0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Empirical Labs EL8X Distressor with British Mod and Image Link Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Empirical Labs EL8X Distressor with British Mod and Image Link?

Questions about the Empirical Labs EL8X Distressor with British Mod and Image Link?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Thomas Leahy

    I use my Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor on every type of sound source. It's not just one of the most versatile compressors I've used, it has a unique tone. While the Distressor can be clean, when I drive it, I get some of the most musical sounding distortion possible. Even when I run it at 1:1, it adds a nice fatness to my sound, which also makes it excellent for DI applications.

  • from April 13, 2016

    Makes me want to buy another one

    Let's see. I'm a home recorder with big dreams and/or more likely a perfectionist. I do believe gear really can inspire though. Anyway, I've tried a lot of different stuff over the years including an 1176LN, Retro Powerstrip, Retro Sta-Level, FMR PCB, and others. I always wanted to try a Distressor, and finally got the opportunity to get one.

    It's one of those rare things that actually live up to the hype. It's so flexible/hard to get "wrong". I wish I'd gotten two, one for my 1176 ish sound, and another for the opto sound to follow it, or stereo when the time calls. I love my Sta-Level, but it's kind've a 1-trick poney. The beauty of the Distressor is that it will do whatever you need and sound how your ears imagine it should, in the process.

  • from Pompano Beach, FL July 6, 2015Music Background:
    Producers/Engineers/Musicians

    Wish I Bought 2

    As the title states I can't wait to buy the 2nd unit for the studio.. I already have the rack space dedicated. One of the most versatile compressors out there. Must have for snares, great on bass, & if you're doing EDM or any Electronica you need this!!

  • from las vegas, NV May 18, 2015Music Background:
    lots of recording and touring. Current studio owner

    Absolute perfection

    I currently only own one of these but I can say that it's my main vocal compressor. The brit mode adds that perfect "IT" factor to vocals. I love the efficiency of this unit and the ratio button on the front of the box. It makes it easy to dial in a basic range when you're in a hurry and more interested in capturing the magic than over engineering. Instant tone in a box and brings everything that you run through it to the next level. Get one for sure and get two if you have the money. You won't regret it.

  • from Rio de Janeiro March 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Buy one, two or maybe three!

    This is not a one trick pony! Great piece!

  • from Hartford, CT November 5, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hip-Hop Artist , Producer

    The Studio I Go To Just Recorded a engineered a Platinum Hit, and used this.

    I'm an intern and client at a studio in Hartford, CT . I always sit in live on sessions and see the engineer turn these knobs and just make the signal a amazing in a matter seconds ... If you know how to use these they can be a valuable asset to any professional / home studio..

  • from Miami, FL USA / Los Angeles, CA USA / Bogota, Colombia November 2, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer, Producer and Arranger

    The Secret Weapon!

    I am a fan of the Distressor, it's extremely versatile and has a great personality.

  • from SoCal October 21, 2011Music Background:
    Music Producer / Music Composer

    Must have for any producer

    I had been "borrowing" one of these from a fellow studio owner for over a year, both as a front end compressor, and for mixing... then my friend took it back! I felt like I had lost my left leg. So, I bought one for myself. This compressor is very versatile, and has become one of my studios "must have" pieces of gear. Works superb on all sound sources. I would highly recommend reading up on some typical settings for this compressor. (Some are given in the manual). You're ears will thank you for using the Empirical Labs Distressor

  • from Harwinton, CT February 8, 2014

    Must.

    Maybe I'm just getting stuck in my ways and crochety, but I refuse to record distorted or rock guitars without a distressor in the chain - the edge and ***** the brit mode adds is a game-changer. Everyone should have one of these in the rack. Not a bad choice if you could only have 1 hardware compressor!

Questions about the Empirical Labs EL8X Distressor with British Mod and Image Link?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway