0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Heritage Cherry Sunburst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Heritage Cherry Sunburst?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Heritage Cherry Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Mississippi January 7, 2017

    Great guitar

    The guitar is outstanding and the service from sweetwater cant be beat.
    The guitar is better looking in peraon the pictures dont do the guitar justice.

  • from NC October 28, 2016Music Background:
    2525354438

    Epiphone les paul heritage cherry sunburst

    Just got my les paul from Sweetwater and it is beautiful. I got to play a few riffs when my wife made me put it up for Christmas. Great quality and fast delivery. Very friendly staff.

  • from md September 2, 2016Music Background:
    Gifted by GOD

    Awesome

    I do not write much say less. Played early studio Gibsons bought a new Gibson L.P. lacking. This model epi. Is what I played years ago under the Gibson name.and better. If you ever wanted a real standard here it is . It unlocked moves I lost riffs, leads the lady gets mad when I stop playing. Look out PRS. Good job. Dam good job. Do the exact set on a S.G. and I will buy it. this not a copy. The real thing. Iam 55 and rocking again . God Bless.

  • from Rockingham, NC July 9, 2016

    It's me again

    I just received my guitar in the mail. The shipping was lightning fast. I had a total of 3 orders, this guitar, an Epiphone hardshell case, and an amp along with a cable and it all got here in TWO DAYS. It's always that fast when I order from Sweetwater and on top of that it's free. You can't beat that. Anyway, I am in love with this guitar already. It's exactly what I was hoping for. It's beautiful and it sounds fantastic.

  • from Rockingham, NC July 5, 2016Music Background:
    Playing for fun for 10+ years

    Customer Service!

    I just placed an order for this guitar so I haven't gotten it yet but I just wanted to say that Sweetwaters customer service is amazing. My customer service rep Chris Sonia called me up moments after I placed the order to thank me and to ask me if I had any questions. I told him no and he asks me if I have a guitar strap suitable for a heavier guitar like a Les Paul and I say that I have an old ernie ball strap that should be okay and he throws in a new Levy's strap free of charge. Every time I place an order no matter how small I feel like I am important and taken care of. Thanks Sweetwater and thanks Chris, you guys are the best.

  • from Franklin, IN June 21, 2016

    Could not be happier

    I bought one at this year's Gear Fest. Absolutely gorgeous finish and overall build quality is exceptional. It lacks the trimmings of the more expensive LPs but I wanted a guitar not a display piece of furniture. Sweetwater's team did an fantastic setup job as it was in tune when I pulled it out of the box and the intonation and neck relief were just perfect for the OEM strings. I've played nothing but Fenders for the last 35 years and this beauty has restored tones to me that I have missed since I had a '68 Les Paul Deluxe.

  • from Grand rapids, Mi. March 15, 2016

    Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Heritage Cherry SB

    This is the first guitar I have ever bought online. I could not be happier with the experience. Best customer service in a long time.
    The guitar is great. I am a new player, and bought a cheap first guitar to cut my teeth on. I told myself that if I was still playing after 6 months, I would upgrade to something better. I love everything about this guitar. The finish, the neck, the sound, the weight are all great. It's a perfect fit for me. You will not be disappointed if you are a casual player. Maybe not even if you are a serious player, but I can't tell that yet.

  • from February 10, 2016

    Les Paul

    The guitar is fantastic! The quality is great and the price and fast delivery was outstanding!

  • from Tulsa, OK January 25, 2016Music Background:
    Studio Owner/Guitar Collector

    Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Heritage Cherry SB

    I have over 30 guitars in my collection. So I studied really hard when selecting this guitar and I was not disappointed when I plugged it in in my studio. I had it in my mind that I would probably order a set of Gibson Burst Bucker Pros to replace the pickups with (especially since there would be no soldering involved) but the jury is still out on that. The fit and finish is better than my Gibson Joe Bonamassa Les Paul Studio and plays equally as well for a fraction of the price. The pickups amazed me. However I must explain that I am plugged into a POD HD500 4 wire method into a H&K Tubemeister 18 into the board with stereo out of the POD and DI out of the H&K. Tones are rich, deep to screaming nasty if I want them to be, to pristine clean. I would tell a friend to buy one.

  • from August 18, 2015

    Happy happy joy joy!

    This guitar exceeded my expectations to the nth. Very happy with it. I'm glad that Sweetwater let me make 3 payments on it, and am just flat blown away by the quality, fit and finish, and especially the sound and feel. As awesome in every respect as any Les Paul I've ever played. I've been around awhile, and I've played a few in my day. Good stuff!

  • from NEWMARKET, NH May 26, 2015

    Awesome Co. and killer Epiphone LP

    My first time buying from Sweetwater and i give them 5 stars !
    I bought the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus top PRO - Heritage Cherry SB talk about a beautiful looking and sounding guitar for the money ! I have owned Gibson Les Pauls in the past and I am blown away with the quality, tone and value of this guitar ! If you are on the fence thinking .... um should I ... or shouldn't I ...?
    Trust me, do it !
    The guitars come set up ready to play right out of the box ! Sure beats doing it yourself or paying a local shop to set it up for you.
    Also, they staff / customer service are very helpful and professional.
    I am very pleased with my experience and will buy my next guitar, amp ..... from Sweetwater !

  • from Flat Rock, N.C. February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Nearing 60 guitar collector

    Epiphone Les Paul Plustop PRO-Heritage Cherry SB

    Sweetwater does it again- this Epiphone looks so much better than the pictures. I own alot of Gibsons, and this Plustop is an AWESOME buy for the money. This guitar has a PERFECT finish, GREAT flame, just a beauty for the price. No Gibson pickups, but the Burstbuckers sound great in the right hands .Everything on the guitar was perfect- right out of the box. Period. For the price, nobody can touch this quality. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I may even buy another shade- and Sweetwater does unbelievable packing, setup, SUPER-FAST shipping, sales. MANY THANKS GUYS-

  • from KIMBERLING CITY, MISSOURI USA 65686 September 26, 2014Music Background:
    HOBBYIST

    FANTASTIC

    GREAT GUITAR TONE AND FUNCTIONALBILTY. THE LAST 12 MONTHS I PURCHASED A MARTIN, GIBSON AND TWO EPIPHOMES AND THIS ONE IS THE BEST LOOKING BY FAR. LOVE THE COLORS AND BLENDING OF THEM.

    SWEETWATER ---GREAT PLACE TO DO BUSINESS.

  • from Ft.polk,louisiana June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby player

    Great guitar

    Bought the fantastic epi les paul plus top pro,this is a fantastic guitar the flametop on the cherry sunburst is amazing and it came ready to play out of the box,this guitar sounds as great as it looks the probuckers rival any boutique pickup i have heard and the neck is amazing,for the money this is the best guitar i have ever bought.

  • from Mason, Ohio April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Guitar

    This Les Paul Standard Plustop PRO sounds so good, better than I expected. You can get that Led Zeppelin and blues sound, and with the coil tapping it really adds another sound I never expected. I am very happy with this purchase. It is just what I wanted. Epiphone has built a great guitar. I am impressed.

  • from Chicago January 18, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Best buy ever!

    The guitar is just so beautiful! It motivates you to pick it up and just play and play :) I am very satisfied with this guitar and recommend it to all the players. I love Sweetwater :)

  • from Oklahoma January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Great guitar

    Awesome guitar, great sound and sustain. Burst bucker pros sound great, with the coil caps you get some different tone variations. The picture doesn't do it justice, not even close. The fret board is ultra smooth giving great playability. Epiphones version of gibsons probuckers, this is as close to Gibson as you're goin to get without actually buying the real thing. I highly recommend this guitar.

  • from Kennett, MO USA December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Guitar

    This thing is every bit as good as the Gibsons I've played before. The neck feels awesome, very comfortable profile on the back. The pickups sound great and the coil splitting is a very nice feature. It has sustain like you would not believe and the finish is just beautiful. Excellent guitar, exceeds expectations for a guitar in this price range.

  • from Canyon Country,CA November 23, 2012Music Background:
    Been playing for 38+ years

    Great Guitar

    This is a great guitar for the price. Very fun to play, sounds great and looks great. I also bought the Antique Natural version of this, which is an awesome guitar too!

  • from April 14, 2017

    Sweet guitar!

    With this guitar you get quality sound, and a attractive design all for a very affordable price. You can't​ go wrong with this purchase!

  • from Londonderry, NH November 20, 2016

    These are either awesome, or I got a great one.

    I had a Gibson Standard LP about 15 years ago, and sold it, because it wasn't quite what I wanted. But the guitar itself was magnificent. I remember opening the case, and just how perfect it was.

    This guitar is perfect. Other guys in my band asked why my "cheap" Les Paul sounds better than other players with Gibsons. It plays perfectly. The large radius fretboard is a bending dream, and the guitar itself. I've played junky Epiphone LPs in the past, and this isn't one.

    I don't really use the coil splitting much, and if there was anything that would be a knock on the guitar, I don't like the knobs and they seems slightly misaligned, but when I need that Gibson sound, it's right there. The headstock is irrelevant.

    97% of the way there for 25% of the dollars.

  • from Fort Wayne In March 15, 2016

    Love this guitar

    I absolutely love playing this guitar. It has incredible sound. I had a Gibson Les Paul Studio that I really loved as well, however, after playing this Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro, I would much rather play the Epiphone. The neck is so smooth, comfortable and easy to navigate. I really enjoy the additional sounds that you can achieve with the push-pull single tap coil volume controls. I selected one of four that were in stock in the Heritage Cherry Sunburst color and choose the lightest weight of the four. The finish is so brilliant and shines even after playing for long periods of time. All I have to do is wipe it down with a microfiber cloth and it looks like it just came out of the box. the only issue I had with the guitar was, like several of the Les Paul's that I have played I have had trouble with the g & b strings not staying in tune. After Speaking with my sales engineer, Adam Crampton, he gave me a new set of strings and that took care of the problem. Other than the tuning issue when I took this guitar home and started playing it I was not disappointed. Sweetwater is such an awesome place to do business with and Adam Crampton is absolutely amazing to do business as well. The only reason I gave a 4.5 for this guitar was that I had an issue with the tuning.

  • from Santa Clara, CA March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone Les Paul!

    Guitar arrived and haven't even completely unpacked it but the guitar looks beautiful. Can't wait to plug it in and play it. As usual, Sweetwater did a great job packaging and shipping and the guitar arrived in perfect condition. Thanks again to Nate Edwards for the great customer service! This is why I shop at Sweetwater when I could easily go to another big guitar/music chain store that is 10 min. away from my house.

  • from United States September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbuist, Hack, Rank Amateur, Noodler. Take your pick.

    Excellent Les Paul Tone for Less $$

    I can't complain about this guitar at all really. It arrived in great shape except for a small piece of the finish missing near the nut on the treble side of the neck. It's just the lacquer not the wood, and I repaired it myself rather than return the guitar. This one has a very nice flamed top that I really like so didn't take the chance on getting a lesser one in exchange. The chip is only about 3/4 inch long... easily fixed and does not affect the sound in any way. The overall fit and finish is very good. The sound? I'm very happy. I play mostly around the house/garage through Blackheart amps, and it compares very close to my 1997 Gibson LP Standard. I actually looks nicer than the Standard. The Gibson is little "easier" to play but the Epi is very close. If I replace the 0.010 strings wit 0.009's I'll bet they are nearly the same. I think the pickups come close to the desired classic PAF, rock sound we look for in a Les Paul for that style of music. Metal tones can be had but, it really is not intended for that genre. I don't fool with the tone knobs much but they function as they should. Some say the responsiveness is lacking but, I OK with it. The coil tapping isn't what you're looking for if you expect it to sound like a Strat or Tele but, it's not one of those anyway is it? The single coil sound from it chimes nicely nevertheless. Many different combinations of tone can be had by fiddling with the knobs and selector. Grover tuners keep it in tune quite well. I don't know what else I can say. It looks like a Les Pal, feels like a Les Paul, and sounds like a Les Paul. Don't look at the headstock and you probably couldn't tell. But hey... Gibson owns Epiphone anyway don't they? It must be a Les Paul! One other thing I'll say is that these higher quality models of Epi's (like the plustops, and tributes) will always be better, and closer to the Gibsons than the less models of Epi LP's. So, if you want a good quality Les Paul guitar at a great price... look seriously at these Epiphones.

  • from October 8, 2015

    Holds its own

    Great guitar. Epiphone really put time, thought and work into it overall. In fact this is very close to owning a low end Gibson. Close. The only few upsets are mainly the quality (1st fret starting to raise some) after only 7 months of heavy use. It doesn't feel solid but of course it's not made of the best woods, the pups are top touch for the price. Sounds like P-90s when coil tap is activated but not quite as bright as true single coils. It's a tonal machine loaded with versatility for blues, rock, country and anything in between those lines. No need to swap out the probuckers. Great buy, as stated earlier though it's not really made to withstand heavy abuse especially if you play hard like SRV or other blues players. More ideal for softer hands/touch.

  • from SF Bay Area, CA, 'Merica, Milky Way, Known Universe August 11, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Noob

    Plustop Review

    I figured I'd upgrade from a Squier Bullet HH to this. This thing is an absolute gem. Great sustain. Metal, hard rock, U2 type type tones, country, punk, blues, anything and everything is what this guitar excels at. Quality is pretty good and basic maintenance will keep this great guitar running for ages to come. Drop D is my favorite tuning for this thing. If you buy this guitar, you will be glad!

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro - Heritage Cherry Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway