0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Epiphone John Lennon EJ-160E Artist Series - Vintage Cherry Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
  • from Masssachusetts August 28, 2015

    Got one of the last ones

    I am glad to have gotten The John Lennon EJ160EBefore end of production.. Setup right this is a sweet guitar. And now since there are no new ones being made it should be sought after to get that true John Lennon sound... I wound mine as he did with flat wound piramids.. Play it through a VOX AC 25 and wow.. Does it sound great.. Our band Beatlebilly, people say the sound id fantastic...

  • from Clinton, ME June 26, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, gigs, mic nights and pure pleasure from playing

    Best guitar I own PERIOD

    First, I am a headstock label snob so was reluctant to purchase the Epiphone version over the Gibson version. BUT, I was fortunate enough to play them both at my local music shop. Same materials, same feel, same fit and finish, same pure sound = NO-brainer. I own MANY Gibsons I have purchased from Sweetwater and elsewhere and have a few Epiphones too. This guitar is the cream of the crop!!!
    I bought a beautiful Martin Acoustic from Sweetwater a few months ago and love the natural tone but wanted an acoustic-electric so saw this one and tried it.
    It is AMAZING!!! The electronics are not like other acoustic-electrics. This is set up like an electric with a tone and volume knob and a small humbucker tucked between the sound hole and neck.
    The only thing I have done is change the strings to the brand I prefer and that made a huge difference as cheap strings tend to come with new guitars. I love how this looks, feels and sounds. It is a stunning guitar and will accompany me to many mic nights, some plugged and some unplugged. I will also gig with this, this is the acoustic I will always bring with me, even when I travel.
    Those few reviewers who had negative comments about the electronics of this must not be hearing what I hear. I plug directly into my Randall tube amp and stack and use the clean channel and she is music to my ears. This may well be the best bargain out there today and I hear they are going to discontinue production. I can not believe they make this guitar and sell it for this low of a price. I am going to buy a second one and put it away to have as an investment or to keep pristine. It is time for me to trim the herd a bit but if I had to choose only one guitar to own, this would be the one, over the Martin and Gibsons and American Fenders I own. I truly am BLOWN AWAY by this guitar.
    BUY this if you can get one, you will not regret it....take that to the bank and it will go up in value too, for certain. It is a beautiful masterpiece that sounds like a two thousand dollar guitar!!

  • from Celina, OH. United States May 27, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    Epiphone EJ-160E guitar

    Beautiful guitar. Plays great right out of the box! Sweetwater always delivers and Jared,(ext.1662) has always went out of his way to help me and has never steered me wrong. I only buy from Sweetwater and Jared. Free and quick shipping, free warranty, great prices and great service. Why buy from anyone else.

  • from Justin, TX May 1, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Enthusiast

    Nice Acoustic - just don't plug it in!

    I bought this guitar solely based on the John Lennon aspect. I have several other acoustic guitars but couldn't resist adding this to my collection. I went to the Guitar Gallery and picked out my favorite one and also ordered the matching case. The guitar itself is a fantastic value and playing it somehow gives you a euphoric sense of being there. Acoustically, it sounds as good as my more expensive guitars. I did replace the bridge pins with GraphTech TUSQ and yes, it did make a noticeable difference. My disappointment comes when I plug it in. The pickup produces a very low, muffled sound compared to an under-the-saddle style pickup system. I have tried multiple EQ settings and nothing seems to get it to an acceptable sound quality for me. It is quite boomy and lackluster. However, this is not a showstopper since I don't plan to use it live and when I record I always mic everything up anyway. I do usually like to include a track from the pickup in addition to the mics but I don't on this one. I still enjoy the guitar and play it around the house more often than I thought I would. As always, your mileage may vary since we all have different ears.

  • from Ithaca, MI USA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    John Lennon Enthusiast. :P, Jazz Musician

    Great Guitar

    Would have given 5 stars but pickups were kind of weak when it comes to my low end. Was really blown away for the sound it gave unplugged but pickups need some work. But for the most part this is a really good guitar.

  • from Houston, Texas March 17, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    Can buy me love!!

    First things first: nothing is perfect. However Sweetwater sure as hell reaches for it in every way. Spoke with Mark Chapman over the phone a few times and I can tell you his knowledge, enthusiasm and dedication to making certain the fellow musician/customer he's servicing is satisfied is second to none!! The guitar as a whole is Beautiful. Gorgeous Mahogany body and neck. The neck is straight as an arrow; stays in tune nicely with a warm full sound you'd expect from a Dreadnaught. Plugged in it the electronics give a humming/buzzy sound, which is why I'm not giving it a perfect rating. Owning this Epiphone made to same specs as what John Lennon recorded Rubber Soul with is very satisfying. Thanks Sweetwater!!

  • from Springfield, IL March 15, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced long time Player

    GREAT Guitar

    Love this Guitar. Sound ,tone and the overall quality workmanship that went into this guitar is amazing.I will be playing this guitar for a very long time. Totally satisfied in every way!!!! Photos just don't give this truly beautiful guitar justice.

    Sweetwater your service and support has been outstanding. I just now ordered the Epiphone DR500MCE acoustic. Can't wait for it to get here. Bought this guitar primarily for finger picking .
    My experience with Sweetwater has been very positive . Would not consider doing business with anyone else.

  • from Summerfield, FL, USA February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Youth Neighborhood Band, High School Rock Band, US Veteran and Member of Military Dependent Rock Band in the late 60's, Accomplished Musician from generations of teching new guitar students, Singer/Songwriter, now collector of fine instruments to pass alo

    A Truely Inspirational Guitar

    Just received my new EJ-160E Acoustic Guitar, great tone, excellent quality and the tingle of playing an instrument that brings me back to the days of my youth when every new song that the Beatles wrote, sang and recorded now comes to light again, this time energized my own hands. Another fine addition to my collection. Thanks to Sweetwater for making this purchase so special.

  • from Kearney, MO USA November 6, 2012Music Background:
    Performing guitarist for 36 years, guitar instructor. Worship team member.

    Must have!

    This guitar is an excellent value and a real collector's item. Exquisite tone and the Sweetwater team set the action precisely to my personal preferences. The finish is beautiful. This is an excellent instrument for both the novice and the professional.

  • from North Carolina, USA October 13, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician,

    Plays great - - sounds not so great.

    Ordered this guitar from Sweetwater on a whim, and had always like the look of this particular model Epi. Havng played one years ago, I remember the nice woody tone and lightweight of the guitar. Received it in good shape, but immediately noticed how very, very HEAVY this new model was. Maybe I got a bad one, who knows - - but it was no doubt the heaviest, deadest-sounding guitar I've had in my hands in ages. Changing out the strings for fresh D'Addario's helped a little with the tone, but not much. I'm a semi-pro 50+ yr. player and have owned many high-dollar acoustics (i.e., Martin, Gibson, Taylor) so I know good sound and good quality. This was supposed to be a nice-looking and sounding "beater" for me to take out instead of my old, expensive Yairi or Gibson J-35, but alas ths model just didin't cut it. Be advised that the body is NOT flame maple (as the description says) but is lamainated Mahogany, not that it matters, just a misprint in the specs.

    While it was very heavy, massive, and tinny-sounding acoustically, it did have a decent tone when plugged in, but really nothing to write home about. The workmanship was very neat overall, but I just can't get over how massive the construction was on this guitar. Huge internal bracing didn't help the overall weight. It did play like a dream, though, with perfect intonation all the way up the neck. Very nice fingerboard, slick fret job, and nice low action. Unfortunately, the neck was very fat, and a bit wider than I like, and with my arthritis this did not work at all. Reminded me a lot of the old Kay or Kraftsman "baseball bat" neck profiles of the 1960's, so regrettably with all the negatives I was forced to send this guitar back for a refund. I feel that if this model sounded good acoustically and wasn't so heavy it would have been just OK, but is overpriced for what it is.

    I was impressed with Sweetwater's great service, their free setup, and willingness to accept my subsquent return of this guitar. While I'm a fan of Epiphone, and have been for many years, I just can't recommend this Epi model if you are looking for that good, woody tone acoustically - - I'd say go with something more lively (like the AJ-200 or the Hummingbird, which I have owned and they are both great guitars for the $$$). For recording purposes, this EJ-160e would work well, and would probably suit your needs in the studio, or even plugged in on stage, because it played like a dream and stayed in tune throughout a whole set with no problems. I really wanted this guitar to work out because it was a real beauty and it had the pickup, but there are much better options out there, for less money, even in the Epiphone line. Guess it depends on what you are needing and looking for. If you are searchng for good, airy acoustic tone and a lightweight instrument, this is NOT the guitar for you. UPDATE: I did later manage to settle on a nice Epi Masterbilt AJ-500M (Factory 2nd, recently discontinued) from eBay that is totally awesome in every way, for 1/2 the price of this EJ-160E, so I'm still a fan of Epiphone and their products.

  • from calexico, ca usa September 21, 2012Music Background:
    begginer musician

    great guitar

    very good sounding guitar, the finish is great i only want to say only one thing the guitar its awesomeeeeee....

  • from San Antonio, Texas June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Classic Rock Enthusiast

    Awesome Guitar after some minor adjustments

    Great guitar. The only issue it had was the action was a little high for my playing style. A few turns with an allen wrench and viola! It's now a very easy guitar to play. I would say the fingering now is as easy as playing an electric guitar. The overall construction, fit finish book matching are all awesome. I can't believe that I got this guitar for $344 just because there is a dent on the back of the headstock where it was stamped "used". I play classic rock and this guitar is perfect for that. It sounds awesome either plugged or unplugged. I play a lot of Beatles tunes so this will be my choice when I play those. But this guitar is suitable to play any style of music on, it's really a superior instrument.

  • from MN. April 28, 2012Music Background:
    For fun

    Nice Epiphone

    Nice version of the Gibon model without the cost. Have played other copies of this and they were a little easier to play because of the thinner necks, but their pickups weren't as good as this. Good looking and a deep, rich sound through an amp because of the location and type of pickup. Affordable and it's Beatle gear you are buying this for, right? I own it and I like it.

  • from Frisco,TX,USA February 1, 2011

    EJ- , Great sounding

    Great sounding guitar with all the quality makings of a Gibson product. Quality and performance by far compares with more expensive guitars.

  • from USA April 14, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar

    The first time I playesd this guitar, I was blown away by the playability and sound. The finish is flawless on mine, beautiful. I play it thru a SWR California Blond II amp. Sounds great, lots of bass, yet is controlled. Im not a John Lennon fan, never have been. I dont want to get into that(the way I feel about who he was) but I do respect him, he was an awesome song writer, and legendary, all politics aside. Anyway,great guitar, love it.

  • from Terre Haute September 22, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Solid Choice

    I've owned the EJ-160E for over 2 years and play it regularly. It is very playable and has a good sound. I've plugged it into a variety of Marshalls, Epiphones, Behringers, and Peaveys with good results. Because of the mini-humbucker, you will not get the traditional acoustic tone.

  • from North Shore of Lake Superior, MN May 2, 2008Music Background:
    lifetime amateur

    Exceeded Expectations

    I am a total amateur player with 20 years on the same crummy Palmer 6 string. This guitar is wonderful. I sounds and plays great, plugged or unplugged. The neck has a great feel and it is very easy to get Beatles/Dylan sounds. I should have upgraded a long time ago. Build quality is excellent and the elixir strings that were recommended are well worth the extra $$$. Minor hassle with wrong case was dealt with very well from Sweetwater. I will use them for all my future music purchases.

  • from cincinnati ohio December 16, 2007Music Background:
    semi pro muscian and collector

    awesome

    played the guitar right out of the box.set up was great sound wonderful finish flwaless. played it in comparision with my gibson j45 and the sound was almost identicle .the j45 cost 1999.00. you must have this guitar!

  • from USA October 2, 2007

    If John Were Here...

    I'm a huge Beatle fan. I couldn't wait to get my hands on my new John Lennon EJ-160E Limited Addition acoustic-electric guitar. I've been checking my shipping status several times a day. It arrived today and I’m speechless. It's an honor beyond words to even be playing this guitar, let alone own it. No wonder John (and George) loved his and routinely used it on recordings. If John were with us, I think he would love this replica. I recently purchased an AKG C-451-B and Mojave Audio MA-200 from Sweetwater and cannot wait to record this guitar with these two mics. I’m sure my Epi will sound great recorded, based on its natural tone. Out of the box, it is in mint shape. The action and timbre are sensational. Not one flaw anywhere on the guitar. Epiphone even has a nice fabric similar to felt where the guitar strap pegs are installed into the guitar. I love the sunburst finish. It's stunning in a 60's styled understated way. I will probably change the strings to Martin SP lights, which will really sweeten it up. It was set up great! I'm not doing a thing to this guitar. Bill, thank you and your colleagues for assisting me with exuberance and professionalism. Everything arrived on time and in perfect condition.

  • from Port Ewen, NY USA September 6, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    My dream guitar...

    I recently purchased a John Lennon EJ-160E from Sweetwater and I am absolutely thrilled with it. The action is perfect and it is simply beautiful in both looks and tone - not to mention the unbelievable price. Being a die-hard Beatles/Lennon fan, I am completely in love with this guitar.

  • from Rome Italy March 1, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyst

    A very good axe for creating Beatlesque sound

    I was really surprised by the fact this guitar sounds closely like the original model made by Gibson, that I tried and play 'bout a couple of years ago. If you want to increase the sound when plays electrically, You'd better put on electric strings (011-012 gauge).It is great when playin' Beatles stuff, or sixties sound like Kinks, Hollies etc... And over all, it is a must for creating power pop songs!!!

  • from Long Island, NY USA October 20, 2006Music Background:
    Student

    Very Good Guitar

    The guitar has really put me on a journey with both good and bad experiences.
    This guitar is limited edition and sound great. I had a problem with the craftmanship. My guitar appeared to have been made a little incorrectly. The neck was too high to the body, so I had it fixed under the warranty. The guitar is fixed and now sounds great.
    I must say, the action is set pretty high on this guitar (or atleast on mine). Nevertheless, this guitar is a keeper. If I had to do it all over again I would still choose the EJ-160E John Lennon. It carries the John Lennon name, but more importantly it delivers the John Lennon sound.

  • from NYC, NY August 7, 2006Music Background:
    Lyricist, Composer, Arranger

    Good Things come to Those who Wait

    I ordered this guitar in March. I was told when ordering it that it would not be in stock until the summer. I was cool with waiting as I'm a huge John Lennon fan but at the same time I've researched this guitar greatly.

    I was told again and again that it was a great guitar.

    I got the guitar yesterday and it is PERFECT. It sounds as well as it looks(beautiful!) Everything I've waited for and more. Well worth it! Amazing sound for a great price... I'd get one if you can, they are sure to be hard to find.

  • from van buren Arkansas March 1, 2004

    Epiphone lennon limited

    I have always wanted one of these, I am such a Beatle fan and to play a guitar made famous by George and John, even tho they bought the Gibson, I feel this is an exceptional value for the such a high quality musical instrument. I highly recomend buying an Epiphone. I have played a Gibson J45 and the tone and all around sound of the Epi is so close it is unreal.

  • from February 1, 2004

    John Lennon!

    Now who WOULDNT like a guitar thats named after John Lennon??? HONESTLY! i luuuuuurve it!

  • from Zagreb, Croatia February 1, 2004

    The Guitar of my Boyish Dreams

    Despite my classical training and education, deeply in my soul, I am an electric guitarst who always wanted to get a nice rhythm guitar accompainment (if necessary) to my own lead. John Lennon's experience in that field is probably the very top of musical and devoted playing, as well as "Epiphone" J-160E signature model is on the very high level of its task: it enables everyone who wants to follow John Lennon's divine inspiration - with recognizable sound, timbar, character and playability.
    Even more. J-160E is an excellent instrument for solo playing, near to John McLoughlin's sensitivity and touch style, with strings always "divisi" (italian word) enough, with beautiful chords always "tutti" enough, with strong energy always "forte" enough and with soft reacting always "piano" enough.
    When I take her in my arms she always weeps: "Play me...!" - and I do. With pleasure! It's a real great satisfaction for an electric guitarist to lay on his or her fingers to a drednought with Gibsonish shaped and formated neck and fingerboard. Completely "at home", not to say - normal (!).
    J-160E is only acoustic guitar. It's pick-up (P-90 or P-100?) is mostly nostalgic and decorative, unless if one takes it as a serious document how iliterrate was the amplification in a pre-piezzo period.
    Cheep version of Gibson tulip-tuner machines are strongly reccomandable to be changed, and it is the only thing I would complain about if that guitar doesn't cost as it does. Considering the price, very nice one and affordable, "Epiphone" J-160E is one of the best guitars I have ever played.
    The guitar of my boyish dreams..

    Pippo

Questions about the Epiphone John Lennon EJ-160E Artist Series - Vintage Cherry Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close