0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Epiphone Hummingbird Pro - Faded Cherry Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 48 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Hummingbird Pro - Faded Cherry Sunburst?

Questions about the Epiphone Hummingbird Pro - Faded Cherry Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 21, 2017

    Great Guitar

    It is a great guitar for the price. It sounds great whether it is plugged in to an amp or unplugged, I would recommend the Hummingbird to anyone.

  • from Lomita, CA March 30, 2017Music Background:
    50 years of experience

    Epiphone Hummingbird Pro

    This is an outstanding acoustic guitar, especially for the money. Not only is it beautiful to look at, the sound is incredible both acoustically and amplified. I have been playing for 50 years, and have played Gibson, Fender, Martin, Ovation, etc... In my opinion, this guitar sounds as well as any high end guitar costing hundreds or thousands more.

    Out of the box, the guitar was tuned and ready to play. The action is low, and the neck to me, is quite similar to my 335. (I am primarily an electric player and have some great guitars like. Telecaster AJ-90, Rickenbacker 360, and a Gibson 335). I did however change the stock strings to a set of Martin extra lights. now this guitar really sings. The sound is full and sweet. You can't miss with this guitar! This is a great addition to my collection and I can't wait to show it off at our next gig.

  • from VT March 17, 2017Music Background:
    9513310471

    Jenny

    Sweet guitar for the price. If considering purchase of a higher end guitar and enjoy the sound and feel of a Gibson, give this one a strum first. The more I play her, the sweeter she is.

  • from GA March 11, 2017

    pickguard

    Excellent guitar build quality is impressive and sounds great. Pick guard is too thin but a 3mm thick hand carved one can be purchased

  • from Arizona February 28, 2017Music Background:
    between beginner and novice

    AWESOME

    This guitar is amazing. just beautiful right out of the BOX! always loved the gibson hummingbird but i don't have that kinda cash haha. this is a great instrument you won't be disappointed for this kinda money.. only topped by Sweetwaters amazing service.. awesome job guys.. first time using you but it won't be the last. thanks

  • from San Diego February 26, 2017

    Great guitar

    I love this guitar. I am a beginner and started out with cheap six string acoustic from GC. It was adequate for my level of play, but I wanted to something a little better. This one delivered. Other than being gorgeous, Sweetwater sent it to me all ready to go out of the box. ever since getting this one I have played longer and been able to learn faster. It has a great sound that is clear and crisp. The tapered neck is also great for allowing my fingers to reach the frets more easily. Like I said earlier I am new to playing the guitar and really cant tell some one much about the technical specs on this guitar. What I can say is that I really enjoy playing this guitar and have gotten a lot of enjoyment out of learning on this one. Plus Sweetwater's customer service was second to none. This purchase has made me a fan of Epiphone and Sweetwater.

  • from OH February 6, 2017

    Great Value

    Great guitar. Plays very smooth. Beautiful finish. Great service from Sweetwater as usual!

  • from Parsippany NJ January 25, 2017Music Background:
    Non pro, garage band mostly rhythm guitar player

    Awesome

    I needed a guitar to play with a couple of my friends in his garage, so I went and tested a bunch of inexpensive but nice sounding guitars. The salesperson asked me to try the Hummingbird Pro, I couldn't believe that a $300 guitar could sound so good. Out of the box the guitar was exactly what I was looking for, low action very easy to play, nice to solo with no fret buzz on any fret, I tested it over and over up and down the fretboard. The Grover tuners are great it stays in tune, I absolutely love this guitar, I can't put it down.

  • from Moundsville, WV January 3, 2017Music Background:
    playing for more than 50 years.

    Hummingbird Pro

    Great guitar!! Read several reviews about the Hummingbird Pro and watched several videos. All said the guitar was a great bargain. It was more than expected. Plays and sounds great. Also, beautiful to look at.

  • from Tacoma Wa December 17, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate picker and strummer

    the bird is the word

    yet another high quality instrument for a great price from Epiphone! I already own a ej200 Artist and a Masterbilt DR500 from epi and this recent addittion to my collection will fit right in Beautiful finish sweet shimmerery tone thats not too bright super comfy fretboard and the set up from sweetwater was spot on NO REGRETS VERY HAPPY W/ MY PURCHASE!

  • from Kansas December 9, 2016

    Excellent Guitar

    I have owned this guitar for about a year and, it has performed flawlessly perfect. It has pleased me so much that I have sold 2 Seagull guitars 1 Takamine 1 Ovation just because they could not compare in sound and, playability with this Hummingbird Pro! I knew that I wouldn't play them anymore so they went Bye Bye. This is just a superb guitar in every way. I would purchase another one in a heartbeat! It truly is a beautiful looking instrument. The pictures here on Sweetwater are pretty darned good but, you really need to see it in person!

  • from Missoula,MT November 22, 2016Music Background:
    Long time pro-musician

    Great guitar

    The Epiphone Hummingbird pro is a great guitar in its own right. I have Martins and this guitar is somewhat brighter in tone which is what I like for live performance because I play finger style. The construction and finish are perfect, I have not found a single flaw. The onboard electronics work quite well, the bass end maybe a little overbearing but not something that can't be dealt with easily. It is well worth the coin you will drop for this guitar.

  • from Albion, Pa. November 9, 2016Music Background:
    play guitar, clarinet, sax and uprightn bass, have a small collection of guitars

    Epiphone Hummingbird

    Received the guitar today. It was very well packaged and the finish is fantastic for a guitar in this price range. Played it thru my amp and the sound is great !!!!!! I liked dealing with Sweetwater and I believe I got a great price.

  • from Pittsburgh October 3, 2016

    Amazing Guitar

    I absolutely love everything about this guitar, looks, sound, feel. I loved the experience dealing with sweetwater and won't buy anywhere else. Keep up the good work!

  • from Arkansas May 11, 2016Music Background:
    25 years experience

    SIMPLY AMAZED.

    This guitar is an excellent guitar. It's the BEST guitar at this price point that I have ever played. Action and intonation are perfect, especially after sweetwaters added 55 point inspection. Not only am i an new convert to epiphone acoustics, I will now be loyal and exclusive with Sweetwater.

  • from Orlando Fl. April 9, 2016

    Very nice sound and set-up

    This was an amazing buy, I got a lot more bang for my buck as far as sound and playability go's it stays in tune and when plugged into an accoustic amp one I purchased from Sweetwater a couple years ago I might mention it has an even better sound on all realms the highs and the lows and it even sounds pretty wild when paired with behringer metal dust. Peddle just for kicks

  • from February 25, 2016Music Background:
    Jam a lot, never as much as I want

    Great Value

    The guitar is prettier than I was anticipating. Intonation is great and the sound is consistent throughout the fretboard. Since it is a solid top I am looking forward to what it will sound like in the years to come. This guitar was a gift to my son and he hasn't put it down.

  • from Bellingham November 15, 2015Music Background:
    30 years playing currently a rhythm guitarist / lead vocalist in a gigging band

    Amazing value

    I have had my eye on this guitar for a couple of years. I got mine yesterday and it was perfect, and arrived a couple of days early. It has a beautiful finish and looks like the Gibson. The differences are of course the price, and from what I can gather, place of manufacture, the wood quality, the inlays, the pick ups and the bracing. Well that is over $2 k, and yes if you have the money, I can fully understand the investment on the Gibson.
    My other guitars are a Martin DS1 (all sapelle wood), USA strat, Epi Les Paul 60s tribute, and a Epi Sheraton. I have had them all professionally set up and fret work done where necessary. This guitar does not look like it needs a set up, but I will probably take it in a see nevertheless.

    Okay, this guitar plays so beautifully. I love the neck and fingering / fretting notes is very clean and easy, which reduces fret buzz. Its sustain is off the charts and then I plugged it into my Vox amp... cant wait for band rehersal it will be perfect, nice pre amp, controls are very well thought out.

    I have owned and played many guitars over the past 30 years playing. Some nice, some expensive, some meh. We all have our opinions of what we think sounds good and that really is the bottom line, how does it sound to you? Take away the label and the snobbery and that is all that matters.

    I will say that this is honestly one of the best sounding acoustic guitars I have ever heard or played. That
    after 24 hours of owning it. Yes, I really know quickly if a guitar is one I like or not. For $299 bucks I do not understand how this guitar makes money for Epiphone. This is just my opinion, but after reading the other comments I can see many people have the same reaction.

  • from November 5, 2015

    eppiphone hummingbird guitar

    Killer ax, Love It! Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from San Antonio, Texas July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Folk, Punk, Blues

    Best guitar I've ever owned!!

    After anxiously waiting for my new Epiphone Hummingbird Pro, I can honestly say it's been worth the wait. Out of the box it sounds heavenly and the action is perfect. Came in perfect condition with no damage and everything I ordered with it was tucked in there safely. I have to give the sweetwater team a 10/10 on service and special thanks to my amazing sales engineer, Josh Estock, who provided excellent customer service. I will be buying from sweetwater again.

  • from Bristol, VA February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Hummingbird Pro

    This is an excellent instrument, especially for the price. The materials are nice and the finish really pops. Really the guitar looks like it should cost more than it does. It has a nice tone and it has great playability, i.e. the neck feels good, the action is right, etc. Based on this purchase I will likely purchase another Epiphone again; and as usual, from Sweetwater.com. As always my sales associate called me and worked with me, I received impeccable customer service, and I received the guitar almost immediately.

  • from Cedar Park, TX December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Church/Praise & Worship, hobby recording

    Fantastic Guitar for $300 !!!

    Got it right out of the box and it played great. I knew it was newly made so I just hung it on my wall for 3 months and let it adapt. Took it down and adjusted the neck and played. It plays like a dream! Really a fantastic Guitar for the money. It has been several months now and it is VERY close to a Gibson costing several times more. Great woods, finish and sound! Great pickups/electronics as well. Plays and adjust good for live music at Church.

  • from San Jose, CA October 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician - Multi-instrumentalist

    Epiphone Hummingbird Pro - aided by Patrick Cobley

    A fine high-quality instrument, with smooth sweet brassy highlights in tone, and spectacular workmanship throughout. It complements my wonderful old trusty Advanced Jumbo 220SCE, also by Epiphone. Earned $ on a gig with my Hummingbird the first full day I had it! I lowered the saddle slightly on the treble side, and the straight neck and profoundly even fretwork by Epiphone allow super low action free of buzzings. With Xlite gauge D'Addario phosphor bronze strings, it is a lyrical gem for jazzy fingerpicking styles, for any kind of substantial music. Folks actually gasp with delight when the see and here the Hummingbird. And Patrick Cobley of Sweetwater, a pro sound engineer, is the best salesman I've found anywhere!

  • from Forest Grove, OR September 20, 2014Music Background:
    Family of player's My Family played for Party's and etc.

    Epiphone Hummimgbird Pro I IS THE BEST )

    This is the Best Guitar I've had for this Price , Great sound ,plays well ,nice neck . pretty to look at and the people at Sweetwater are the best . Never had a company to do as they do and the best thing is also ,they give you a little treat of candy to say thanks also . The people stay on top of everything like your family making sure your satisfied with all they've done and the best part they ship it free no matter what the cost is and when you want it. Thanks Everyone ., for the Great Job. Please Thank everyone for me.
    Thanks Barb from Forest Grove ,Oregon .

  • from NE September 8, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player and gigging semi-pro musician for 30+ years

    Beautiful Guitar

    Like many, I've always pined for an actual Gibson Hummingbird, but I've never been in that tax bracket, and likely never will be. However, I am a fan of finding excellent, giggable budget-priced guitars. Well, I saw the 0% financing for two years offer, asked the boss (wife) for approval, and about a week later my Hummingbird arrived.

    First, this is an absolutely beautiful guitar. The cherryburst is flawless, the binding is mostly perfect except for some slight stain smudges here and there, and, really, the only flaw I can find is a tiny unfinished spot where the neck touches the soundhole. The mahogany of the back and sides is gorgeous, and the grain of the spruce top is beautiful.

    I love the neck. I primarily play Fenders, so the "slim taper D" designation didn't mean much to me, but to me it's a fairly chunky D, sort of like a 70s strat or tele, but maybe slightly wider. Regardless, I don't have huge hands, but I like a neck with some heft, and this one is just about perfect. It's probably my favorite guitar neck now. The tuners are Grovers and are extremely smooth and steady. The frets and inlays are excellent - no sloppy craftsmanship, and I haven't encountered any high/low fret issues.

    This thing plays like a dream. I really couldn't be happier with the action out of the box. I did swap in a tusq saddle, and shaved it down to the point that the action is slightly higher than out of the box, but that's just because I ran out of time for my project and needed to get some strings back on the thing. The action is still great, and I'm not sure if I'm going to try to lower it at the next string change or not.

    Tone-wise, this guitar has good volume and is very sensitive to how and where you pick the strings. I tend to strum or pluck the strings toward the bridge side of the soundhole, and I find the tone to be very balanced. It's not the warmest guitar you'll ever hear, but that will improve with age, but it also sounds like a much more expensive guitar. It has a lot of sparkle and decent midrange output, so it's not overly bright and it's not boomy at all. It just sounds great, either strummed or fingerpicked.

    The intonation has been good. Initially it was slightly off on the Low E and B strings, but it also arrived during a July with extremely up and down weather. It's now settled down and is just about perfect. I've always found that acoustic guitars need to settle for at least a couple of months before worrying about the intonation (unless it's really off).

    The pickup sounds fine. Piezos always have limitations - this one is no better or worse than the many others I've heard. It has good EQ adjustability, so you can get just about any sound you'd like.

    Overall, I love this guitar and it's truly a steal for $300. It plays and sounds like a much more expensive guitar. I can't put it down. It's endless fun to play. That's the whole point, isn't it?

    This shouldn't be compared to a $3000 Gibson, and saying "it's better or worse" than that iconic instrument is, to me, a moot point. Enjoy this instrument for what it is, and play it proudly. I think anyone who sees, hears and plays mine would agree.

  • from September 4, 2014Music Background:
    play for fun

    sweet cherry burst

    I absolutely love my burst.Huge sound and the action is low.this is an awesome guitar.for the price, you cant beat it.SWEETWATER RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from Maine August 10, 2014Music Background:
    play for fun

    beautiful, great playing guitar

    got my epi hummingbird and its everything I want in a guitar.first off, this guitar is absolutely beautiful.it came with nice tight "grover" tuners.the action is low and the sound is amazing.i am more than happy.it came well packaged, and I got it from across the country in 3 days.....SWEETWATER RULES!!!!!!!!!!!! will definitely order from again...

  • from Southport, nc July 14, 2014Music Background:
    Christian contemporary , old rock and new country.

    Great guitar and pay as you play, what's not to like.

    Solid wood and pick up is awesome, for the price you can't beat the guitar. I've got Martin and Gibson and this is a great sound and the playing guitar, I bought a guitar case and it was great as well.

  • from Knoxville, TN June 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone Hummingbird Pro Great Deal

    I contemplated this pruchase for several months, and then in May I really got serious. After reading several reviews of previous purchasers of the Hummingbird, I jumpd in and made the buy. This is a very sweet sounding guitar. It feels great in mmy hands and plys very well. It was set up well by Sweetwater. It has awesome intonation. I can bar cord the crap out of the guitar and all the cords are right on. One of the best acouistic guitars I've played, especially for the price. I love the look, too. One of the best guitar buys I've made.

  • from Northport, Fl. June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Cristian, folk, and the love of Guitars

    ONE NICE GUITAR

    Ive had this guitar on my mind for a lone time, and then there it was, in acoustic guitar mag. [ My goal, im sure the same as a lot of poor folks like me , was to someday own a Gibson], so, i bought it! Well, i can say that i am BLOWN AWAY! I love my new Ax. This guitar is no joke, the best deal Epiphone has to offer, a steal! This is the 3rd epiphone i have bought, [ All from Sweetwater i might add ] and i must say, the best one yet. I have fallen for these epiphones, i have yet to by a pc of junk. You will not be sorry, this Hummingbird sings, and sounds Great! Right out of the box , with the strings it came with, it played and sounded stunning. Iam putting better strings on it, D,Addario EJ16 LIGHT .012-.053 phosphor bronze. These work well i find. The Shadow e-performer preamp is awsome, when i plugged it in, it was a whole new deal. The sound will suprise you. Iam happy to say this hummingbird will be with me for life. ( its my Gibson! ) And my music friends, they love it also!! I will always shoot for that chance at a Gibson, but for right now, im going to enjoy this one. THANK YOU SWEETWATER! As always, the intire buying prosses was a snap. You folks are awsome...

  • from Santa Cruz, CA (USA) June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Occasional Jammer

    Great Guitar for the Price

    I am somewhere between a beginner and intermediate guitar player (probably closer to beginner) and own an Epiphone Les Paul electric guitar that I just love the look and feel of. Recently, I've been learning some songs on the acoustic so that I can play along with my wife, who is just getting started as a beginner. So I wanted to get an acoustic/electric that I can play along with my wife, but also plug into an amp and play with some guys who I've been getting together with to jam a little bit recently, playing mostly bluesy stuff. So I picked the Epiphone Hummingbird because, first of all, I love my Epiphone electric, but also because the sunburst design kinda matches the design of my electric. The reviews also say that it's a pretty good guitar for the price and I don't need a $2,000 guitar just yet. So far, I'm fully satisfied with my purchase.

    The only hiccup in the road was that the first guitar that was sent to me was damaged in shipping. I contacted Sweetwater right away and they sent out a replacement the following day, along with a waybill to return the damaged guitar. That's the kind of customer service that will bring me back again and again. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Corinth, Ms USA May 16, 2013Music Background:
    Very experienced in Country, Bluegrass & Gospel Music

    Hummingbird Pro AE guitar

    I was amazed at the quality of this instrument. I have 11 other guitars, some of which were quite expensive. The new Hummingbird Pro is very possibly the finest guitar I've owned in my 53 year music career. No doubt, I will be selling, at least, most of my other guitars. The Hummingbird has become my #1 instrument in all my Church work & all the other programs I do in my Christian Ministry. The Epiphone Co. outdid themselves on this one. I am seriously happy with it.

  • from Cottonwood, AZ USA May 7, 2013Music Background:
    Picking and strumming off and on for 40+ years

    Epiphone Hummingbird Pro

    This guitar not only looks beautiful, it sounds fantastic too! I own a Taylor 314 and wanted a less expensive guitar I could take with me when I travel. This guitar did not break the bank but I have definitely fallen in love with it. The action was great right out of the box, up and down the neck. The guitar sounds beautiful, especially when strummed. I have been playing this guitar as much as my Taylor since I received it and enjoy having two guitars with a completely different sound. I think the Hummingbird is actually nicer than my Taylor for accompanying my voice when singing alt-country/folk tunes. I do reach for my Taylor first when finger picking Hawaiian Slack key style. Both guitars sound nice for finger picking country blues, just different. Since I don't have an amp, I have not tried the electronics on the guitar. I looked carefully at the guitar and thought that the quality far exceeded what I would expect for the money I spent. If you are looking for a beautiful looking and sounding instrument at a reasonable price I would highly recommend this guitar. I also appreciate dealing with Sweetwater. They are a great company to do business with.

  • from NC April 28, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Awesome Guitar Folks

    I agree with my fellow Hummingbird fans, this guitar is awesome sounding and really beautiful to look at. I especially like it plugged into my Fishman LoudBox and run through my Zoom A2 Acoustic Guitar Pedal. My wife wants it and says the Hummingbird makes it more of a ladies guitar, but I disagree. I told her when I finally buy my dream Taylor guitar I would think about giving it to her, but for now it's all mine!

  • from C Falls, MT March 27, 2013

    Great sound, impressive tone when plugged in.

    Great guitar for the price. Accoustic tone is nice and I am really impressed with the sound plugged in. Pretty looking thing too.

  • from Hamton Roads January 18, 2017Music Background:
    Rock & Roll / Church

    Eppirphone Hummingbird Review

    I have a hard time paying 4K for Gibson Hummingbird. My friend's father had one when I was growing-up and it sounded great, but my Martin D28 still is significantly better My wife ordered this for a Christmas present. It arrived and I let it set in the box for week before it was opened. The set-up was good, but I adjusted just a bit and replaced the strings with D'Addario EXP16 Coated Phosphor Bronze Light Acoustic then I played them for a couple of days and replaced them with Martin Extra Light.

    The finish is great and was well buffed. It sounds better with the Martin Strings instead of the D'Addario strings. The intonation is on the money. For a just mfg. guitar I am surprised. The sound is well balanced, the mid-tones are slightly higher than I like, but that will improve with age. The electronics are not the best but running thru my Fender Acoustic Amp , I can tweak it so it sound ok.

    It is a great guitar, I will change the nut and saddle, that will also improve the sound.

    For a $ guitar u can not go wrong.

    Additionally, I can not say enough about the shipping packaging , the 55 step guitar process prior to shipping and the great customer service from Sweetwater. I will keep the guitar and will play it regularly.

  • from August 16, 2016

    Love it

    Love this guitar. Every thing about I like.

  • from Union, MS. July 25, 2016Music Background:
    56 years of building and playing guitars

    epip hummingbird pro

    I have been playing my new bird for almost two weeks now. I love the country twang and how easy it is to bend and slide notes. I don't like the plastic nut, bridge saddle and bridge pins. The Gibson bird uses a bone nut, Tusq compensated saddle and I don't know what they use for bridge pins.

    If Gibson uses them in a $3k guitar, I think I will try it on my hummer Jr.

    That should be a minor retrofit. So why do it you ask ? Tone Baby Tone.

  • from September 12, 2015

    Hummingbird pro

    Great instrument. Was in tune right out of the box, and has remained in tune. Very good product for the price

  • from August 20, 2015

    Great guitar for the price

    This is a great guitar for the price. It looks great and it plays well too. The action is really good. Mine has no fret buzz and i even put lighter gage strings on it. It has some nice features at this price point. Would have been nice if they had included the tuner on the preamp but at this price I guess you cant have everything. Fits well in the epiphone edred case so I highly recommend that . and sweetwter has the best service ever, they go out of their way to make you happy every time. Read more reviews and you will see this same comment on most of them!

  • from El Paso, TX September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Hooked on SweetWater

    Just finished inspecting my new Hummingbird and put it through its paces. I couldn't be more pleased. If you've ever been afraid to buy a 'Made in China' instrument, don't be. Sweetwater's 55 step setup insures you'll get all the instrument is capable of right out of the box. I bought a Gretsch form another company, I had to change tuners and do a major setup to get that playable If you want an acoustic/electric this will fill just about any need you have, this is your baby.. Nice tone and easy to play. No hum, buzz or any problems acoustic or plugged in.

    Everybody claims great customer service, Sweetwater delivers on every order. Chris McCown has always called to let me know my order was being processed. You'll get a call and or an e-mail keeping you advised of status. Even for just a set of strings! The little bag of candy packed with your purchase is a nice touch.

  • from Downing town Pa August 16, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Epiphone hummingbird pro

    I am very happy with my purchase I bought the guitar and case and they are both stunning. I honestly bought this as a vacation guitar bang around on the deck, but the more I play it the more I like the balanced tone nice playability and feel. I realize this is a 400.00 dollar purchase...... I own a vintage Martin and J-45 but you know what this thing plays, records and sounds really nice to my ears. It puts a smile on my face. I am also pleased with the electronics which sound very full through my Bose acoustic PA. I hope this is helpful.

  • from Michigan USA April 24, 2013Music Background:
    22 years of playing guitar. At home couch player

    Epiphone Hummingbird Pro

    This is a great guitar for the money hell it's a great guitar for even twice the money,but don't tell Epiphone that. This guitar plays great up and down the neck with a great tone. The finish on the Hummingbird is very nice, but the electronics blew me away through my Vox aga70 acoustic amp. This is my first time dealing with Sweetwater and not my last these guys were great. They even called me to let me know they were shipping it out the same day I ordered it. I had it in 2 days with free shipping even.

  • from Lewisville, TX August 19, 2015

    Great budget guitar

    First off, my rep Skylar has been one of the best reps I've had for any service related industry, and has sold me on Sweetwater customer service. I will be a Sweetwater customer for the foreseeable future. Everything you've heard about Sweetwater is very true, which is not always the case with the interwebz.

    That being said, this is a pretty good guitar, but not a perfect guitar. It came fast, well packed, and had almost a perfect (for me) setup. The frets were a little on the dull and "scratchy" side and needed a good polishing before they were bend worthy, but I don't expect a retailer to go that far for free (I work on my own guitars and know what it takes to do fret work and setup guitars...they exceeded my expectations). Outside of that, the setup was ideal, minimal relief (just enough) and low action for an acoustic (3/32" on bass side and 1/16" on treble side at 12th fret). However nut action still needs some tweaking, but it's not bad by any means. This is one of the best out of the box setups I've seen, especially compared to "brick and mortar" stores I've visited and purchased from (hint hint). It could still use some tweaking depending on your playing style and preference, but it's very very playable out of the box. If you're a beginner that hasn't yet developed particular needs/preferences, you're good to go.

    This is a beautiful guitar that sounds pretty good acoustically, but not great. Plug it in, though, and it really seems to shine. I don't believe the preamp to be flat at neutral settings. Played acoustically, the bass is there but can be lacking compared to other similar guitars, and it is a touch "boxy" sounding and not too terribly loud. Mids seem to be accentuated, treble a little laid back, and volume not that great. However, plug it in and it opens up very nicely and the bass is actually TOO much (played through a Fishman Loudbox Mini at neutral settings), and needs to be turned down. Boost the treble a bit, cut the bass a lot, and adjust the "dynamics" (aka mids) to your liking, and this thing really opens up and sounds nothing like it does acoustically. This is a guitar that needs to be plugged in to sound awesome. Maybe that's just the "Gibson/Epiphone acoustic sound", but I'm not a huge fan. Acoustically it's pretty generic compared to other guitars. It reminds me of my old Yamaha FGX700SC which is basically an electric FG700S...sounds very similar and in the same price bracket.

    Skylar recommended the Taylor 114e after expressing my thoughts on the Hummingbird, and boy was she dead on. If you can afford it, or you're looking to upgrade, I'd recommend the Taylor 114e for sure. Acoustically, the bass is much better, overall not nearly as boxy sounding, the treble is much more pronounced, volume is quite a bit louder given the same strum, and overall quality of sound (and build) is much better. That all being said, when plugged in, they are pretty similar guitars when EQ'd. Actually I'd venture to say the Hummingbird sounds a tad better plugged in. The Hummingbird has a much better control layout and much more control on the guitar itself than the Taylor, which only has a simple treble, bass, and volume controls, and a small switch for phase on the electronics inside the sound hole (really Taylor???). This reason alone is why I've (mostly) decided to keep the Epiphone. It lacks acoustically compared to other offerings, but plugged in it's a whole different ball game. It's still up in the air, but I don't see me sending it back at this time. Plus it's purty lol. However, I will definitely keep the Taylor 114e as well. It's a much better acoustic guitar.

    That all being said, this is a great entry level guitar, and it's hard to beat for the money. If all you have is $300 I wouldn't hesitate recommending this guitar at all. Compared to other offerings in this price bracket (of which I've demo'd A LOT), it is at least on par and seems to excel in certain areas. Given the choice, I would choose this over my old Yamaha. However, if you have some extra dough you're willing to dish out take a look at Martin and Taylor's "entry level" full size offerings (their entry level is mid-high end on the overall spectrum unless you're filthy rich)...they're quite a bit better and incredible bang for the buck.

    Remember when it comes to acoustics, you get what you pay for. They're not nearly as tweakable and upgradeable as full on electric guitars, which are much more easily upgraded and customized.

  • from California July 2, 2014Music Background:
    intermediate guitarist

    Great guitar for the money!

    I couldn't give it 5 stars because it is not a Gibson. It is a good quality, great sounding and easy to play guitar. I did have to lower the action and I put some lighter strings on it. I also installed a Tusq saddle and replaced the bridge pins with Martin bridge pins for a better tone from the guitar. I will next replace the nut with a Tusq nut next time I change strings. These changes are very minimal in cost and will make the guitar better sounding. Well worth it. I play mostly finger style but when this guitar is strummed it is loud and beautiful sounding. It also sounds great plugged in. I do wish it had an on board tuner. Overall, this is a great guitar for $300.00.

  • from Los Angeles, CA April 28, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing a few years as hobby.

    Great guitar for the money

    Great feel, good tone and really nice finish.

    However, when I got the guitar, the strings were already digging into the plastic saddle it came with. So I replaced the plastic nut, saddle, and bridge pins with a set made of bone. That was a big improvement. I would recommend that to anyone buying this guitar because the ones it comes with are super cheapos. I also put some tension on the truss rod to get the action right and changed the strings.

    After a few tweaks it plays really nice and sounds good, but it's also just a baby. It still smells like glue inside. I'm sure in five or ten years once it's aged and opened up it will sound great. No problem, I plan to keep it a long time. This was a great deal for the price.

  • from palm city fl. July 11, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/student

    epi hummingbird

    very nice looking guitar to hang on a wall. plays ok. worth the money, but as is said: "you get what pay for".

  • from Corinth, Miss. December 12, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro entertainer

    Disapointed

    I first bought the cherry colored & was overjoyed, but during my 5th. performance the endpin jack came loose & slipped out a half inch & shorted out. Epiphone would not send me a jack so I traded it back to Sweetwater for an EJ200. I later bought another hummingbird in ebony, but it had the same problem plus it came with 2 different kinds of bridgepins in it. Epiphone sent me a new set of pins, but I discovered two of the pinholes had been drilled crooked. I "pawnshopped" it so I lost money on both deals. If Epiphone would give me a good deal under circumstances, I'd get another one. This is the guitar I always wanted, but I can't afford to lose any more money on one. They are NOT being inspected like they should be.

Questions about the Epiphone Hummingbird Pro - Faded Cherry Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway