0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

D'Addario EJ16 Phosphor Bronze Light Acoustic Strings Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the D'Addario EJ16 Phosphor Bronze Light Acoustic Strings?

Questions about the D'Addario EJ16 Phosphor Bronze Light Acoustic Strings?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Ken Kessler
    from Cleveland, OH area April 11, 2017Music Background:
    Serious Folkie with Classical background

    The only strings I use

    I bought my first set of D'Addario guitar strings back in the '70s when they were branded Darko. Good life, great sound at reasonable price. I'm convinced their strings have gotten better since then. I appreciate their sealing each set. It extends shelf life and assures the originality of every set every time. From time to time, I've tried other brands' "newest and best," but I've never found anything I like as well. For the last 30+ years, my three Martin flat tops and two Guild 12-strings have spoken with D'Addario. Last fall I put a set of D'Addario Kaplin strings on my stand-up double bass. Fantastic strings with amazingly even tone. The best double bass strings I've heard or played in over 50 years as a bass player.

  • Rob D
    from 333 Temple of syrinx NY 14543 September 4, 2016Music Background:
    Acoustic Guitar player

    More than just a

    Ok, So a bit of a cheesy title for the review, I know... but, really, they deserve it and let me tell you why. I've tried god knows how many strings... A lot of strings are just that,,, strings. But, I tend to fret my notes a little hard at times. And what I've found through countless brands of strings is that the stings develop divits. Little dents in the strings that really kill the sound and shorten the life of the string. These happen rather quickly on most of the strings I've used. Not with these stings (or the extra long play strings). Now, it's not like I have death grip on my guitar neck and truth be told a lot of the acoustic guitars I play have jumbo frets so they're pretty meaty. But without question these are THE best strings I've found for longevity and clarity of tone for the longest period of time. And hey, the longer I can play on my stings the better. It saves me money and time. Don't know about you, but changing my stings is not how I like to spend my time. I'd rather be playing :-)

  • Curt
    from NW Ohio May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Serious Student

    No Need to Spend More

    I've experimented with various brands and types of strings for my acoustic guitars and keep coming back to these. The tone is clear and balanced and they play wonderfully. Why spend more? They really bring out the best on my Takamine TAN16C. Give them a try and see for yourself!

  • Daniel
    from August 27, 2013

    Great tone

    Great strings! Greatly improved my tone on my guitar and stays in tune a lot longer

  • Dennis O. Wasnich
    from Montpelier, OH January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Strings - you can't go wrong

    I've used D'Addario strings for decades and have always like them a lot. You can't go wrong with them: Nice warm sound, long string life and a decent price all add up to a winner.
    My problem is trying to decide if I like the Phosphor Bronze or the 80/20 Bronze strings the best. They're both great.

  • TJ
    from United States February 10, 2013Music Background:
    Performer, player, hobbyist

    Long time user

    I've used these strings for over 15 years. Great sound, but you need to keep them clean to keep that sound. I've experienced breakage as well, but no more than with much more expensive strings. I've also found that the breaks have been caused by equipment (make sure the saddles are smooth with no sharp edges).

  • Steve
    from PA, USA February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing 20+ years..

    Great Sound

    I don't know what the previous reviewer is doing, but I play all styles; from fingerstyle to strumming to flatopicking, and RARELY break strings. Generally, they last until I change them again. So..perhaps if one's "attack" on the strings is heavy, heavier gauge strings may be required. However, these are nice sounding, and certainly not a waste of money.

  • Customer
    from July 21, 2016

    Weak strings

    Strings are terrible. They are very easy to snap. D and G strings are very brittle.... this happened three times now, and i am not rough on the strings. I recommend you to NOT buy these....

  • Elaine
    from Oklahoma August 24, 2011Music Background:
    Playing almost one year

    Not a fan

    These are very brittle. G string broke very easily I would not waste my money. Worst strings I've used

Questions about the D'Addario EJ16 Phosphor Bronze Light Acoustic Strings?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway