0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Epiphone Les Paul Standard - Metallic Gold Reviews

4.5 stars based on 32 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard - Metallic Gold?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard - Metallic Gold?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Oak RIdge, TN November 11, 2016

    Amazing Axe

    I got this guitar..(Gold Top) last week and all I can say it's amazing. The fit and finish are perfect and it's very playable. The service from Sweetwater was perfect and I can't wait to do business with them again.

    :)

  • from Indiana November 4, 2016

    Woohoo!!

    Right now I couldn't afford a Gibson LP, but with this guitar I'm not missing anything. Looks beautiful, plays smooth as silk. Out of the box the set up was spot on...only needed to be tuned. This is my 3rd purchase from Sweetwater since February 2016 ( there will be more later. Even with your prices I have to watch the budget....and keep my wife happy. ) Andy...you're the MAN!! You handled my P Bass and my Les Paul like the consummate pro that you are. My thanks to Sweetwater and I'll be back.

  • from NORTH EASTERN USA July 6, 2016Music Background:
    MOSTLY SELF TAUGHT .

    GOLDTOP WITH EPIPHONE CAN NOT BE BEAT

    THIS IS THE NEW AGE GOLD TOP MADE WAY BETTER THAN EVER BEFORE .MODERN MANUFACTURING FAR ABOVE AND BEYOND THE 1950ISH WAY OF MAKING THINGS.YOU CAN NOT BEAT THE CNC STUFF.PICK UPS ARE PICK UPS WITH OUT A GREAT AMP BEHIND YOU AND YOUR GUITAR U ARE NO WHERE.THIS IS A WAY NICER 1957 GOLD TOP MADE BY YOU KNOW WHO MADE IT BACK SOME 59 YEARS AGO...THE PEOPLE IN CHINA MUST WORK FOR NICKLES AND DIME COMPARED TO OTHER PLACES .THATS HOW IT IS DONE.HARD TO BELIEVE? YOU BET... THIS IS A FINE INSTRUMENT ..WITH A GOOD SET UP YOU WILL BE A KING .THIS IS BY FAR NOT MY FIRST AND WON'T BE MY LAST. I DO HAVE A FEW GIBSONS, GRETSCHS AND FENDERS BUT.MY EPIPHONES ARE UNBEATABLE...

  • from NORTH EASTERN USA July 6, 2016Music Background:
    MOSTLY SELF TAUGHT .

    GOLDTOP WITH EPIPHONE CAN NOT BE BEAT

    THIS IS THE NEW AGE GOLD TOP MADE WAY BETTER THAN EVER BEFORE .MODERN MANUFACTURING FAR ABOVE AND BEYOND THE 1950ISH WAY OF MAKING THINGS.YOU CAN NOT BEAT THE CNC STUFF.PICK UPS ARE PICK UPS WITH OUT A GREAT AMP BEHIND YOU AND YOUR GUITAR U ARE NO WHERE.THIS IS A WAY NICER 1957 GOLD TOP MADE BY YOU KNOW WHO MADE IT BACK SOME 59 YEARS AGO...THE PEOPLE IN CHINA MUST WORK FOR NICKLES AND DIME COMPARED TO OTHER PLACES .THATS HOW IT IS DONE.HARD TO BELIEVE? YOU BET... THIS IS A FINE INSTRUMENT ..WITH A GOOD SET UP YOU WILL BE A KING .THIS IS BY FAR NOT MY FIRST AND WON'T BE MY LAST. I DO HAVE A FEW GIBSONS, GRETSCHS AND FENDERS BUT.MY EPIPHONES ARE UNBEATABLE...

  • from Arizona May 18, 2016

    Great guitar

    Fantastic guitar. Great sound. Even better price.

  • from Clarkston, MI February 15, 2016

    Like butter

    A few years ago I sold my Gibson Les Paul Standard and now I regret it more and more every day. However this little hunny has really cheered me up, for a fraction of the price I found the play ability that I love. Honestly other than the pickups I really can not tell much of a difference in sound and play feel. Might sound funny and I am sure a few people reading this are thinking I am crazy, but I tell you... If you were in a dark room and could not see, you might be hard pressed to the the difference. Amazing player and very eye catching in the gold top.

    Thank you Aaron and thank you Sweetwater for your amazing deals and great customer service

  • from New York January 8, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    This Les Paul Rocks!

    Sweetwater delivers again!! I have always wanted a Les Paul and this Epiphone Les Paul Standard Goldtop was the right choice. That Les Paul sound is finally in my hands and I can't put this guitar down! The guys at Sweetwater even went the extra mile and snagged me a Goldtop that weighed nine ounces more than the regular ones, making for incredible sustain. Thank you Sweetwater, I don't buy from anyone else anymore. This is my fourth guitar from you guys and your payment plans are also wonderful. Thank you Sweetwater!!!!
    Markham Anderson
    New York

  • from Phoenix, AZ July 15, 2015

    Got my Epi

    I had been eyeing the guitar for a while, and was about to purchase it when they advertised the Les Paul birthday sale. At that point I really ran out of excuses not to pull the trigger and get this. Though I was going to get it anyhow.

    As every one has said, it arrived looking beautiful. It sounds great, and I have yet to find a fault with it. I just ordered the Epiphone hard case today to go with it, as you really do want to protect it. Very comfortable to hold, and play. The only thing I wish (and it is just personal preference) is that I could have bought one without the pick guard already installed. But that is my only gripe, and it is pretty petty at that. This is a great guitar as the price is very reasonable, but the quality of the guitar is such that you won't feel the need to buy another guitar to upgrade after a year as you get better.

  • from Tennessee July 14, 2015

    Awesome sound and playability!

    I bought this knowing I was going to get a quality guitar at a great price and I wasn't disappointed! When I first opened the box and unwrapped it I could see the quality of craftsmanship and immediately plugged it in! As I suspected; it rocks! The variation of sound between bridge and neck pickups is amazing and the blend when in the center position is perfect! The neck is a hair wider than my Prophecy and my Gibson but I have adjust quite well. Unbeatable sound and price so I highly recommend this guitar! Spend the extra money on the hard case to protect it!

  • from New York June 28, 2015Music Background:
    30+ Years Playing Guitar

    Finally Got My Goldtop!!

    So ever since I saw a picture of Duane Allman playing a Goldtop when I was a kid, I wanted one. Over the years, I've bought and sold more guitars than I can remember, many of them Gibson Les Pauls, but for some reason I never bought a Goldtop--until now. After giving up playing for about 10 years, I'm easing back in, and I decided on an Epiphone primarily because it wouldn't cost me a month's worth of living expenses. Man, I am so happy I bought this, and I'm especially happy that I used Sweetwater. This guitar is absolutely amazing--it plays better than ANY Gibson Les Paul I've ever owned, and as I've said, I've owned many. The construction, finish, hardware, and feel of this instrument is all first rate. Out of the box, it played beautifully and was perfectly in tune! Not a speck of dust or a fingerprint on it! I changed the strings to Ernie Ball Super Slinkys, adjusted the truss rod for a little more relief, and set the intonation. Done! Absolutely the best guitar I've ever owned! The pickups sound fine--that might be the only thing I swap out in years to come, but if I didn't, it would still be an awesome sounding guitar. Tuners are smooth and keep the guitar perfectly in tune. Really nothing negative at all to say. And of course, that Goldtop finish! I can't stop looking at it! Epiphone has really come a long way in making quality instruments for musicians who either don't have the money or don't want to spend an arm and a leg for a great guitar with a classic rock and roll sound. I know a lot of people have a problem with the "it's not a real Gibson" thing, and while this guitar may not be made in Nashville, it's 100% killer Les Paul at about 1/10 the price. And working with Sweetwater was also an outstanding experience--my salesman, Parker Roush, was great in all respects, and he even called me to find out how I liked the guitar. That's seriously professional customer service, and I wouldn't hesitate to order more gear from Sweetwater. Thanks, Parker, and thanks, Sweetwater, for helping me finally get my Goldtop!!

  • from Ontario, NY June 2, 2015

    Great Guitar

    Not a defect on it, it was finished beautifully. The neck and frets feel great, the setup was just right. I didn't touch anything. Stays in tune. Very playable and a nice tone as well. Can't beat the price.

  • from NORTH CAROLINA May 5, 2015

    Epiphone Les Paul goldtop

    Just received my goldtop from Sweetwater, and it is 100% perfect out of the box. This goldtop is such a killer deal! Sweetwater does everything correct- great pictures, great service, ultra-fast shipping, perfect set-up on a spotless guitar! I am a Sweetwater customer for life!!!!

  • from Noblesville indiana February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Lp standard

    This is an awesome guitar great for the money and beyond that. Sweet water is now my go to store.

  • from Scottsdale,Az January 20, 2015Music Background:
    Old school dreamer

    Found gold

    I am happy to nail down the 1968-70's sound I loved as a kid. This guitar and my Marshall c5 saved me thousands of dollars and gives me what I have been dreaming of for over 40 yrs. I thought I could only do this with Marshall plexi and Gibson LP. Nice guitar at a 60's price.

  • from Buffalo, MN , USA January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Home player

    Great Experiance

    My first transaction with Sweetwater and have to say I'm impressed with the whole experience from the online order, shipping, and follow up with Norb my sales rep.

    The guitar came out of the box pretty much ready to play and looked fantastic. It sounds and plays like my 1972 Gibson SG Deluxe that I've owned since 1975. I tend to grab this one to play the most and keep it on a stand next to my desk

  • from Burlington, WA July 9, 2014Music Background:
    garage guitar hero

    Another Epiphone/Sweetwater WINNER!

    This iconic goldtop is Ep/Lp #6 for me - and all have been extremely consistent, with only a slight exception being my one Indonesian-made standard plustop of two years ago (noticeably different build & neck profile). This one continues the tradition of the fatter necks & chunkier weights of the chinese-built; the deep, dark cherry red finish of the back is gorgeous as usual. Recommendation, though - junk the jangly stock strings right away. Enough about the guitar - let's talk Sweetwater: Unbelievebly good experience (first guitar from Sweetwater, or mail order for that matter), and one heck of a great business model this company possesses on all fronts. The personalized 55-point evaluation process should be the tipping point for ANYBODY considering a guitar purchase, period. Others could learn something from this company! Thanks to David Hess for overseeing this order as well.

  • from Florissant, MO USA January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Worship Band Musician/Vocalist

    great Christmas surprise and great product

    This Epiphone LP Standard is beyond just a good deal. This guitar has just as good a sound, tone & feel as the higher priced Gibson (it is afterall the same company). Plugged it in and played it and only had to tune one string, that's crazy after shipping. On top of all that, it's style and color perfectly match my 20+ year old Epi Accoustic/Electric PR5E...they look good together.

  • from Huntington, Indiana November 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist and student.

    My Favorite One!

    This is an excellent guitar! The pickups are amazing and the neck has an amazing feel when using it. Also, the tuning pegs are very nice and add more beauty along with the guitar.

  • from Brooklyn, NY September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician/Educator

    Killer guitar for the price!

    I was playing a show that needed a big humbucker sound, and I have always wanted to try a les paul type guitar, so I picked up the epiphone gold top... because gold top, and because it's crazy affordable! I will say for alist $399.99 guitar, it sounds great! I have a few friends with nice Gibson Les Pauls, and while I will admit there is a difference in the feel and overall quality... if you're not a Les Paul nut like myself, you can get past it pretty quickly. I will say also, that every guitar player I've ever let try it out has loved it, and has the same "wow it was how much?" reaction after plugging it in. Stock pick-ups are OK, but put the time in you can still get a great tone from this guitar.

  • from Boston, Ma. August 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone Les Paul Standard plain top (gold)

    Have to say that it has been a long time since I bought a new guitar that was as satisfying as this. Quick delivery, excellent setup out of the box. Sweet Les Paul tone one expects to pay much more for. My last Les Paul was from another company, was a Gibson special and left much to be desired. It didn't last long in my arsenal. Much more bang for the buck here. Excellent, helpful sales staff, too.

  • from Ashland, MA April 4, 2013Music Background:
    engineer, product developer

    Amazing

    This is my sixth Les Paul, but my first Epiphone. Can an Asian product really be as good as one made in the US? Why, yes it can. This Les Paul is basically perfect right out of the box (thanks at least in part to Sweetwater's attention to detail) - it plays and sounds great, and the quality, fit, and finish are first rate. I literally can't find anything to fault here. I must confess I bought this one to use as a testbed for some engineering work I'm doing, and now I just hate to have to take it apart!

    This is an exceptional instrument at a great price, and a truly amazing value. Get one; you won't be disappointed!

  • from South Carolina February 22, 2016

    Professional and Wondering?

    I'll be brief, as there are plenty of detailed articulations concerning the features of the guitar in this review thread.

    If you're accustomed to playing professional instruments, and you're concerned that this guitar won't meet your expectations, this guitar will not disappoint you. Very likely, it will exceed your hopes, as it did mine.

    I had some doubts and concerns, which Aaron Hoff addressed in a phone call he made to me after I left a note in his email. Aaron didn't over-hype the guitar, but did completely answer my questions. I ordered the guitar.

    It arrived quickly, and the set up was very good. I didn't have to adjust anything on the guitar. It happened that I was out of town when it arrived, so it acclimated very well before I opened the packaging; I doubt I'll have to do any follow up adjustments any time soon.

    I was, and am, surprised that an Epiphone plays as well as most of the Gibson Les Pauls I've used.

    If you're on the fence because you're wanting to avoid a guitar that under performs, buy this Epiphone. I doubt you'll be disappointed.

  • from Texas January 19, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    No

    Since I already own a "Real" Gibson Les Paul Gary Moore Tribute model, I had something to compare this one with.

    The quality of this guitar is excellent! It was setup properly & the intonation is spot on. Finish, binding, neck, tuners, etc. are all 1st rate. I use this guitar at clubs with no problems.

    I have purchased several guitars & other equipment from Sweetwater & I'm well satisfied with their service & quality. Their shipping time is also the best.

  • from Lake Forest, CA September 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby musician playing mostly at me Church

    Excellent Value and Quality

    I was finally able to put this beauty of a guitar down long enough to write a review about it. My first real guitar was one of the "copyright" Ibanez Les Pauls from the 70s. I sold it somewhat regrettably for Fender Jaguar I picked up at a pawn shop. Ever since then I have always wanted to own another Les Paul and the Goldtops have always been a favorite of mine. I nearly picked up one of the goldtop Slash models about a year ago, but even the Epiphone models are more than double the price of this Standard.

    If you're looking for a solid guitar in your standard Les Paul style this is definitely a keeper. The build quality is excellent, it looks fantastic, and the price can't be beat. The service from Sweetwater was also great and the guitar and case I ordered came together on time and completely intact.

    The setup was very good right out of the box. The Alnico III pickups actually sound pretty awesome and I won't be changing them any time soon. This guitar sounds awesome and plays like a dream. I can see it lasting a lifetime.

    Personally, I find the build quality of these Epis on par with the Gibson brand guitars in comparison, and since I usually pick and choose my guitars to be keepers, I have no problem with the name on the headstock. There are very few Gibson Les Pauls that I feel are built much better than this gem.

  • from Washburn, MO March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Student and decent

    One of the best

    As a teenager on a budget, but needing a good guitar, naturally I gravitated toward the epiphone les paul! What an amazing guitar! It plays great and I still have bragging rights over my friends because I have a les paul...:)

  • from Ferriday, La. USA. November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    My Goldie is Golden

    So glad i got this guitar it is by far the best playing and sounding guitar i have owned, I have played music for 33 years and i have finally found the one Guitar that does it all,all I have to do is tell it what song to play and away we go!!! You can't beat this guitars playability and the price was excellent best move i made in a long time Great Guitar!!!

  • from Missouri April 7, 2013Music Background:
    40 year semi pro musician

    Gibson Goldtop Les Paul Owner vs Les Paul Epiphone

    FAST Shipping!. When I received my Goldtop Les Paul Epiphone, I was truly amazed by the quality of this guitar. Standing side by side to my "84" Gibson Les Paul, it is hard pressed to really see the difference other than the name on the headstock and pickups. Sweetwater did a fine job of strobing and setting the intonation before shipping. Right out of the package, I carefully inspected it from headstock to body and found the quality as well as the finish to be beautiful and flawless. The ONLY change I will make to this guitar once the warranty runs out is....I will install a set of Seymour Duncan SH-2 Jazz & SH-4 JB pickups to get the same sound of my Gibson. If your looking for a quality Les Paul model without spending alot of bucks, I would certainly recommend this guitar to anyone who takes their music seriously.

  • from Calif April 27, 2016

    Epiphone Les Paul std

    It arrived on time, finishes are beautiful, and it sounds great. Service was excellent.

  • from Demotte, Indiana August 12, 2015

    Stuning Guitar

    The Epiphone Les Paul Standard features a great gold top finish with a fantastic mahogany body that appears to be one piece, finished in a vintage cherry color. The guitar was carefully packaged & promptly shipped via UPS which was my choice. No external package damage! After a quick inspection & minor tuning I tested the electronics finding every thing functioned well. I did remove and disgard the strings that were shipped on the guitar. After a through cleaning of the rosewood finger board and a application of the proper oil I installed a set of the new DAddarrio NY strings, 10 gauge. The intonation was right on and the action was excellent. Many thanks to the Sweetwater pre shipment set up! The only reason I rated this a 4.0 was lack of string winding space the Grover tuners left. The peg head measures .625 (5/8") thick & a taller string post would have been nice. The tuners function nicely. This guitar is light years ahead of previous Epiphone guitars I have owned and played in terms of musicality and quality control .

  • from November 27, 2014

    An unbelievable guitar for the price.

    This is a great guitar for the price. This is my second Les Paul. Plays nice and the alnico humbuckers sound very good.

  • from Zion, California September 22, 2012Music Background:
    Praise & Worship, Christian Rock.

    Golden Sweet Les Paul...:-)

    Well, I recieved this guitar today and have been noodling around on it all day. The build quality seems pretty good.
    And the stock pick-up are able to get lots of useful tones from clean all the way through rock,and even metal!
    No strap locks as pictured, but at this price point- I ain't trippin'. Picked up this sweet Les Paul and an Epiphone hardshell case for just over four hundred dollars.
    Great customer service from Sweetwater...:-) Get Yours Now!!!

  • from Ossian,IN October 21, 2015

    Great guitar, horrible pickups !!!!!

    Love the feel, look and sound of the guitar, thats is until you plug it in. Worked OK for clean, tried it with the overdive of a Freidman Phil X, a Freidman Steve Stevens , a PRS HXDA all with the same result, nothing but mud. Too bad they didnt put at least USEABLE pickups in it. Probably put the junk pickups in so you will upgrade and buy a Gibson. Who ever set this up did a tremendous job though.

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard - Metallic Gold?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway