rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Epiphone Matt Heafy Les Paul Custom - Ebony Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Matt Heafy Les Paul Custom - Ebony?

Questions about the Epiphone Matt Heafy Les Paul Custom - Ebony?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Columbus, OH March 22, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The perfect Les Paul

    Originally, I wanted the Bjorn Gellote Les Paul but after months of debating with myself I selected the Matt Heafy custom instead. I'm glad that I did. The neck is somewhere between full thickness and slim taper neck which for me is perfect. The biggest selling point for me is axcess heel on the back of the guitar. At first it looks kind if odd but it feels amazing. The ebony fingerboard looks and feels great. The all black hardware looks great but may get swapped in the future. The sound is great too! The finish is flawless and the service and set up from Sweetwater was top notch, Clint B and the guys were awesome! Anyone thinking of getting one of these I highly recommend that you do it!

  • from Houston, Texas January 7, 2016Music Background:
    Music degree, 33 yrs experience, Engineer

    This guitar just does it all!

    Let me start off by saying I bought this guitar knowing absolutely NOTHING about it. I have to say for the price it has quickly become the deal of a lifetime! The neck is not as thin as some but it is very comfortable to play, the action is nice across the board, and the smooth curve at the neck and body joint make it incredibly easy to reach high notes. The tone is very clear and well balanced and very open sounding (think headroom) in all pickup positions. The sustain is straight out of Spinal Tap, it goes on forever. The tone pot on mine can be pressed to mute the volume, similar to turning one pickup all the way down and flipping the toggle switch but way easier (and cooler). This guitar has amazing tone straight out of the box and has been flawless in everyway!!

  • from Hockley, TX June 30, 2015Music Background:
    Performing musician, but not my day job

    Really Good Guitar

    Just received the guitar last week and I was not disappointed. This is a very good guitar and I will try to give you a full review.
    Sweetwater Service: Absolutely great. This is about the only place I buy musical equipment now. Sweetwater (and especially my sales rep Bob) treat me great, I couldn't be happier.
    Quality for Price: Very Good. For an Epiphone Les Paul, the quality is very good and the price is right. Intonation is exact and the setup from Sweetwater was very close. I did have to adjust the bridge slightly as the 5th and 6th strings had too much rattle.
    Finish: Flawless. Enough said.
    Sound/Tone: This is about the only place that doesn't get an outstanding rating, but a good rating nonetheless. Since the guitar is outfitted with EMG active pickups, the sounds is a bit thin. I knew this would be the case going in so I am not disappointed. In fact, on the heavier distortion settings (Metal) it is a bit easier to pick out individual notes, so to some, this may be an advantage.
    Weight: It's Heavy. I own a 1982 Gibson Les Paul Custom and I was sure that would be the heaviest guitar I ever owned. But this one is right there... may be even a bit heavier. That should add to tone quality and sustain anyway. The weight is no big deal if you are banging around the house or the studio, but, when you have 3 to 4 one-hour long sets, you'll know that this beast has been hanging on your neck.
    All-in-all, I really love the guitar and look forward to playing it for many years to come.

  • from Massachusetts June 20, 2015Music Background:
    Played for over 50 years

    Forget the price. This is as good as it gets.OMG!

    The guitar just arrived. A MONSTER from another dimension!!!! Beautifully crafted. Perfect in every way. It's really heavy and it just screams. I've owned a couple of Les Paul Customs made by Gibson. This is better. Love the action, neck shape, finish, sustain, high note access, ebony fret board, binding, vibe etc.

  • from St. Petersburg, Florida June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Rock

    Great guitar

    First off, this plays like a $3500 guitar. Craftmanship is up there with GLP. Fast neck, aggressive pickups, and great look. No reason to look any further for a monster guitar. If you need anything, ask for Geoff Allen in customer service, He's the man. Always right on with whatever I need. Thanks again Sweetwater.

  • from Fort Wayne Indiana June 9, 2015

    My 1st Les Paul :)

    I forgot to write a review but i got mine in Sep of 2014. Ive always been a Les Paul fan and i always wanted to get a nice Les Paul that was cheaper of a Gibson but have the same great things to a Epiphone and I'm a big fan of Matt Heafy of "Trivium" so all around, its my Fav Guitar :)

  • from Washington April 9, 2017Music Background:
    Metal and grunge rock

    Awesome guitar

    This is a serious piece of epiphone here the thing screams on the highs and bangs on the lows the fit and Finnish is flawless and the weight is phenomenal like always the customer service at sweetwater is top notch ask for norb he's the best the only bad thing I have to say is they aren't truthful with how many of these guitars were made they say only 1000 will be made but I looked up the serial number on mine and it's registered as the 1735th one made. Aside from that I couldn't have been happier with my purchase

  • from Indianapolis February 16, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Beautiful instrument, minor quality issues

    This is a great guitar with truly incredible tone. It was delivered well setup Having owned it for six weeks now, I can say that is very comfortable to play and the slight modifications make this a near-perfect Les Paul for someone who wants something modern in a timeless shape. You also get great features for the price point! The ebony fretboard is beautiful and very smooth and this instrument has a fantastic "solid" feel and the pearl inlays are truly beautiful. This guitar features the classic EMG 81/85 setup but this instrument has a versatile set of sounds and can deliver great clean sounds with the right amps setup.

    All that being said, I've encountered a few "quality" issues with this instrument. The binding on the instrument looks great but there are a few spots on the head where the binding is "spotty" and the ebony fretboard shows through the binding on the first fret. Other issues include the nut being set too high to play the first five frets on the D and G strings in tune no matter how much the truss rod/bridge height/saddles are adjusted. Also the bridge finish is already wearing off after a few strings changes.

    Despite these minor flaws, this really is a fantastic instrument for its price and I was delighted by customer service (Jimmy Hart) I received both in ordering the instrument as well the follow up.

  • from Los Angeles February 2, 2016

    Amazing Guitar

    This is a great guitar! Killer tone play's and feels like a real LP custom. However to really get everything out of it you need to replace the nut, bridge and tailpiece with higher quality hardware (tusq, gotoh) I promise you if you do this and get a good setup you will unleash the beast of tone in this guitar. It's a true night and day difference! I would give it 5 stars if the guitar didn't need upgrades. Sweetwater rules! Best in the business!

  • from Northern CA May 21, 2017Music Background:
    40 years of guitar madness

    Should have left the neck alone...

    First of all, this guitar looks killer, which is the reason I bought one. All blacked out with the 7-ply binding... niice.
    As far as I'm concerned there are three things lacking on this model, the pickups, the tuners and the shaved neck joint. The tuners I can deal with, just make sure they are tight. The pickups I can change, just make sure you replace the pots and install a ground wire to the tail piece pole. But the neck... just gotta deal with that one. To me, the neck shave feels awkward and looks awkward too. I think they could have done a better job with the shave, it feels last minute and not thought out, almost a deal breaker, but the looks of the front make up for it.
    So I would say if you are an EMG guy and can deal with a very good looking, but awkward feeling les paul, then you might like this one.

Questions about the Epiphone Matt Heafy Les Paul Custom - Ebony?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway