0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Trans Blue Reviews

5.0 stars based on 34 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Trans Blue?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Trans Blue?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Chicago January 3, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It Rocks !!!!!

    A great guitar for a very affordable price !!!!

    Actually I purchased for my kid for Xmas. (She's just learning).. One heck of a practice tool for a student.
    I just have to keep remembering that it's hers , not mine.

  • from oak park, MI November 16, 2016

    stunning guitar

    This guitar is sexy,plays awesome, Sweetwater is the only music store I buy from. Impeccable service, I'm a forever loyal customer,thanks guys so much!

  • from October 13, 2016

    Unbelievable!

    I bought a USA made Gibson Les Paul in 2013 (with auto-tune). It was flat black and no frills, the fourth string buzzed on the first fret and some of the higher frets felt sharp on my fingers and slowed down my playing. The auto-tune, a $400 dollar option was nice at first, and you can tune in different keys, but, the tuning is not precise and you can not override by hand tuning as the gears on the auto-tune make it too tough. Therefore:

    I saw this great blue "Epi" on this site, and even after being warned about "Chinese" "Chibsons" I looked at the price, which was less than half of what I paid for my USA Gibson and decided to roll-the-dice just once. WOW! This is one beautiful AXE! Right out of the box this guitar was flawless and even in perfect tune! I played it for three hours straight and it was flawless, no buzzing strings, no hanging frets, and the action was lightening fast. And the polished clear coat and that royal blue, fantastic. I also love the double-pull switches for the pickups that give you additional tone choice that my "real" Gibson doesn't have. This one also seems better balanced. Although it is a shame that US guitars don't have the quality anymore, and I hate to admit that, this is one Les Paul that just moved to the top of the line in my "go-to" play list. An absolutely fantastic guitar, so nice as a matter of fact that I am now looking at the sunburst model too! The tone is perfect and when played through my Marshall Full-Stack you get that thunderous, honking bite and power you have always dreamed of and it's all right at your fingertips. Sweetwater has been so good to me as a customer that I will be back. I doubt I will bother shopping at GC anymore. Thanks guys!!

  • from Indiana February 17, 2016

    Amazing Guitar!

    I love the sound of this guitar! I was blown away the first time I played it because the sound is so clean. It works great with any amp and if you are a beginner or even advanced this will work great for you! I'm so proud of my purchase!

  • from Myrtle Beach S. C. November 27, 2015Music Background:
    Casual player

    Awesome look, awesome sound!

    This guitar has exceeded all my expectations for sound, playability, and quality. Coil tapping gives you many options to get the sound you want. The finish on this thing is second to none and it stays in tune forever. I would recommend Epiphone to anyone looking for a quality guitar at a great price. Thanks again to Aaron at Sweetwater for making the purchase so smooth and easy and for his true interest in making the customer happy.

  • from Midland, Tx November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Intermediate player

    Great Guitar at a great value

    First I just want to say the entire process with Sweetwater flawless. Ian McGhee was a pleasure to work with. I bought this guitar in July and have no complaints. The finish was flawless, and setup was great out of the box. All I had to do was tune up and go. The tone from the ProBuckers is loud and fat, and suits my preference for Blues perfectly. This guitar sounds great through a Fender Mustang III and a Peavey Vypyr VIP-3, but really shines through my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III. I don't believe you can go wrong by buying one of these.

  • from September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer - 10 years

    Love this guitar

    Every guitarist needs a les, strat and tele. For rhythm guitarists interested in pop - rock or lead guitarists playing blues this guitar sings!

    Lots of tone combinations and beautiful look!

  • from Concord, N.C. July 16, 2015

    Guitar with the WOW factor

    This is a totally awesome guitar. Have been learning to play the guitar for about 8 months
    and this guitar is making the experience a lot easier. Beautiful and worth every dollar.
    Sweetwater's shipping and service is the best. It is great to find a company that really
    cares about customer satisfaction. I will never buy from anyone else.

  • from Shelby twp. Mich. June 21, 2015

    Awesome

    Thank you very much for the great work on my guitar it is awesome . looks great plays even better I love it. And thank you Jeff bohon for all the good work .I would buy another one in a minute.

  • from United States of America April 13, 2015

    If this guitar would be a food, it would be a warm, cream filled cannoli with chocolate dressing that somehow doesn't make you fatter

    While I did not buy this guitar from sweetwater.com this is the exact guitar I currently own and play, and I am in love with it. I had been playing for little over a year and decided it was time to move up from the a foreign stratocaster copy, to, well, a foreign les paul copy. But that's the thing that sets this guitar apart from other mid-level guitars, it doesn't feel like a copy or an imitation of a Gibson. This guitar is able to stand up on its own with rich, full tones. Playing on a VOX amp I can exactly replicate the Mark Knopfler "Sultans of Swing" tone perfectly on a clean signal. Without the italic Epiphone logo brandished across the head, I doubt many players could tell the difference. This guitar is versatile, plays easy, and is a ton of fun not to mention the absolutely beautiful paint job. The duel volume and tone knobs also come in handy for Tom-Morello style toggle switching, see "Bulls on Parade", and that one part in Hendrix's "Voodoo Chile". This guitar is worth much more than Epiphone and sweetwater are selling it for, I haven't had one complaint about this guitar after two years of playing it religiously.

    To put it simply, I love this guitar more than I would love sitting on a golden throne while being fed deep-fried twinkies by a bikini-clad Kate Upton. If that ever were to happen, I would probably ask "Hey, where's my Les Paul?"

  • from Humboldt County April 10, 2015Music Background:
    35 + years semipro acoustico

    Beautiful Guitar!

    This is a sweet guitar that won't break the bank - Once have it set up by an experienced luthier, lose the cheap stings that come with it for a good set of quality strings (I chose the Vintage Nickle 10's), & you won't be able to tell this beauty from its much more expensive American namesakes. But be forewarned - once you play this thing, it can become extremely addictive.

  • from New Orleans April 3, 2015Music Background:
    30 plus years, piano, flute, sax, clarinet, drums, 6 string, bass own a strat, les and PRS 24 custom

    What a Supprize (wow Factor)

    there is a 10% DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THIS AND THE GIBSON AT 1/3 THE PRICE!
    plays great, I PREFER THE 2015 NUT WITH INCREASE AS I HAVE GORILLA FINGERS and I did had difficulty transitioning from bass to this but the action is wonderful, dead solid staying in tune with humidity in correct range. I can drop tune my PRS and me and my wife can jam along without the frequency problems. pro buckers are just FN AWESOM! Love!! trust me and play a little with some el84 and 6L6 and you will be happy!
    thank you Parker Roush for getting me this diamond as I knew what I wanted but you found her!
    only problem. D string catching in the nut. sent it back and with a lil filing and lube Sweetwater customer service had all my problems fixed and had my axe back within 3 WEEKS!!!!!!!!
    CUSTOMER FOR LIFE!
    don't regret passing this as this has potential to be a collectors item as the BUILD QUALITY IS the same as Gibson

  • from SAINT PETERSBURG, FL March 27, 2015Music Background:
    Played the cowbell in the ole school yard.

    Plustop Pro

    First of all I would like to thank Sweetwater and Aaron Hoff for their great customer service and attention to detail. This is the 2nd guitar I have purchased from them and wont be my last. I have many other music stores I could be buying from but they do such a great job I am sticking with them. As for the guitar itself, I have not set it down much. Actually, I am playing the hell out of it! I bought this guitar to compare to my telecaster. All I can say is I love them both. Right tool for the right job sorta thing. Well, wish I had more time to ramble on about how great this guitar is but I need to plug it back in and jam till the sun comes up!

  • from USA March 21, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Better than I could have dreamed

    Fantastic guitar, sweetwater setup was perfect as well. Sounds amazing, the coil tapping is a fantastic feature (you do lose some volume though). For a ~$500 guitar you can't get better IMO. Mine was made in Indonesia (bought March 2015) and is flawless. The probucker pickups are better than I could have imagined. I bought this guitar instead of the Gibson LP Standard because I want to stay married. It has satiated me for now and is certainly in the top of my lineup of 14 or so guitars.

    The only negative IMO is the knobs are ugly, I'll replace them eventually but that's just a personal preference. The color/paint on this is outstanding as well. Worth every cent! Way to go Epiphone!

  • from Seattle wa February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Professional artist

    9 pound 4 ounce slice of heaven

    Ok bought this from GC as an xmas present to myself. Was going to spend up to 1200 on something and turned out I didn't need to.. I own a desert Burst gibson Les Paul studio 2004 model and I'll be damned if this guitar with the split coil in the neck doesn't sound better through my bandit 112 w/scorpion just buy it if you are on the fence. I came in here and signed up just to write this and im just a 49 yr old kid who plays guitar all day.

  • from Arlington, TX August 19, 2014Music Background:
    amateure recording and mixing engineer, drummer

    Amazing

    I've had mine for about 3 years now. I've upgraded the pickups and it's the best guitar I've ever played.

  • from Sherwood, WI April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Novice

    Great Guitar

    I am a casual player and this guitar is way more than I would have needed but I could not pass up the looks and after reading the other reviews on the quality. I am not disappointed. Great guitar, holds tune, no intonation and very very playable.

  • from Mississippi February 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Stepped out of my comfort zone

    First, I am a Fender guy at heart. I have three different ones. But I wanted to step out of my comfort zone and try somthing a little different. After some research I found
    this in B-stock and was shocked at the condition and the price. The scratches were so faint you had to look hard to see them. I love the sound and as this is my first Les Paul I
    believe I made a good choice. (with a little nudging from my wife to try somthing different) Yes dear, you were right once again.... Thank you Sweetwater for the excellent service once again.

  • from Jarvisburg, NC January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Student,Hobbyist

    Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Trans Blue

    Absolutely beautiful and a joy to play. I'm no guitarist I just play one with my New Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro. I'm a student and can tell you that this guitar is the easiest and most badass sounding one I have ever played. I also own a PRS which is a fantastic guitar to be sure but I keep picking up my Epi because I just love the feel of the body and sound of those two probuckers. You can't go wrong with this guitar for the money. It also looks so beautiful just sitting there on the stand but you will not be able to go by it without picking it up and jamming. I'm Happy now!!!

  • from Jarvisburg, NC January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Guitar Student

    I'm In Heaven !

    This bad boy is so beautiful and sounds so darned good with the pro-bucker pickups. It sounds and plays just like I had hoped it would. Makes me feel like I know what I'm doing. The detail in this guitar and the finish is wonderful. It's a quality instrument at a hell of a good price. You sure can't have mine so you will have to buy one for yourself. You won't be sorry! Thanks Epiphone & Sweetwater

  • from Green Bay, WI USA December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar enthusiast

    Utter Joy

    Although I'm still relatively new to guitar, (just over a year of playing) I have had the opportunity to play quite a few guitars. After finding this les Paul, I was immediately interested because of the price alone. But once I received this guitar and started to jam with it, I was so giddy that I couldn't stop grinning like an idiot for the rest of the day! Wonderful tone and beautiful bodywork combined with the magical sound of humbuckers and altogether you get easily the best guitar experience that I have ever had, Period.

  • from Mason, Ohio April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Guitar

    This Les Paul Standard Plustop PRO sounds so good, better than I expected. You can get that Led Zeppelin and blues sound, and with the coil tapping it really adds another sound I never expected. I am very happy with this purchase. It is just what I wanted. Epiphone has built a great guitar. I am impressed.

  • from Chicago January 18, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Best buy ever!

    The guitar is just so beautiful! It motivates you to pick it up and just play and play :) I am very satisfied with this guitar and recommend it to all the players. I love Sweetwater :)

  • from Oklahoma January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Great guitar

    Awesome guitar, great sound and sustain. Burst bucker pros sound great, with the coil caps you get some different tone variations. The picture doesn't do it justice, not even close. The fret board is ultra smooth giving great playability. Epiphones version of gibsons probuckers, this is as close to Gibson as you're goin to get without actually buying the real thing. I highly recommend this guitar.

  • from Kansas December 16, 2012Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Excellent Guitar

    For $500 this guitar will give you everything that you are looking for in a Les Paul and, did I say beautiful? Well it is just that. I mainly take 2 guitars to a gig a Fender Strat and, this one. It gives me all I want, what more could you ask for. A Les Paul for $500 how could you go wrong.

  • from Kennett, MO USA December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Guitar

    This thing is every bit as good as the Gibsons I've played before. The neck feels awesome, very comfortable profile on the back. The pickups sound great and the coil splitting is a very nice feature. It has sustain like you would not believe and the finish is just beautiful. Excellent guitar, exceeds expectations for a guitar in this price range.

  • from T-VILLE NORTH CAROLINA November 12, 2016

    DARKER THAN PICTURE

    THIS IS A KILLER GUITAR PLAYS AND SOUNDS GREAT. THE SLIM TAPER D NECK AND THE PICKUPS ARE AWESOME . MY ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT IS THE COLOR . I LOVE THE WAY THE GUITAR LOOKS IN THE PICTURE THE LIGHT BLUE IS BEAUTIFUL . DISAPPOINTED WHEN I UNBOXED IT AND IT WAS MUCH DARKER STILL BEAUTIFUL AND NOT A DEAL BREAKER BUT I FELL IN LOVE WITH THE LIGHT BLUE LOOK.

  • from Utah October 26, 2016

    Sweet Guitar at Only $550

    Right out of the box the guitar is beautiful. Sweetwater even included a few nice extras. I'm very impressed with the guitar as well as buying from Sweetwater. I received a call not even 1 hour after ordering the guitar, which I was very impressed by. I usually cannot take calls during the day but was still very impressed by it. I also received a few emails: some awesome pics of the guitar, a tracking number, and a very sweet thank you from Sweetwater. Overall great buying experience with just one very small problem: the guitar came out setup flawlessly but after sitting on it's stand for a few days the setup went bad. Probably due to being in the cold during shipping and now being warm in the house. Not a complaint or trying to give fault to Sweetwater because that's a very minor problem and to be expected. Had it taken to a luthier and it's now PERFECT. This is my 2nd go to guitar behind my Gibson SG and I will be grabbing this guitar alot in the future. Thank you to Sean G. and everybody else from Sweetwater, I've found my favorite place to buy all my future musical needs!

  • from NYC April 6, 2016Music Background:
    casual player

    Nice guitar for the price

    Really good looking guitar that feels like a Gibson Les Paul......for whole lot less money!!

  • from East Coast September 6, 2015

    Exceptional Value

    I have owned one of these for about a year. I picked it out of a showroom of 20 or more Under $1000 Gibson and Epiphone guitars. For $500 you can't ask for more. However, if you want even more in terms of great sound, do the following easy cheap upgrades. A TUSK nut ($14) and a Gotoh bridge (nickel is the finish) for $25. Anyone can do these upgrades (plenty of YouTube videos on the nut replacement). For $40, the sound of this guitar will just pop. It makes a huge difference to an already nice playing and sounding guitar. Finally, these things are so darn pretty. They really are.

  • from Sicklerville, NJ August 26, 2015Music Background:
    gigging musician

    Love It

    This guitar, to me, feels so comfortable to play and sounds good as well. The pickups give it a slightly lower output "classic" rock sound, which has its place. It's not perfect for every genre of music, but almost no guitar is. The main selling points to my mind is it is light, easy to play (action), and has a range of tones available through the push/pull knobs. I definitely do not regret buying it at all. I've not done a gig with it yet, I leave that to my Fender Strat, this one is on stage as a backup though.
    I'm definitely glad I bought it, and have had no second thoughts about it at all. It's a great all-around guitar and will compliment anyone's collection.

  • from Philly June 6, 2016Music Background:
    Too much to cover - I am scizophrenic

    Best value and best LP for under $1000, maybe $1500

    Sweetwater, why do you separate reviews by color? I guess I understand, but I'd like to see all the reviews together too.

    I have had one of these in Antique Natural for over a year. I'm a little ashamed to say I bought it at GC. I tried out every Les Paul, Gibson and Epiphone for under $1000 for hours and this one really stood out for feel, tone and looks (they really are gorgeous guitars). I like it so much, I am tempted to by another (the trans blue and wine red look amazing) and of course I would buy from Sweetwater. Anyway, I mainly play a very expensive strat, tele and jazz box, but this has become my all around go to guitar in the home studio. I play many styles and this can do them all, save funk where the strat and tele are supreme.

    A few very cheap mods really improved this guitar. A Tusk nut and a Gotoh bridge. The nut REALLY changed the tone and it is absolutely awesome, for less than $20! The bridge did too (another $15ish!), but alas it was also necessary as I ran out of room to set the intonation on my G string here. This guitar is not one for staying in tuner\ and it often goes sharp. I have tried every trick in the book, but perhaps it is just very sensitive to humidity. Still, no big deal for me. I also had a few other minor problems. First the pickup switch frizzled out, but replacing it was not a big deal, though a little annoying. Second, The bridge volume pot is kind of funky with the push pull coil tap. The darn thing came off and probably needs to be replaced, but I simply avoid using it and really don't find much value in the coil splitting any way.

    Despite these problems, all with replaceable parts, they really don't bother me (though they cost me a star) as the guitar itself is solid and has a wonderful tone. I play mainly through my Mac and use S-Gear, but also Guitar Rig and Amplitube. S-Gear is superior and with this guitar I can get a range of tones, from distortion to clean, that have caused eyebrows to raise from my friends with $2000+ Gibson Les Pauls. Out of the box, nothing under $1500 from Gibson can touch this for a "classic" Les Paul - no weight relieving stuff and no lousy finished. With a few mods anyone can do (nut and bridge) this guitar goes to a whole other level.

    Note, if you do want to buy a bridge or anything else for this, the hardware is nickel, not chrome.

  • from So. Calif. July 1, 2013Music Background:
    old jammer

    Plus top Pro

    Mine is wine red. The probuckers sound very good. Took a scotch brite pad to the back of the neck and now it is fast. I had to lightly hammer down a few frets to stop buzzing at 14th fret. this is the 1st china made guitar that I will keep. I hope the hardware does not tarnish like other Epiphones I have had in the past.

  • from South Park, PA June 26, 2013Music Background:
    Home recording. Hobbyist. Collector

    You're my boy Blue!

    I've owned quite a few Gibson Les Pauls. But let's be honest...they're expensive. Recently I picked up an '09 Epiphone Les Paul Plus top Pro/FX and was pleasantly surprised at the build quality. I also grabbed an Epi Silver burst LP Custom along the way. When I saw the Trans Blue Plustop Pro I had to have it! I literally pulled it out of the box and played it the day it arrived. (Nice set up Sweetwater!). I was very impressed with Epiphone's coil tap electronics. Ol' Blue here sounds better than both my Pro/FX and Custom. The ProBucker pickups sound fantastic. Nice crunch when you need it and a sweet warm tone when you desire that. Nice job Epihphone! I was thinking about swapping pickups on my other Epi LPs but not ol' Blue here. If you're looking for bang for the buck this is your axe!

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Trans Blue?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway