rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Epiphone Faded G-400 - Worn Brown Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Faded G-400 - Worn Brown?

Questions about the Epiphone Faded G-400 - Worn Brown?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from October 26, 2016

    Epiphone G-400 Faded Brown

    This is a great guitar, especially for the price. I owned and played an early 60's Gibson SG from 1971 to 1974 and I must say this 'Epi' SG is a better guitar. The neck is wider and stronger and plays very well. The pickups seem less muddy and believe me with the right amp set up it will scream. It also looks great with the satin finish and wide inlay on the neck. Thanks Sweetwater for getting it here safely along with the candy!

  • from Atlanta, GA August 6, 2015

    Maybe best guitar under $300?

    I'm fairly new to playing, but own 20 guitars in all and have a large number of "budget" guitars--various Squiers, an Ibanez Gio, and another Epiphone (an LP). This Epiphone SG tops them all. Great looking axe, sounds and plays wonderfully, very light and comfortable. It's now my new favorite, and I know I'll be playing mainly on this one for years to come.

  • from May 28, 2015

    epiphone faded g-400 worn brown

    very well packed,double boxed plus bubble wrap,no fret buzz very good quality guitar.I would recommend this guitar to others,pickups sound good,no need to upgrade anything !!

  • from Ohio May 7, 2015Music Background:
    35 year musician... Mild touring/studio musician.

    Very nice purchase!

    Very nice guitar! Beautiful finish! Sounds great and plays great.

  • from Huntington Park, CA USA August 2, 2014Music Background:
    Starting Musician

    Amazing!!

    I'm amazed how awesome this guitar feels and plays. I've never really owned an epiphone or at least not one this good.

    I love how the satin finish feels. The neck has the right amount of thickness as it's quite thin but still has a rounded feel to it. To my surprise and luck this guitar played pretty well right off the box. Mind you, I had another one that didn't play as well but with help of customer support I got another one that was exactly what I expected and perhaps exceeded what I was looking for.

    I didn't get any buzzes on the frets and tuning stability remained great. The pots, switches and jack are sturdy (thanks epiphone!) none of the feel loose or terrible. Though you may experience getting that issue I think Sweetwater can help you with that.

    The tone of the pickups are great! As subjective guitar pickups are these sound great for stock and they respond really well to my playing. It takes a bit of tweaking on the amp knobs to have it sound right and it's good to go! They very rich mids for some the pickups may too bass on the lower strings but what can you expect? they aren't Seymour Duncans or Dimarzios by far but they perform excellently!

    I like how the whole instrument feels good, earthy and natural. Overall a very sturdy and good instrument to buy not by price but for quality. I know a few of them could be bad as I've experienced but try exchange for one and you might be lucky.

    I'd like to say that Epiphone's quality has gone up over the years. I'm glad they pay attention to a lot of things and I didn't expect this kind of result.

    Lastly, the guitar's bridge volume pot on mine turns a bit easier than the others but the guitar I had before had the pots with the same feel. This does not affect the overall playability of the instrument. Even if it turns a bit easier it would have to take a lot effort than a small budge to move. I won't knock down the rating because pots give or take aren't all perfect.

  • from March 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice Guitar

    My third Epiphone, and it didn't disappoint me in the least. I debated about getting the G-400 w/coil splitting but I have it on my Les Paul and don't use it much. The guitar came quickly and was delivered on a -21F. morning. Joel at Sweetwater was outstanding, following up on the order and making sure it was what I wanted. Best customer service ever.
    Now about the guitar, opened the box and it was as expected just like the picture. It was in tune and ready to play. I did after a few sessions lowered the bridge a little and it was perfect. The pickups are nice, I'm not too fussy about tone, if it sounds okay to me they're fine. In my research I was warned about the guitar being neck heavy and it is. A wide leather strap will help, The placement of the button on the back of the body doesn't help but there isn't really any other place to put it. All in all I like the guitar and am satisfied with the instrument and the service.

  • from East Grand Forks, MN December 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Deal!

    Great deal for this guitar. I bought it on Black Friday and got a fantasic price from Sweetwater. I had always wanted an SG and after looking at many reviews and lisening to many sound clips decided to try this one out. Amazing quality. Yes it is a little neck heavy, but a nice wide strap takes care of that. Fit and finnish on this thing is sweet. It looks really nice sitting next to my other guitars in my growing collection, but it sounds better than it looks and it looks amazing, like an old friend, plays like an old friend as well. I'm playing old Clapton, Allman Bros and other old blues and trying to learn slide and it does well for that. Can't say anything about metal cause it's not my thing. I'm sure it would perform equally well, pickups are "hot" as far as I'm concerned, drives my little 5 watt valve amp really nice for good thick blues tones. The neck is really smooth, feels good in your hand, the whole thing came set up really well, all I did was change strings, tune it up and start playing. I think it will be one of my favorites. Ryan at Sweetwater is also a super guy, if you need a guitar or anything else, talk to him, he is the man! Thanks for another great axe man.

  • from Holly Pond, AL April 12, 2015

    Very Happy!

    I own several epiphone guitars and this one fits in nice.Keeping in mind that it is a lower end than a gibson it is a great value for the money.Great guitar for someone starting to play and a good sounding guitar for someone with experience.The customer service is second to none!Anthony Longano followed up to make sure I was happy with my purchase.Sweetwater is now my go to place to buy equipment.

  • from Fort Collins, CO May 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Bargain

    It's hard to go wrong on this for $300. I bought it as a spare guitar to keep at work. It serves that purpose well. Sounds and plays quite good out of the box.

    This is the first guitar I've bought from Sweetwater. Outstanding customer service.

Questions about the Epiphone Faded G-400 - Worn Brown?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway