0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Epiphone Les Paul Studio - Ebony Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Studio - Ebony?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Studio - Ebony?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from FL May 5, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    Awesome guitar

    Awesome guitar wonderful price plays nicely my first Epiphone Guitar plays excellent good quality been a Fender man now trying something else so I buy a Gibson Les Paul let me try the Epiphone Les Paul Studio model anyway people Sweetwater treating me professionally sales personnel handle more rapidly purchase it in ebony black beautiful sound comes out of this guitar the salesperson got the guitar professional 55 inspection the great deal now that I've been playing it for a couple months now since I've been a Stratocaster man I am not considering buying a Les Paul Gibson now that I purchase a Epiphone Les Paul I have no idea what wonderful guitar there are I have at the studio Gibson guitars now I'm playing them more often since I got my Epiphone thank you sweet water look forward to purchasing a Gibson but the Epiphone studio is wonderful guitar beautiful sound well worth the money so don't hesitate buy yours today

  • from Madisonville Louisiana August 4, 2016Music Background:
    Madisonville Louisiana

    Epiphone Les Paul Studio

    Excellent Could not have ask for more.

  • from Port Richey, FL. April 4, 2016

    Les Paul Studio (Ebony)

    Got this guitar from Sweetwater, Christmas 2015. Here I am in April 2016. So, it has been a little over a year. I love this guitar. The sound is incredible, considering the cost of the guitar. My "Black Betty" is a real thunder machine. I think I'm fortunate, because the action is ultra low. As good or better than any guitar out there costing 6 to 8 times more. The neck and fret board are a breeze to navigate, very comfortable. It was pretty good out of the box. However, I did leave it with my luthier for a set up, just in case. I think it's a good idea with any new axe. And the cost is minimal. Also had him replace the stock strings with a set of D'Adario EXP's (11's). I have had guitars on and off. The last one (Ibanez) about 15 years ago. So....I'm kinda re-learning. I love to rock. Rock/rhythm and blues is where it's at.. And this guitar does it well. I have to say, my VOX AC15 helps a lot. This Epi and VOX are a great combination. Got the VOX from Sweetwater as well. I strongly recommend that amp to anybody, it's awesome. Very soon the Epi gets a Seymour Duncan Pearly Gates at the bridge. Then...look out!
    My only gripe with the Epi is the finish on the neck, where the frets end, at the high and low E strings. The finish is kinda poor and sloppy randomly, in places up and down the neck. Doesn't effect the sound or playability, and it's something you see only with a close up look. After about 6 months the stock cheapo pick up selector toggle switch stopped working right. I had it replaced with a high quality switch, NOT another stock Epi switch. No regrets with this axe. It sounds great. It's got sweet, it's got thunder...and she's an easy player. High gloss piano black finish...and it stays in tune. For the price, you may find something comparable. But I don't think you will find something better.

  • from Syracuse August 31, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced

    Sweetwater is the best

    I've already reviewed this guitar. It's awesome. Well, I ordered another one. Ordered it on a Sunday, and even with the free shipping it arrived Wednesday morning. In tune. String height, pickup height and intonation dead on. It was completely ready to play, right out of the box. Nobody offers the kind of customer service you get from Sweetwater.

  • from Syracuse July 17, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced

    Just what I wanted

    My band plays fairly frequently, and I'm very tough on my gear. As such, I just can't justify paying a whole lot for instruments, because they tend to get banged up pretty quickly. I also tend to gravitate toward a no-frills look and feel with my instruments. This fit the bill nicely. Not only is it affordable, but it's got a great tone and looks sharp without being fancy. This has become one of two favorites, along with a modded mexistrat I've had for 13 years. It may not have the classic Gibby sound, but it's damned good.

  • from Wartburg,tn November 6, 2014Music Background:
    Avid listener

    Awesome

    This was a gift for my husband. He loves it. I was amazed at the sound quality when this one is played thru a Peavey 6505+. Great price would buy another one of these.

  • from Louisiana January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Lifer

    I used this to build a tone monster!

    I bought this in the Sweetwater showroom, and was very pleased at the quality right out of the box. It had the weight I was looking for, and it was set up very nicely. The "C" shaped neck is very comfortable and easy to chord. All in all a very good guitar for beginners, and for an old tone lover like me, a very good guitar to modify.
    I bought the ebony model, changed all the black trim and knobs to creme and amber, and changed the stock pickups to Gibson 490's. I ended up with a classic rocker with that vintage tuxedo look. The stock pickups sounded great on my modeling amp, but were a little muddy on my tube amp. The 490's took care of that. I set the action just a little bit lower, and had to set the intonation on one string.
    I built a tone monster, and saved a lot of money while doing it. I'll play this guitar for a long, long time.....The 4.5 star rating is right out of the box, but it's a 5 now...

  • from Bloomington, IL USA December 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone Les Paul Studio (Ebony)

    Wow. This thing is really impressive!! For the money you pay (picked mine up on a "Price drop") this is a very nice guitar. For under $300 you get a nice finish, decent pickups and a Rosewood fretboard. Is the fretboard as nice looking as other Epi's I have? No. Are the pickups as nice as the Gibsons I have? No. But my other Epi's were $600 and the Gibsons were $1,200 - $2,000!!!

    Pick one of these up for cheap, pay a luthier a little cash to check it out (mine had two frets that weren't seated all the way - little hammer fixed that in seconds) and you've got a really sweet axe for little cash!!

    If you are going straight into the amp (no effects) then maybe swap ou the pickups. You're still under $500 for a guitar that will sound like a $2,000 model!!

    You won't regret it!!

  • from Texas November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Mostly hobbist now, playing for 46 years

    Great Bargin

    This guitar was ready to go right out og the box! All it needed was a little fine tuning (strings). This guitar is my first Epiphone and I am impressed, the quility is alot better than I expected for the price. It is as heavy guitar, but when I sit down to play now I usually pick up this guitar first. I have always been a Ric and Fender player, but after buying this I may just try some others now.

  • from January 19, 2012

    What a great guitar

    Good feel to it, great sound. Has a little feedback, but for the price, you will not beat it. I also own a Les Stander, and this studio sounds just as good.

  • from Bristol,VA 24201 May 28, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist,play at home a lot.

    Epi Les Paul Goth

    Great guitar.I put after market EMG's in and wow,hold on and take a ride on the wild side.This baby really sings now.

  • from Iraq (Secret hide out lair) April 5, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Home Studio Extraordinaire, Loyal Sweetwater Customer

    Rock n' Roll is here to stay...

    I got this guitar as a gift, and as always Sweetwater came through with a steal. This black beauty sounds so sweet, and the quality is built to last. It came ready to jam right out of the box, and unless you are willing to spend an arm and a leg to get the same quality and sound, the Epi LP Studio is the way to go.

  • from July 1, 2004

    Great Guitar

    I've owned this guitar for a year now and it is still amazing to me. It has held its own against more expensive guitars that I have had the privillage to play. The only problem is the output jack needed repairs every once in a while until I finnaly just had it replaced. The old output jack wasn't formed right and now that the new one has been installed I couldn't be more happy with my guitar. It feels amd plays great. This gutiar has an amazing tone and looks just as nice. I would recommend anybody looking for a new guitar definantly check out this one.

  • from victoria March 1, 2004

    mad mad mad

    i played 1 of these in the shop and this has got to be one of the best guitars i have ever played. I am going to buy 1 of these guitars and change the pickups over to gibson pick ups to get the gibson feel. this guitar is great 4 any style of music and it is affordable. i personaly like the ebony colored studio. the only problem with this guitar is that i wont get to play it all the time.

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Studio - Ebony?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway