0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Takamine EF381SC 12-String Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Takamine EF381SC 12-String Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric - Black?

Questions about the Takamine EF381SC 12-String Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 15, 2016

    Great guitar

    First and foremost Sweetwater's customer service has to be the best in the business (5+Stars). Special gratitude to my sales rep Kevin for going the extra distance.

    I've had this guitar for three weeks now and have to say that I am blown away by the sound that comes from it. Every time I play it just gets better. As expected it took a little adjustment for the wider neck but there is really nothing negative that I can say about this guitar. Some might think that it's a little light on the bass side but to my ear this guitar sings on it's own. Out of the box the action is perfect for my style of playing, The guitar stays in tune with just minor adjustments every now and then. I've never owned a 12 string before but from the ones that I've played I have to say that this guitar plays and sounds as good as guitars twice the price, I'm looking forward to years of great playing experiences with this guitar.

  • from June 30, 2015

    Excellent guitar

    Very stable and strong guitar with a great sounding

  • from Fl Keys August 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great 12 string

    Bought this 381 several years ago primarily because I was so impressed with the 341 6 string that had been my fave acoustic for years... and I was not disappointed. Easy to play, incredible tone, great electronics... There's something special about the chime and ethereal quality of a 12 string, and this one takes you "there".

  • from June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, and student

    Takamine EF381SC

    I traded in my Gibson 12 acoustic guitar, that I had for 35 years, my dad had got bought for my seventeenth birthday. This was my first acoustic electric guitar, and it blew my mind! I'm still in love with it! In order to beat the Takamine EF381 SC, I would have to go up into the $3,000.00, to $3,500.00 price range. I would recommend this great guitar to anyone who wants a smooth action 12 string, for a decent price! And you can't beat the Japanese electronics! A lot of professionals use Takamine guitars, because of their excellent, dependable quality.

  • from February 26, 2016Music Background:
    35 years strumming and learning

    Great looking and sounds

    As others, I have had a 341 6 stringer since early 90's, loved playing it with or without an amp anytime. Decided one day to add another 12 string to the collection when I saw a great sale price and picked up a 381SC. Can't complain one bit. Looks great, sounds perfect for the amount of money I spent. Definitely a respectable guitar for any player.

  • from Seattle February 28, 2014Music Background:
    still a beginner

    Takamine EF381SC

    Less bass than my Guild but
    Finish impeccable
    Sound and action excellent
    Onboard tuner best I've used
    Encourages me to practice

  • from Kona, Hawaii September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Retired editor who plays for fun

    Takamine 12-string EF381SC

    Long time 12 string player. Treated myself w a b-day present and I feel I made a great choice. Sweet price on a very good guitar. I wanted a Taylor or high end Martin but way out of budget. At this price I sacrificed a little on the bottom end tone, but can compensate when plugged in by upping the on-board eq. Action is great and plays well up the fretboard where it stays in tune very nicely for a 12. Quality build from Takemine and great service from Sweetwater.

  • from Mansfield, Oh. August 13, 2014Music Background:
    23 year hobbyist

    "Sad in Seattle"

    First off, action and feel are the most important things when I'm choosing a guitar. The action on the guitar is average...at best. For me, the action was even a little higher than it should have been. For the average guitar player it probably would have been fine. However, there are 12 string guitars out there with lower action, if that's you're thing. The neck seemed to feel good but as with so many other 12 strings...it just flat out was not easy to play and fatigued my left hand after only a short 20 - 30 minute jam session. There is no way I could last a whole gig playing this thing. Next is the sound. Unplugged...it sounds amazing. It's loud and clear. Sounds just like a beautiful 12 string should. Plugged it, it sounds good. It's lacking bass. I though "what is this missing" when I first plugged it in. It was the bass. I turned up the bass on my mixer and the problem was solved. Finally, the looks. It's beautiful. Based on looks I'd marry it if that were socially acceptable. I've always wanted a black, beautiful 12 string and I love the name Takemine. Just because it is a respected guitar company and I'm fond of many artists that use the brand. All in all, I did not buy it and the search for my "perfect" 12 string continues. It just is not worth $1300.00. It's not very easy to play and the lack of bass are the two biggest cons. I supposed I could lower the action, but I believe a guitar should be bought without having to make any adjustments. Also, there is no guarantee that it will play like a dream once the action is lowered to my liking. So, to the average player, it may feel just fine. For me, it's not the winner...but I really wish it were.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA February 21, 2006

    A solid investment!

    I have been playing guitars for about 35 years and I've never heard anything quite this beautiful. The lows and highs will make you cry with joy, but the biggest asset is the way Takamine put all of the tones together! The action is effortless and buzz-free. Play it unplugged and you'll see what I mean; plug it in and you simply won't believe the quality of the sound--it will blow you away! If you're looking for a quality 12 string at a reasonable price, treat yourself and put it on your list.

Questions about the Takamine EF381SC 12-String Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway