0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom EX Plus - Midnight Sapphire Reviews

5.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom EX Plus - Midnight Sapphire?

Questions about the Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom EX Plus - Midnight Sapphire?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 28, 2017

    I love it

    Very good quality

  • from Minnesota December 14, 2016

    My Favorite guitar

    This LP has to be the best guitar to play metal on, i was blown away by the playability and how comfortable it is. Do note 2 things. The neck is thin but not too thin, as i was curious about as well. Don't worry about it , it is very comfortable and fits in the hand well, especially for people with smaller hands. Bigger hands, I don't think you'll have a problem either. And also, since the pickup is closer to the bridge and saddles than any other guitar I've seen, it does take away unwanted bass that i get with my explorer, which is nice because you can always add in more bass to your tone. For any Metallica fans out there, get this guitar, I achieved all of the first 4 album tones flawlessly on my amp (Fender princeton chorus slaved into another using the 1/4 inch headphone jack) clean and distorted. I get a lot of fizz and unwanted bass with the 1984 explorer reissue, but that is probably just me.

  • from September 10, 2016

    AMAZING GUITAR

    This guitar just blows me away. 24 frets for a Les Paul! Simply amazing! I got this for my birthday and ever since I unboxed this, I just fell in love. Amazing service from Jordan and his team! Would definitely recommend this guitar and highly recommend sweetwater!

  • from Jaffrey New Hampshire December 15, 2015

    Awesome les paul

    Received this guitar as a Christmas gift last week. Excellent playability and tone. The finish is absolutely flawless. The case seems to be of really good quality and it includes the strap locks nice deal

  • from N Dallas, TX December 4, 2015

    Best Gibson licensed Les Paul for the money

    Seriously wicked cool, beautiful guitar for the money at any price. I love my big daddy Gibson LP and I was leery of Epiphone, BUT, without a doubt this is a quality made, beautiful finish, highly featured guitar which has updated modern features that just have to be played and held to appreciate. No disappointment here. I love the real LPs but Epiphone spun my head around. 24 frets(excuse me), slim profile high access neck, factory wired EMGs, beautiful quilted top w matching blue pearl knobs. Special combination pearl and abalone inlays, wow amazing. Plays like a dream, required very little setup to suit my tastes. I did replace the 81/85s w 67/66 set more suited for my heavy fusion mix. Killer pickups by the way.

  • from Colorado March 15, 2015Music Background:
    Basement player/hobbyist

    At this price point, STUNNED at amazing QUALITY

    I admit, I'm not a professional musician, nor have I dropped more $1000 on a electric guitar. I have come to expect really poor quality for a guitar under $1000, UNTIL I purchased this Epiphone. I really wanted the Zakk Wylde Epiphone with the EMG 81/85's, but appears to be no longer be available…….but this guitar more than makes up for it with not only the EMG's but the two octave neck as well. This guitar is beefy with no hint of 2nd rate materials or craftsmanship. I am stunned at the quality for this price point. This may be billed as a shredders guitar, but I found to the neck pick up produces an nice, clean tone and the neck is super comfortable. The all black hardware just adds to the beauty of this guitar. If your budget can only accommodate guitars under the $1000 price point, by FAR, give Epiphone a shot……and Sweetwater. Great buying experience!

  • from NY State November 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Everything I Hoped For and More

    I hummed and hawed on this purchase for a while, even trying a different Epi LP before switching over to this. The extra frets weren't a huge factor, but the SpeedTaper neck intrigued me. This guitar sings... and screams...and roars... pretty much whatever you need it to do. On top of all that, the looks are downright gorgeous. Photos simply do not do it justice. Pick it up and you won't regret it!

  • from United States November 22, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Totally Awesome

    Totally awesome! This thing screams and begs to be played hard. The neck is perfect - not too thick nor too thin, and the 14 degree radius is perfect in comfort and playability for me. I've heard a lot that emg's are a one trick pony. I haven't found that to be true, I play almost exclusively rhythms from rock/metal (maiden, metallic, ac/dc, cinderella, breaking benjamin, etc) to Christian/folk in a band and I have no complaints. This guitar handles it all.
    The finish is beautiful with a glossy shine that rivals the best overpriced sports car. You can literally set it on the ground and watch clouds pass in the reflection. The quilt top is beautiful and defined in a subtle way (thanks Roq for all your help in choosing the best looking quilting from your stock - sorry but I'm picky about my eye candy), I also love that it is not a burst finish (seems hard to find in a sub $1000 guitar).
    My only complaint was with the setup - which is personal preference and in no way a reflection on Sweetwater. Its just the only thing I can find wrong after almost three weeks.
    Thanks Sweetwater and Roq Martin for helping this picky nicky get an awesome Christmas present.

  • from November 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Heavy but sweet!!!

    Just got this guitar 2 days ago and the sound is amazing! No regrets. Thanks to Paul Allen for the support.

  • from United States September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Guitar

    First off, the guitar that was shipped to me is absolutely beautiful! But more than that, it far exceeds my expectations and abilities in playability. In a word, I've got a guitar to grow into.

    This guitar was packaged so well it took me quite a while to unpack it. There was packing paper and bubble wrap securing it inside the box.

    Mike Arango was also great throughout all the stages of getting this guitar into my hands. Thank you, Mike.

  • from Ohio March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Musican, Songwriter

    Gibson quality from Epiphone

    First off I gotta say that the build of this guitar is of a Gibson quality.I cannot for the life of me knock the strings out of tune, must be due to the locking tune-o-matic bridge. You can't go wrong with this guitar.It comes with a hard shell case, strap locks and the overall feel while playing this guitar is amazing..from the satin neck to the fret edges and the overall weight and sound.(I'm a les Paul lover).While the pictures are nice to look at they do not do it justice when you see it in person. A shout out to my Guitar Engineer Delvin Wolf who goes above and beyond, Thanks Delvin for help and advice fast shipping is a plus also :-) ..SWEETWATER 4LIFE!!

  • from cranston ri usa December 28, 2013Music Background:
    enjoy playing guitar at home

    great guitar for the money

    this guitar is worth every penny once you pick this baby up it's hard to put down and for the people at sweetwater you could not ask for any better I've been dealing with matt this guys always there to answer any questions & has always been super patient with me I've also talked with devin seems to be these guys all enjoy talking with you. never no pressure to buy which is something I feel very comfortable with I would recommend these guys to anyone thanks all at sweetwater

  • from Ashland, MA USA February 27, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player for 45 years.

    Great!!!! This thing sings.

    I really hate to say this......this Chinese Epiphone Les Paul Custom is much better than my 37 year old American made Gibson Les Paul Custom in every respect. Granted, Gibson was going through a funk in the 70's. Sandwiched mahogany bodies, volutes, laminated necks etc..
    This Epiphone guitar has excellent wood, excellent thin neck and action, excellent sustain clean or dirty, excellent hardware, excellent workmanship, beautiful quilted maple top. Gibson USA would charge at least $5,000.00 for an instrument of this quality. You'll never find a better guitar for under 600 bucks anywhere, new or used. Great service from Sweetwater as well.

  • from Paducah, KY February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician - Live Sound Engineer

    Amazing Guitar

    This guitar has exceeded all of my expectations! It is beautiful and the quality is amazing. Much better than I expected being made in China. Cannot tell any difference at all in playability and sound from our other Gibson Les Paul and we gig 150 times a year, so this is not coming from a novice! The coil tapping is very useful and has incredible sustain. The speed taper neck makes playing a breeze. It came perfectly set up from Sweetwater and the customer service was second to none. Bottom line: It's the sweetest playing guitar I have ever owned. You can't go wrong if you get one as good as this one!

  • from October 6, 2016

    Les Paul prophecy

    Great guitar at a great price. Hot pickups with classy tones is always a huge bonus. Would recommend for any guitarist who loves a nice smooth neck and like some crunch to their tone
    Was even set up well. But a little fret buzz on the A-string but not hard to fix.

  • from Royal Oak, Michigan May 17, 2014Music Background:
    Bedroom shredder/hobbyist and praise band 2nd guitar

    Satisifed

    I wanted a Les Paul body style with a flatter than 12" radius fret board. I got it (14") and am happy with it.

    I wanted midnight sapphire. I got it and am happy with it.

    After I had my guitar tech go over it and make some adjustments, I love everything about the guitar except the active pickups (more on that below)

    My guitar tech did the following:

    Seated the 12th fret properly on the treble side since it wasn't level with the others and then he set it up for me by:

    ~Replacing the stock 10-46's with my brand of 9-42's.
    ~Adjusted Neck relief after string change (to suit my preference.)
    ~Adjusted intonation on a couple strings.
    ~The upper strap pin was stripped, he repaired it.

    It plays like butter now, the way I need it to. Once I swap out the pickups with something passive (Burstbuckers? Rail Hammers? EMG Passive's?) I will consider this my main guitar.

    About the pickups: I would NOT call myself a tone snob, especially after not using tube amps until about 30 years into my guitar life but so far, I have not met an active pickup I can live with.

    Since I've learned the joys of using tube amps, I have been able to hear a lot more of the frequency response and "feel" in what I play. The active EMG's in this guitar seem almost "surgical" and there's something missing to me. I love balls to the wall metal but when I dial it down I have gotten use to the way passive pickups clean up and I'm not feeling that kind of love with these EMG's.

    I knew this guitar had active's in it but since it's easier to change pickups than the finish, I went ahead and bought it.

    I wanted to comment on the strap locks that Epiphone included. I applaud their providing a strap lock system that will still allow the pins to work with any old guitar strap. This is typically thoughtful of Epiphone. Despite that, I was uncomfortable with the way they worked. The locks that you install on the strap rely on a c-clip to fit over the thin portion of the pin that's mounted on the guitar.

    It holds it in place using the spring tension of the c-clip and after using it for a couple days, my three negative comments on it are: 1. It doesn't provide a tactile click that lets you be sure it's locked, 2. it started to chew through the pin on the guitar pretty quickly revealing the brass underneath the black finish and 3. Removing the guitar strap from the guitar was awkward due to having to push the strap in the opposite direction to get past the spring pressure and I was concerned with accidentally running the lock into the guitars finish. I have already replaced them with another locking system.

    I love the satin finish on the back of the neck, I can fret it easily. I have no problems getting up as high on the neck as I want.

    The Sweetwater ordering process was fantastic, I got the guitar way faster than I thought I would when placing the order. Their follow up was great, I like the fact that my rep sent me the glamour shots of my actual guitar after placing the order. He was also very responsive and accommodating when I wrote back.

    I will definitely come back to Sweetwater when I'm looking for more gear.

    Scott in Royal Oak, Michigan

  • from Scottsboro, AL USA January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Shredder/Metal Musician

    Nice Axe

    I have to say this is high quality epiphone and the emg pickups absolutely scream! Great for metal or rock. Mine did have a blemish on it but that's my only downside.
    Build quality 8/10 because the binding was poorly sanded and there was a line straight through the headstock where I assume it's a two piece

Questions about the Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom EX Plus - Midnight Sapphire?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway