0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

EMG DG20 David Gilmour Pre-Wired Pickguard White Pearl Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the EMG DG20 David Gilmour Pre-Wired Pickguard White Pearl?

Questions about the EMG DG20 David Gilmour Pre-Wired Pickguard White Pearl?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Mississippi December 5, 2016

    EMG DG20 David Gilmour Pre-Wired Pickguard

    Well worth it. Actually sounds better than I thought it would. Installation took about 15 minutes. Amazing tone control from the EMG and SPC tone control knobs. Highly recommend

  • from Isanti, Mn. January 15, 2015Music Background:
    I've played a few times, since 1967, 40 guitars+

    best sounding strat tone ever!!!

    Very impressed with all the tone options, clean and over driven, dead quiet. I was putting a parts guitar together and its gonna be my #1 start well worth every penny. I wish I would have bought this years ago. Sustains forever, harmonics are like nectar of the gods

  • from Isanti, Mn. December 27, 2014Music Background:
    I've played a few times, since 1967

    more than I expected

    More tonal variations than I expected .still checking it out. This pickup set sounds great thru my class a tube amps, in fact it sounds so pure that I don't need effects....well
    worth every penny! I got them for a parts guitar...now I can't put it down. Maaan what a surprise!!!!!!

  • from Fenelon Falls, Ontario, Canada December 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Emg DG20

    I've had these for about a half year and I'm constantly amazed with the sounds I can pull out of them! I'm forever trying to find new sounds and these little buggers fit right in for me !! Way To Go EMG! and Dave G.

  • from Lima Ohio October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist Teacher

    EMG SA

    I've had EMG SA in my strat since 86 had the SPC in at one time but blew it up sa have been consistent with all genres of music I've played can't get any better

  • from Goshen, Ohio July 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Really Nice Look & Sound

    I used this setup to replace a generic set of pickups on a home made guitar. You flip the switch or turn the knobs and they actually make a difference. If your looking for that 70s Pink Floyd sound this setup will get you there.
    To install I did have to plug the old screw holes and re drill them and sand out some wood to fit the battery. ( I used a dremel to do that, not too hard to do) I'm not saying that this would need to be done to all guitars, for most it should be a perfect fit.
    Quality is top notch. The Pearl pick guard will look beautiful over most any color.

  • from Chattanooga, Tennessee May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Intermediate Guitar player

    Great Sound

    I love the tones I can get from this set-up. Really nice cleans that sparkle without being offensive. It makes my guitar much more versatile for my style of playing. You really have a nice selection of mid range and high's. It also captures that blue tone very nicely.

  • from Newport Beach, CA January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Home studio (since 1975)

    EMG DG20 Pre-wired pickguard

    These pickups are great! Roll off both tone controls for basic Strat tones (without the hum), then add color and girth as you roll them on. I've had them for a few days now and I'm still wondering why I didn't order these sooner. Been having a great time with them. Between the pickups and my Eleven Rack I can get Beach Boys to Boston, and I believe that I have found the tone for in a particular song that I've been recording. What more can you ask for? I love playing my Strat again! Worth every Penny!

  • from Niagara Falls, New York August 12, 2012Music Background:
    guitarist

    EMG DG20

    I love this thing! The pickups are load, clean, crisp and noiseless. The exp and spc tone controls are amazing after you get the feel for them. Normal tone controls simply roll off treble, but these actually give color and dimension to your tone. I will always have a Strat with this set up. For me, it's a must have. I've been using one for about 8 years now.

  • from detriot July 28, 2012Music Background:
    pro

    nice and quiet

    nice and quiet no hiss or hum sound great!!!!!

  • from Shelby County, Indiana, USA May 25, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years of classic rock bands.

    Emg DG20 Loaded Pickguard

    These pickups have so many tones you can get and when you want it to sustain and howl, they will. You can also play soft and get great tones as well. These are the most versatile pickups I have ever used and no 60-cycle hum. I was worried about having active pickups (9-volt battery under volume and tone knobs), but it wasn't too hard to replace the battery after about 4 months use. They would likely last longer, but you have to remember to unplug your guitar when you are done playing so you don't drain the battery. Others I know said the batteries last around 6 months or more.

  • from Mountain Home AFB, ID USA May 16, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, enthusiast

    Awesome versatility!

    Loving the EMG pickups! I'm a a great fan of David Gilmour's signature tone and it meets the expectations. You can get the sounds from the classic single coil tone to the humbucker tones associated with this set. Very easy to install and only takes 10 minutes of your time to put it in a Strat style body.

  • from Denver, CO April 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome!!!!

    Improve your Fender Strat today! Excellent set of pick-ups, easy to install and just sounds amazing. Pink Floyd tones at your finger tips.

  • from Michigan September 12, 2010Music Background:
    Tonehead

    Nice... Very Nice

    I have been searching for a pup configuration for my frakenstrat for the past two years... I found it.. This thing really sparkles. A little pricey. I was lucky and found mine on sale for labor day. Not telling what I paid. Just saying.....
    The pups are really hot!!! You might have to mess with the tone and volume just for a bit but you will find awesome tones up and down the pots rotations. Very Cool. Real glassy tones. Bell like glassy if that makes sence. Once again, very cool. Positions two and four being my favorite.
    My project guitar has now become my favorite. I tore apart an american deluxe with the S1 switch. The tone is impecable. I have been playing it thru a twin reverb and a mesa mark V. The sound out of the Twin is Awesome!!!!!!!
    I really believe Fender should make an axe with theese pups in there. Hmmm??? Call it the American Blow your face off Strat. That was dumb..
    The only downside is the battery... Oh the battery.. I have never owned a guitar with active pups... I am not ashamed now.. I will deal with the hassle...

  • from Houston September 26, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Tone

    I wasn't sure what to expect from these pickups. I know I really like the DG tone, so I figured this would help me get closer. Well, it did help me get closer to his tone, but it opened up a whole world of possibilities to achieve other types of tone coupled with effects as well. These are great pickups.

    FYI... Pickups are not intended for metal, so don't expect to get heavy distortion out of them. Think of Gilmour's overdrive tone when purchasing these.

    Pros: Great tone with a lot of variability, loud pickups, easy to install, noiseless

    Cons: Pick guard may not fit correctly at the neck so you may have to use your old pick guard. Pickups are loud so you may need to adjust your settings in your effects to compensate for the change (not really a con, but just an FYI). Middle pickup is not necessarily noiseless, but not sure if that's because of my setup, by design or an issue with pickup. Having cream colored knobs would have went much better with the pickups.

  • from Columbia, MO November 13, 2015Music Background:
    Living room superstar for the last 55 years, collector/player.

    Different Strat Tones

    No, your strat won't sound exactly like it did before. Keep it original if you want the original tone, but you can still get a stratty tone and nice quack. The EMGs don't change the strat tone any more than other replacement pickups, just differently and easier.

    The EMG controls take some getting used to, but once educated, they are toneful and silent. The pickguard looks cheap and the EMG quality control left something to be desired. Two of the pickups had displaced height adjustment springs, and the instructions, as simple as they are, left out steps. I would have personally liked matching creme color knobs and tip.

    I am not a big pedal user, so I miss the snarl you usually get from slightly lowering the volume control alone. The pickups didn't play nicely with a BOSS Fender bassman pedal, but seem fine on several settings on my Digitech multi-effects.

    The EMGs sound more organic than I expected once you play around with them.

  • from Maryland September 7, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging professional

    Nice, but over the top!

    I have always been a fan of EMG and own quite a few of their products. I am not however a fan of the EXG or SPC modules. I thought I'd try the David Gilmour set up, but it really is too much for my liking. I'm more of a traditionalist and like to have direct control of my tone. These modules color the tone way too much. Even at the lowest settings. I replaced the modules with EMG tone controls and a volume control. Now the guitar sounds great and is silent as a church mouse. If you are a fan of multiple effects and highly processed signals (like Gilmour), then you might like it as the other reviews have said. If you just want quiet, active single coils and are a tone freak, go with the SA set with the normal tone and volume controls. You cant go wrong. My only other peeve is the white knobs. I changed everything to cream color and it looks much better.

  • from Barbados June 23, 2016

    A nice replacement

    I replaced the pickguard on my Alesis X Guitar with the DG20 since the Alesis circuitry was seizing up and giving trouble. The pick guard fitted almost perfect only had to drill one hole that did not line up. The set up was straight forward and simple. The battery fitted in the Alesis X guitar battery compartment only had to lengthen the battery wires. The tones are very nice all together with enough variation. Only wished there was a tone knob to bleed of some more of the highs as in the original strats.

  • from Michigan March 23, 2016Music Background:
    arm chair musician for 30 yrs..

    Sounds amaizing but the pick guard..........

    I was so excited when it arrived. took it out of the packaging and noticed that the pick guard was scratched but the front and back pickups. Disappointed I called Sweetwater. They're tech was very polite and offered to replace it. I could help playing my Strat one last time before repackaging it. I was blown away by how much different it sounded. I then decided screw it I'm going to keep it and not send it back. It controls are so sensitive.

  • from July 26, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur guitarist, been playing for 7 years.

    Just not for me.

    After using the EMG DG20s for 4-5 months I'm ready to admit that I made a mistake in purchasing them. I knew when I ordered them that I wouldn't be able to use fuzz pedals, which bummed me out. What I wasn't expecting was the pickups hating every dirt box I threw at them. Out of the Fulltone OCD, Way Huge Green Rhino and EHX Little Big Muff (just out of curiosity) I couldn't get many usable tones. Where the pickups shine is going straight into an amp. You can get pristine modern hi-fi cleans no problem. The tone shaping was also impressive. I assume that running the pickups into a nice hot tube amp would be amazing, particularly with the mid boost full blast. However, my amp is quite loud and clean so I didn't have the chance to try. In conclusion, if you like fuzz, rely on pedals for your distortion or value vintage tone over modern, these pickups are probably not for you. If you are an impulse buyer (like me), take a step back and weigh this information before making the purchase. Also, thanks to Jace from sweetwater for being helpful and kind, it's people like him who give sweetwater a (well deserved) good name!

  • from May 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Your Strat is not a Strat any More

    So far this adds a lot to the sound of the guitar and totally changes it. it is a good mod if you have more than one similar sounding strat .It makes ia whole new sound with a familiar feel and playability.Your mileage may vary.

Questions about the EMG DG20 David Gilmour Pre-Wired Pickguard White Pearl?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway