0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Epiphone ES-335 Dot Studio - Cherry Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone ES-335 Dot Studio - Cherry?

Questions about the Epiphone ES-335 Dot Studio - Cherry?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Kentucky January 27, 2017

    Epiphone ES-335 Dot Studio

    First, let me heap big praise on Sweetwater and my sales consultant, Kurt Cripe. The service I have encountered from both can only be described as exceptional. Now on to the guitar! I was just wanting to dip my toe into the semi-hollowbody waters by purchasing a base, working-man's model. What I received was WAY BEYOND that. Fit and finish was perfect as was the overall set-up. Intonation was spot on as well as string height which was low with no flat spots or buzzes. Somehow, it was even still in tune after shipping when I put it on a digital tuner! This has to be THE BEST bang-for-the-buck purchase I've ever made and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. When I plug into my Mesa, I uncontrollably grin...Nuff Said!

  • from Anaheim CA January 26, 2017Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Musician

    Impressed

    This is a great guitar. I could have spent a few more bucks on a more feature laden semi-hollow body guitar, but I prefer the streamlined looks and simplified controls of the Dot Studio instead. I also like the fact that the output jack is on the side rather than the top.

    First off, the gloss cherry stained finish is just stunning - the pictures do not do this guitar justice.
    Next, the hardware all seems to be of good quality, the tuners,knobs, switch and jack all feel good. Even looking at the wiring through the f-hole, it looks like good quality stuff.

    The neck has a nice feel to it and I am VERY impressed with the sound of these pickups. They have a great clarity and warmth without sounding harsh on the top end or thin on the bottom. There is also a very nice balance between the two. I also found the tone pot to be very useful - It doesn't put a blanket over the tone like some others, it just rolls off the highs in a very musical way.

    My guitar has a couple small issues; the edges of the f-holes are brushed in black paint, and in one spot some of the paint got on the top and was clear coated right over. On a more expensive guitar, I might send it back as a blem, but this thing sounds so good I don't even care, and it's hardly noticeable unless you look close up.

    The other issue is that the nut is a little high at the G and B strings, so they fret ever so slightly sharp on the first couple frets. Not terrible, but I am a stickler for great intonation and tuning so I need to file the nut just a bit on those 2 strings.

    Beyond that, this is a guitar that looks, sounds and plays great and it is also very affordable.

    I'm very happy.

  • from Malone NY October 20, 2015Music Background:
    Played semi professional in a group. Currently for pleasure

    Big bang for the $

    Ok. It's not a Gibson ES335 style guitar. However I would put this up against the Gibson Studio and dollar for dollar, this is a bargain. Mine was shipped on a Mon morning and I had it by Thurs before noon. The Sweetwater packing was great and the guitar was in tune except for the open A(a little flat)but no big deal. The cherry finish is awesome and the guitar feels and plays great. The Grover tuners keep the guitar in tune and the pickups provide enough output for my needs. I primarily play bass but wanted to learn some lead. This is a best buy for the money. My sales rep Joel Helton was very helpful with my purchase and made a follow up call to see if everything was ok. I'll continue to buy from Sweetwater.

  • from Malone Ny September 27, 2015Music Background:
    Semi profissional/currently casual playing

    Update of my previous review from 9/24

    I received the Dot Studio on Thurs 9/24. When I wrote my 1st review I had only played the guitar for about 1 hr. Since then I can't put it down. I play through a Behringer GTX 60(not a tube amp) but I'm happy with the overall sound. I primarily play bass, but wanted to learn to play some lead riffs. This is a no frills guitar, but the electronics really make it sound like an ES335. The finish is of high quality and the guitar plays great. Sweetwater's 55 point evaluation and setup on my guitar was spot on. After shipping all I had to do was tune the A(a little flat)but all other strings were spot on. You can pay 4-5X or more for a 335 Gibson but I'd put this up against their entry level 335 anytime. My sales rep Joel Helton was helpful in my buying decision. Give him a call.

  • from Malone NY September 24, 2015Music Background:
    semi-professional/casual player

    Outstanding for this price, Would recommend to friend

    I'm primarily a bass player but wanted to enter the electric guitar genre with out breaking the bank. Found this, and with input and feedback from my Sales rep Joel Helton, decided this would be a good choice. Don't let the simplicity of the controls or pickups fool you. This guitar provides ES 335 sound and playability. Sweetwater's 55 point set up was outstanding. Action and intonation open and at 12th fret were spot on. The finish on mine was much better than what guitar gallery makes it out to be .I ordered mine on a Tues morning and it was in my hands on Thurs morning before noon. The guitar was well packed and there were no marks from shipping. If you are on the fence, make the plunge and buy this guitar. You'll also get an accessory package from Epiphone, but you only have until Sept 30.

  • from Atlanta July 1, 2015Music Background:
    I have played in groups, bands and solo since the mid sixties

    Talk about "Cherry"...

    I have a 1961 Epiphone Rivera which was damaged beyond repair. I was heart broken.
    My main guitar is a Gibson J-200 but I love to play and often play electric. Since I bought the "Dot", I have only picked up the Gibson a couple of times.
    Before I checked out Sweetwater I wouldn't have considered purchasing a guitar I did'n pick up and play first. Now I wouldn't think about buying anywhere else. I AM blown away by how well this guitar was set up and preforms. Also, by the convenience, value and rapid delivery. This guitar plays as well as a similar Gibson model costing 3 times more.
    Good job Sweetwater.

  • from Hagerman Id April 24, 2014Music Background:
    as a hobby

    Awesome

    This guitar is awesome..great to look at and sound great.Although I am not a pro, I feel this was an awesome buy and worth every penny. Aaron at Sweetwater is terrific and always there when I need him. He always answer your questions and work with you.
    Thanks Aaron!

  • from Clinton, ME April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Retired Disabled Veteran

    This Guitar is BEAUTIFUL and sounds WONDERFUL

    Long Story.. I ordered a Gibson Lucille to send to BB King and have signed. It's already in Las Vegas waiting for him to return from tour to sign it as he said he would.
    First, if you are considering purchasing a guitar from anyone else, DON'T DO IT. Sweetwater has gone above and beyond all expectations I had of shipping, quality, customer service and set up of BOTH guitars. Attention to detail is outstanding. Their personnel are the best in the business, period. They are friendly, professional and knowledgeable.
    Now about this guitar. I bought it to have something similar to my "Lucille" to play while it is away and didn't want to spend a lot of money on it. After reading the reviews, I made the purchase.
    First impression: GORGEOUS, FLAWLESS AND HIGH QUALITY. It looks like a 2 thousand dollar guitar. Then, I put a strap on and plugged it in and started playing "House of the Rising Sun". WOW, it was perfectly in tune and mellow. It has such a deep, rich sound with so much tone adjustment. I can not believe how good this guitar sounds. I am going to change the strings as I prefer a different feel and am brand loyal t a certain brand after trying everything. Other than that, this one is hard to top. I'm not so sure my Gibson Lucille is going to sound any better, but that's a good thing. Then I wont have to wear it out!
    If you have any doubts about purchasing this one, don't. Read the reviews and believe them, this is one fantastic guitar at ANY price. I firmly believe you would be hard pressed to find a nice guitar fro 5 times the price. It's my first Hollow Body and I love the tone it delivers. The action is low, frets are perfect, great sustain, neck is just the right size, stays in tune so well and even feels nice. It is not as heavy as I thought it would be. She's a big girl, but I like how it feels, looks and sounds.
    Thank you to My customer service Rep. Ryan Holquist and to Justin Dunbar for going so far beyond making the customer happy. If you only knew what lengths they went to to make everything right. Sweetwater is a fine company and puts the service in customer service, a rarity nowadays. You have a customer for life. I am already looking for a nice acoustic.

  • from Pflugerville, TX, USA May 26, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Rock musician.

    Incredible Value

    I have two other Epiphone 335 type guitars besides this one: a 2004 black Dor Studio and a 2005 cherry Dot. All are fabulous, including my 2012 cherry gloss Dot Studio. I once owned a 1969 Gibson ES-335 - all of my Epis are better guitars. 335s have long been my favorite Gibson design, and my other Epis: 1275, G-400 and Les Paul Plus Top are also incredible guitars.

  • from Rochester, NY April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Profesional musician

    Unbelievable Quality

    I was ambivalent on purchasing this guitar. I usually stick to brand names like Gibson or Fender. After receiving this guitar and checking out the action, intonation, and electronics I was simply amazed at the level of workmanship put into this guitar. If you are thinking of buying an ES-335 you should try this guitar out. The tone is just awesome. The quality of construction is superb. For this price point you will not find another guitar that matches the quality of workmanship put into this guitar. I cannot recommend this highly enough. I own two Gibson's, Fenders, Jacksons, and a Charvel. This guitar has more than met my expectations. I would have gladly paid over $1000 for this axe. When I plug it into my Marshal DSL stack it almost plays itself. I was concerned about excessive feedback seeing that it was a semi hollow body. It was not an issue at all. The tone is sweet. Suitable for blues, classic rock, and especially the tones that Alvin Lee gets from his ES-335. If you are on the fence due to the low price, take the leap. It does everything I was looking for.

  • from Rochester, NY March 17, 2013Music Background:
    Lead Guitarist

    Unparalleled Quality

    For a guitar that ships for $299 the quality is superb. The action and intonation were dead on. Once again with the assistance of my sales engineer Mark Chapman, delivery and quality were excellent.

  • from Kennewick,WA February 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Musician

    Excellant guitar

    The Epiphone Dot Studio is one of the best I've played in awhile, and the price is unbeatable. The finish is beautiful.

  • from Redding, CA USA November 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Beautiful Guitar

    I didn't expect a lot for this price, but this guitar is built and set up flawlessly. Most other retailers are selling the old ones with a dull finish and black hardware, but this one is all about shine and chrome. It has wide black body binding. I truly don't think the body is mahogany. It has an open grain and is almost white if you look inside the f holes. The Epiphone site lists it as mahogany, but they also list the hardware as black. I'm no expert, but I think the body may be laminated maple and the neck and center block are mahogany. Whatever it's made of, it still has that twang. As a rusty guitarist who hasn't played for a while, I do miss the dots, but I ordered some decal dots until I get used to playing again. It does have the side dots. At this low price, I could afford the case which fits it perfectly.
    Sweetwater couldn't be better with the ordering process, the shipping time and the packaging. The padded box inside a bigger padded box made it pretty much damage proof. Thanks for a good deal and good service.

  • from August 18, 2015

    Epiphone Dot Studio

    Beautiful finish. Ready to play right out of the box. I dont believe you'll find a better value anywhere. And the staff at Sweetwater couldn't have been more helpful unless they delivered my Dot themselves. Fast, friendly service and many contacts to be sure I had what I wanted and was satisfied with my order.

  • from Shreveport Area October 5, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Sound Tech

    A Lot of Guitar for the Money

    Fit and finish are exceptional for this price point. A little tweaking here and there and it's ready for the stage or studio.

  • from Baton Rouge, LA February 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great instrument

    I have always...ALWAYS...been a bit apprehensive about ordering the "off-brands" for major guitar manufacturers. Squire with Fender, LTD with ESP, Epiphone with Gibson. I'm not going to pretend that I had a rational reason for it, but I have. I've been looking for a semi-hollow guitar for a while and found this one at a price I just couldn't turn down. I'd read several reviews on it and they were mostly positive so I decided to give it a shot. Let me tell you, it was a great decision. The guitar is very playable, the finish on it was immaculate (which is probably as much a credit to Sweetwater as it is to Epiphone), I didn't really have to make any adjustments to it before plugging in and going at it. The only gripe I really have is that the finish on the "rosewood" fingerboard wears off on my fingers so that I have a brown stain on them when I finish playing. I thought it might be the strings but I put brand new ones on it the day I after I got it and it still continued. I contacted Epiphone's customer service about the problem and after about a week I finally got a response to try cleaning the fingerboard with lemon oil. (Just to speak again to Sweetwater's customer service, I heard from Evan, my Sweetwater representative, at least three times between the time I contacted Epiphone and got a response back from them. And Evan was just calling to find out how I liked the instrument, I had reported no problems to them!) So, to recap, if you're looking for an affordable, QUALITY, semi-hollow guitar and you're on the fence about Gibson's budget guitars, GET OFF THE FENCE.

  • from Connecticut February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Live performance and recording.

    Wow

    Always wanted an ES style hollowbody this one has just what I was looking for three really strong sounds and a great feel. The fit and finish are good and it was setup almost the exact way I wanted when I took it out of the box. Very pleased with this guitar and the service.
    Thanks

  • from Bronx, NY USA May 3, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur

    Makes practice more enjoyable

    A great variety of music sounds good on it.
    This is not my first guitar, but because I am not a professional, I consider the tone quality good enough for my level of ability. It even makes practicing more enjoyable.

  • from Melbourne, FL April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone Dot Studio (Cherry)

    The guitar is everything I expected and more. The customer service has been extraordinary. I'm very happy with every aspect of my purchase.

  • from Wewahitchka,FL March 27, 2013Music Background:
    20 plus years local bands

    New DOT

    I recently ordered this ephi studio, I was worried for I haven't bought a guitar without playing it first. All I can say is, don't worry. The guitar came double boxed and had no sign of damage. The techs at SW did a great gob checking it out because it played well right out of the box. This guitar does come with Grover tuners and mine has been very good about staying in tune. Finish was good for a axe of this price, very flashy. It will take a little breaking in for the frets but I don't see this being a problem. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from valencia, califronia March 4, 2013Music Background:
    40+ years playing guitar

    low cost semi hollow electric

    for the money this a very good guitar. I had to file all the frets because of the rough edges.

  • from ormond beach December 19, 2016

    rough

    The first one I got was beautiful but the action was so bad it hurt my fingers. Sweetwaters great staff quickly sent a replacement. The action on this one is good but there are three blemishes and a "blur" on the body.Disappointing.This was to be a gift for our grandson but now we aren't sure...

Questions about the Epiphone ES-335 Dot Studio - Cherry?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway