great... I can clean the neck. After playing about 30 minutes I set out to clean the fretboard and change the strings out. While cleaning I closely examined the inlays and I'm pleased to say that were perfectly cut. Seen many different guitars, some more some less, with filler to even things out, these were all very precise cuts (kudos Epi China - this one is from the China factory).

    One reviewer noted it wouldn't stay in tune... I have no tuning problems, in fact, it stays in perfect tune after changing strings. What everyone needs to note is that when they string it at the factory they are stringing it like it didn't have locking tuners. I think my B string had about 8 to 10 winds on it when it came, that will definitely make it go out of tune easily and defeats the purpose of locking tuners. These Grovers don't need much, line them up and turn the tuning key and they will auto lock, my wound strings barley have a full turn on them. They are tricky at first, if you haven't used them before, however there are videos online about how they work.

    After lowering the bridge just a little, intonation was correct from Sweetwater, I made a few minor adjustments and the strings are super low with no fret buzz. I don't care what guitar I get I'll always perform a setup when I get it - if nothing else just to check everything out. My point is that I really didn't have to do anything but clean the neck and that wasn't a must, just my personal preference. Truly this was gigable right out of the box which is saying a great deal for this price point.

    Definitely check this guitar out (in any color you like). The sounds and playability are all Les Paul, regardless of what is on the headstock. If you want that classic LP sound, look no further, it's right here, no need to spend 7 times as much. That extra money could easily fund 2 more guitars and a nice tube amp :)

  • from June 6, 2015

    GREAT GUITAR

    LET ME BEGIN BY SAYING I HAVE OWNED AND PLAYED 7 GIBSON LES PAUL STANDARDS AND 3 EPIPHONE LES PAULS. 2 OF WHICH ARE PLUS TOP PROS AND 1 PROPHECY GX. THE BOYS AND GIRLS OVER IN GIBSONS CHINA FACTORY ARE GETTING GOOD AT THE GAME. THIS GUITAR, EVEN THOUGH NOT A TRUE MADE IN USA GIBSON, IS A VERY FINE INSTRUMENT. EXCELLENT FIT AND FINISH, NICE FRET WIRE FINISHING AND VERY CLASSIC SOUNDING GIBSON 57 PUPS. THE GUITAR, ONCE SET UP TO MY LIKING, CAN HOLD ITS OWN WITH MY STANDARDS FOR PLAYABILITY AND CRUNCH. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE I CAN TELL IS THE OLDER STANDARDS ARE A BIT CLEARER ON THE HIGH END BUT OVERALL THIS IS A HIGHLY GIGABLE GUITAR AND AN EXCELLENT BUY FOR WHAT YOUR GETTING. THIS IS A TRUE LES PAUL GUITAR, NOT A KNOCKOFF, BUILT BY GUITAR BUILDERS WHO ARE OVERSEEN BY GREAT GUITAR BUILDERS FROM GIBSONS USA PLANT. IN CLOSING LET ME SAY THAT IT IS GETTING HARDER AND HARDER TO JUSTIFY A $3000 DOLLAR PRICE TAG WHEN GUITARS LIKE THIS ARE BECOMING AVAILABLE. IF YOU ARE A PUREST I UNDERSTAND. BUT IF YOU WANT TO SAVE A BUNCH OF MONEY AND OWN A AWESOME LES PAUL LOOK NO FURTHER.

  • from Cincinnati, OH June 5, 2015

    Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Faded Cherry

    I am updating my previous review. Having discussed the fret buzz issue with Sweetwater, they have made it right. Outstanding customer service!

  • from FLAT ROCK, NC March 5, 2015Music Background:
    Collector musician

    Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus-

    I just wanted to thank Sweetwater & Alan Carter for another GREAT guitar- I selected this Tribute Plus from the website, and the pictures don't do it justice! You cannot get any closer to a Gibson than this model- mine arrived with a stunning perfect finish, in tune, and sounds awesome- I own several Gibson LP's, and this Epi is right up there with them, except this Tribute cost a couple of thousand less. Really amazing flame top, matched perfectly, a fine Les Paul. And Sweetwater does everything right- set-up, sales, super-fast safe shipping!!!!

  • from March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice guitar

    I am really satisfied with this guitar . I was thinking about buying the Gibson but could not justify shelling out that kind of money. I received it in two days and when I unboxed I was blown away by the beauty and the sound was great right out of the box no tweeking necessary Thanks to my sales engineer Jeff Allen and all the techs I got a great Guitar.

  • from Fort Myers, FL March 3, 2015

    Great guitar

    I bought Faded Cherry Sunburst. What can I say it's a lacquer finish, not urethane, so it is beautiful.
    Out of the box this Les Paul played fantastic. I couldn't put it down for hours.
    The neck feels just like my old `59 Les Paul. The pickups are very responsive, and the tone and volume controls can be used to get any sound your after,
    The split coil does not, as some have said, get a Strat sound. The sound of the split coils on this are more of a P-90 type single coil sound.
    I really can't find any thing negative to say about the Les Paul tribute Plus.

  • from Greenwood, MO February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Long time musician/hobbyist

    This is a Les Paul

    Iíve been chasing tone for the last 35 years and have always wanted to add a Les Paul to my ownership history. After reading and watching several glowing reviews on the Epiphone Tribute Plus I ventured out to my local big box store to see if I could try one out. I went all over the Kansas City area and no one had this model in stock. I was able to play an Epiphone Standard Les Paul side by side with a Gibson LPM and Les Paul Studio through a Blackstar HT 40 Club amp. They were all very nice guitars that played and sounded beautifully. However, I was honestly not hearing a huge different in sound or a finding a vast difference in playability unless I plugged into the Gibsonís that were priced well into the 2k range. The Epiphoneís were that good.

    I thought that if the Standards were that nice how much better are the Tributes? I decided to sell an old amp and guitar and take a chance on one in faded Cherry. I contacted my sales associate, Andrew Plassman who as I have come to expect over the last 4 years, did a fantastic job Ė It is always a pleasure to work with Andrew and his attention to detail and commitment to service keeps me a loyal customer. The guitar arrived in perfect condition and I have barely been able to put it down. With the excellent build quality in addition to the Gibson pickups and hardware it is an instrument on par with one costing thousands more. I have not been this pleased with a guitar since I took a chance on a CV 50ís Telecaster a couple years ago (from Sweetwater of course!), which became my go to guitar. With the addition of the Les Paul Tribute Plus, my Stratocaster is getting very lonely.

  • from Williston, ND January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Past Pro Muscian and current Hobbyist

    Beatiful guitar plays like butter!

    I've had this guitar for nearly a month now and it plays like a dream. It arrived in perfect condition and nearly in tune! I own some high end guitars and have played off and on for a number of years. I have always been partial to Les Pauls but thought I would take a chance on the Epiphone. I am really happy I did! The fit and finish are flawless and Gibson 57 humbuckers flat out sing! Sweetwater's service is outstanding and I am looking forward to my next purchase.

  • from Pennsylvania January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Long-time guitar player

    ONE OF MY

    WOW...What a GEM of a guitar, at an INCREDIBLY LOW PRICE! At
    age 66, I've been workin' on my "bucket list", & my life would not be complete without a Les Paul. To me, this Epiphone LP is equal to--or even BETTER than--many Gibson LPs that I've tried out in the past!
    Man, these Vintage Gibson USA Classic '57 Humbuckers absolutely
    sizzle on the treble end, & are super-rich & clear on the the neck & middle positions! Also, as beautiful as the Faded Cherry Sunburst
    photos appear here, just wait 'til you open the case & see it in person!
    You won't believe your eyes at the TRUE beauty of this guitar! Let me provide all of you out here with some great advice: When you
    purchase from Sweetwater, be sure to ask for Mike Soper at ext.1342.
    This guy knows everything about guitars, & is a pleasure to deal with!
    He will give you all the time you need, in a most friendly & patient manner, to answer all your questions & advise you wisely! I always do my business with Mike. Believe me...you'll be as pleased as can be!

  • from Florence, Alabama January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Student

    Great purchase and wonderful contact from Sweetwater

    I ordered my 14 year old son this guitar for Christmas. I have been impressed with Sweetwater every step of the way! The website was fabulous! My son especially liked getting to pick his EXACT guitar from the photos of each serial number. Pricing was better than anywhere else, shipping was fast, and even received a follow up phone call to see if we were happy with our order! On top of that, their email correspondence was above and beyond expected with updates and thank you emails. I can't say enough good stuff about Sweetwater! THIS is how you do business! I will be going to them with all my future purchases!

  • from Alaska March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Les Paul

    No need to go on about these guitars, they are as good as everyone says! The best "bang for your buck" available from Gibson/Epiphone, bar none. That they come with the hard case at the price they sell for is just icing on the cake!
    The one I picked has a spectacular top, with very distinct figuring, making it a "one-off" for sure. The tuners are the most stable I've encountered, and keep it ready to play. The Gibson 57 Classic Humbuckers are one of my favorites, and the splitting function just adds to the variety of tones available. Excellent job Epiphone!

  • from Rock Hill S.C. January 18, 2014Music Background:
    pro for 45 yrs studied music at N.G,ville and Furman U

    WOW!!!! Fantastic Guitar

    I had the luck of of the Irish when a friend sold me an older version of the same guitar about 5 yrs. He had taken very good care of it and it is just amazing. It looks and plays and sounds like a new one. I played it through a Blackstar HT40 and then with a blues driver E.T.C. and I just love it .I would recommend this axe to all of my friends and anyone else interested. Oh, I am a drummer , singer, writer and doing my 1st solo cd. I also am a work in progress on bass , guitar and keyboards.

  • from lake placid,ny[winter sports capital of the world] December 19, 2013Music Background:
    hobbiest

    tony D. is the BEST...

    This is not my 1st guitar fron Sweetwater[or my last] The Guitar is wonderful....but I got it from Tony D.because hes set me up so well,the personal service makes the difference....Another reason is the set up you guys do.It's set up and ready to ROCK.Your service center is a great help also[I had a small problem and Tony&Javier hooked me up fast,,,Thanks for your help and I will see you again sammy* tilden lake placid,ny

  • from Kansas November 16, 2013Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Fantastic Guitar!

    The headstock says Epiphone but, with all the goodies that this guitar comes with especially the GIBSON pickups; I think you know what I'm talking about. It's hard to believe what they sell this instrument for, even a hardshell case is included!
    This guitar is absolutely stunning looking, playing, sounding, and the feel of the neck, with the guitar being totally mahogany it is the total package for a Les Paul and, a definate tribute to the man that created this fabulous instrument.
    I have another LP it is the transparent blue color and, it is a GREAT instrument but, I've always had my eye on the Faded Cherry Sunburst finish and, when they came out with this model with all of Super features and, goodies, that was it, I had to have it.
    Sweetwater does a Great job with the pics and, display in their guitar gallery but, when you see this instrument in person, all you will be able to do is stare at it's awesome beauty.
    If you have ever wanted a Les Paul this is the one to buy.

  • from western PA August 27, 2013Music Background:
    player

    GREAT

    This is a fantastic guitar at a GREAT price. Quality is top of any line not just Epiphone. Smooth player GREAT sounds. A real Les Paul from the people that made the Les Paul guitar famous.
    P.S. comes with a case. GREAT

  • from Virginia Beach Va July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Les Paul tribute plus

    Rivals most Gibson's fit and finish is awesome Gibson pick ups are great I love the slim taper neck 10 out of 10

  • from los angeles ca usa June 15, 2013

    Amazing Guitar

    Amazing guitar low price for that sound and action are perfect WOW!!!!!

  • from Naples, FL May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Player

    What Else Could You Really Want?

    This is an absolutely fantastic guitar and above all a tremendous value! If you simply do the math-Gibson 57 Classic Humbuckers will cost you about $300 a pair as replacement parts. An Epiphone case is $90. The Switchcraft hardware and Mallory electronics are Gibson USA spec and all this for $599. My only mod has been to change out the bridge and tailpiece for Gotohs. The guitar sounded great before but the higher end bridge and tailpiece round out a great package. Sustain for days! It is really hard to believe that Epiphone only charges a $100-$150 premium for this model over their standard Les Paul models. This guitar is easily worth hundreds more, based on the electronics spec alone. But don't think they skimp on the quality of the actual guitar. The build quality is first rate and as perfect as it can be. Bottom line is this is all the Les Paul I could ever ask for and I really think Gibson is doing themselves a disservice (and us a favor) by making such a great guitar in this price range. My Les Paul itch has been scratched and I don't find myself pining for a Gibson, at least for a while. Sweetwater did a great job and I could not be happier with this guitar.

  • from Grayson, GA April 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Les Paul That I Have Always Wanted - An Epiphone With Gibson Components

    I have always wanted a Gibson Les Paul in Cherry Sunburst. Having been raised in a developing country (others call it 3rd world), owning a Gibson or any electric guitar for that matter was like close to impossible. So imagine my excitement when as a teen my parents bought me a 'knock-off' Les Paul guitar. While I fantasized about being a rockstar, just like most teen age boys, my parents wanted a different path for me. And besides, I realized that my guitar playing skills were not all that good. So, I sold that guitar and forgot everything about guitars, as I went through college, career, family and life itself. Three decades and 2 continents later, on my 51st birthday, as I was doing an inventory of my life, I thought about this once dearly loved passion - guitars. That was when I thought about getting myself a Les Paul. My 2 college buddies (and former bandmates who live overseas) suggested an Ebony Les Paul. So I got the (Made in Korea) Epiphone Black Beauty 3. My positive experience with that thing of beauty got me hooked again. In 2 weeks time, I bought another one - (Made In China) Standard PlusTop PRO in Honeyburst. Seriously, I cannot get these guitars off my eyes and hands. Everyday, I would visit Sweetwater's website and check out its Guitar Gallery - Epiphone section - just admiring the pictures of the gorgeous Les Pauls that are on display knowing that one day, I will own a Cherry Sunburst. And that day just came! And I could not be happier. The Les Paul Cherry Sunburst that I have always wanted came in the form of the Epiphone Les Paul 1960 Tribute Plus. Dave Brow, my very knowledgeable sales engineer (he's a professional audio engineer) let me choose from 10 models. I simply chose the one with the most intense and even flame top. Epiphone really outdid themselves in this guitar. The big headliner was the couple of authentic Gibson USA '57 Classic PUPs (Classic Plus for the bridge). Not only that - Grover locking tuners, vintage-set 1960's neck, hard maple cap with AAA flame veneer, SwitchCraft toggle switch and output jack, series/parallel tone switching, gold knobs with pointers, Epiphone straplocks and flawless craftmanship. And it safely arrived double-boxed inside a premium hardshell case (just like a Gibson guitar!) I have not had the privilege of owning a Gibson Les Paul, maybe someday I will. But, for now I am very (make that extremely) happy with my 3 Epiphone Les Pauls. And it has only been less than 3 months since I bought my very first Epiphone. I actually have one Epiphone LP hardshell case that is empty. Hmmm. Time to check out the Guitar Gallery.

  • from HICKSVILLE NEW YORK USA January 29, 2013Music Background:
    LOTA PLAYING OVER THE PAST 50 YEARS

    REALLY COOL EPIPHONE LES PAUL

    VERY ,VERY WELL MADE LES PAUL GUITAR FROM EPIPHONE.NOTHING CAN BEAT THIS OUTSTANDING AND WAY ABOVE AND BEYOND PRODUCT IN SOUND ,LOOKS AND EASE OF PLAYING . A ONCE IN A LIFE TIME GEM.STRIKE WHEN THE IRON IS HOT !! BUY IT NOW.BEFORE IT GOES AND DISAPEARS FROM THE RETAIL SCENE FOR EVER...YOU HAVE TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE IT...

  • from August 21, 2015

    A very real Les Paul

    An amazing Les Paul guitar, regardless of price. Real USA 57 pickups. Heavy. Slim taper neck. Coil Taps.

    I have owned several $3k-$4k Les Pauls. Frankly, I cannot see much difference between this Epiphone and the higher end Les Pauls. Definitely not 6-7 times better.

    I may put a graphtech nut, and roller bridge on it.

    Sweetwater is one of the best companies I have ever purchased from.

  • from Cincinnati, OH April 28, 2015

    Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Faded Cherry

    Unfortunately the 55 point check did not catch the fret buzz. The guitar required a $100 trip to the luthier for gluing and leveling. It now is as good as the previous fantastic reviews.

  • from WICHITA, KS February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Guitar

    This is definitely a great instrument. Very deep clear tone. There really is no comparison with the Epiphone Standard and the 1960ís Tribute to the sharp ear. The Standard sounds very flat and weak. The difference is very noticeable between the two, and this really shows you what a huge difference upgraded electronics can have. Donít believe me, then go to your local guitar shop and compare the two. I would rate the 500 dollar Standard as far as tone goes to a 200 dollar guitar. I would rate this 700 dollar 1960ís Tribute with the upgraded electronics to a guitar in the range of over 1000 dollars. Really just writing this review for the people out there on the fence between the two. Do yourself a favor over the long haul and spend the extra 200 dollars, because if you think the Standard for 500 dollars is going to save you money it wonít. You will immediately find the tone lacking and want to buy new pickups and upgrade the wiring harness, which with help from a technician to install it all puts you around 800 dollars total for a guitar without a case. Believe it or not this thing sounded better than an ESP Les Paul copy that was going for 1600 dollars. Nothing against ESP, they build great guitars, itís just that the one I tried did not have that deep rich clear Les Paul tone. Good Luck and I hope this helps out if you on the fence about the two guitars (Standard vs. 1960ís Tribute). P.S. It also seems like there is a slight improvement over attention to detail with the Tribute (such as flush frets with the fret board).

  • from socal March 22, 2014Music Background:
    ex-pro

    Beautiful Guitar

    I don't know that I can give a perfect score of five stars to anything but this guitar comes close at 41/2.
    My only complaint is with the 55 point evaluation. There appeared to be no setup done at all as the strings were practically laying on the fretboard.
    I took the guitar to my professional shop to have it setup. Now it plays great as I was hoping it would.

  • from Louisiana March 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby

    Great guitar

    This guitar really was beyond my expectation. I don't think you could get a better guitar for the money. It was set up nice and sounds great, looks even better. I haven't spotted any flaws in the finish anywhere. If I had to do all over again I'd buy it in a second.

  • from United States March 6, 2014Music Background:
    casual player for almost 25 years

    gorgeous

    Gorgeous looks, but more importantly gorgeous sounding. Very nicely built you can feel the quality the first time you place it in your hands. I love the way the neck feels, the pickups sound incredible.Nice case, it catches slightly when closing but nothing serious. Thats is the only negative I have. I ordered this and it arrived within 2 days which is incredible considering the 55 point inspection. It looked exactly like the pictures of the instrument I selected, love that I had the ability to select between multiple instruments. I've had this about a month and it is a seriously goodI instrument.

  • from Orlando, FL February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Tone Machine

    I came back to guitar a year ago after having not played for 30+ years. My first purchase was a American Special Strat and a Mustang 3 amp. Then I got a PRS Custom 24 SE another great guitar!, Well GAS hit again and I was about to buy another strat when I came across this guitar. I read everything I could find about it and played one at the local GC. Finally I pulled the trigger and ordered. Ian Angle my sales engineer was very patient and helpful and got the guitar right out to me. It came packed in the case and double boxed, very secure. Right out of the box it was in tune except for the high E which was a little flat, the intonation was even spot on. The set up was to factory spec and I haven't changed anything. The tone is incredible. The only problem was the lower tone knob wasn't pushed down evenly ( but that was an easy fix). The rest of the guitar is flawless. I would not hesitate to buy this again or to recommend it to anyone. It is easily equal to or better than my other two guitars.

  • from PA June 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, etc

    This one jumped out at me...

    ...while reading through my FB feed. As I mentally clicked off the features I was thinking to myself "yeah, and I have a couple spare thousand to spend". Well, when I finally got to the ticket price, my jaw hit the floor! Had to read it twice to make sure I wasn't drunk or something (and I don't drink).
    This one's got everything you could want, aside from a pickguard. The quality of the craftsmanship is superb. The quality of the hardware is superb. The finish is whacko perfect.
    Sound? Ha...it'll knock your socks off. I've only had it less than a week, so I am still discovering all the many and varied tonal options available with this guitar. But, I will say I haven't heard a single thing I didn't like. It actually inspires me to play better, that's how nice it is. I'm not an expert, but, I've gotta say the only difference between this and it's more expensive pedigreed older brother is the name on the headstock. Epiphone's Les Paul is every bit as good a Les Paul as the original. In fact, I own another Epiphone/Gibson...a Nighthawk, and it's crazy high quality also. This is a very very nicely made guitar, and it sounds every bit as good as it looks. It's made in China, but for all I care it could be made in Antarctica, as long as it's as well made as this guitar. To me, it isn't where it's made, but how it sounds once it's in someone's hands.
    I have 7 guitars...I'll be keeping this one.
    Sweetwater blew me away by having this thing delivered to my door, set up and ready to roll, the 2nd day after I ordered it. In it's own case, no less. I think Sweetwater's the new standard in guitar retail.
    Long story short, buy it.

  • from Houston December 4, 2013Music Background:
    30+ yr hobbyist

    Sounds great, playability average

    Sounds great, very versatile on getting many different tones. While the playability is better than other Epiphones I have tested, the action is on the medium high side and still buzzes a little more than I would like. Hoping that a professional setup will smooth it out when I get around to it later this week. Frets probably need to be leveled and definitely need to be polished. However, for the price, I still think this guitar is a great value.

  • from clifton new jersey June 4, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great guitar

    great value for the the money.easy to play and this guitar rocks with those 57 lassic humbuckers great tone.

  • from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA May 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic Guitar for the Money!

    I've been playing an American Standard Telecaster for about a year; love that guitar but wanted something with a little warmer tone and some crunch (plus I've just always wanted a Les Paul.) I was apprehensive about buying an Epiphone instead of the "real thing" but after doing some research on this model and seeing the outstanding features I decided it was worth a $600 risk -- and I'm glad I did! The thing sings! It has that classic Les Paul sound which I guess isn't surprising since it has true Gibson pickups. The locking tuners are a fantastic feature as well -- makes changing strings a breeze! There are just a couple of "fit and finish" issues: a little bit of excess glue on the fretboard at the highest fret, a small blemish in the finish under the neck pickup, but both unnoticeable unless you're going over the instrument with a fine-toothed comb. Playability is also very good, but I am considering taking it to a local guitar shop and having a full setup done just to fine-tune it to my playing style and preferences. Overall I highly recommend it for anyone who wants a Les Paul but doesn't want to fork over two grand. Some extra info: I'm using Ernie Ball Regular Slinky strings, Fender Mustang Floor effects board, and Fender Twin Reverb '65 Reissue tube amp.

  • from US October 21, 2014

    Mixed feelings...

    Well... It's a beautiful guitar and to me is a looker.

    I was however a little disappointed with the quality control coming from Epiphone.

    - The upper strap button was incorrectly drilled at the factory. It was not even close to being perpendicularly mounted to the body. Was probably drilled with a hand drill. If it bugs me enough, I will have to fill the hole and drill it correctly. The other strap button was similar but not as bad.
    - The bridge tone knob was installed incorrectly. The numbers did not align with the metal indicator.
    - I find that I use the bridge pickup exclusively because the neck pickup was a little too muddy and was originally way too loud for my taste. It could have had better balance between pickups. I may seek an aftermarket pickup later. Coil tapping is a plus.

    Regardless of the price point and the country of origin, I believe that Epiphone needs to get a little more stringent with what comes out of China.

    I did have to tweak the intonation a little.

    My ease of purchase, level of communication and general happiness level from Sweetwater however remains excellent and will still purchase from them.

    I do however wish they caught the details that I described here. All fixable to one degree or another. Also wish they had different levels of financing too (ie; shorter or customizable).

  • from Littleton, CO August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Played on/off for about 40 years

    Wow, what happened Epiphone?

    I wanted a Standard Plustop Pro and kept watching for one where the veneer matched so it looked like it was one piece of wood. Then a beautiful matching Tribute popped up so I jumped on it even though it cost more.

    It arrived perfect as Sweetwater's packaging is AAA. The guitar looked beautiful, perfect coloring, book matched veneer top (description says carved maple, but it's veneer) nice bindings, polished frets, nice inlays, etc. It had a few flaws in the finish. I see no need for locking tuners, bridge, or stop bar.

    It absolutely was not setup. The strings were 1/4" high, the bridge was all the way up, pickups were bottomed out, and the truss rod nut wasn't even touching the neck. I put a machinist ruler on the neck and around the 13th fret the neck bent down until at the 2nd fret the ruler was 1/8" ABOVE the strings. I used a luthier trick where you use blocks and clamps to straighten the neck then tighten the truss to hold the neck in place. But there was something within the neck that even clamping would not straighten it. I lowered the bridge until it bottom out. It was obvious why the strings were so high to begin with. I also believe the neck was not attached to the body at the correct angle.

    I documented it with photos including post-its wrapped and attached at all the points were there were severe machining and assembly errors, and sent it back. The guitar was obviously defective but I still had to pay the shipping(both ways). My sales rep is great and eventually make up for it.

    Another surprise is that the 60's "Slim Taper D" neck is fatter than the 12 string (DR-212) that I bought. And the 50's Slim Taper is referred to as a baseball bat. I have an early 90's Sheraton with a "Slim Taper D" neck that IS thin and very fast.

    I happened to get a defective guitar so regardless of looks, etc. it was not playable and never should have left Epiphones factory. So I cannot give it stars for nice tuners, nice color, etc..

    I bought a $129 Squier from Sweetwater that is absolutely flawless in every way. Really change my opinion on Epiphone.

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Faded Cherry Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway