0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Epiphone Les Paul Standard - Ebony Reviews

4.5 stars based on 43 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard - Ebony?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard - Ebony?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Aiken, SC May 16, 2017Music Background:
    Old Time Picker

    Black Beuty

    Hi, Its The Old Time Picker again, This time its a Great Guitar from Epiphone, All I can say this is a Great guitar, Sounds Great, Looks Great, Fit and Finish is perfect, This is always the story from Epiphone I own severel, I also have a Martin HD35, Martin D18, Taylor 810, So I know Great Guitars, Don't let the Pricemake you think ithis Guitar is to good to be true, Its just the fact of Electric Guitars, You don't have to Divorce your Spouse and dump your favorite friend to be able to get one or more of these,,,,The Old Time Picker

  • from FL, Florida May 4, 2017

    Awesome guitar

    Purchase one in February from Sweetwater I love the sound to it great investment I love the guitar. Just wanted to thank the people at Sweetwater Ian first professional help 1/2 many guitars mainly fenders first time purchasing a Epiphone will be purchasing a Gibson Les Paul wonderful sound the humbuckers are great is it got the Les Paul feeling the song Rich beautiful melodies come out of it been playing guitar since the age of eight years old I get this guitar a Big 5 love it the people at Sweetwater treated me top notch great company 55 point inspection the Epiphone Les Paul guitar has a beautiful sound great for the money I really enjoy the guitar can't wait to get my hands on a Gibson Les Paul but the Epiphone is beautiful beautiful sound beautiful wood beautiful makeup on me this thing is just incredible the people who put it together that it was very wonderful job I think you'll be very happy if you purchase just guitar so I am completely blown away for the price you can't beat it with a stick like I said before got many guitars have my own Studio here in Florida Great Harvest Productions and half many guitars at the studio very pleased and happy saving some money on the side to buy myself a Gibson but the phone that's the same job bro thank you sweet water sincerely yours Jose Velez Orange City Florida

  • from El Dorado, AR April 10, 2017

    My Sweetwater Gear

    I love my Epiphone Les Paul Standard. It's definitely the best quality guitar I've ever owned. It really looks nice. When I received it from Sweetwater it didn't have a single smudge on it and thanks to excellent packing nothing was damaged and I could tell by the way the outside box looked that it had seen some rough handling during shipment. I was really relieved because the inside box had not sustained any damage at all and everything looked great. The guitar was still in perfect tune from Sweetwater's 55 point inspection prior to shipping and it's a dream to play. It also sounds awesome!! The hard case I ordered also arrived in excellent condition. I couldn't have been happier.

  • from El Dorado, AR April 10, 2017

    My Sweetwater Gear

    I love my Epiphone Les Paul Standard. It's definitely the best quality guitar I've ever owned. It really looks nice. When I received it from Sweetwater it didn't have a single smudge on it and thanks to excellent packing nothing was damaged and I could tell by the way the outside box looked that it had seen some rough handling during shipment. I was really relieved because the inside box had not sustained any damage at all and everything looked great. The guitar was still in perfect tune from Sweetwater's 55 point inspection prior to shipping and it's a dream to play. The hard case I ordered also arrived in excellent condition. I couldn't have been happier.

  • from New Jersey March 17, 2017Music Background:
    35 years, never enough guitars

    BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

    I bought one a few months ago and love the look. I have many other guitars including an American Gibson LP. For the money, this axe leaves plenty of funds available for playing with upgrades and trying different pups. Thank you Tyler for yet another great deal and recommendations.

  • from West Va February 2, 2017

    awesome

    I really like this guitar. The quality is awesome. The sound is outstanding especially for jammin out with some blues you can solo on for days and never get tied of playin it or hearin the way it sounds. Sweetwater service is the best by far. Thanks Jonathan.

  • from Ut January 13, 2017

    This Guitar Is Too Good

    So....this is the best electric guitar I've ever played. That's not saying much since the only other electric I've owned werected a Mexican Telecaster and an Epiphone G400, bit both of those dont measure up to this Les Paul, even though the Tele costs $ more. Here are some key points:

    BUILD AND HARDWARE

    This thing is made of solid mahogany on the body and neck. The neck is glued on and not bolted on which sets the neck better for potentially better sustain. The hardware is fantastic! The tuners are Grover brand, and they stay in tune so incredibly well that every other tuner should melt in hell. The tuners are Alnico and even though they aren't the burstbuckers Gibsons have, they make some clear, crisp noise. Actually, I watched a blindfolded Gibson vs Epiphone test on YouTube and the guitar I liked more, which I thought was the Gibson, turned out the be the Epiphone so........

    For the record, I do own a Martin D15M and a Gibson J15 so I'm pretty familiar with the American build quality of a guitar and I can say this Epiphone impresses me very much.

    PLAYABILITY

    This Guitar plays so smoothly that my hands become unnaturally talented when I play it. The action and intonation were perfect. The main reason for this is because Sweetwater does everything flawlessly with their 55-point inspection.

    SOUND

    This guitar is made for multiple genres of music and since I like to play indie, punk, classic rock and metal, it's perfect for me. It's full of versatility.

    Bottom like, this instrument is too good to be $. It's the perfect solution for anyone who doesn't want to justify the steep cost of a Gibson Les Paul.

  • from Indianapolis IN December 8, 2016Music Background:
    Lead Guitar,Bass,Vocals & Drums

    Awesom company!!!

    I bought one of these in 2014 as a Christmas gift for my then 20 year old son & it came ready to play right out of the box! The action & intonation were superb, couldn't have set it up any better myself! I own a Gibson 57 LP & I got ta tell ya, I love to play this guitar!!! It is less weight & plays really well, Unfortunately my son is no longer with us, but his guitar holds a lot of good father & son memories!!! I have given it to my 16 year old son for a keepsake from his brother. So I said all that to say this, GREAT JOB GUYS!!! You just never know how much one of these guitars combined with your professionalism is going to mean to someone!!! Thx so much JD OUT!!!

  • from August 17, 2016Music Background:
    Music Student/Player

    Awesome Tone!

    First time buying an electric guitar online and it's FANTASTIC!
    It's one of the best guitars I own now.

  • from Texas August 14, 2016

    Wonderful guitar

    I bought this guitar for my son great guitar both visually and playability wise . And Sweetwater reps are always spot on . I don't shop anywhere else . Definitely worth it

  • from Upstste NY July 5, 2016Music Background:
    Have played professionally

    Epiphone Les Paul Standard

    I purchased a Epiphone Les Paul Standard guitar a month ago and I am extremely pleased with it. What I love about Sweetwater is how they list the weight of every guitar. I had a weight in mind and there it was posted on the website. I don't know to what degree Sweetwater goes over the guitar but I suspect they do go over them before shipping because this guitar arrived set up perfectly, even nearly in tune. I hadn't had an Epiphone guitar in many years. So, I was pleasantly surprised am extremely pleased with the quality of this instrument.

  • from Usa April 17, 2016

    Epiphone les paul

    Just perfect

  • from Georgia April 10, 2016

    Flawless Beauty

    Like many of us, I wanted a new Gibson Les Paul but could not justify dropping $3K for one. I have owned two Gibbys in the past and felt great pride in owning an American made original. With two growing kids now, I had to check my pride at the door. I have always wanted an ebony standard. I visited several local shops to compared the Gibson side to side with the Epiphone. While I did like the sound of the Gibson a little bit better, it was not $2,500 better. Honestly though I can't call it better, it was just more familiar with the Burstbucker pickups. The Epiphone more than held its own, I was VERY impressed. I was told by several people to get one from the Chinese factory instead of the Indonesian factory. It seemed to be common knowledge that the Chinese factory had better quality control and was putting out some awesome guitars. Again, I compared it side by side with the Gibson LP Standard. I really liked what I saw. The Chinese built Epi Les Paul I saw in person was flawless. I specifically wanted the ebony color. I'm so grateful that Sweetwater and one in stock and that I could see pics of the exact guitar I was buying. Three days later I had it in my hands. It was very well packed and protected. I fell in love as soon as I opened the box. It is absolutely beautiful. The fit and finish are perfect. I mean flawless! It has a great sound and I could not be more happy. If you have the disposable income, Gibsons are great. Are they worth 6x more? Only you can be the judge of that. For me, in my situation. No. Please go out like I did and compare them side by side. In the sub $500 price range, nothing comes close. Not by a long shot. My $400 Ibanez RG is a joke compared to this Epiphone.

  • from Florida March 12, 2016Music Background:
    I write songs for fun

    Epiphone Les Paul Standard delivered!!!

    First, Sweetwater is my new favorite place to order. (Where else do you see the picture and specs of the actual item your buying). Their nice and deliver fast. Now I was worried about buying an epiphone les Paul cause all the bad stuff you read online. But I really wanted a les Paul and can only afford an epiphone. I'm really glad did cause it's awesome.

  • from NY February 20, 2016

    Great Guitar for the Price

    I must say for the price you can't beat the quality. Just received my EPI LP in Cardinal Red and boy was I surprised. It came in perfect condition. And the setup was outstanding. If it did not have the Epiphone logo on top you would sware you were playing an American made unit. Mine was made in China. Now you might say China and gasp at that but that factory is state of the art and the Gibson managers who run the place are on top of the quality control. At the price point for this guitar you will not be sorry.
    Now for Sweetwater. I worked with Derek and my experience with him was, what could I say, perfect. He was pleasant and respectful, knows what he is talking about, and made sure, per my request, the guitar was set up for easy playing (my hands are not as strong as they use to be).
    Packaging: I have never seen a product at this price packaged so incredibly well. The guitar box that the guitar was shipped in from the mfg. was inside another box that had foam on the bottom, top, and at the top side to ensure no damage. Finally, I will continue to buy products from Sweetwater and my salesman Derek.

  • from Wheeling February 15, 2016

    Epiphone les Paul standard

    Love the guitar great sound awesome customer service will definitely buy again from sweetwater

  • from Cedar Rapids, IA December 28, 2015

    Epi Les Paul Standard

    This is the second Les Paul I have owned. I LOVE these guitars. They are very comfortable to play and they sound amazing. I can't think of a single thing I would want changed about this guitar.

  • from MN December 9, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Recording artist

    Great!

    Great guitar, Arrived setup perfectly from Sweetwater!

  • from Citrus hts CA January 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It' evrything I hoped it would be

    The thing I like most about this guitar (thanks to the Humbuckers) is the "volume across all of the strings", I have a few other guitars including a single pick up Gibson Melody Maker/ a Telecaster/ and a two pick up Washburn all of which have great "volume through the Bass strings but die on the treble,The action is the same as on the Melody Maker "which is great" and extremely easy to play

  • from Roseville May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Intermediate Player

    WOW !!! Impressive Guitar

    I just received my new Epiphone Les Paul standard guitar on Friday and have been playing it from the minute it arrived, this is the best guitar I have ever owned, it came out of the box ready to be played, Hat tip to Sweetwater techs they did a great job setting it up, I only had to tune it, and it was ready to rock, and let me say it does rock the tone coming out of this guitar will blow your mind, I feel like I purchased a guitar that cost in the $2000,00 range not $400.00, I got the Ebony and the finish is excellent and flawless the craftsmanship is excellent, if anyone ever tells you that the guitars coming out of China are substandard they don't know what they are talking about, at lease when it comes to Gibson products, I have play mostly Fender I.E Telecasters and Stratocasters, but wish I had pick this one up years ago, the action is perfect, the sound is so great , I don't know how to describe it other then just awesome, I'm putting my Fenders away and only playing this guitar from this point on, if you can be in love with an object than that would be how I feel about this guitar, all the reviews that you ready about how great this guitar is!! there true, buy this guitar you will not be sorry trust me you will not be sorry!!!!

  • from NJ, USA January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend Gigger

    Very Impressed!

    This guitar is every bit of a Les Paul.It feels great and sounds fat and full. Sweetwater did a great job with their inspection and set up. For 4oo bucks this thing is a steal. Thank you Nick Church.

  • from Horicon, WI June 10, 2013

    The Epiphone Les Paul Standard is a beast

    The title says it all. This guitar packs a lot of great stuff for a sweet, sweet price. It is built solid, like a good Les Paul should be. Esthetically, this guitar has a lot to offer (I got mine in Ebony). The paint job is excellent, no defects at all. The cream binding really makes this thing pop.

    Feature wise, grover tuners, nice thick sounding alnico classic humbuckers and solid electronics make this thing a steal.

    I'm seriously in love with this guitar, and you will be too!

  • from Ashland, MA April 4, 2013Music Background:
    engineer, product developer

    Amazing

    This is my sixth Les Paul, but my first Epiphone. Can an Asian product really be as good as one made in the US? Why, yes it can. This Les Paul is basically perfect right out of the box (thanks at least in part to Sweetwater's attention to detail) - it plays and sounds great, and the quality, fit, and finish are first rate. I literally can't find anything to fault here. I must confess I bought this one to use as a testbed for some engineering work I'm doing, and now I just hate to have to take it apart!

    This is an exceptional instrument at a great price, and a truly amazing value. Get one; you won't be disappointed!

  • from SC February 14, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Excellent

    This is an excellent guitar. Incredible tone and beautiful looks. I'm playing through an AC15 and it sounds clean, overdriven, whatever. The Grover tuners are excellent. All the hardware feels top-notch, much nicer than Fenders in the same price range.

    I'm pretty thin and have found the weight of this guitar to be a bit cumbersome after playing for an extended period of time.

    Honestly, from my perspective the most noticeable difference between this and the Gibson is the logo on the headstock. If you want a Les Paul you can spend way more than $399, but you're not going to do a whole lot better.

  • from Fort Eustis, VA March 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Under Estimated Achiever

    This Epiphone Les Paul is really impressive. With these sexy alnico pickups and thick full Les Paul sound you just cant go wrong. I play from anything and everything. At first I was wanting a Honeyburst but wanted to stay in the price range this was. Sleek and Sexy! Sweetwater's customer service is old school! My Sales Master was all over it!! The techs did a great job also, Intonation and action were set at a great mid spot to be able to pick her up and start jamming. I believe just had to tune the Low E that was it! If your looking for a damn good quality Les Paul but not ready to pull the trigger on a Gibson. This is it! Trust me its worth it!!

  • from NYC April 4, 2011Music Background:
    KISS, classic rock

    Fantastic Guitar!!!!

    I bought this guitar 3 years ago and I still love looking at it. It is beautiful and classy. As for the sound, I've played Gibsons and this holds it's own with its much more expensive relative. I really love it. Being a huge KISS/Ace Frehley fan, I wanted a Les Paul for years but I could never afford one. Then I found this beauty and now I finally have what I always wanted!!! I recommend this guitar to everyone.

  • from USA April 24, 2009Music Background:
    guitar, keys, drums, bass

    Gibson Undercover

    Before I got this guitar, I played an Ibanez. I never had any background with Gibsons, or Epi's. So, i just got this today from my local music store. I was quite impressed. The sound that comes from this guitar is amazing, and has a wide range. I've got mine running through a single 10 inch Vox and it's got the power, tone, and volume I need for my live performances whether it be a home, school, or church. Epiphone, whatever it is, keep on doing it!!!

  • from miami April 28, 2008Music Background:
    pro musician

    awsome

    This guitar is awsome. Ive been playing electric guitar for 3 years and THIS GUITAR BLEW ME AWAY!I can play rock ,jazz ahnd the blews.This guitar is expansive but worth the price.GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!

  • from December 29, 2016

    Great guitar

    I bought this just before Christmas. I have already gigged with it. Handled everything we through at it .

  • from Ohio September 29, 2016Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist/Basement Studio Owner

    Splendid Guitar!

    I still can't believe how inexpensive this guitar was! The tone is excellent, the pickups are responsive, and it stays in tune! Would recommend to any guitarist looking to save money without sacrificing quality. After owning this guitar for almost a year, I can definitely say it was more than worth the purchase! Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • from Boise, ID June 22, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby-Level Enthusiast

    A Real Bargain

    Beautiful fit and finish especially for this price point. Everything works as it should. No noisy pots or switches. Free of finish flaws. Smooth frets, no fret buzz anywhere Sweetwater does a great job on setup and inspection which keeps me a returning customer.

  • from San Antonio area July 14, 2015Music Background:
    Published songwriter

    Epiphone LP Standard - Ebony

    It is what I expected it to be. Flawless finish, plays well and arrived as advertised.Thanks for the candy.

  • from Milford, MI April 23, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Impressive

    I have had this guitar for about a month now and I must say, I am still blown away. This guitar beckons you to play it. I consider myself an average player with above average guitar technical skills and have built 2 guitars. My Epiphone Les Paul had an almost perfectly leveled neck out of the box with no sharp fret edges, nothing had to be done to improve play-ability. I love the Grover tuners, they are smooth and hold the tuning nicely. The pickups sound excellent and don't need to be upgraded. Not much else to say, a solidly built guitar that sounds good and feels good in the hands. I also purchased the Epiphone Hard Case which is very nice. Oh yeah, almost forgot to mention how impressed I have been with my several purchases from Sweetwater, never any issues, with great (relationship building) sales support!

  • from Pana Il April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    SURPRISED

    As an owner of a 75 Les Paul Standard for a long time and main guitar for a long time I was Skeptical but I like the way this guitar plays, setup was good and looks great.

  • from Plano. Texas June 19, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Plays like a Gibson

    I own a Gibson Les Paul "Traditional" guitar and believe me for the price the Epiphone Les Paul holds it "s own! It is a great looking guitar and it plays beautifully! If you need a back up, try the Epiphone!

  • from Haverhill, MA March 19, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Happy as a clam

    It sounds great, looks great and a great price. Who could ask for more!

  • from Levelland, TX USA December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist 20+ yrs

    Worthy of the name Les Paul

    I have been waiting a while to write this review (2 years) so i could be past the "Honneymoon". And i can say that this guitar is more than worth the price of admission. I love the playability of this guitar, it's just right for players with large hands. The only problem I had with guitar was the factory nut broke, but replaced with bone. other than that no problems. the only other "complaint" is with pickups, not voiced quite right for my ears. Hence 4.5 stars. I do not hesitate to recommend this guitar to anyone!

  • from California December 30, 2016Music Background:
    7144439878

    nice

    Just got it..so I don't have much to say. But I am enjoying it so far.

  • from Jacksonville Fl. August 3, 2016

    Great!

    I have bought a few items from Sweetwater in the past. The results wore outstanding. That's why I wasn't surprised to receive my new Epiphone Les Paul Standard ebony guitar in perfect condition. It came in the box real secured. Everything on it works. The shipping was outstanding. My agent Mike Soper is as cool of a person can get. I recommend Sweetwater big time!

  • from South Louisiana September 19, 2015

    B. Luuv gtrs. & gear:

    Been playing all my llife. Recorded 10 Albums. While mostly i have been faithful to fender (jaguar h h telecaster) i now have an epiphone les paul to plug into my mesa boogie dc-10 & metal zone. Delay & Octave. I had an arbor but the Epi crushes it hands down. I did replace the bridge pickup & Is perfect. For the $. Its almost LIKE a Gibson. What a sweet deal for a sweet guitar!!! B. L

  • from Zion, California September 22, 2012Music Background:
    Praise & Worship, Christian Rock.

    Golden Sweet Les Paul...:-)

    Well, I recieved this guitar today and have been noodling around on it all day. The build quality seems pretty good.
    And the stock pick-up are able to get lots of useful tones from clean all the way through rock,and even metal!
    No strap locks as pictured, but at this price point- I ain't trippin'. Picked up this sweet Les Paul and an Epiphone hardshell case for just over four hundred dollars.
    Great customer service from Sweetwater...:-) Get Yours Now!!!

  • from September 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not what I expected

    I thought at first sight that this would be a very good guitar. It's pretty much good except for the string action which is too high (well,at least for me it is). you can always lower the string action but whenever I reach the desired height, it always buzzes at some frets.The minimum height at which it doesn't buzz is even high for me.It weighs much too but that's not a real problem for me though it might be an issue for you. the rests are quite good. just test the guitar at you local store first before buying.

  • from Canton, OH February 1, 2004

    Keeper

    I have been playing for a long time and I hope I never have to part with my Epiphone LP Standard - it looks just like pic shown, and plays like a dream. I use it for jazz and blues. A well made instrument with great versatility and looks. You really can't go wrong with this one.

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard - Ebony?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway