0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Epiphone EJ-200SCE - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 39 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE - Natural?

Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from AR June 6, 2017Music Background:
    Play everyday; Live; Gospel & Inspirational

    EJ should mean Extra Joyous!

    As usual, Sweetwater and Epiphone have knocked it out of the park!

    The guitar has the perfect tone, plugged or unplugged, at least for me. The only issue I had was with the the electronics. It didn't show up for a couple of weeks. I had my tech take a look at it as I needed the guitar and didn't want to have to send it back in and he found a couple of bad solder joints and he took care of it by re-soldering all connections. I don't know why it took a couple of weeks to show up but, ti doesn't matter, all is well in the world today.

    This is the perfect guitar for the type of gospel music that I play.

  • from Gadsden Alabama April 14, 2017Music Background:
    Gigging country artist

    EPI EJ200

    This is by far the best acoustic i have ever owned. It sounds as good as any, and i mean any top end acoustic. Played right next to a Gibson Hummingbird last week lick for lick it sounds just as good, actually has a deeper sound! The electronic set up with the 2 pickups is very versatile. Also this sucker stays in tune for days.

  • from Crete, IL March 7, 2017

    AMAZING !

    I've been wanting this EJ-200 for a long time. I watched videos and read reviews and all were great. I just got it in the mail today and after buying about 60 guitars in 30 years, this is the best ever. Booming sound and plays so easily.... and seeing the size of it in real life is impressive....I love my Hummingbird pro but MY EJ-200 is beyond awesome.
    I want to thank James Masterson for always being so helpful and professional.
    AMAZING..

  • from rockriley@sbcglobal.net January 16, 2017Music Background:
    Just love playing guitar!

    Reviewers are correct!

    I never bought a guitar with out either having been able to look at it in person and or play it myself. I have had my eye on this guitar for a while. Locally stores did not stock this model. So I read the reviews and I read reviews on other sites. How could they all be 5 stars? Well I'll tell how, they are telling the truth! This guitar is awesome. Fit, finish, sound, and playability. For the price this guitar it is a grand slam! I am not rich, and I really really hesitated on making a purchase with out any physical interaction with this model, but I am Sooo glad I did. All I can say is read the reviews. This guitar it the best guitar for the money I have purchased. I own seven acoustics, Martins, Ibanez, Fender, Seagull, all I can say is I am going to have to force myself to not neglect my other axes. It is absolutely beautiful, sounds fantastic, and plays like dream.

    Thanks to Sweetwater for all their help. My third purchase from them, and every one was a great experience, no one compares with follow up and assurance of satisfaction for their customers!

    If you are on the fence with this guitar, all I can say is I was and ain't no longer!

  • from West Dundee, IL January 11, 2017Music Background:
    Messing around since 1969.

    Unbelievable Tone & Looks

    Just received this guitar, pulled it out of the box, and it is in perfect condition. The tone will blow you away! I would recommend Epiphone to anyone, from a beginner to an accomplished player. Great product!

  • from Philly November 30, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-novice

    Love it

    Love this guitar. Sounds and looks great.

  • from North Carolina September 26, 2016Music Background:
    Lifelong amateur musician/recording artist

    Totally Surprised!

    First off my salesperson, Tyler, has been my go to advisor for several year now. His attention to detail and follow up make me feel secure in all of my purchase whether they be for something as simple as accessories to major guitar purchase.

    This guitar is far more solid an instrument than I expected. Very clean with an immediate usable setup.
    A matching case was purchased as well that was found to be high quality and built to last.

    Completely satisfied with this purchase.

  • from North Carolina August 15, 2016Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    EJ

    This guitar is well worth the cost. No blems noted. In fact was in tune straight out of the box.

    Totally recommend this guitar if you stalking it. I suggest the case as well. Very solid pairing.

    Strong feel head to toe and very clean.

  • from May 7, 2016Music Background:
    professional

    Loving My Left-handed EJ200SCE Artist!

    If you have a good Amp you can make it sound like a 12-string guitar, that's how beautiful the sound is!
    I'm using mine for love songs! It is AWESOME!!!

  • from Granville, OH April 13, 2016

    Out of the park guitar for an Out of the park price!!

    I have had this guitar for about a month and a half now, and have not gone a day without playing it so far. I was looking for my first guitar, as I have never played before, and wanted to find a good guitar at a good price. I made the trip to Sweetwater and after playing several guitars in the store, I landed on this one.

    I got the Natural finish, which is absolutely beautiful! This guitar looks far better in person than pictures make it look. It can absolutely pack a punch when it comes to sound, yet it can be gentle as well. Sweetwater's setup and tuning of the guitar was spot on, so it sounded and played great right out of the box. The E-Sonic 2 onboard is a wonderful addition. The ability to mix the sound between the NanoMag and NanoFlex pickups is so simple and brings the guitar to life even more with an amplifier. The grover tuners are very nice and the guitar holds a tune very nicely for a long amount of time.

    As mentioned before, I was originally looking for a good guitar at a good price. I ended up a GREAT guitar at a GREAT price. This has to be one of the best acoustic guitars out there. You will not be disappointed with the EJ200.

  • from Bostic, NC March 27, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    EJ200 Natural

    I have had my EJ200 close to a week now and I am in love with this guitar. I have owned many stringed instruments, 6 and 12 string guitars and loved them all but this is definitely my favorite guitar ever. I got the natural and it is even more beautiful than the pictures could depict. If I'm not playing it I am staring at it mesmerized. My wife just laughs and shakes her head. The sound is so crisp and full. Can not wait till my Tonewood Amp is delivered because it will be used predominantly on this guitar. Praise to Sweet water for a excellent sales staff, excellent communication and fast shipping. I will definitely be doing more business with them. Love this guitar.

  • from Boston February 26, 2016

    Way better than expected

    I was apprehensive about purchasing an instrument online without playing it but that has now all changed thanks to the Sweetwater guitar tecs and sales staff. I had sold my last acoustic guitar (Taylor 914ce) a few years ago and went all electric. When I saw this, I knew it was time to get another acoustic. Big sound, thin neck, fast action and with a hair dryer I removed the odd looking pick guard. The sound got even better when I plugged it in. I have spent 4 times as much for an acoustic guitar and not been this satisfied. Thanks to Wayne Davis for helping me out with the purchase.

  • from Allentown, PA February 9, 2016Music Background:
    Professional guitarist for over 50 years

    Incredible Value - Incredible Guitar

    I have played the Gibson J-200 which this model is copied after and I'm glad I never sprang for the big bucks for the Gibson. This guitar is amazing - incredible sustain, impeccable finish and it sounds like a cannon. Pair all that with a pick up set that is truly versatile and delivers true acoustic tone and you have a winner. I received mine yesterday and I can't put it down. I already found the latest line of Epiphone acoustics are a great value when I purchased the E-00 Pro. This gentle giant along with Sweetwater's terrific service (thanks Lucas) and inspection process guaranteed I would end up with a beautiful instrument. If you are a finger picker (like me), folk singer just looking to strum or anything in between and want a big sound that is clear as a bell this is THE guitar.

  • from Virginia January 29, 2016Music Background:
    Have my own band

    Very Nice Guitar

    This guitar is more then describe in the write up. I received it about a week ago and really surprised at the sound quality of the this instrument. It has a nice clear ring to the strings when you play it, and the action is very nice. Then only thing I have done to this instrument is change the strings to what I am accustom to but that is all. The strings that come with it is alright but I am particular to the ones I use. We used it last-night in a live session plug in and it was everything they said it was, the tone quality and sound was remarkable. For the price you can't go wrong with this unit.

  • from Nitro wv December 29, 2015

    Great guitar

    I purchased this a few months ago and changed the strings over to Martin m180's it sounded great before but now the sound is amazing

  • from TN November 23, 2015Music Background:
    Play at home

    Epiphone EJ-200SCE

    First, let me give Mike Baldonado 5 Stars for providing first rate customer service, "Thanks Mike".

    Now on to the guitar....Epiphone (Black) EJ200SCE....I Love this guitar. The playability and setup just blew me away in terms of not only sound, but craftsmanship on Epiphone's part, as well as Sweetwater's part. The guitar arrived in perfect tune with zero fret buzz or hardware rattle. The neck was arrow-straight with great action . The stock strings sounded nice, but changed them for a set of Martin light gauge. The sound is full, rich and loud with a pick, and pleasantly even with finger picking, which is great, as that's an area I'm working on. The Grover tuners are truly amazing.

    As for looks, this guitars finish is gorgeous. The wood is all flawless-looking, and I loved that Sweetwater let me choose which exact guitar I'd receive. It allowed me to take a close look at the wood grain and the saturation of the finish.

    All-in-all, this is the best value-for-money guitar I've ever bought. It's quality and craftsmanship at $399, 24 months financing and 0% interest was just what I needed (fixed income), it's sound and looks are breathtaking, and Sweetwater's service and setup were flawless. I couldn't be happier with this guitar. Buy it.

    I've never played a Gibson J200 and I'm sure the woods make a difference, but for the money, I have never been so satisfied with an acoustic that sounds this great. Guess
    we will call it the poor man's Gibson. Take the opportunity and play one for yourself.
    for yourself.

    Thanks to Sweetwater and Mike Baldonado for a great deal on a very nice guitar.

  • from Galloway, Ohio October 19, 2015Music Background:
    35 + Guitar

    Just Do It.

    Keep up the good work epiphone this is my 2nd Epi got the Sheraton 2 Pro and I'm thrilled with both of them, also hats of to the crew at Sweetwater this baby came in perfect tune right out of the box great action the 12s are a bit much for me so I will change the strings and that's it and the color is the same on front I was very worried about that although I found some other shots that looked right the picture on here looks way different. A+

  • from Winter Haven, Florida September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Been playing music for over 60 years, play lead guitar for a 50's-60's Show Group

    Epiphone EJ-200 Electric acoustic

    Beautiful instrument, sounds great and plays easy! Quality is exceptional and the service follow-up from Matt at Sweetwater is fantastic!!

  • from August 18, 2015

    Wowed!

    First off I must say the staff at Sweetwater are simply the best. A special thanks to Tom Koch!

    Now the meat... the guitar arrived packed for a trip to the moon via United Airlines baggage destruction team! Perfect!
    Of course the guitar was already checked and set up (for me) perfectly!
    This jumbo maple with a beautiful, perfect solid spruce top is simply amazing.
    She's loud, full, and projecting... yet can be subtle and really ring sweetly. Just beautiful..
    I looked at the Epiphone acoustics about 4-5 years ago at the big box store, but even with new strings they felt cheap, and sounded dull and muddy.

    Boy has Epiphone stepped up their game!!

    The eSonic2 system is a very nice added extra...as I would have paid $399 even without it!
    The 2 stereo (or mono) jacks, along with the Nanomag (neck) and Nanoflex (under bridge) pickups provide endless tone possibilities!

    I seriously don't know how they can sell these fine guitars at such an incredibly low price point... even with cheap labor costs. This guitar has out of the park build quality! Just amazing! I was totally shocked.

    I can't possibly recommend this enough... I'd give it TEN stars!

  • from Lake Waccamaw NC July 30, 2015

    What a Guitar

    The Reviews that are written ahead of me are correct right out of the box it was in tune and the front is as a direct match not a little shade off my wife said you can only see the line when the top is put together the maple is gorgeous the tuner is right on I checked with another one the strings are great and won't need to be changed the Grover tuners are nice and tight it does sound louder and bigger than the Hummingbird If you buy one of these made in Indonesia you will be happy you sure get your moneys worth with this guitar. Ben porter is the best guy on the staff he will go all the way for you to get you what you want. Thanks Ben

  • from United States March 26, 2015

    badass

    Wow!!A vision of lovliness.Very impressive, my fingers hurt from not putting down since I got it home.Sweetwater has knocked it out of the park once again with customer service. I would like to thank Ben for his attention to detail.I sing the praises of Sweetwater to all my musician friends. Plays great ,sounds great acoustic and even better plugged in.Long wait but well worth it ,looks like it should cost double.Tuner a little hard to read but my 47 year old eyes suck.Bought the case it is also very nice.Thanx again.

  • from United States September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Epiphone EJ-200CE Southern Jumbo Acoustic Electric - Natural

    Just as everything I buy from Sweetwater is AWESOME! Only small issue I have is the tuner does not seem to work on the open G - B or High E... I haven't figured out how to change the battery, (Yet :) ) But other than that everyone who has seen it, heard it or played is just as blown away as I am... Thanks!

  • from Fort Mohave, AZ August 18, 2014Music Background:
    professional drummer, hobby guitar and keyboards.

    One of my best buys. See review for dimensions.

    THE EXACT GUITAR DIMENSIONS ARE: 43" Long. Upper Bout: 12-9/16" Wide. Waist: 10-3/8 Wide. Lower Bout: 17" Wide. Upper Bout Thickness: 4-3/16". Lower Bout Thickness: 4-3/4". Body Length (including neck heal): 21-1/2"
    This may be the ONLY place you are able to get this EXACT dimensions, as EVERY Web sight has a different flavor.

    The guitar is flat out gorgeous!
    I am a guitar collector and hobby player with over 100 guitars in my collection.
    I have stayed away from jumbos in the past, because I am mainly an electric guitar player, and the largest acoustic I am comfortable with is the Ibanez PN15 Parlor.
    I wanted a bigger sound, as close to the high priced Gibson SJ200/J200 as I could get, and I think this guitar does just that.
    The guitar is made in Indonesia, which I personally like about it, rather than China made. There is an on going battle between which is best, but I have had better luck with Indonesia, and that is all I can speak of.
    The finish is flawless, with no finger rash. The stock strings are great, with no need to change them out. The action is low, with
    no fret buzz, and no need for any truss adjustment. I think I lucked out with the set up on this one, or maybe we chalk it up to the Sweetwater set up.

    I have not tried out the electrics on the guitar, and did not buy the guitar for this function, so look elsewhere for this.

    Due to my trepidation about the guitar size, I was very pleased that being a jumbo, the guitar felt playable, and reach around was
    complete, without wanting to play in front of a mirror to see where my fingers were placed. I have one guitar (made in Canada...ahemmm) that is 5" deep, and I just can't play it.
    This is a VERY well made guitar, with a full rich (not muddy like the Canada guitar) sound, and worth at least twice the asking price.

  • from Harborcreek, PA April 28, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, Producer/Engineer

    Fabulous guitar!

    Gorgeous wood, wonderful neck, sounds as good as and plays easier than my $1,800 Gibson J45. Best $400.00 I ever spent. Very happy with my purchase.

  • from Corinth, Miss April 7, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro musician/entertainer/church musician

    Terrific Guitar

    This is probably the most perfect guitar I've ever owned. It is great for my church work, my stage shows & any other picking I do. Is my opinion this is the best guitar Epiphone has put out. It is high tech at a very reasonable price.

  • from Boston, MA April 4, 2014

    Blown Away

    I was looking for another Jumbo as I wasn't all that pleased with my Gretsch Rancher purchase, which is a whole 'nuther story. I needed a quality guitar. The only question in my mind was "Do I plunk down the $3700 for the Gibson or take a chance on the Epiphone at almost 1/10 the price?" The $3300 difference in price made the decision easy and I took a chance on the Epiphone and SweetWater's "No Hassle" Return Policy.

    When I first took the EJ-200CE out of the box, I immediately started looking for flaws as I've had a less than ideal experience with the only other Epiphone guitar I own (an SG electric). Try as I might, I couldn't find any flaws with the EJ-200CE! The build quality is OUTSTANDING. I'm really having a hard time believing this is only a $400 guitar.

    After a few days of owning the guitar, I've only been able to come up with one minor gripe: The LEDs on the digital tuner are too small, and that's probably just because I'm getting old and my sight isn't what it used to be.

    If you're looking for a Jumbo and are having trouble deciding between the EJ-200CE and the Gretsch Rancher, get the EJ-200CE. The tuners are better, the fit/finish is much better, the fretwork is MUCH better, the electronics are much better, and it costs $100 less!

  • from Corinth, Miss March 17, 2014Music Background:
    I'm a semi-pro for 54 years.

    This is TOP OF THE LINE

    This EJ200 replaced the Hummingbird Pro I bought 11 months ago. This guitar is so far ahead of the Hummingbird, it's not funny. I SHOULD have bought this one to start with. It is AWESOME! It looks like a $3000.00 guitar, plays great & sounds sweet. My Church family & my Community Service Band also says it's awesome. If it holds up to our music schedule, I'll be extremely happy! Every Gospel guitarist needs this one!

  • from Kansas & Texas February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Retired Teacher of Instrumental Music

    EJ-200CE review

    This instrument has been all that I thought it would be. It is a very attractive. It has a very deep mellow tone that I was looking for. I mainly play rhythm guitar with gospel, country and some bluegrass.
    If you are looking for a deep mellow tone I would recommend this as a relatively inexpensive guitar. So far I am very pleased with mind. I have received many compliments on it.

  • from Milwaukee WI August 24, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good Value

    A lot more guitar than I expected for the money. Sweetwater got it to me the very next day which I doubted they would since I ordered in the afternoon. The guitar arrived in tune with no damages. I'd definitely do this again!

  • from toledo ohio August 3, 2016Music Background:
    classic rock/ blues playing for 40 + yrs

    My jumbo acoustic/ electric

    The guitar is beautiful, the action is great, Love the grover tuners, and on board electronics, the pickups are great, love the Blend control, and on board tuner! The guitar sounds great plugged in, my only complaint is the sound just doesn't jump out of the guitar when it is not plugged in, the way I would expect from a jumbo body, that being said overall I am very happy with the guitar and have no regrets! I bought the guitar mainly to be used plugged in, just wish it would ring out a little more unplugged !

  • from Junction,Tx. January 28, 2016Music Background:
    8yrs experience

    EJ-200SCE

    The guitar plays great. Wasn't quite as boomy on the low end as I expected, but plugged in it really sings. The action was excellent and it sure is pretty. I'm very satisfied with this guitar and I appreciate the helpful staff at Sweetwater who always check on me and sure help with some of my more technical questions. It's obvious to me that these guys must play a little themselves in order to understand my train of thought.. Any way, I'd recommend buying this guitar from these guys any day.

  • from Petersburg, Virginia December 24, 2015Music Background:
    35 years playing guitar

    Great Bang For The Buck

    I had to downgrade my gear due to finances, so I needed an axe that would not disappoint quality-wise. The 200SCE fits the bill. The build is solid in a musical way (not a dull block as in many inexpensive guitars). The double pickups are a great asset and surprisingly good in this price range. The set up was better than my old Martin and Breedlove, but that could be on account of Sweetwater's unsurpassed service. The only issue I have is with the pickguard; it has air pockets underneath so does not lay flush on the soundboard. I plan on removing it since I mainly fingerpick.
    Once again I can't say enough about Sweetwater and my rep. AJ Becerra. I've recommended Sweetwater's customer service model to a few other organizations. These guys are the best!

  • from Michigan September 15, 2015

    Very nice guitar

    I had been eyeing this one for a while and finally decided to order one. Glad I did, whatta great guitar! Visually stunning, in tune out of the box, and great playability. Only change I made was to switch to my preferred strings. Even my wife was impressed. I have been an Epiphone fan and player for years, this is my fourth Epi instrument and the best one so far. ANY guitarist will have fun with this one, hard to put down. Sweetwater does a fantastic job inspecting their guitars before shipping, don't hesitate to order. Got mine in less than 24 hours. Ed was fantastic making sure I got what I wanted. Only reason I didn't rate 5 stars is it doesn't come with Elvis sunglasses....haha. Buy one now!

  • from Pa September 13, 2015

    jazz box? yes

    I put 11 flat wounds on, dialed in the neck truss rod. Now plugged it in to a fender tube amp and I had my full body jazz guitar running the neck pickup mostly, it is heaven, a light touch, my thumb and three fingers are happy playing and learning jazz. Bonus the tone is perfect for fifties rock and roll. It has a nice big tone with a smooth mellow sound with the flat wounds and sliding into the chords is great fun. Great guitar.

  • from Lake Waccamaw NC August 24, 2015Music Background:
    Former professional Musician

    Best Guitar sound for the money

    For years I wanted a J-200 but could not see paying the $3 to $4 Thousand and I have a few acoustic guitars and didn't see just buying a regular Jumbo to get that big sound . I let the first Epiphone model like this get by me but could not see letting it go anymore . When this guitar was delivered to the house it was even in tune such a great looking guitar and a tremendous sound the neck is the best neck I have on an acoustic in my collection. The sound is also great plugged into an amp. No it's not a J-200 Gib but I love it and will never get rid of it. It look so good some times I just look at it and smile. Thanks to Sweetwater and Epiphone I have the acoustic I have been wanting for years..

  • from Va,USA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur performer

    Epiphone ej

    A really really nice guitar. As soon as i got it i put elixir strings on it and it sounded much better than the stocks that were on there. Its great eye candy as well. Sounds as good as my taylor 210

  • from Arizona April 24, 2015Music Background:
    Music Teacher and Clasical guitar performer.

    Guitar

    It is good instrument, big body wish make it easy when you perform. Looks pretty on stage, soft arm and nice resonance.

  • from August 12, 2014

    Nice guitar

    It's a good guitar. The customer service was great as always. I wanted a big guitar for the church group I play with. It is all acoustic so I wanted the bigger body for added volume. I have a Takamene Peak model. It's not in the same class as the Peak, but, for banging out cords it does just what I want. Thanks for the great service and good guitar.

  • from Ohio June 2, 2016Music Background:
    classical, historic, R-n-R, metal

    Epiphone EJ-200SCE Acoustic Stereo Guitar

    Fun to play because of the stereo aspect. Great sounding through a pair of Fishman Loudbox Mini 60W amps. Because of Sweetwater's Guitar Gallery, my instrument is prettier than the one pictured here.
    Nice neck shape, very comfortable. Lots of bang for the buck with tuner and controls.

    The guitar did develop a low hum from the nanoflex bridge pickup after two weeks' daily play, but outstanding customer service from Sweetwater directed me to return it at their expense for free repairs and return ! That likely ate up their profit but my satisfaction was of greater importance to them. WOW !

    The plastic bridge pins are not great and the bridge is rather crudely formed which I suspect causes a bit of twang I hear periodically, but the very reasonable price of this instrument will allow me to address those issues without angst. A string change to my favorite D'Addarios helped as well.

    I would buy it again - and if you do - purchase the Epiphone case for it ; which I like. And buy it from Sweetwater just to be sure.

Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway