0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Epiphone EJ-200SCE Acoustic Electric - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 28 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE Acoustic Electric - Vintage Sunburst?

Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE Acoustic Electric - Vintage Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Louisville, KY October 13, 2016Music Background:
    Country/Americana

    Couldn't be happier

    I purchased this guitar for the same reason most probably have or will: I simply cannot afford a Gibson SJ-200. It's just not in the current cards for me. After discovering this financially suitable alternative, I expected it to come in and feel as such, but I was blown away. The playability, feel, sound, quality, finish, look of this guitar far exceeds its selling price. With a big sound and smooth feel, it's more than what I was looking for. I did not expect to receive as high quality of an instrument as I did. I feel it could pass for a Gibson any day. Not only that, but my purchase experience with Sweetwater was just as pleasant. Frank Gerdts went above and beyond to assist me and satisfy my needs as a customer. I couldn't be happier with my overall purchase and purchase experience. A+ Sweetwater!

  • from Dallas, Texas September 20, 2016Music Background:
    Country music singer/songwriter....

    MY NEW GUITAR....

    I have always wanted a EJ-22 Jumbo Acoustic Electric and now I have one! It's all and more than I ever expected. When I got it from Sweetwater, it was in perfect condition and ready to play right out of the box! Thank you Sweetwater for being there for us...
    Thanks again and God Bless....
    David

  • from Pennsylvania August 3, 2016

    epiphone EJ 200SCE

    LOVE it, great guitar, big sound !
    Mark is the greatest !
    the best place to buy!

  • from Shelbyville, Ky January 25, 2016Music Background:
    5023149310

    Epiphone EJ-200SCE

    Great guitar! Excellent setup.

  • from Slidell, LA. January 2, 2016

    How to get a great acoustic sound recorded

    There's nothing quite like the sounds you get from a jumbo acoustic guitar. The EJ-200SCE is rich, full, and balanced. I would have thought a jumbo acoustic would have a tendency to be bassy and boomy, but that is nowhere to be found here. This guitar excels at everything you throw at it. Whether it be standard tuning, Drop D, or playing with a capo, the EJ-200SCE just does it all so well.

    Where this guitar really excels is when plugged in to some inputs recording sounds. In my opinion the under saddle NanoFlex pickup is the star of the show. The NanoMag captures the sound at the neck, and is not as sensitive as the NanoFlex. You'll want to use both outputs when recording as using the mono option for both pickups is less flexible and doesn't sound as good as when using both outputs. I plugged in each output into its own channel and noticed the NanoMag is a bit quieter than the NanoFlex. To capture some great acoustic sounds, you'll need a mic either picking up some room sounds or up close near the body. Blend all three sources together and you have the recipe for some great acoustic guitar. EQ and pan...you'll be surprised at the results.

    If you plan to amplify this guitar a Planet Waves Screeching Halt or something like it will be a necessity. Otherwise it will be feedback city.

    The jumbo size body is surprisingly not uncomfortable nor unwieldy. It settles in nicely and the sounds you get from this guitar are hard to beat. The fit and finish of this guitar is top notch, and while not flawless it nonetheless is an amazing deal at this price point. The synthetic bone saddle is a nice touch, although I will be upgrading the nut.

    In short, this guitar is highly recommended and at this price it's a no-brainer.

  • from Girard, KS September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Always been a singer, now a singer who plays.

    I Love, Love, Love my EJ-200!

    I shopped and shopped for an acoustic electric online and for the price, I do not believe there could be a better playing and sounding guitar. In addition, Sweetwater has the best customer service I have ever witnessed for an online company. Chris is great!

  • from Las Vegas May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby/Enthusiast

    Excellent Quality

    Had this guitar a couple of months now - I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the workmanship. I can tell you the set-up from Sweetwater is excellent. The action is great, no buzzing whatsover. Great price. The electronics are great too. Thanks to Matt at Sweetwater for hooking me up with this!

  • from ramsey, il April 22, 2015

    eoiphone ej200ce

    Awesome guitar....won't find more guitar for $400, and sweetwater sales and customer service are the best in the buisness axe was perfect out of the box. 5stars absolutely 100 percent satisfied...definitely worth the wait.

  • from Kansas City October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Teacher, Hobbyist

    I was completely caught off guard with this guitar. It has warm deep tone.
    Flawless finish, coupled with really nice inlay and Grover tuners.
    Don't be afraid of the jumbo body, (not that much bigger than a dreadnaught.) and gives this axe it's smooth personality. I want to take a moment to thank Sweet waters sales associate Paul Rowan for his input
    on the guitar. Their set up was perfect. Tuned out of the box, perfect action,
    intonation, and polished like a diamond. I've never played a Gibson J200
    and I'm sure the woods make a difference, but for the money, I have never been so satisfied with an acoustic that sounds this great. Guess
    we will call it the poor man's Gibson. Take the opportunity and play one
    for yourself. This is my first electric acoustic. Through my Two acoustic
    brand amps I now play in stereo. Add a touch of reverb and you've got a sweet studio sound for recording. You have to order a jumbo size case for this one. Sweet-water sells an epiphone for 99.00 bucks.
    I commend this guitar with five stars from Sweet Water. ( Larry in Mo. )

  • from Maine, USA September 28, 2014Music Background:
    Singer trying to finally learn to support myself

    Everything I hoped for and then some

    The guitar is flawless. Straight out of the box, perfect set up, thank you Sweetwater.
    I am a novice player, this is my step up from my learner guitar. The tone is wonderful, its so easy to play, I cannot put it down.
    I plugged into my peavey vypyr amp and loved the sound even more. My poor Yamaha hollow body will be taking a back seat there.
    I actually got my hands on a Gibson sj200 a few days ago at my local store. I was expecting guitar envy etc., but left thrilled. It was probably badly set up and might have had crap strings but in all honesty I really felt I have the better guitar. And the price difference......
    If there is one niggling thing it would be the pickguard; the EJ has a sticker and the Gibson had a really chunky well made solid piece. Apart from that, my Epiphone EJ-200 is amazing!

  • from Columbus, OH August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The most beautiful guitar...

    I bought this guitar for my boyfriend because it was recommended by my sister, who's a musician, and I have no regrets. First of all, the guitar finish is absolutely beautiful and the sound is extraordinary. (And we haven't even plugged it in yet!) My boyfriend hasn't been able to put in down since it came in 3 days ago!! On top of that, our personal sales rep, Adam, was on top of everything from the first minute our order was placed. The customer service is outstanding, to say the least! I have never been happier or satisfied with a purchase. Ever. Sweetwater and its staff have earned a customer for life...

  • from Milwaukee WI July 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone EJ-200CE - Vintage Sunburst

    I use a Mustang II as the amp for this guitar and it sounds Fantastic!

    Its hard to beleive how good this guitar sounds for 399.00.

    Totally happy! Workmanship is top notch!

  • from Northern California June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Local bands (rock/punk/americana), former instrument tech/sales at music shop

    Fat bottom girl is rockin' my world

    I am primarily a bass player so, when I was choosing a new acoustic (for home, songwriting, and solo shows), I wanted something with some volume and gusto. The EJ-200ce did not disappoint! As a smaller, female musician, I was concerned at first about the body size of this guitar but she fits just fine, very comfortable. The neck is also comfortable and the tuning machines are great, doesn't slip out of tune even after some rough playing. She's well made too, particularly for the price. The binding is smooth and her fancy bits (inlay, pick-guard, etc.) are well applied. The onboard electronics aren't clunky either, well positioned and light.

    This guitar will definitely get folks' attention, I might add! I saw/heard one at a local acoustic show and I just couldn't get it out of my head (to the point where I had to buy one myself). Classic looks and a big ol' country sound that transfers nicely for folk/rock as well. Having worked in a guitar shop, I would say this guitar seems to project a bit more than most so she'll definitely cut through with a band but her tone is very balanced as well. That solid spruce top makes a world of difference!

    Sweetwater's customer service is nothing short of fantastic! Within hours of placing my order, I received a call to confirm it along with some info about when it should arrive, how it's checked out before it ships, etc. Mark was very friendly and helpful, definitely knew his stuff! I was blown away when I received pictures of my new baby via email that week as well. It definitely built up the anticipation that much more!

    Overall, I had a fantastic experience ordering from Sweetwater and this guitar is a keeper, a lot of fun. Definitely my go-to now!

  • from Western New York April 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A Great Deal

    I bought this made in Indonesia Epiphone some two months ago now and have held off writing a review until I could really get the feel of it. Cutting directly to chase, I am truly amazed that any guitar I could buy at this price could be of such a high caliber.
    Honestly.
    I have 44 years experience playing, over 40 of those professionally.
    I have played every style from light lounge jazz, to gutbucket blues, to grinding punk rock, to polite traditional folk, country and bluegrass.
    I have owned at one time or another dozens of acoustic (both steel string and nylon), Fenders, Gibsons, Ibanez, Taylor, Cordoba, and several other brands.
    The Epi EJ 200 stands apart as the single finest acoustic in its price range I have ever owned.
    On opening the shipping container I was struck by its beautiful appearance. The sunburst was applied perfectly, there was no globbing or streaking in the finish anywhere, there are no stray glue marks, the guitar looked as perfect as any high end guitar I have ever owned.
    Pulling it out of its box I was struck by the sheer heft of the instrument. I was expecting a fairly flimsy and light instrument, but this felt truly solid.
    The familiar mustache bridge looked great as did the crown inlays up and down the neck and headstock.
    Honestly it seemed that the only aesthetic flaw for me was the cheesy fake J200 pickguard, but 10 minutes with my wife's hair dryer and it was gone leaving a thoroughly gorgeous glassy and uniform finish.
    I can't speak directly to Epiphone's factory set up, but what I got from Sweetwater was a truly perfect set up. I have made no adjustments to what came out of the box except for the pickguard removal and swapping over for a set of .013 strings. The factory .012 set is just too light for me.
    Now I won't lie and say that the tone of the guitar is better than many other guitars I own, or have owned, but it certainly is the best I've heard for any guitar at this price point I have owned. It's got a great even balance across all 6 strings with a sweet high end and a good healthy low end growl.
    I use it for strumming, flatpicking, Travis picking as well as bare fingerpicking. It took a couple of days to build up a bit heavier callouses on my right hand, but now it's just fine.
    The action is low enough for easy fretting, and just high enough for slide work (bottleneck or brass) as well.
    The electronics are very good. In fact I prefer the electronics on the Epi to the factory installed Fishman gear on the Gibson J200 by far. They are very well balanced with a heaping helping of low end tone and none of the tinniness I hear in so many other acoustic/electrics.
    Just for fun I enjoy running the dual outputs through two separate amps, each with different tone and effects settings to enjoy a truly wild stereo effect.
    I originally bought this guitar for a lot of outdoor and rustic gigging I do in fairly intense and unpredictable weather that I don't care to subject my finer instruments to. I have no doubt the Epiphone is up to the task.
    In fact this has become my go to sofa guitar as well.
    The bottom line? Not only is this the very finest Epiphone acoustic I haver played, it easily matches and outplays several other guitars costing quite a bit more.
    I will say however that the Epiphone case I bought with the guitar is just so-so. It's not very well constructed and the latches only barely match up for easy closure. Maybe I ought to have sent it back, but I would recommend spending a few extra dollars for a well built TKL case instead.
    Thanks to Sweetwater and Jim Cooper for a nice deal on a very nice guitar.

  • from Miami, FL January 18, 2014Music Background:
    experienced musician, worship leader

    A great guitar!

    I bought the original EJ-200 which was made in Korea and had a laminate top and no electronics or cutaway. It was a stunner on looks, but so-so on tone. This newer model is GREAT. With a solid Sitka spruce top, cut away and two shadow pickups, it has fantastic tone and killer looks as well. I use it to record and am very pleased with the tone I hear in the play backs. It is as good as any Gibson, Taylor or Martin. I use it to record the rhythm tracks that back my mandolin for church praise and worship songs. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • from GA USA December 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Amateur

    I love this guitar!

    I bought this guitar a year ago and have fell in love with it. I play a few small bars and bonfires and it more than holds it's weight. I love the on-board tuner. The only problem I've had with it is that the flowers, which are painted on the pick guard, have worn off from strumming. If your are looking for a good guitar to do small gigs with, this is it!

  • from United States March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 32 years.

    Looks and plays great!

    The EJ-200CE is a great sounding guitar. This is a great value. The sound is big. The tuner works great. The intonation is spot on. The electronics sound good and are easy to use. I bought this guitar through Sweetwater because I knew it would arrive in perfect working condition.

  • from VT November 8, 2016

    Sounds like a 93' J-100 Xtra

    Yeah - that's the sound I was looking for...Out of the box it needed a setup - no big surprise there. Tightened the truss rod and left the cover off, sanded down the saddle a wee bit, cleaned up the frets with 0000 steel wool and applied a small amount of linseed oil to the fretboard, threw some good strings on and put in bone bridge pins. The sound is large with a big mid-bottom end and an even sparkle across the strings...wasn't expecting this.
    I've tried enough Gibsons to know I will never get the sound I got before I sold my j-100 Xtra, but this comes closer than any other acoustic I've tried. Nothing against the Gibson J200, but I just can't be taking chances with $.

  • from May 22, 2015

    love it

    This is one really good guitar in the price range it can't be beat

  • from Pecos, TX. November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player for over 30 years... mostly in a Church Choir

    Excellent

    Always wanted a nice looking guitar... but after playing the Epiphone EJ-200CE for the first time... it was unbelievable! Not only did I have a nice looking guitar... but also a bad ass playing guitar. It plays great and has a rich sound that leaves everyone wanting to hear more. Great guitar... would recommend it to everyone!!

  • from CA July 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar, I'm happy with my choice.

    An honest cost for at what it offers

  • from penna January 28, 2014Music Background:
    i am 65 years old and I started playinf about 18 months ago

    epiphone EJ200CE

    I have 7 electric guitars. I thought way not try an acoustic, so I purchased a epi Dave NAVARRO and I was very happy with it> hen I saw the EJ .200 jumbo so I called TJ ..my rep . When the guitar arrived I was blown away. this guitar looks and sounds like a 1000 dollar guitar. I do not care where it was made, this guitar playes and sounds every bit as good as an American made guitar.. Sweetwater is the very best on line dealer you can find. I have ordered several guitars and a couple amps from them and have never been sorry. thank you and you will keep getting business

  • from Boise, Idaho USA April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Worship leader, 30 year guitarist

    Great guitar

    The Epiphone EJ 200 is a fantastic guitar.

  • from Boise, Idaho USA April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Worship leader, 30 year guitarist

    Great guitar

    The Epiphone EJ 200 is a fantastic guitar.

  • from Clearwater Fl. March 30, 2014Music Background:
    record original music life long player since 12

    just got one

    I had read some bad reviews but was pleasantly surprised
    good quality with a big sound. I recommend this. a jumbo
    sound at good price. get the case its worth it.

  • from Connecticut February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Singer -songwriter small venue performances

    great sound..crappy pickguard

    I played this guitar in the store while waiting for them to bring up the guitar I had come to buy (a Takamine..same price range). I played everything on the wall from $2700 Gibsons and Martins ( although no other jumbos) to Fenders and Taylors. As soon as I played this jumbo I told the salesman to forget the Takamine..I wanted that bell-like sound and an action that was perfect on the Epiphone . HOWEVER,,,who the hell put that crappy looking "pickguard " on there? Made the guitar look like a childrens guitar. Luckily it peeled right off like the sticker it was..leaving the finish perfect. Just do it slowly.Nice electronics too.

  • from Signal Mountain, TN April 24, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Artist, Guitar player for 25 years

    Great Guitar for the money (or twice the money)

    I bought the EJ-200CE in order to round out the range of frequencies I can get when recording acoustic guitar. I use my Taylor when I need the acoustic to cut through the full band sound, but it sounds a bit thin when I am playing tracks where the acoustic is the feature instrument. The EJ-200CE has a nice rich, fat, sound. The intonation on this guitar may actually be better than that of my Taylor which cost more than twice as much. The dual pickups allow for a wide range of tones when plugged into the PA. The price scared me at first, because I thought to myself "how good could it really be for $400." But I was pleasantly surprised. It plays more like a $700-$800 guitar. The only problem I experienced with the guitar was the Low E was buzzing really badly when I first received the guitar from Sweetwater, but that probably had to do with two days on a FedEx truck and the different humidity between Indiana and Chattanooga. I made about a 1/4" turn on the truss rod, and the buzz is almost completely gone. I may have to sand down a fret of two, but really that is a small trade-off for such a fine instrument for the money. I am very pleased with the purchase. Heads up though - it does not come with a gig bag or case. I am currently looking for one that will fit the Jumbo body.

  • from Denver Colorado January 22, 2015Music Background:
    All of the above

    Nice guitar when it works

    I loved this guitar for the first few months. But now some time has passed, and I'm realizing that it is unplayable more often than it is playable. I live in Colorado where the winter produces very cold temperature and very low humidity. The Low humidity has ruined the neck on this and the epiphone hummingbird pro that I also bought this year.

    I've spent a small fortune trying to rehumidify them, but to no avail. I've never had this issue with any of my other 20 guitars. Yeah, I have 20 guitars, but unfortunately for me, 5 of them are epiphones.

    I've gone from being a huge Epi fan to being a cautionary tale so that others don't get ripped off by these seemingly low priced guitars. $399 is a lot to pay for kindling.

Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE Acoustic Electric - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close