0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Epiphone Les Paul Special II - Heritage Cherry Sunburst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from NH January 23, 2015Music Background:
    Rock N Rolller

    Great Guitar

    I bought this because I liked the look of the guitar and just to see what you get for $169.95 Epiphone and I have to say its a pretty sweet guitar.I've been playing guitar for years.This is right off the bat one of my favorites.I have a Gibson LP and a higher end Eppy and I like this one just as much.Plays great ,sounds great,set up was perfect out of the box.Great guitar for beginners or experienced players.I don't normally right reviews but after playing this for about a hour after I opened it I kinda felt I had too.Sometimes a cheap guitar is all you need plus a sweet tube amp and crank it up and rock out.

  • from El Dorado Hills CA March 13, 2014Music Background:
    begginer

    les paul special

    just beginning learning how to play. I only practice chords at this point.
    I am recently retired and bought many stringed instraments ( a Martin SWOMG, a Kentucky Mandolin, Dean electric Bass, and Takamini classic nylon cutaway with a pickup. The Epiphone is by far the coolest.
    It came well packaged and ready to play. I plugged it in to my AS50D Marshal amp and hardly put down when I practice. Kudos to Sweetwater and Epiphone for putting together an affordable package that in my opinion is right up there with Fender and Gibson. Keep up the good work Greg

  • from Atlanta, ga February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist

    WOW

    This guitar is the ultimate.....Got mine from Sweetwater ,,,I must say the Guitar plays like $2000 one, If I ever loose my les paul I will order another from sweetwater, They have super fast shipping, Kurt was extra helpful in getting me the right equipment. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from Houston, TX January 9, 2014Music Background:
    PhD in Aural physics. ;-)

    Baby Gibson

    What can I say, it's Epiphone. This one was for my 14 year old (plays baritone, clarinet, sax, bass and now this great name in guitars)

    Anybody asks me, I will tell them to buy.

  • from IL May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Novice

    Satisfied

    New to guitar and this was a great product at the right price. Didn't want to over spend as I am a beginner and this was all I could ask for and more. Nicely put together and sounds great.

  • from United States December 21, 2012Music Background:
    ex-pro, recording/sound engineer.

    Great

    I've owned hundreds of guitar in over 40 years of playing, own around 60 at the moment. I got this guitar as a second so was really cheap, China made 2011 (even at the selling price new it's a real bang for the buck.) I was a guitar tech/repair guy so have experience with how guitars work. There were a few issue's which are easily fixed...The neck bolts where they screw into the neck were loose. To fix these the neck needs to be removed and the original holes need to be dowled and re-drilled, or an easy fix is to insert a few toothpicks with some white glue which I did and now have a tight neck joint. Tuners are cheap but work well enough. Now the good.....the neck is very well done, frets ends smooth and level with very good playability. Finish is very well done. Body wood appears to be basswood, not a bad thing, gives a focused midrange sound. Volume/tone pots are full sized Alpha pots, nice sweep through their range, switch seems solid enough. The bridge and stop-bar tailpiece are the tone-lock, works well and seems to give good sustain. Pickups are Ceramic 8, good clear midrange and highs with tight bass. A lot of cheap humbuckers are muddy but these are actually very good, not the most dynamic but at the price much better than most. I like the thin body, sits on your lap nicely, overall weight is good. I reach for this over my Gibson Les Paul's a lot, just easier on my back. The control layout is nice, one volume, one tone, simple and efficient. This would be a good beginner guitar, good playability and sound. Also would make a good worry free gigging instrument unless you are worried about the name on the headstock....and really your audience won't care unless there are some cork sniffers in the crowd. This is a good time for musicians when you can get good quality for this price...just get it setup properly and you will have a fine instrument.

  • from La. March 25, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Best sounding guitar and great price.

    Great sounding guitar, affordable came already tuned. Looks and sounds great.

  • from January 14, 2013

    Awesome LP for the price!

    Great playability, nice action.

    This is big bang for your $.

  • from Va. Beach, VA (USA) December 12, 2011Music Background:
    Zip!! But give me time! :)

    Les Paul Sprcial II

    Great little guitar! Even 'I' sound good playing it. Beautiful color & finish! Fits just about ANYBODY'S budget! Watch out Eddy Van Halen! Competition's getting tough! Ha! Ha! Ha!

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Special II - Heritage Cherry Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway