0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Black Cherry Reviews

4.5 stars based on 62 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Black Cherry?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Black Cherry?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Cleveland, Ohio January 13, 2017

    Good Deal

    Very Nice variety of tones in this guitar. The Gibson Classic 57 pickups are great too. You can get a sweet child o mine tone on the neck pickup. The bridge pickup can get some nice cutting sounds. The middle position can be used for great tones too. The coil tap on the neck pickup gives a nice ebow tone and control. Slide guitar sounds killer on this guitar too.

    This guitar looks great too! I did have to use the truss rod to straighten out the action. Once I made this setup change, this guitar playability is quite nice now. I bought this guitar a couple of years ago when the price was lower. I would recommend buying this guitar before the price goes up again.

  • from Richmond, VA December 9, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz, clean and dirty blues, weird experimental stuff.

    Perfect

    The 57s are perfect, simply the best LP style below $ out there. Thanks to BJ and the crew at Sweetwater again!

  • from September 14, 2016

    Excellent

    Excellent guitar for the money and I have more than I should (I'm seeking professional help for my guitar addiction). The fit and finish is very good. The action is very good. There is some slight buzzing but if it means raising the action, it is not worth the trade-off. Plus, once the beast is plugged and at even relatively low volume, the ever so slight fret buzz is no longer an issue. The pick-ups are great. Classic Les Paul. If you want that classic electric Gibson sound this is an exceptional value. And it's a might perry too . I love it. It's not my PRS 20th Anniversary in terms of fit, finish, and action but the neck is thinner and very fast which is good for my medium sized hands. You can't compare the pick-ups because they are just two different animals, but the '57s are just as good in their own LP way. It's not THE best guitar, but for the money I just don't know how you can beat it. Oh, and there's plenty of sustain. If you want a quality LP that's pretty but not $2K+, get this one. You will not be disappointed.

  • from Ohio September 2, 2016

    Amazing!

    1st. The guitar is amazing! Beautiful sound, pickups are outstanding. The Black Cherry looks beautiful. Epiphone has come a long way with quality and has delivered an beautiful guitar!
    2nd. The folks, Steven Chamoun and Adam Vaughn, at Sweetwater are the absolute best. I ordered this guitar on Saturday, and it arrived Tuesday. A quick inspection revealed a volume pot was defective. I sent Steve some pics, and he immediately turned it over to Adam and I had a new guitar delivered the next day, Wednesday. The communication and attention to customer service is unbelievable. This is the 3rd guitar I've purchased at Sweetwater and Steve, and I have no intention of shopping anywhere else...
    Thanks guys!

  • from mchenry, IL August 13, 2016Music Background:
    lifelong amateur guitarist

    Whole lotta les, for a whole lot less.

    Aside from a couple very tiny cosmetic issues such as a slightly bent pickup ring (replaceable so no worries) and the fact that the body binding is masked off rather than scraped (upon very close inspection you can see very small areas where red was not removed from the binding) this guitar is top notch. I don't have any issue with the neck on my guitar. Its actually very stiff and not rubbery like some have attested. The finish on my example is amazing. Very dark but classy and a very nice figuring to the veneer. I love the pickups as I love 57 classics but am more into heavy music which the 57 plus really handles well. Playability is on par with any Gibson I have played and that has been many. Honestly aside from the headstock shape there is nothing that has me wanting an actual Gibson. The case is also very nice.

  • from Ohio May 31, 2016

    Exactly What I Wanted

    I am a new guitarist. At 45 I decided to take up playing. I wanted to purchase an electric and an acoustic. Darius Beatz helped me select this guitar. It is stunningly gorgeous with the deep black cherry color. It fees like fine furniture it is so nice. The tones out of it are amazing, and the fret board is the perfect size for my hands. Sweetwater set it up perfectly for me. It is the nicest guitar I have ever held. I could not be happier with this purchase or with the great service I received from Darius. Thank you so much Sweetwater!

  • from Illinois February 12, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter and musician

    It's the real deal! Sweet Black Cherry

    All of the reviews are true. I love this guitar. It plays great, sounds and looks beautiful. It has exceeded my expectations. I'm so glad that I made the purchase it just looked to good to pass up. Hard shell case included you can't go wrong. The customer service from Sweetwater is the best in the business. Super fast shipping! The guitar was setup and ready to play right out of the box. Thank you Nathan Malone for always following up to thank me for my purchase and making sure that I'm happy with everything.That's shows real class and that's why I always come back to Sweetwater!

  • from Plano, TX February 8, 2016

    The only Les Paul you need

    I believe this guitar might be the best value ever in guitars. It looks, plays, and feels like the best Les Pauls I have played. With it's Gibson 57 pickups, it sounds just like the best Les Pauls I have played. This is the only Les Paul I'll ever need. If you want a Les Paul, I highly recommend you pick one up.

  • from S.W.Va. January 18, 2016

    Sweet Black Cherry !

    This really is a sweet piece. Amazing to look at! From the hard curly maple top, the rosewood fingerboard , the pearl inlays. Then the feel,the carved body shape, the thin D shaped tapered neck...it just fits everywhere. Top that off with all the tone and sustain and those Gibson 57 humbuckers....WOW.
    Hard to tell from a Gibson Les Paul.......pretty Impressive .
    Also lets not forget Sweetwater! You guys are great to work with (Spencer) and much thanks to Jim Cooper for the really nice set up on this piece.-I'll be back !

  • from Grand Rapids, Michigan January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Absolutely Amazing

    I've owned my les Paul tribute for just over a year now and I can honestly say it still blows my mind when I pick it up. I've never played anything like it. It is the best guitar I've ever owned and it is my main axe and it will be for a long time to come. Best guitar on the market.

  • from Illinois September 14, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter / Producer

    Amazing and Inspiring

    As a owner of 39 guitars.. from custom shop to pawn store finds.. I was looking to purchase guitar #40 for my 49th birthday. After debating of what I would be in the market for.. I checked Sweetwater..and came across the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute. Of having only (1) Les Paul.. I thought it would be a great addition to the fleet. I could not have made a better choice.

    The way this guitar is built and designed..including the appearance ..and Gibson USA57 pick-ups! SOLD!

    It lives up to the it's name.. as a tribute to the classic. In fact.. this guitar on it's own would stand the test of time as a classic.

    A BIG applause to Sweetwater ..on how one can see and select the actual guitar you are interested in on the website. This..includes the serial number and close-up details. This is a major plus in the way of deciding and making the purchase of any particular model of guitar. NO stock photos here..and hope some dude pulls the right one in the warehouse. YOU receive the model you see! Awesome!

    The guitar was shipped on time..and with in 5 minutes after being delivered to the studio.. I was playing it thru my amp. The guitar was set up perfect.. no adjustments needed.

    I rarely buy guitars on line..but I found Sweetwater is one of the best in the business. My sales rep Ryan Holquist was helpful and I appreciate the follow up call on anything we may need. Look forward to do business again soon!

    Thanks to Sweetwater for makin' me birthday a good one. Give yourself a treat or add this axe to the collection..go for it!

  • from August 14, 2015

    Exceeds expectations!

    I am one of those guys that sticks with the tried and true - name brand recognition only and usually have to have the most expensive one to feel like I have acquired the highest quality in something. Well, I was WRONG! This Epiphone Les Paul Tribute exceeded all my expectations and I have to say that out of the 8 or 9 guitars that I currently own (all name brands) this baby plays as well if not better than all of them. I am simply AMAZED at the look and feel, but more importantly, the playability and tonal qualities that I get out of this axe. Are you ready to be A M A Z E D?

  • from Lafayette, LA July 31, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced

    Don't Hesitate,,,,Buy it!

    OK; I have Gibson's and I have Epiphones. I know what to expect on each. I have always felt Epi's are a good value in their price point. My oldest is a 1996 g400, and others up to 2013. I have Gibson's (Les Pauls and a SG) 1999, 2009 and 2015. This is truly as good as any Les Paul Studio I have owned, and quite frankly better overall. I hesitated for a while, but I say if you are torn between a Gibson Les Paul Studio and this guitar, don't hesitate. You will like this guitar. The tone is pure Gibson, and the neck is better than my 1999 Gibson LP Standard. I have read some of the negative comments and all I can say is that the one I received didnt have any of the issues they describe. The build quality, feel and tone are excellent and more than I expected. Go for it.

  • from I.E. California July 11, 2015Music Background:
    On and off the guitar. a half ***er.

    Beautiful deal

    I have 30 years of customer service and was amazed with the customer service at Sweetwater.
    The guitar is great, easy on the eye's ( beauty) and was shipped on time in excellent condition.
    I would defiantly do business with Sweetwater again. After doing a lot of research on guitars with a budget in
    mind. I settled on this Epiphone Les Paul Tribute, all us made parts, Gibson pick ups only the shell is made in China and with today's CNC machine carvers, it doesn't matter were there made. As long as the computer carving machine
    is working properly.

  • from South Jersey July 2, 2015Music Background:
    Hobyist

    Seven Months Later

    I'm an over the road trucker and I usually play at night to pass the time. I originally bought my Tribute Plus around seven months ago because I wanted a decent guitar to take in the truck so none of my other more expensive guitars would be damaged from bouncing around while I drove. I liked my Epiphone so much that I found myself playing it instead of my 2010 Gibson LP Standard when I was back home.. Not only did I like the tone of the 57 Classics over the Burstbuckers, but the Epi sustained noticeably longer than the chambered Standard. Fit and finish were at least as good. So long story short, I sold the Standard and now the Epihone is my go to guitar out of six American guitars. Go figure! So if you're on the fence about buying one, ...go for it... You won't be sorry.

  • from Upstate, NY June 21, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro, Worship Leader

    How did they do this...

    I have to tell you that I was honestly very skeptical of all the raving reviews. I have seen some other Epiphone models at a local store and was very concerned about quality. Having had a good experience with my ES-175 Premium however, I figured I would give this one a shot. I really wanted a Les Paul to add to my stable. Having owned USA made Pauls in the past along with some very high end guitars from other makers I was afraid that my taste for the finer things would be left disappointed. Let me tell you something: it did not take long for me to ask myself the question: how did they do this? In other words, how did they pack this much guitar into this reasonable price?

    Beginning with the case, which is excellent, I opened it up to find a stunning guitar. Fit and finish is exquisite with only one minor exception. Higher end guitars usually have well polished frets. These were not, but some playing and bending should take care of that over a little time. A couple turns of the bridge saddle posts and action was where I like it. The guitar is finished perfectly in every other way. Even fret ends were dressed nicely and looking down the neck showed perfectly installed frets and a perfect neck and neck relief. This guitar is of better build quality than many of the recent year USA models.

    Already excited about how good this guitar seemed to be I plugged in. My oh my this is the real deal. It has that signature Les Paul sound and distinctive growl. The pickups are outstanding and do not need replacement. Even the coil taps sounds incredible. I am plugging into an Ethos Overdrive which reveals with painful detail the flaws of any equipment (and player) and what was coming out of the speakers was vintage, warm, fat Les Paul bliss.

    I cannot strongly enough recommend you take a chance on one of these. If you can't get this thing to sound amazing, then its either your equipment, your hands, or both! This is a great guitar at ANY price!

  • from June 18, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Whoa!

    I will say I have only been playing for a few years. My main guitar until now has been an Ibanez Prestige S series. Wanting a 24.75" scale guitar, I was looking at Gibson SG's. Friend talked me into this one. Delivered yesterday, plugged it in to my Marshall tubes and whoa, there is that sound, the growl that is bridled but yet there. It sounds like the artists I am trying to learn from (Page, 3 kings, etc). It was there. My skill isnt there but the guitar is. I couldnt put it down and stayed up way too late playing :-) I was surprised how much easier it was to play than my Ibanez as well (shorter scale?). Setup was fantastic, frets are good, finish is flawless. Love it! The quality on this guitar is really more than I expected! I will never own a 3k Gibson, and now have no desire to. As far as I am concerned, this is it! And it was delivered in 2 days! My kids love the candy they always pack as well :-) My second purchase from sweetwater and am very happy! These guys are top notch.

  • from April 18, 2015

    Great Axe

    This guitar is fantastic. Couldn't be happier with the purchase. My opinion this guitar sounds much better than my chambered body Gibson LP. So if you want a solid body Les Paul with a Maple top, and you don't want to spend several thousand dollars - this is your guitar. The 57 Classics are the real deal. Mine is 8lb 14 oz and it sustains just like a Les Paul should. And finally a hard shell case comes with it !

  • from IA March 30, 2015Music Background:
    40+ years pro; stage and studio

    Doesn't get much better than this!

    No, it doesn't say "Gibson" on the headstock; no, it doesn't say Gibson on the case; but it DOES say Les Paul, and trust me, this IS in every respect, a Les Paul. In my many years as a pro, I have owned and used several Gibson and Epi Les Pauls, and this one is hands-down the best of them all. The Gibson pickups are magnificent - then add in the electronics, the Grovers, the slim-taper neck, the overall weight and feel, the finish, and you've got something very, very special. I've had this beauty for over a month as I wanted to work with a bit before reviewing it, and, as you can probably tell, I'm amazed with this instrument. I've used it several times live, and finally got into the studio with it, and in just over a month it has become my favorite in nearly all respects. I play it live through a little ol' Peavey Bandit, and the tones you get with this guitar will give you goose-bumps - whether you want clean or a bit of bluesy OD , you'll be thrilled. In the studio I run it through a Roland ME-33 and mere words cannot adequately describe the wonderful tones it produces. I prefer the sound and feel of this guitar to any Gibson I have ever owned or played (Standard, Custom and Studio). It has replaced my PRS as my go-to instrument, as well. The black cherry finish is breathtaking. I owned two Epi Les Pauls years ago, but neither of them even approached the level of this one. Set-up was nearly perfect right out of the box (I did change the strings), and this one holds tuning extremely well, even with excessive string-bending. Many, many thanks to Jake and the crew at Sweetwater for their ongoing support, advice and assistance! This guitar is a tremendous value - go for it, and you'll have yourself a Les Paul you'll be proud to own!

  • from Anchorage, AK March 29, 2015

    Love it!

    Awesome guitar for the money. It arrived with all of the stickers removed, and looked like it had been played, but no damage, so no issue. The fret board was filthy dirty, but was set up nicely. The finish looks WAY better in person than the pictures. Plugged it in, and blown away. Great range of tone, nice low action, great pickups. Probably the best Les Paul for the $.

  • from Bedford, NY March 20, 2015

    Ok I am shocked!

    I have been playing guitar since 1979 , when I got my first guitar , a Les Paul copy Aria Pro 2 , that cost $700.00 , which was more expensive than a Gibson Les Paul at that time. Not to mention the body was hollow on the top (if you knocked on the wood where the pickups were , you could hear the hollow sound. Fed back allot , crappy pickups.)

    Now to the Epiphone Tribute Plus (Black Cherry.) - This is my second Epi Les Paul in 2 months. The first one I got was faded Cherry burst. I was so blown away with the first guitar , I had to get a second. I have been agonizing over Gibson Les Pauls for a long time. I hate where they went for 2015 with all the new touches. I wanted a classic Les Paul , not a auto tuner , body relief guitar!

    The Epiphone Tribute Plus is a real Les Paul worthy of standing next to a $2,500.00 = $4,500.00 Gibson Les Paul. I was not so sure about Epiphone's quality , especially at $699.00! I remember the Epihones from 20 years ago and they were all toys IMO. The Tribute Plus is a step up to the professional arena and these guitars play amazingly , they sound like a true classic Les Paul (the Gibson 57 Classic Humbuckers sound perfect in these guitars) and you will never think you are ever playing anything less than a real Les Paul , because that is exactly what it is!

    At the time that I write this review , I have my Black Cherry Paul in the shop for a fret dress and polish. Also , I am switching out the nut for bone and replacing the bridge with a Tonepros. Can't wait to get this guitar back in my hands.

    I highly recommend this guitar for anyone looking for a high quality Les Paul. You will not be disappointed , they are that good!

  • from Hanover, MD March 6, 2015Music Background:
    Long time player, song writer, hobbyist, patriot, and seeker of quality and value.

    Perhaps The Best Epiphone Les Paul, Ever. Very Good Value.

    I had owned a very nice Gibson Les Paul Custom Deluxe, which I purchased brand new with hard case, from a brick and mortar store in 1976. It cost me a whopping $583. Yep! Five hundred eighty three bucks, a sizeable figure in those days, but only a small fraction of what it would cost to buy the equivalent Gibson model today. I don’t recall placing it on a scale, but that Gibson LP was really heavy! It had a relatively wide and thick neck, was beautifully finished in nitro cherry sunburst, gold hardware, and an actual ebony fret board. It had wonderful tone. Unfortunately, I had to sell that guitar during a period of financial downturn. I wanted another, but as prices rose I couldn’t justify the expenditure. Nice Gibson LPs are very pricey today, and I feel that the basic models lack essential elements of quality. Anyway, to satisfy my LP desire I purchased an Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus, in Black Cherry, based on the many positive customer reviews found at numerous online guitar sales sites. The new Epi compares favorably to my cherished Gibson, with nice tone and feel, although the neck is significantly slimmer, with perhaps a bit less solidity, and the weight, which Sweetwater had posted as near 9 pounds, seems lighter (a good thing). In fact, the guitar’s body seems a bit thinner than the Gibson, but that may be my recollection rather than fact. For some reason, Epi LPs have always looked smallish to me. The Epi is well balanced; it feels good due to its narrow, small LP body and short scale, and acoustic guitar players may find it surprisingly comfortable due to the height of the strings over the bridge pickup, and string spacing that feels wider at the bridge than it does on many solid body electrics. Tone is good, and the coil splitting provides a clear, buttery tone that I really like. The big-knobbed Grover tuners feel great on one’s fingers; very comfortable and easy to turn. The mustache headstock is different than on some other Epi guitars, and it doesn’t look awkwardly long! In fact, this headstock looks Right! Epi would be wise to use this headstock and tuner combination on the entire line. Overall, the Epi’s finish is quite nice, and appears durable. The case, while not protective enough for an airline’s cargo hold, seems sturdy, lightweight, and easy to carry. It has a small accessory pocket for strings, tuner, and strap. It is lockable, cradles the instrument better than most gig bags, has an angled and padded back support, and offers some knock protection. Unfortunately, the case I received must have been very new, and it stunk something awful, probably from the glue used to affix the lining material. I had to remove the guitar and allow the case to air out for a couple of weeks, safely propped open, and with a few dryer sheets inside. The case smells better now, but you’d never mistake it for a rose bouquet. The guitar had gone through Sweetwater’s 55-Point Checkup, and all of the pots and knobs and parts seemed to be in good shape. Everything worked, but the guitar needed setup tweaking. The truss rod required adjustment, the bridge was a little high, and the intonation was off on several strings. The fret board needed cleaning, as evidenced by the staining of my fingertips during the first 10 days of ownership. The setup adjustments are simple, and anyone with hands and patience can do them. However, the guitar would not stay in tune, even after playing and stretching the strings for a week. It seems that friction at the nut and the bridge saddles was preventing free movement of the strings while tuning, so the strings would tune to pitch, but relax during play, and notes would go flat. The stock strings have good tone, but are wound somewhat abrasively, and a more tightly woven string set would probably have been a better factory choice. This Epi uses an ABR-1 type of bridge, similar to those on older Gibsons, but the saddles’ casting and string slots are somewhat rough. Why the manufacturer didn’t make an effort to eliminate nut and saddle friction is anyone’s guess, but a few minutes' effort on the owner’s part is well rewarded. If you’re having issues with the guitar holding tune, you might do as I’ve done. Try nut lube under the strings at the nut and saddles first, and if that doesn’t solve the tuning issue, you might smooth the nut and saddle slots lightly using fine abrasive cord from StewMac or another source. If that effort, with the lube afterward, still doesn’t do the trick, you might replace the nut and/or saddles with Graphtech items. I bought a Graphtec nut and may install it, but it doesn’t seem necessary now after smoothing and lube. If the saddles are loose, you can source small springs to install over the screws ahead of the saddles, but first assure that the bridge wire is seated in place. After the nut and bridge components, the only other likely reason for not holding tune would be loose tuners, and there is no apparent slack in the Grovers on my guitar. The guitar’s price, while higher than many other Epi guitars, is fair for what you get, especially when compared to the Gibson-branded LPs. In my personal opinion, this particular model Epiphone is a genetic member of the Gibson family. It uses Gibson parts and has Gibson tone. I’d prefer a slightly thicker neck, but that’s personal preference from owning Martin acoustic guitars, and most will like the modern slim-taper of the Epi neck, as it is both smooth and fast. Overall quality of this Epi Les Paul Tribute Plus is high, and it feels and sounds like a mid-range Gibson Les Paul. In fact, the only thing that may dissuade customers from buying is the country of manufacture. I almost didn’t buy this guitar simply because Epiphone doesn’t build it in North America, and we’ve lost too many manufacturing jobs to inexpensive labor markets overseas. I had to justify my purchase by rationalizing that an American retailer would benefit from the sale. Would I rather have a Gibson inlay on the headstock? You bet, but if value and quality for money spent is what you’re after, then you’ve found it in this Epiphone, imported or not.

  • from PA February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love love LOVE this guitar

    This is such a well-made instrument. I've been playing this guitar for several months now and am really blown away. The tonal quality of these humbuckers is amazing, and the black cherry finish is stunning. The Epiphone LP Tribute Plus is a best in class guitar, no question.

  • from Reston, VA January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Home Recording

    Great Guitar!

    I recently received this guitar from Sweetwater in the Black Cherry finish, and could not be happier with it. I owned a Gibson Les Paul Studio a few years ago, but ended up selling it. It wouldn't stay in tune, with a couple of other issues, and I just got frustrated with it. Since then, I've wanted to get another Les Paul, but was always held back by the high prices for the Gibson brand name. A friend from college ordered the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus this past year, and has had nothing but great things to say about it ever since. I read as many reviews on the guitar as possible, and almost all of them were very positive. Unfortunately, none of the guitar stores in my area have this guitar in stock, so I had to rely solely on hearsay. Long story short, I'm very glad I ordered this guitar. The craftsmanship is exceptional, the push/pull/series parallel tone controls provide exceptional value with a wide range of tonal options and the '60s SlimTaper D neck profile is very comfortable to play. There is a clarity to the pickups that shines through, whether you're playing clean or with distortion. Regardless of your style of music, this guitar can cover it all and is definitely road worthy for gigging. I've played enough guitars over the years to know a good quality guitar from a bad one. The Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus is definitely a very high-quality instrument that you should consider if you're looking into getting an affordable Les Paul. Don't get stuck on the brand name on the headstock. This one is a keeper! A special thanks to Mark Magdich and the rest of the Sweetwater team for continuing to provide such excellent customer service!

  • from Manvel, TX December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Really Pleasant Surprise

    I own a new Gibson LP Traditional that actually was a gift (long story). Hadn't owned any Les Paul's in a long career of mediocre musicianship, and had generally devoted by guitar playing to either flattop picking or jazz on a big box. I Love the tone, action and size of the LP, and fine it to be a wonderful axe for jass and blues. But live in fear of dings/scuffs and scratches. Wanted to see if an Epiphone LP could approach the Gibson's feel and sound so I could take it out and about and leave the Gibson at home. Ordered the Cherry Red Tribute Plus and, first of all, was delighted to hear my sales rep Josh tell me that there was a demo in, yes, cherry condition that he could substitute in for my order. Saved $70 just like that, so thanks Sweetwater and Josh.
    The guitar came out of the box with a wonderful action, wonderful finish (may be a demo, but I didn't see a mark on it) and the tone through my Peavy Classic 2x12 is not any different to my ears than the Gibson. The action and playability may be greater than the Gibson's.

    I give the guitar 5 stars and the hard shell case, which is sort of cheezy, about 2. But I haven't worried much about the case because the guitar's been out and in the stand next to the amp since I got it.

    Thanks Sweetwater for great deal on great guitar.

  • from South Jersey, USA November 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist with about 40 years of string bending.

    An Amazing Value

    I drive a long haul truck for a living and I wanted an inexpensive guitar to take with me on the road. I had been rotating between the guitars in my collection (all high end American) and was always worried that one of them might get damaged from the bouncing around that happened while I was driving. When I saw that Epiphone now had a version of Gibson's ES-339 I decided to get one. I was amazed by the quality of the construction and the tone it had through the Fender D-DEC 15 I use in the truck. When I saw the spec's of Epi's Les Paul 1960 Tribute I knew I had to get one to add to my collection. I called Sweetwater and talked to Derek Senestraro about it. The guitar arrived at my house one day before me. When I got home and unboxed it I was blown away. It was absolutely gorgeous. Better yet, it played even better than it looked! I A/B'd it against my 2009 Gibson Les Paul Standard with Burst Buckers through my Peavy Delta Blues 115 and it sounded as good as if not better than the American Lester. Not only that but with the unchambered body.it had more heft and better sustain. Wow!!! I can honestly say that it's a great guitar. Not for the money which is how Epi's are usually described, but a great guitar period. If you're thinking about getting one of these...Do It. Also, Derek was about the nicest guy I've ever dealt with. I'll be getting more stuff from Sweetwater.

  • from seattlw September 24, 2014Music Background:
    pro

    get this

    skip the overpriced Gibson and buy this gem.
    perfect out of the box and i got the store demo.

  • from Tenn. April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist..Former Pro

    amazing

    Ordered this guitar after doing extensive review reading. The reviews don't do this guitar justice....the components are top notch and the top is incredible!!
    Thanks Nathan and Sweetwater for getting me this guitar..after being out of stock forever..in TWO days!! This guitar will stand up to almost any Gibson!!!

  • from Princeton, NJ March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Former pro musician, now a hobbyist

    Quite a Bargain

    This guitar is as good as any that I've purchased over the last 20 years, and i bought plenty of them. The 57 classic pickups with the carved maple top was always my favorite Les Paul configuration. The coil tapping circuit works better than most I've used over the years. I really appreciate the things you can't see in this guitar, especially the Mallory tone capacitors. Finally, a guitar with a nice case is always a plus.

  • from Olympia, WA March 16, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/student/living room roocker

    This is an awesome guitar

    This guitar plays great, looks stunning and sounds like a Les Paul. I was pleasantly blown away by how nice this guitar was when I got it.

    The finish is gorgeous. The neck feels nice. It tunes easily and holds it's tune well. It seems to have nearly infinite sustain.

    This guitar is a definite keeper.

    I would recommend this, and have, to friends.

  • from Fairfax, VA February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Always learning

    I guess money can buy you love!

    I stared to give this a 4; but then I cranked the amp and loved it. Now I have to be honest about this; it sounds fantastic! That's those '57's. That being said while the top is very nice it does not compare to any Gibson burst; and that being understood, it is capable of sitting alongside any non-burst top even a Gold top.

    So here we are with a great sounding guitar with a maple top that looks very good and for laughing out loud not a huge amount of money. You don't even have to give it a name because for me Black Cherry works. If Epiphone this is IT!

  • from Olney Il. USA January 14, 2014

    This a great guitar for the money...

    Ive been playing guitar for about 40 yrs. This guitar has what was promised. Its 57 pickups rock,but still can have that tone you need for more pop type music.. In a nut shell,this guitar is a good value,and sweetwaters staff are great. Thanks .

  • from MILFORD, DE January 11, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    jimstoy

    thsi is one of the best guitars i have ever played, value , sounds out of this world, great shipping , love it

  • from Metro Atlanta, GA September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist for over thirty-five years- Blues- Acoustic Finger Style-Rock A Billy

    If You're On The Fence I Can Knock You Off!

    This guitar is as good as a $2500.00 Gibson. I own a AAA Top Gibson DC Pro and I prefer the Epiphone. All guitars need set up, so I set this one up and made a bone nut for it, slapped on a set of 11's and it just sounds and plays like a dream. I prefer the 57 Classics to the Burstbucker Pro's in my DC Pro. It sounds like a Les Paul should, both clean and dirty. The strap locks are a joke, but who cares. Every upgrade has been done that I would have done, and a case come with it. I put some silver keystone Grover tuners on mine only because I like them on LP's. The stock tuners are just great. The change I made was purely cosmetic and a matter of taste. There is no way I would trade this for a Gibson on the low side of $1500 to $1900.00. It's also a beauty to look at. Just invest in a pro set up and a new bone nut, or at least lower the string height at the nut (all new guitars except the custom shop types need this IMHO) and you will be amazed at what you have.

  • from Savannah, GA September 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Black Cherry

    Got it in last week and was totally blown away with the quality of the guitar. First, the finish takes your breath away. second...the performance was just as exciting. Epiphone really out did themselves with this creation. I would reccommend this guitar to anyone and not to mention fun to play.

  • from August 15, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Bassist

    Enchanting

    What's with the finish? I also can't stop staring at it, have never seen a nicer finish on a guitar, or any wood surface for that matter.
    I bought the guitar with the same minor complaint all have, dirty frets and fingerboard. However, once this is cleaned and the strings have been changed you now have a Vintage Les Paul. The tone is fabulous, the feel is top notch. I had to setup the bridge and may have to do some more tweaking, but all and all I'm blown away with this guitar.
    I own a Epiphone Masterbilt Acoustic and the quality is excellent. Hence the reason I chose to go with Epiphone again, and am not disappointed.
    As mentioned before this isn't a typical Les Paul, but a Vintage Classic. Combined with my Vox Ac4 the tone is incredible. Can't stop playing it, by Bass and Acoustic guitar are feeling neglected. Money well spent.

  • from Wenatchee, WA July 27, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Song Writer, Teacher, Studio Musician

    Sweetwater Service + This Guitar = AWESOME!

    First off, Ben Porter is the BEST rep ever. I've played every Les Paul imaginable, Gibson & Epiphone, and this Epiphone Tribute Plus is hands down the best. What makes it the best is the GIBSON '57 Classic humbuckers, and the Grover locking tuners. Insanely gorgeous tone, and it holds tune NO MATTER WHAT! Can't say enough about it... I even love the 60's neck on it, so easy to play!! Not to mention the splitting option on the humbuckers sounds cool too!! And I'd say go with the DARK CHERRY finish! I did, and I stare at it just as much as I play it! ;-) THANKS SWEETWATER FOR YET AGAIN ANOTHER PERFECT ORDER!!

  • from Virginia Beach Va July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Les Paul tribute plus

    Rivals most Gibson's fit and finish is awesome Gibson pick ups are great I love the slim taper neck 10 out of 10

  • from Woodbridge, VA June 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musical Arranger, Composer, Recording Engineer

    Excellent Guitar, Excellent Sweetwater service

    I just got this guitar from Sweetwater. Chris Lewis, my super-excellent sales engineer since 2007, helped me pick this guitar. At a very affordable price, you get a lot of perks, eye candy, and class with this Epi LP 60s tribute electric guitar. Excellent finish, 57 Gibson classic humbuckers, Switchcraft and Mallory parts, Grover locking tuners, coil-tapping, you get all of this at one low price. If these parts found its way to its big brother Gibson, you'll have to spend a fortune. I've owned Gibson USAs, have been playing for more than 38 years now, blindfold yourself and you won't be able to tell the difference by sound and feel between this Epi and an expensive Gibson Les Paul. Have been buying my instruments from Sweetwater for six years now, and have never received a dud or a defective item. That's because their 55-point inspection and my knowledgeable sales engineer takes care of me.

  • from SC USA May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Musician

    Amazing Guitar

    This guitar is amazing. The construction is solid, the pickups sound great, and the black cherry finish is beautiful. I tried a few other Epiphone models, including the Ultra III. But none of them came close to sounding like the Tribute Plus.. especially in areas such as sustain. Very happy with this guitar and it fits the case like a glove. Brad from Sweetwater was extremely helpful with all my needs. The shipment arrived promptly and the instrument was well packed. Sweetwater is definitely an industry leader in customer service. I can't say enough good things about them and will certainly shop here again. Thanks Brad!

    If you are in the market for a decent priced Les Paul, look no further than the Epiphone Tribute Plus. You'll be glad you did.

  • from Nashville TN February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Beautiful & Amazing

    I received my Black Cherry LP last week and can say this is the most amazing guitar I've ever had. All my fav guitarist play Strats and I have a Strat as well but this LP w/ the '57 Classic pups with coil tapping is the most universal guitar available today. The pups are bell chiming clean and dirty & nasty with the flip of a switch. Sweetwaters HD pictures are superior but you will marvel at the beauty of the flamed maple top and craftsmanship of this guitar when you wrap your hands around it. If you are undecided about this guitar - don't be. It is truly a work of art.

  • from Fayetteville, GA February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Lead Guitarist/Praise band, Guitar Instructor and Home Recording

    Excellent guitar from top to bottom and inside and out!

    I was looking for a Les Paul copy and had many options to choose from, but I saw this guitar on the Sweetwater website and I knew I had to have it. I'm one of those guys that said he would never own an Epiphone....Well, guess what? I'm so glad that I got over the name on the headstock.

    Do the research and you'll find that Epiphone is a whole different company than it was just a few years ago. You'll find that Gibson opened the Epiphone only plant a few years back and that two long time U.S. Gibson employees are running the show over there.

    The Tribute series has got to be one of their crowning achievements. I've owned a Gibson Les Paul Standard Premium Plus and you know what? This guitar is at least 90% as good as that guitar. Now, think about that price difference! In some ways, I like this Epi even better. This guitar actually stays in tune (Gasp!) and I don't have to screw the toggle switch and input jack back in every week like my old Gibson.

    Bottom line: This guitar stays in tune, has wonderful tone and is equipped with some quality USA hardware. Plus, the flame is out of this world. If you're in the market for an LP and don't have $2600 laying around or want to settle for a $900 Gibson LP that looks and feels like something I could have made in woodshop back in High School....Go for this guitar.

    BTW. This guitar is begging to be played through a decent valve amp....Don't let it down! :-)

  • from HICKSVILLE NEW YORK USA January 29, 2013Music Background:
    LOTA PLAYING OVER THE PAST 50 YEARS

    REALLY COOL EPIPHONE LES PAUL

    VERY ,VERY WELL MADE LES PAUL GUITAR FROM EPIPHONE.NOTHING CAN BEAT THIS OUTSTANDING AND WAY ABOVE AND BEYOND PRODUCT IN SOUND ,LOOKS AND EASE OF PLAYING . A ONCE IN A LIFE TIME GEM.STRIKE WHEN THE IRON IS HOT !! BUY IT NOW.BEFORE IT GOES AND DISAPEARS FROM THE RETAIL SCENE FOR EVER...YOU HAVE TO TRY IT TO BELIEVE IT...

  • from Douglas, WY January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epi LP Tribute Plus

    The one I bought here at Sweetwater arrived promptly and was well packed. The fit and finish is superb. Setup is spot on. Action is low with no buzzes of fretting out. The hardware is good quality and the Gibson USA pickups sound great. I would say that the overall quality of this guitar is neck and neck with Gibson USA. This model is a real deal for the money as it comes with a really nice case too! I would recommend this LP to anyone looking for a nice one without having to spend 2K+.

  • from New Hope, Minnesota November 8, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, played for 40+ years

    Great Sound & Beauty Combined

    I purchased this guitar back in July (2012) and I was a little disappointed at first. The strings that came on it were quite tarnished so I replaced them almost immediately. I tried several different brands of strings on it. Then I found a product called "Nut Sauce". I was having problems with the "G" string staying in tune. I also went to Gibson humbucker strings at the same time. What a difference! I couldn't believe the sound once I installed the Gibson strings and applied some "nut sauce". It's now not only a beauty it sounds great too. If you can't afford a Gibson try one of these. The '57 pups are really great sounding and the sustain is very good. Since purchasing this guitar I recently purchased a Gibson Les Paul Supreme. Now I won't tell you this guitar outshines the Supreme but it's still a very nice sounding guitar for it's price point. I don't think you will be disappointed if you get one of these. I've heard/read reviews that Epi's quality isn't good. I don't believe that to be true. They can hold their own against some more expensive guitars.

  • from Springfield,Mo July 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist,Weekend Player

    For those of us who cant afford a Gibson LP

    I did a lot of research on this Les PAUL before placing my order with Sweetwater.Ihave been playing an Agile 2000 lp copy,good guitar but i was ready to move up to the next step.The Black Cherry is georgous,checked the guitar over from head to toe,found no flaws at all.Locking Grover Tuners,the Gibson pickups are what impressed me the most,very touch sensitive and sound great,set up was dead on Thanks Sweetwater what a pleasant buying experiance.Not everyone can shell out a grand for a Gibson.For me this guitar will do the job. Thanks Sweetwater for making a dream come true

  • from Flat Rock, Mi. USA July 26, 2012Music Background:
    Been playing musical instuments of one form or another for over 20 years.

    Outstanding guitar

    Beautiful piece of equipment
    Just received it, pulled it out of the box, and gave it an inspection.
    First thing you notice is the flawless finish and then the woodgrain that pops through.

    Setup seems to be perfect, action is low with no fret buzz.
    It was in tune and intonation was spot on.
    Sweetwater means what they say about thier 55 point inspection!

    Knobs and switches are straight an tight. The slim neck makes it easy to grab notes up and the fretboard.
    Nice tones and great sustain.

    One bit of info not mentioned is that these come with straplocks.
    A nice suprise. Had I known that, I would not have ordered a set when I placed my order for the guitar.

    Overall if you are thinking about gettin one, you owe to yourself to do so!

  • from Houston September 15, 2016Music Background:
    Religious, small gig, wifes guitar hero

    My first new guitar

    Well, I had been looking at one of these for awhile. I was hesitating because... well I don't know why. I came home one day to find my wife had pulled the trigger on it for me! Whoop whoop!

    A number of years ago, I had a friend with a Gibson Les Paul Gold Top that I gassed for so hard. a couple years later, I thought I won the lottery when I pulled the trigger on a Les Paul Studio. I know some like them, but I was not one of them. It did not feel right to me... didn't feel like Brads Gold Top. Since that time, I have had a number of clones, strats, teles, and a bunch of others... but always wanted a Les Paul that felt like a LP... like Brads (I still don't think brad knows how much I lusted over his guitar...).

    I originally over looked these because #gearsnob. Over the last several months, I realized more and more that its immature to be a gear snob. There is no denying the sheer craftsmanship that goes into high dollar instruments, but don't discredit a well made instrument because the hang tag doesn't have a comma in the price. When I made this personal realization, I guess I bugged my wife about this enough that she decided to shut me up!

    When this baby came in, the first reaction I had was similar to Barney Fife... bumbling speachlessness. it came double boxed, in the case, with case candy (and real candy.. a plus for a fat guy like me). everything was in order. Of course when I looked at these, I also read the bad reviews. I'm glad to say that my neck is strong, my fretboard inlays are exceptional (no odd spacing and fillers), tuners are A+, my binding is beautiful with no bleeding, finish perfect... the only thing is relatively minor. my frets are incredibly dirty, and my bridge volume pot is stiff and really scratchy. everything else works like a dream.

    In short... this satisfies my lust for Brads guitar! It may not say Gibson on the headstock, but it does say Les Paul. plays like a dream, and I am incredibly pleased, especially for my first new guitar, and first guitar order from Sweetwater. And don't get me started on those lovely '57s! I'm in love. Let us home the wife doesn't get jealous :) go for it. you wont be sorry.

  • from Charleston, SC March 15, 2016Music Background:
    Years of gigging and home recording

    Beautiful Inside and Out

    I can't say enough good things about this guitar. The color is gorgeous, the hardware is of good, solid quality, and the Grover locking tuners just complete the package. This guitar also comes with a case, which is fantastic. The pickups in this guitar are, of course, not the hottest I've ever played but they are silky smooth with a great balance of full, moody bottom end and just the right amount of high end bite. I was also very please with the feel of the neck; the taper is very nice and comfortable.

    The guitar arrived from Sweetwater in very adequate protective packaging and it was set up to play right out of the box. The intonation was spot on. I did need to make some tweaks here and there to suit my personal tastes, but nothing major. Took a bit of relief out of the neck and adjusted the action up just a small bit and it feels custom made.

    I agree with my fellow reviewer that this guitar needs/deserves a good n' descent tube amp. I'm using mine through a 2014 Marshall DSL40C and also through a 2001 Marshall JCM2000 DSL50 head. The result is absolute ear sex. Without a doubt, this Les Paul is an outstanding value for the money.

  • from VA February 2, 2016Music Background:
    30 years playing guitar

    Great value!

    Love this guitar! I've owned a Gibson Les Paul studio and a Gibson Les Paul Classic and this Epiphone plays every bit as good, and the Gibson USA 57 classic pickups are better than what came in those. It's a great guitar for the price. Good heavy solid body, (not that weight relief stuff,) with lots of natural sustain. The finish is flawless, the setup is excellent and it comes with a hard shell case. The pickups are what really make this guitar stand out though. I would have given it 5 stars, but for one reason. It has the Grover locking tuners instead of the standard Grovers. I'm just not a fan of the locking tuners. The guitar doesn't need them.

  • from Santa Fe, NM August 10, 2015

    Very good guitar!

    This is a really fine guitar for the money. Hardware & pickups are fantastic, build quality is very good. Pots could be better, but that's the only thing I can take from it. Case is fine. Needed an action adjustment (likely due to elevation & climate change from Sweetwater to here in the high desert) but that was quick and easy. No adjustments needed beyond that, nut handled my change to 11-52s with no need for filing. Completely satisfied with this guitar, pots are the only detraction at all. Locking tuners had me stumped until I looked them up on youtube!

  • from April 10, 2015

    sweet paul

    Very very sweet guitar! Plays almost as well as my PRS SE. Definitely has got the tone very much pleased. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a guitar with big tone and a small price.

  • from Jersey January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio, Casual Player

    The Electronics Are What Makes This Great

    This Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Black Cherry is an aesthetically beautiful guitar. But, IMO, it's the Gibson USA '57 humbuckers, Mallory caps and quality pots that make it rock.

    The frets on mine needed a pro leveling/crown/dress job as well as a setup to my tastes. Once that was done it plays and sounds great.

    I had one each Gibson US LP Studio and Epi Plus Top LP previously but never got a good sound out of tube amps with them. This one with the '57's sounds perfect through the Fender FSR '65 Deluxe Reverb I bought here at Sweetwater.

    I didn't like the locking Grover's so I had them swapped out for regular Grover chrome tulips. Also, I thought it looked funny with gold speed knobs with the cream binding, PuP mounts and switch plate so I got some cream speed knobs (AllParts) and now it looks perfect.

    If you're still on the fence about getting one of these, my local luthier, who has seen and worked on Gibsons and Epi's for over 30 years, was highly impressed with this one (after the fret dress) and thinks it's better than the recent Gibson USA LPs.

  • from PA June 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, etc

    This one jumped out at me...

    ...while reading through my FB feed. As I mentally clicked off the features I was thinking to myself "yeah, and I have a couple spare thousand to spend". Well, when I finally got to the ticket price, my jaw hit the floor! Had to read it twice to make sure I wasn't drunk or something (and I don't drink).
    This one's got everything you could want, aside from a pickguard. The quality of the craftsmanship is superb. The quality of the hardware is superb. The finish is whacko perfect.
    Sound? Ha...it'll knock your socks off. I've only had it less than a week, so I am still discovering all the many and varied tonal options available with this guitar. But, I will say I haven't heard a single thing I didn't like. It actually inspires me to play better, that's how nice it is. I'm not an expert, but, I've gotta say the only difference between this and it's more expensive pedigreed older brother is the name on the headstock. Epiphone's Les Paul is every bit as good a Les Paul as the original. In fact, I own another Epiphone/Gibson...a Nighthawk, and it's crazy high quality also. This is a very very nicely made guitar, and it sounds every bit as good as it looks. It's made in China, but for all I care it could be made in Antarctica, as long as it's as well made as this guitar. To me, it isn't where it's made, but how it sounds once it's in someone's hands.
    I have 7 guitars...I'll be keeping this one.
    Sweetwater blew me away by having this thing delivered to my door, set up and ready to roll, the 2nd day after I ordered it. In it's own case, no less. I think Sweetwater's the new standard in guitar retail.
    Long story short, buy it.

  • from Crossville, TN February 6, 2017

    Great Guitar w/Great Price

    Ok right out of the box this guitar was very impressive. The flame top looks great and the finish pops. Did some strumming before plugging up and noticed a nice resonance about it. The neck is a little different than what I am used to. It is thin and almost flat on the very back. I normally go for the fatter 50s style neck and if I had played this before hand I probably wouldnt have bought it. But after playing and getting used to it I kind of like it. I still prefer the fatter necks but it is nice having a lil different feel sometimes. Plugged it up to my Fender Super Sonic 22 and on the neck pup she really sings both clean and overdriven. Switched to the bridge and was actually a lil disappointed in the kind of thin twangy sound of the 57 plus. I tried for the longest to get used to it and tried different adjustments but it never grew on me so I swapped it out with a Seymour Slash bridge and wow! This is now my go to guitar for rock and blues! I highly recommend this guitar for the price it is unbeatable.

  • from Michigan April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, song writer, recording hobbyist

    Good Axe for the money!

    A little while back, I ordered a PRS S2 custom 24. For a $1200 guitar, I wasn't impressed. Sadly sent it back. The folks at Sweetwater are great about returns even though you pay the return shipping. Ordered this guitar for 500 less with hard case. Outshines the PRS. Has a great solid feel. Fit and finish are excellent. Have owned a Gibson LP studio back in the day, and this equals it. You're not going to replicate a Strat single coil sound with the coil tape but, that's why I got it, to do what my strat can't.
    Pups are warm to bright, they meet my needs. Set up nicely. Great service from Nick Church.

  • from Freeport, Pa. November 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar / great customer service

    The first one I received had an issue with the neck being under-set. I generally take my new guitars to a luthier in my area that happens to be an authorized Gibson / Epiphone service provider. They discovered this issue 2 minutes after we pulled it out of the case and advised me to send it back. This is where Sweetwater customer service comes in. These folks did a great job and deserve some kudos because I had a replacement at my door in a few days and I really appreciated that. Since this was my first purchase from Sweetwater, one hopes not to test their customer service at that point. Well, they passed with flying colors and will be my preferred online music dealer until they give me a reason why they shouldn't be. Now for the guitar. I will not get into all the amenities this guitar offers since you probably already know the specs. But, I will mention that when I removed the back plate to see what was in there, I discovered CTS pots in mine which was not mentioned in the specs. The guitar plays and sound terrific. Clear, articulate and extremely versatile. The more I play it the more I like it. I'm not going to get into the Gibson / Epiphone debate other than to say that spec-wise it's very close to a Gibson since the electronics are the same as those used in many Gibson guitars. I'm not sure you can beat it for the price. Overall workmanship is very good on this one. I did find some of the frets to be a bit rough when string bending, but as I already mentioned I will take my new guitars to the doctor and invest in a pro setup where they also went over the frets ( level / polish) and I did have them install a Gotoh bridge. Well worth the extra setup investment since it did improve the playability. The guys at the shop said they see these fret issues even on $3500 guitars frequently so it's not unusual. Maybe someday I'll change the nut, but other than that, it's all there. The jury is still out on the locking tuners, but they are stable and stay in tune fairly well. I own several other guitars as well as 3 other Epi's: A heavily modified Sheraton (that really didn't need modified), a Lucille and a limited edition 3 pickup SG with maestro and they are all great guitars. I have been very happy with my Epiphone purchases and highly recommend this guitar. Just check it over real good when you get it. I would have bumped up my rating if I didn't need to play with the frets.

  • from January 27, 2017

    Nice for the money

    After receiving the second Les Paul Tribute. The first came to me with a cracked neck near the top. I was a little wary. But the new replacement was ok. The looks are stunning, and the finish was great. The only problem worth noting is that this guitar goes out of tune very easily. I can tune it and it will go out of tune within a short time of playing. I have seen similar comments to this affect on the web site. As well. Believe it.

  • from United States September 30, 2013Music Background:
    Former pro musician, sometimes guitar noodler

    Some problems but a good guitar for the price

    Out of the gate my LP Tribute needed a setup (which I expected, and which is totally normal). But it also needed fret leveling, which I did not expect - and which cost about $100 to have done professionally. In fairness, at this price point you're getting a lot of guitar for the $ so adding some time or money to get it up to snuff is not that surprising. But I found the need for fret leveling to be a dissapointment. I also have one bad potentiometer that will need to be replaced (works intermittently). Also not a deal breaker but a bit annoying from a new guitar.

    All that aside, my LP Tribute looks and sounds very nice and I'm happy with the purchase. The finish is excellent and I think it represents a good value at this price point.

  • from March 25, 2016

    not worth 750

    First three frets out of whak took out of box out of tune action too high after my tech gets done should be able to rock cleartone strings not crisp replaced with my favorite strings sorry but I'll stick with my store at least I will know what I'm gettSteve ing

  • from Va March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Church guitarist

    Crap for money

    This guitar is by absolute no means, worth the money. Its a $400 guitar at the most. The neck on mine is slanky and flexible, The sound is very unbalanced and hard to get right. Dont buy... save up and get a gibson.

  • from June 10, 2015

    Not Impressed

    I purchased this guitar, and within an hour of receiving it, I was wrapping it back up to return. In my book, the sole purpose of a guitar is to produce a usable tone, and be enjoyable to play. To me , this guitar didn't reach that goal for me.

    Sound:
    I've used classic 57 pickups before, and the deficit of this guitar is the 57 plus in the bridge. I HATE that pickup, it's overly bright, spikey, and lacks the gibson growl that les pauls are associated with. Personally, if a guitar doesn't sound good with the stock equipment, it's not worth purchasing to me. The neck pickup is good, but not great, I enjoy my les paul custom pro pickups much more in the neck and bridge.

    Playability/Quality:
    This guitar really shines here, it FEELS like a gibson, and I felt with a little setup, and new strings it would've had great playability.

    Overall:
    My review is perhaps over shadowed by the fact I had my "chips" still banked on my old les paul, and unless something really outshines the guitar I already had, then it wasn't for me. That said, it's an acceptable guitar, but jut not for me, I honestly detested the tone, but everything else was fine.

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus - Black Cherry?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway