0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro - Ebony Reviews

5.0 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro - Ebony?

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro - Ebony?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Savannah, Georgia March 5, 2017Music Background:
    Electric Gutarist; Large Church Orchestra & Praise Band

    Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro

    This guitar is an amazing choice! I have been blown away by the quality of sound. I have a Fender Stratocaster and Gibson Les Paul that I have been using but I feel just as comfortable playing this on stage as those two guitars. The quality build and craftsmanship that went into this guitar given the price point makes it easy for me to recommend it to others. Not one problem with this particular guitar. I love it. A special thank you to Nick Huskins for all your help. You have helped to make me a loyal Sweetwater customer. You are a blessing!

  • from Fairmount Ga January 23, 2017

    Excellent experience

    Sweetwater was absolutely great and one of the best online buying experiences I've had. I ordered on one day and it was in my doorstep the next even during Christmas rush. Mike was awesome and even sent me studio pictures of my guitar while she was being shipped.

    As for the guitar itself, I'm in love. I can barely put it down. What an excellent buy on a quality guitar. Its one of the finest if not the finest playing guitars I've handled, played or owned and she is absolutely beautiful to boot. Very satisfied with my purchase.

  • from Motorcity and Windy City October 25, 2016Music Background:
    1964 to present.

    black and gold beauty

    It's hard to beat Sweetwater. I ordered my guitar on Thursday and it arrived at my door Friday. They also inspect and set up all their guitars. It's also hard to beat any of the epiphone les Paul pro series guitars. I own 6 of them. I really like my new black and gold beauty as it plays great, sounds great, and looks like it should have cost much more. I am a very electric blues guitar player. I play through 2 Marshall dsl 40 watt amps on the ultra gain channel with the gain turned up. My only pedals I use are boss delay DD3 and voodoo lab wahzoo.

  • from Colton CA July 24, 2016

    Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro - black / Gold

    This Guitar is just beautiful. I was a little nervous about ordering online but I received great assistance and my les paul arrived in in its beautiful condition. This ebony less paul with gold trim could only be more perfect if it said gibson. Other then that it plays great and sounds awesome. The strings could probly be changed depending on your preferences but amazingly enough it was actually still in tune and ready to play right out of its box. I also highly recommend the gator case to help your guitar stay beautiful and protected. For the price is really hard to choose anything else. Do yourself a favor... if you live the gibson les paul custom line all real guitar layers do then you should get one right away. Thank you Sweetwater. ..and thank you to Mike D. The audio engineer and sales rep that assisted me with this purchase

  • from Wellington Kansas April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar 40 years

    Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro - black / Gold

    For the price point there is not a better instrument for that money. This thing plays absolutely wonderful. I wanted to recapture the feel of the guitar I had 30 years ago which was a Gibson Les Paul custom. I feel this guitar is one step better than that one was. Unless you're hung up on the name Gibson, just buy one of these.

  • from Texas December 20, 2015Music Background:
    player in live bands 40+ years, sound engineer

    Very Suprised!!

    Having played guitar for over 41 years, I have had a few. Jackson, Kramer, Ibanez, and a few others. I have played high end guitars $4500+ and low end guitars $free. And I am truly impressed with the build quality of this guitar, It plays beautifly, awesome finish. Much Much more than I had expected from a $600 guitar. My main axe is an 80's Jackson custom shop one of a kind $4000+, back then and this guitar plays just as good with better sustain, I guess because of a stop tail piece, against a floyd rose tremlo. But my expectations were far surpassed with this purchase. Epiphone has won me over. If you are considering this guitar don't delay you will be most impressed, the photos on sweetwater do not do it justice, very classy in person an excellent instrument, for beginner or pro. Thanks to Mike Baldonado. A++++ service.

  • from Houston, TX October 15, 2015

    A Truly Elegant Guitar

    I wanted to start this review out by personally thanking Sweetwater and my Sales Engineer, Sean Geyer, for making this purchase such a great experience, especially considering this was my first guitar purchase from them. I was updated every step of the way and received a personal phone call from Sean to congratulate and notify me that my order was ready to ship. I've shopped around many music websites before, but Sweetwater's Customer Service is by far unmatched in my opinion. Even when something was wrong with my order, my Sales Engineer was very competent in resolving any issues and really cared about keeping me satisfied. I believe that this is what creates a very positive experience when buying gear and leaves the customer feeling much more appreciated to know they care. Thank you very much, Sean!

    I purchased this guitar recently as I found myself really admiring the Les Paul design. Naturally, I decided to go with this beautiful model as I really admired the black finish and looked even much more amazing in person when it arrived. This was my second Epiphone guitar and upon playing the Les Paul Custom Pro, I was left speechless in how clear and crisp the sound was through my fender amp. I really liked that this guitar offers a lot of different sounds through the neck and bridge pickups and allows me to switch it up with ease when I feel like playing a certain style. The weight and feel of the guitar left me very satisfied with the quality of work Epiphone had done and felt they really delivered. As of now, I honestly have not found anything I particularly dislike about this guitar and can say that I am very pleased with this purchase from Sweetwater.

  • from Aiken, SC June 14, 2015Music Background:
    Old Time Picker

    Les Paul Custom Pro

    Howdy again, Its The Old Time Picker, and I'm telling you to Ordder a Epiphone Guitar, Les Paul, S339, 100, Studio, or Special 2, It doesn't matter I now Have a Les Paul Special 2, S339, and Les Paul Custom Pro, and I Love them all, I can't wait to play on them, I switch back and forth all day long, I am very happy with the playability, finish quality and of course the price from Sweetwater, and Want to say thanks to my Sales Agent Israel Foster for all his help, with my purchases, I have received over 30 orders from Sweetwater and Israel sence January and have been very happy with the overall outcome of all of them, I have a house full of greatMusic from Sweetwater and I'm not done yet. Take it from The Old Time Blind Picker you can't beat Sweetwater for all your Music needs.

    The Old Time Picker

  • from Norfolk VA March 27, 2015

    Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro - Ebony

    Very Pleased with my purchase, everything I hoped and wanted and expected. Jammin!

  • from SIDNEY, OH January 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I Love It

    I like Epiphone and always have and this is the best I have ever had. It sounds great, very bluesy. We compared it to my friends very expensive limited edition Gibson LP and it sounds just a little different but every bit as good, just a slightly different tone. I'm a metal head and usually play a Jackson King V, Ibanez Xiphos, or a Charvel Star but I do love playing this thing. I don't think I would spend the extra cash for the Gibson name after playing this and I know I will never part with it. This is my first purchase at Sweetwater and after the customer service and support from Ryan I would not go anywhere else now. Sweetwater has been the best I have ever purchased from. Thank you Ryan!

  • from North Dakota June 8, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Love my new Les Paul!

    This guitar is the real deal! If you've ever wanted a Les Paul, buy a Custom Pro! You'll absolutely love it! It is as much fun to look at as it is to play! The coil tapping is cool, you can get so many different sounds from this guitar. The quality is top notch! Beauty meets The Beast! It'll sustain right into your bloodstream man! It's quick and agile. And what can I say, "The Tuxedo" kills! Bad to the bone man! Bad to the bone!

  • from San Francisco, CA March 29, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great buy!

    It had been years since I'd owned a Les Paul, and few that I'd played since I sold mine made much of an impression. But I'd been wanting one so I thought I'd give it a go. I'm primarily a jazz player, and Phil Schwan of Sweetwater helped me select this particular model.

    I am impressed at the quality of this instrument. Fit and finish are nearly perfect and the Sweetwater setup was very good. (I raised the action a bit to completely eliminate fret buzz.) The tuners are great. Its acoustic resonance was a nice surprise, and plugged in it is just stunning.

    I rarely use bridge pickups so my comments here are about the neck ProBucker: It's very versatile, from crisp rhythm chords to sweet jazz tones with the tone control rolled off. Its output is much hotter than any other guitar I own, so I play with the volume between 4-6 to avoid overdriving the amp. But when I want some overdrive, it really delivers.

    My experience with the coil tap is mixed. Its tone evokes early Grant Green though with much lower output than a true P90. That said, it is far more susceptible to hum and interference than any of the true single coil guitars I own. It's a nice feature but unfortunately not unusable in some environments.

    I've gigged with it twice so far and am absolutely delighted with it. It would be a great value even at $200 more than I paid.

  • from TX February 23, 2014Music Background:
    Mid-level Musician, Studio work

    Best Classic Rock Guitar For Your Money

    I bought this guitar after playing it and 20 others over a few days at the Guitar Shop just to see which one I liked the most. There was no difference between the $2000 Gibson's and this work of art. I have had Ibanez's for Satch work with Dimarzio's, Seymour Duncans in Kramers for Mick Mar's work, Fender strats with singles and humbuckers for thin to heavy, 10+ guitars over 15yrs of playing classic rock. I was skeptical on Epiphone always reverting back to... just buy a Gibson, Fender, PRS, or Ibanez and redo the pickups yourself if you are not happy. Well I was wrong on this model - Custom Pro- I would have paid $600+ over the cost of this guitar for how it feels in my hands and tones I get out of the pickups- soaked in wax and made by Gibson. If you are looking at your first guitar, but this and set the action low. This one's intonation is perfect and it just is great. I wish I hand not been a guitar name snob and tried this Epiphone model out a long time ago. It plays like a $2000 Gibson in tone and quality. Thanks Epiphone- I didn't believe it but it is true. I wasted huge amounts of money on doing custom work on my other Axe's where there was none needed for this one. The pickups have clarity and treble- I was thinking I would have to change them out... I was wrong. They are Rolls Royce in tone.

  • from Granite city, Illilois February 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone Les Paul custom pro

    This guitar is amazing for the Price! Feels and plays like a Gibson!!! Why pay four times the price if you don't have to?

  • from Bemidji Mn December 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Student

    Very Good Experience

    Stayed in touch with me by phone and email until my guitar arrived, that is un heard of. Had the guitar strobed and it needed only minor adjustments. All else with the instrument was great. For me, no reason to shop anywhere else. Thanx

  • from Hamilton, Va. August 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, former band bassist

    Its a steal

    I have taken my time in writing this review. I have owned my Epiphone custom pro now for several months and I now feel like I can truly evaluate the guitar. As a reference I also own a Gibson 335 custom shop and an American Stratocaster. I think I had set my expectations pretty low as I had a hard time believing a guitar that cost this little would be able to hang with my others. I have played guitar for well over 20 years, was a bass player in several bands for years but have concentrated on guitar after my bass days. All I can say is WOW!. FIrst off, the service from sweetwater was outstanding. The guitar was delivered on time, set up very well, not a smudge or finger print on the glorius black finish. I just cannot believe this guitar is as nice as it is. These humbuckers can bring it. Harmonics are effortless. Comparing this to my other guitars ( which I love ) I just cannot bring myself to believe anyone could not be thrilled with this guitar. The first night I received it I play with a friend and he was in shock. He couldn;t believe it sounded so great and was blown away by the quality. The next weekend a former band member brought his Gibson Les Paul Custom over. Identical configuration as mine. We switched out playing the two Les Pauls through different amps and the results were unbelievable. He could not believe how this guitar played and sounded. That was a great test and comparison. Now I am not saying that this Guitar is a four thousand dollar Gibson Les Paul. What I am saying is that this guitar is undeniably close for a fraction of the cost. Everyone who has heard and seen this guitar absolutely loves it. I feel like I should put on a tux before playing it. I have one very minor issue and this has also happened with my Gibson 335 but the bridge bottom has shown that the gold plating is wearing thin. I sweat a lot when I play and I ALWAYS wipe my guitars down when I am finished and I also was wax them to protect the finish. The fading of the gold on this piece does bother me a little but my 335 has had the same issue. If you a lokking for a Les Paul as I was and don,t want to shell out 3-4 grand for a new one this guitar is absolutely your answer. You will not regret it. Fit and finish are first rate. Payability is FANTASTIC. The sound is exactly what you would expect from a Les Paul and humbuckers. It truly is a steal. If its rock, blues or jazz, you are covered.

  • from Nashville, Tennessee March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Played in bar bands in the 80's, play every day for fun, have several friends who are studio musicians.

    Excellent guitar

    This is the best deal on a guitar you will ever find. I live in Nashville, Tennessee and have played guitar over 35 years and really I have to say the Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro is one of the finest guitars I have ever played. And I have played hundreds of different guitars, I even had a roommate who worked at Gibson and he used to bring home loaner guitars every week. This Epiphone is not far off from a Gibson Les Paul and $3,000 cheaper...

    I own a Gibson Explorer and a Fender Stratocaster and this guitar sounds better than either of them. I use a Marshall amp and this thing has sustain for days, I can play for three or four hours straight and it will still be in tune. Unless you are a studio musician there is no reason in the world to pay the extra three grand for a minute difference in sound quality.

  • from Napa, CA March 3, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist/student

    Nice

    This is a very nice guitar. Very playable with nice tone. The look is gorgeous. I used to own a USA Fender Stratocaster, but I like this guitar much better. The coil splitting is nice. I almost shelled out a couple hundred more for a low-end Gibson, but I'm quite happy with this Epiphone. I play it every day. The action is a tad on the high side for my tastes, but not too bad, still very playable; other than that, the setup seems quite good. Overall, a great guitar for the money.

  • from Texas February 1, 2017Music Background:
    Hard rock metal blues

    Great guitar

    Flawless right out of the box, no set up required. I'm not a big fan of the push pull so I installed 500 K pots. If you're looking for a Les Paul custom without the worry and panic of an overhead ceiling fan chipping the corner of your headstock or somebody stealing it being out five grand this is the guitar to have. I changed the bridge to D super distortion. Now my American hand made and my machine made custom sound exactly the same.

  • from High Point, NC July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    The Custom Pro Provides Excellent Quality

    The highlights: The finish on the guitar is superb, really beautiful, slick. The weight & balance are very good as is the sustain. I checked the Custom Pro for cracks and blemishes and found none. The intonation on the guitar is perfect and fretted chords (even with maximum distortion) ring true. I had read others occasionally criticize the action set at the factory, but mine arrived very well set-up and needing no adjustment at all. Fret buzz was non-existent even with the action set relatively low. I am very pleased with how well the guitar holds its tune. Even after deep string bending, the Pro held its tune quite well. The hardware, pots, and tuners were all solid.

    The pickups are very clean sounding though noticeably less powerful than super distortions. My personal preference is for a high output pickup at the bridge which is something that can be easily rectified later. Notes and chords are sparkling.

    Overall, I am very satisfied with this purchase. Zero regrets. The Sweetwater staff are friendly, professional and make a point to be very customer-service centered. That sets them apart. Great experience.

  • from Shelocta , Pa USA January 16, 2014

    great guitar

    I love this guitar and the versatile pickups
    that can be changed to so many different sounds
    The guitar plays and sounds great, looks great
    my favorite guitar, I have had usa les paul and this guitar
    for me is hard to tell the difference in quality for the the price

  • from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician, I have been playing guitar for 24 years.

    LOVE this guitar!

    I just bought the Custom Pro- TV Pelham Blue model from Sweetwater. I absolutely love it. Right out of the box the frets were nicely polished, the intonation was perfect and not a fingerprint on it. The pickups in this thing sound awesome. I have a Gibson ES-339 and I think the tone of this Les Paul is right up there with that. After I recieved my Les Paul I went up to my local Gibson dealer to compare guitars. I feel my guitar plays and feels as good or even better that those Gibsons. What you get from the Gibson is the name and a bit more attention to the finish details. But, like I said playablity and sound are very comparable. Love this guitar! I must say Sweetwater customer service is top notch. I will order everything I can from these guys!

  • from Bainbridge, N.Y. August 2, 2016

    Beautiful les paul

    This guitar is terrific! After setting it up to my liking and changing the strings I haven't been able to put it down. I tried Gibson's and could not find anything that would make me want to pay 1500$ more for one. I think the pickups sound fine and the toggle switch works perfectly (there were some issues with this in reviews I watched on line). All in all this is a solid axe at a great price point and a welcome addition to my collection. Bababooey to you all.

  • from Spokane January 18, 2013Music Background:
    Boomer Hobbyist

    Surprisingly Good

    I have a couple Gibson LP's, and a couple strats, and was just looking for something new and slightly different to play around with. I picked up one of these in a local GC store on the lower rack and was impressed with how smooth the neck was and it's overall fit and finish. I got a smokin' deal quoted from Sweetwater, with no sales tax, so I decided to try it. It continues to amaze me just how nice it looks and feels. The pups give a nice PAF sound, too. The neck is bound and nicely finished, and feels noticeably narrower than my Gibson LP's. No flaws in the finish. The knobs turn and push/pull very smoothly. It is definitely heavier than my LP's that have weight reduction. For the price, you can't beat this guitar.

  • from Pitt, Pa January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    My first guitar.

    This guitar is solid bought mine in March of 2012. I may have another model though because I have double tapping coils on mine. also I installed a Shadow tuner on mine, but I think some of the new models already have a shadow tuner pre-installed. For a beginning guitarist this is a good guitar I highly recommend it.

Questions about the Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro - Ebony?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway