0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Epiphone EJ-200SCE - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE - Black?

Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from MN April 7, 2017Music Background:
    Professional guitarist/bassist, recording/studio geek

    Buy one!!

    I needed an acoustic guitar that actually had some depth and projection... I kept looking at the Epiphone EJ-200SCE... Not only was it a beautiful looking guitar but it had options as far as plugging it in with the piezo and magnetic pickup system... I ordered the EJ-2000SCE and it showed up on time as promised... My sales rep Ryan Clapper and the Sweetwater staff were more than helpful, as always... I actually wanted the natural color, but the only one available at the time was the black one... Once it arrived, I was blown away by the first chord I played... It had everything I had hoped for... the tone, projection, the balance between highs and lows... all there... and I loved the black color... the neck was very close to my Epiphone Sheraton so the transition was minimal except my Sheraton is 24.75 scale and the EJ-200SCE is 25.5 scale... Once I got used to the scale difference (took about a day), It was like a trusted old friend... I'm in love with this guitar!!! Ever since it arrived, I haven't been able to put it down... I haven't even played my electrics since I got it... Thanks Ryan and the Sweetwater staff... You guys are rock... Just like my new Epi...

  • from charleston mo. January 5, 2017Music Background:
    40years

    epiphone ej-200ce-black

    just got this today if you are looking for a great sounding acoustic- electric this is it and it won,t break the bank this is a lot of guitar for less the $ was a little worry for the price of what she would sound like but rest a sure you are going to be blown away what are you waiting for get you one thanks sweetwater for a great guitar she a keeper

  • from Rockies September 20, 2016Music Background:
    solo honky tonk hippie rocker

    One in a million

    I bought this inexpensive Epiphone EJ-200SCE in black honestly, because I knew it would look good on my basement wall if it didn't play as well as my Gibson Super Jumbo 200 or either of my Adamas guitars. I am house musician at a local restaurant and play every Friday night. I liked the way the Epiphone (cheaper Indonesian made replica of the SJ200) felt and sounded, so decided to use it at the next gig. It performed so well and the sound coming through my Fishman sa220 was so beyond, that after four years, I take the Epiphone and use it from start to finish at 95% of the Friday gigs and all the others too. Guitar "specialists" will notice it while I am performing and sometimes say, "Oh, it's just an Epiphone, a rip off of the real thing, the Gibson SJ200." I reply, "You are right. My real thing Gibson SJ 200 is in that other gig bag. I use it as a back up for this Epiphone." I got lucky with this guitar. Never held a better playing or better sounding instrument, and I've gigged on an average of 2 nights per week for the last two and a half decades. No, I will never part with it. Be groovy!

  • from VT. June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby

    sweet

    Sweet guitar! sounds great and looks fantastic. And as usual Sweetwaters got it to me fast and in great shape. I really enjoy doing business with them.

  • from springtown, TX June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Nice Guitar for the Money

    I purchased one of these about a month ago. It's a beautiful guitar (I got the black finish) plays well and sounds good to my ears. Sweetwater was very prompt in getting it to me and they have been great in following up the order.

  • from Caribbean January 2, 2017

    Punches Far Above Its Weight!

    I have a Takamine EF341SC and, considering the price of the EJ200SCE, the Epiphone measures up incredibly well to it. I play in a very difficult climate for acoustics (rapid, high heat/high humidity changes from outdoor tropical to air-conditioned environments several times a week. Despite this, the guitar sounds very good, both acoustically and plugged in, plays well, keeps tune very well and definitely looks the part. Workmanship is very good. If it were lost or stolen I would by another without hesitation. I have had it a few months now with constant use, so still keeping an eye to see how it holds up, but so far, so good!

  • from Ohio May 10, 2017

    Epiphone EJ200SCE

    This has to be one of the best guitars out there for the money! Ok, it has a laminated body so it doesn't sound as warm as a Gibson SJ200, but it's real darned good. The pickup does a fine job, and the sound is BIG. Try some Martin Retro strings on it (the ones that say Tony's Choice) - very nice! If you want a very competent instrument to gig with for a very reasonable amount of money, this is the one.

  • from FLORIDA January 17, 2017

    BETTER THAN AVERAGE

    I ALMOST LOVE MY 200, ALTHOUGH I HAVE ONE MAJOR COMPLAINT THAT PROHIBITS ME FROM GIVING IT 5 STARS. THE BATTERIES DON'T LAST WORTH A ****. IN THE MIDDLE OF A PERFORMANCE THE GUITAR STARTS TO BREAK UP AND THERE IS NO INDICATION SHOWING THE BATTERIES ARE BAD. AS A MATTER OF FACT, I CHECKED THE BATTERIES THAT I REPLACED AND THEY SHOWED THAT THEY WERE INDEED STILL GOOD,NOT PERFECT BUT GOOD. IT SEEMS THE GUITAR REQUIRES THE BATTERIES TO BE NOTHING LESS THAN 100% OR THE GUITAR WILL DISTORT. I PUT NEW BATTERIES IN AND IT WAS FINE. I HAVE HEARD THIS SAME COMPLAINT FROM A FEW OTHER 200 OWNERS,SO I AM NOT ALONE AS I'M SURE YOU KNOW. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM AND IF IT EVER CORRECTED I WOULD GET RID OF THIS GUITAR AND GET ANOTHER ONE. I PLAY PRO, AND HAVE FOR MANY YEARS, AND THIS IS THE FIRST GUITAR THAT GAVE ME THIS PROBLEM.....

  • from Texas October 25, 2016Music Background:
    Played drums back in my youth for many years. Play guitar in the Church band accoustic for many years now.

    Epiphone EJ-200SE

    Would have been a great sounding guitar, Except for two things. When I pluged into the guitar it popped every time I moved the guitar, very annoying. And then the guitar had this smell to it like, It had never really dryed right. It conjested my lungs so much I had to send it back. Don't know what kind of finish that they used but, Never could get that smell out of it. No matter how many times I took it outside to get the smell out. And as long as you played it outside with the wind blowing, and didn't plug into a amp. It was good but not what I was expecting. However it played beautifully without the thing being pluged in. and was quite beautifull. Just wish it had been a little bit better.

Questions about the Epiphone EJ-200SCE - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway