0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Behringer EM600 Echo Machine Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer EM600 Echo Machine Pedal?

Questions about the Behringer EM600 Echo Machine Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Bruce Kerr
    from Southern Illinois April 5, 2017Music Background:
    Older rocker

    Green Machine!

    I'd just like to say that I bought this a couple of years ago and it still works great! I have a small Fender amp in which the reverb does not work and this gives me all the spaciousness I need. The trails feature is very cool, and yes the led is very bright blue! I run it with a one spot power supply, and feel that this pedal has an acceptable quality level at this price. I have two pedalboards and like having extra pedals to mix and match to my hearts content. Very cool pedal!

  • rachel
    from March 2, 2017Music Background:
    professional musician, music teacher, luthier.

    great pedal

    very suprised how great this pedal is for the cost. no noise, and solid. the knobs really do work, and its stereo to boot! one small thing, i shouldn't complain cause i love this pedal ... the LED is to bright. but on most of my pedals its to bright.

  • Bradley Ard
    from Highland, IN January 9, 2017

    Worth the money!

    I just picked one of these up a few days ago. So far, aside from the battery compartment access, and the fact that it eats nine volt batteries like candy (buying a 1spot ASAP!), I love it!

    I see a lot of people who complain about the plastic case. Honestly, it's pretty substantial, and unless you really abuse it, I personally don't foresee any issues with it. It feels secure. I also haven't noticed any difference in my tone since plumbing it into my signal chain, which currently consists of a Digitech RP200 (used only for a volume pedal, mid boost, and compression), a Dunlop Jimi Hendrix Wah, and a Behringet VT999 overdrive (with a Mesa 12AT7 tube) into the front end of the amp, and an old DOD FX65 Stereo Chorus and this pedal in my effects loop. My amps are a Fender Frontman 212R and a Vox 15 watt practice amp with an added subwoofer. Makes for some pretty interesting tones, and this pedal definitely didn't hurt the bass response of my rig, which seems to be the main complaint.

    It's probably the most diverse delay I've used. The tap tempo function is really cool, and works as advertised once you get the hang of it. I'm really a fan of the "Ducking" mode, since it's touch sensitive, but the "Multi" and "Tap" modes are a lot of fun.

    I had always wanted a Line6 Echo Park, since I use a stereo chorus, but since those are ridiculously expensive these days, and this is basically a knock-off of that pedal, I decided, for $, it was worth taking a chance. I'm not disappointed in the least! With this being my second Behringer pedal, and both being pretty damned good, I'm definitely tempted to see what else they have

  • John Davis
    from Kennesaw, GA January 8, 2016Music Background:
    Double Engine Rhythm Guitar

    Vintage/High Quality Delay

    After reading the reviews I was hesitant to purchase. Most people will not review something unless they had a bad experience.I took a chance. Glad I did. The Tape echo this unit produces is as close to an authentic tape machine as I have found. The digital type selection is very good for modern echo simulations. I love this pedal. Once again Behringer has outdone themselves.

  • Customer
    from February 10, 2016

    I Stand Corrected: Better than "Just OK"

    How embarrassing. I reviewed the pedal recently and said there was no way to use the tap tempo feature for normal echo. That's wrong. You can. I wasn't careful. I spoke hastily.

    When the mode switch is in the furthest counter-clockwise position it's doing quarter notes. It's perfect.

    Behringer: I'm sorry. I love you. This is the best echo deal on the planet (I think ... my experience is limited, but I think so).

  • Anthony
    from Western PA January 17, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Hobbyist/Hack

    I Love It

    I asked for this item for my birthday from my brothers, and they pulled through. Yes, we're not big spenders. My brother was quite impressed with the personalized attention from Stephen in sales. If I'm ever allowed to buy another new pedal in this lifetime, I'll look at Sweetwater first. Now, on to the pedal. I was very impressed with this thing. It replaced 2 delays on my board: Boss RV3 and Analog Man AR20DL. I have 2 other Behringers on the board: RV600 and a Harmonizer. So far, I am 3 for 3 with Behringer pedals that work well. At first, I could not detect much difference between the 3 modes, but then after plugging into a better amp, the differences were there. The digital is less digitally/metallic sounding than the Boss RV3 and the analog repeats were less dark/more sharp than the Analog Man, which is a good thing for me. Adding some modulation really adds A LOT of DEPTH to the sound. It can get to be too much if the nob is turned too far, but digital and analog both have nice sweet spots for me with the modulation. On the tape setting, there's almost too much warble for my liking even with the nob turned all the way down. I guess it's just mimicking a true tape delay. It's nice to get a really long delay with the tap tempo, if you are into that kind of thing. If you're looking to nail the Edge's sound on a budget, this certainly is not a bad option. For the price, you really can't ask for much more out of any pedal. I probably won't be gigging any time soon in my life (if ever at all). But if I was, I would feel more than comfortable using this pedal in front of an audience. If you are on the fence about trying this pedal for a delay, I say "go for it". At its price level and return options, you really don't have much to lose. I knocked a 1/2 star off for what I feel is too much warble on 0 on the tape setting, but that just might be a natural thing with tape delay. I've never played through one. Just being picky now...if you're making a digital pedal, why not just have the nob at 0 produce no modulation on the tape setting? Also, keep in mind that Behringer's nobs do not click when you turn them to select the delay type (Quarter/Dotted 8th/Ping Pong etc). That can be annoying, but if you are aware of it going in, it shouldn't be a problem. And that blue LED will scorch your retina, so don't look directly at it!

  • John
    from Connecticut February 14, 2017Music Background:
    45+ years of playing, writing, and recording.

    Behringer EM600 sounds great... but,

    This is a really great sounding echo... but, it doesn't like certain cable connections. I really like to use a heavier duty cable, from my Gibsons to the first pedal, where I prefer to put the EM600 on one chain, and I like to use "old style" brass cable ends. I don't know, yet, if it has a problem with the brass end O. D. or maybe just a bad input jack or it's a unit issue. However, sound wise, you can't beat it especially for the price. I used to play through a DOD Analog Delay in the 70's, which I loved but lost a few years back, and the EM600 seems to be everything I need at the moment. I am so impressed with Kenny Stratton and the rest of the service folks at the Sweetwater team. I finally feel, after over 45 years of playing and recording, like my investments are appreciated. No matter HOW small... it's nice, just saying.

  • Daniel Ellegood
    from Paducah, KY USA December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Functionality

    I compared this pedal side by side to the Boss te2. This pedal would do so much more and was half the cost. Sure the boss pedal feels like you could throw it against the wall, hook it up and play it, the echo machine is a little less durable but sounds amazing and can do so many things. Ive had it for about a year now been in and out of several pedal boards and still works great. You cant beat this thing, especially for the price!

  • Customer
    from Baltimore February 4, 2016

    It's OK ... just OK

    The pedal is a bit noisy compared to the other delay pedals I have, and it definitely cuts out the bottom end from your guitar, whether in Echo mode of bypassed.

    I am also disappointed that you can't get longer echoes without the "ducking" feature. I don't want the ducking on all the time like this.

    I also don't like the way the tap tempo feature work in "slap" mode: it gives you a division of the time you tap. That's cool in the dot modes, but not what I expected in slap.

  • Alan Trammell
    from Jefferson, GA September 20, 2016

    disappointed

    Good sound but selections don't vary by much. Access to battery is not good

  • Jacobite
    from United States November 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Was pretty cool, for about a day

    I loved all the features on this pedal (hence the extra half a star). And of course I loved the price. This thing is highly tweakable, Just about any delay sound you could want, even reverse echo, which I wasn't seeing on other pedals at the time.

    Though there are certainly better sounding delays, it didn't sound bad at all for a digital delay (might have sounded even better in an effects loop, if I had an effects loop). On the other hand, at that time I hadn't heard many of the better delays, so I might have a different opinion on the sound if I heard it today.

    But that is not to be, because this thing only worked for about a day. Then it started doing weird things, sound going in and out, delays sounding weird in ways they weren't supposed to, etc. A few days later it wouldn't even come on 90% of the time, and when it did it was only for a moment.

    So, as someone who likes to tinker with gear, I took it apart to see if I could fix it, and though I didn't find out _what_ the problem was, I found out _why_ the problem was. I didn't expect quality hand wired booteek, but it was more cheaply made than I expected, with poor quality (and tiny) surface-mount components (which also makes it extremely difficult to work on).

    Amazingly, the Behringer blues overdrive I bought at the same time still works. But I'm not too impressed with the sound of that one, so I have rarely used it in the few years I've owned it. If I actually used it, I doubt it would still be alive today.

    So, two Behringer pedals turned out to be two Behringer pedals too many (was considering a Bugera amp until I found out Bugera IS Behringer).

    Even if you're dirt poor like me, it's worth it to save up the extra money and get something that will last, can be easily be fixed, modded, etc. Really, these days there are quite a few good bang-for-your-buck pedals out there. And good old Boss pedals are of course tanks that will withstand a lifetime of stomping, and many sound pretty darn good too (while some people turn up their noses at Boss, many pro guitarists have at least one or two Boss pedals on their boards). Of course, if you can afford it, many booteek makers are putting out fantastic pedals that are not only quality made, but sound amazing.

    So, in my opinion, you should forget Behringer. For me, certainly, there is no reason why I would ever even consider them again, unless I felt like throwing away good money on garbage..

Questions about the Behringer EM600 Echo Machine Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway