0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Epiphone AJ-220SCE - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone AJ-220SCE - Vintage Sunburst?

Questions about the Epiphone AJ-220SCE - Vintage Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 4, 2016

    Love it

    Bought this guitar as a gift for my husband and he absolutely loved it! We are very happy with the purchase and he loves playing it.

  • from Spring, TX December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro Country Artist

    I miss it so much

    I bought this guitar in 2008. Pre amp went out within 2 years, so I "upgraded" to a Takamine which I'd always wanted in 2010. In 2011, went on eBay and bought a cheap after market no name preamp and pick up with built in tuner. These electronics were 10 times better than the Epiphone factory PU. I recently got another one for another guitar. Anyway, I then stared playing the Aj220 again at shows as well as my Takamine. When I decided to upgrade my Tele to a better one, my wife decide I had too many guitars(only 7). So I then went to guitar center and sold my Epi and my lower end Tele. I almost cried after I left without it. I have regretted getting rid of it all year. I will be getting another soon and this time from Sweetwater. And my wife will just have to live with it. I won't say that this is a "good guitar for the money". this guitar is worth 5 times what they sell for. I've been considering getting a Gibson j45 custom, but my alternative is this guitar, and not because of the price, but because this guitar is awesome, and after I owned mine for 6 years, the wood aged some, and the unplugged tone was better than my takamine, or my gibson hummingbird. BUY ONE!!!!!!!!!!

  • from Tustin, CA October 26, 2014Music Background:
    Learning Guitarist, guitar enthusiast

    Great acoustic for under $500

    This acoustic is amazing! The sound is loud and beautiful, and not bad for my first steel string. I got this for my 17th birthday, which was the best present I got. The built in tuner works amazing as well as the pre-amp. If you're looking for a jumbo dreadnought acoustic with great sound for a great price, stop now and buy this!!!!!

  • from wilkesboro, nc usa May 4, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    epiphone aj 220

    own a takamine ean10c for 4 years, bridge started coming up at base, every
    time i would lower saddle 6 months had to redue, cant lower any more. purchased a aj 220, sounds as good or better than my ean10c plays good to,i own 6 epiphones love every one of them, will never buy another takamine.

  • from Central NC March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Guitar - Great Choice

    OK, lets take the $$$ out of the equation. WOW! No matter what the cost this guitar is off the hook! Nice feel. Nice sound. Can't beat it for the $$$ and it really compares to guitars in the $1K+ range. Really. I love this bad boy!

  • from Dunwoody, GA November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Long time musician, recording hobbyist.

    Great guitar for the price

    I picked this guitar up a couple of years ago and haven't been disappointed . I needed a guitar to travel on the road with me, but didn't want something that would cause too much pain if it was damaged or stolen. I've owned several similarly-priced guitars and this one is by far the best in the price range that I've seen.

    It is solidly built and great quality given the low price. It plays and sounds as good as it's Gibson cousins.

    Only defect is the metal "E" symbol fell off the pick guard within a few days. That's ok, it made it look more like a Gibson. I guess the adhesive they used didn't bond well with the pick guard material.

    The onboard tuner is nice, but the onboard pickup is not that great. Better off using a microphone to amplify or record.

    Granted, this thing isn't going to compete with the likes of the $2500 to $3000 range guitars (that's a whole different league), but it will go toe-to-toe with guitars going into the $1500 range. For around $300 this thing is a steal in my opinion.

  • from Concord, CA October 10, 2013Music Background:
    songwriter

    Epiphone AJ-200SCE natural - 10 years later

    It was 2003 and I needed a new acoustic for playing open mics and songwriting for my band. Bought this thing used for $125 and at first, wasnt pleased with the sound. That's very typical of me with newish guitars though so I just kept playing it.

    10 years later, I'm still playing it and havent bought another acoustic since. It's true that the more a guitar is played, the more it starts to open up. Man, this thing is WIDE OPEN... I'm talking about rich and clear harmonics. I can look at the high E and make it ring out (at least in my head.) It's amazing what it has done for my songwriting.

    Also, right off the bat the playability/setup has been spot on. This is probably why I've been playing it all along. It's just easy on my smallish hands and has grown increasingly pleasing to my ears. You could give me a $5k Taylor/Martin and I'd thank you but this Epi has captured and defined my personal sound and it's what I perform and write with. It's now what my soul sounds like.

  • from Snohomish, WA July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-professional solo and band performer and songwriter

    Versatile cure for guitar heartbreak

    I played a Taylor 710 for almost 30 years, then lost it in an accident. The mini-Taylor I tried to replace it with was too small for my big hands. So Epi to the rescue!!! No, it isn't a Taylor, but the comparable model costs 5 times as much. The AJ is clean, fun, and capable of a variety of acoustic and acoustic-electric modalities. I wound up playing it on three times as many tunes in my vintage-oriented band because of its versatility and clarity!!
    Also, I got the usual GREAT service from Sweetwater in the wake of a UPS goof. I can't imagine buying an instrument or accessory anywhere else.

  • from Rockport Indiana June 8, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    wow what a guitar

    this thing is amazing, deep rich tones the body sings. have been a musician and played in road bands all over the world, in all type of arenas and club with all styles as a sideman, and have heard many acoustic guitars, for the cost this is the one. I intended to buy a Gibson blues 000 guitar but played this one WOW

Questions about the Epiphone AJ-220SCE - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway