0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue - Trans Amber Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from Saint Augustine, FL July 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist...for a long time.

    You'll be amazed at what shows up at your door!

    I ordered this guitar, having never put my hands on one before and I was a little leery. My previous experience with an Epiphone guitar was not very positive. My go-to guitar is a 2001 Gibson SG Std. that plays like butter and can roar like a lion.
    I bought the Nighthawk on a one day deal, picked my particular one from the great pictures, and a couple of days later she's here.
    Out of the box the finish quality and workmanship are top quality. As with any new guitar it needed a little setup, but that said, I think this guitar competes with almost anything out there.
    This guitar is made in Indonesia, unlike most of the other Epiphones which come from their Chinese factory. The level of workmanship is noticeably better on this guitar. The thickness of the bindings, the quality of the inlays. In a Gibson this guitar would be a $3000.00 re-issue with sadly less perfect finish quality.
    The tonal possibilities a very wide and it can give you a pretty fair Fender tone as well.
    The only possible issue that I can think of is the scale length, it takes a little getting used to the longer length. Other than that, just oder one, you'll be amazed at what shows up at your door.

  • from TeXaS July 9, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer and working musician

    Epi Nighthawk is a set-neck Beauty and Bargain!

    I paid the original $399 price and it was a quality bargain at that price! I would SO grab one at the current Sweetwater price. The guitar is high quality all the way, the finish is stunning. The neck is the perfect width, the whole axe is very lightweight yet VERY tuneful. So many varied pickup configurations and they all sound distinct and awesome. I replaced my electronics with USA components and it's like USA-made quality all the way. Not that the stock stuff was bad, I just like to personalize my guitars. I added a Sweetwater purchased slant Seymour Duncan in the bridge...and wow. SERIOUS tonal Mojo. This is NOT a cheap guitar; inexpensive for sure, but not cheap. Highly recommend this axe and the JB slant pickup from Sweetwater. The best tech and warranty company anywhere!

  • from Robinson , IL USA May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist for Church Worship and hobbyist always and continually loving the guitar.

    Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue - Trans Amber

    The best guitar I have had in many years! The feel and playing of this beauty is has sparked new life into my playing. I love the weight and feel on the hands and the sounds are just awesome from this guitar. I and happy to be and owner with so many others of the Nighthawk Custom Reissue. Trans Amber

  • from Milan, IN April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic Guitar

    I have been eyeing this guitar for at least a year and finally decided to pull the trigger on it last week. It has surely exceeded my expectations! Beautifully finished axe that plays nice right out out of the box. The ONLY adjustment I needed to make was the height of the mini-humbucker, and that is more of a taste issue than anything.

    Both the look and the sound have inspired me to play more. I especially like the versatility of the pickup settings and the ability to split the humbuckers. If this axe were lost, I would buy another quickly.

    Also a shout out to Zach Neels my Sales Engineer!

  • from Austin, TX March 23, 2013Music Background:
    My ears were classically trained.

    Couldn't find anything better under 2k

    If this guitar were sold by Suhr, they'd want 4k for it. It's amazing how consumer psychology works. We have to pay serious cash in order to value a product. We diminish excellent sounding Made-in-China guitars for the sole reason that they're made in China. We value USA guitars we bought for 3k that have uneven binding and improperly sanded edges.

    This particular Epiphone was made in Indonesia, and I see no problems in workmanship. The finish is glass-like. The woods are premium cuts. The frets play quite smoothly. The tones are amazing. Shimmering highs. Bell-like. Nine different tone options (middle pickup is single coil-only). In dual coil mode, you get raunchy humbucker tones. In single coil, you get light, shimmering bells. Stays perfectly in tune.

    I have several Made-In-Indonesia guitars, and the build quality so far exceeds USA and China guitars, if you're being objective and not patriotic. All at a very low price point too!

  • from March 14, 2013

    Great all around guitar

    I am a drummer of 30 years and have also toyed around with playing guitar, bass and piano. I also have a small home recording studio. Although I am not a seasoned guitarist, I do consider myself a tone/sound fanatic when it comes to gear. I can be quite obsessive when it comes to this stuff and I will do hours and hours of research and demo's and listening.

    I got to the point where I wanted to get a bit more serious about guitar and dove into learning all I could about pickups, woods, manufacturers, etc. I originally came to the conclusion that I wanted a strat and was on a quest to find the right one for me.

    Well, I was at my local music shop one day and one of the workers plugged in a guitar and started playing. I was really taken back by the sounds coming from this thing. It was the best sound and tone I had heard to that point, even better than some of the higher end strats I had played before. I had no idea what guitar it was that he had plugged in, I assumed probably something beyond my means. Turns out it was the Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue.

    So I went home and did research on this guitar, and after feeling confident that the quality was there to match the sound I bought one. I love everything about it. I run mine through an Avatar 2x12 cab and a Hughes and Kettner Tubemiester 18 head. It really does sound incredible and I can get pretty much any sound and tone imaginable. I did change the stock saddles with stainless steel ones and changed the strings to DR Pure Blues. Not because I was disappointed with it stock but because i wanted to feel like I customized it a little. The changes did in fact improve on the tone even more.

    The finish is flawless and beautiful, I could find no problems with anything after recieving the guitar. The pickups and all combinations are bright and chimey on my set-up. Neck pickup is a bit on the dark side of tone but thick and satisfying. My favorite is switch position 2 with the neck mini humbucker and the single coil. Gets the beef of the humbucker and the clear bell-like chime of the single coil all mixed into one sound. Overall it's a truly astounding instrument all on it's own merits, and then you add in the low price that it goes for and you just can't find a better buy in guitars right now. Regardless of price this thing is quality gear.

  • from Louisville,Ky October 20, 2012Music Background:
    active musician at church and home

    just as good as the real thing !

    All i can say is WOW ! from the time i took it out of the box and played the first note,i was absalutely blown away.are they sure this is a copy ?i can say that,because i also have a gibson nighthawk,and this one plays just as good,if not better.very pleased with my purchase.Thanks sweetwater for the fantastic service and sales team.

  • from Lusby, MD January 15, 2012Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Thank You Epiphone!

    Needed an axe capable of producing multiple tones for various styles of music. This guitar exceeded my expectations regarding it's versatility, playabilityand overall quality. Also, a very handsome instrument ! On par with much more expensive guitars, and is, by far, the best value in this class.

  • from Oakley ca. August 9, 2011Music Background:
    just a wont to be , like Hobbyist .

    Epiphone Nightawk

    for the price , there no better , it's 5:45 in the morning, that right , playing with Nightawk ! You have a good day , I'm having a good day .
    Thank you .

  • from Mooresville, NC August 5, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbist, Contempory Christian Band, 40+ years playing

    Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue (Trans Amber)

    This is a great value value for the price point. The Nighthawk can give the Telly twang or the meaty LP sustain, plus more. It is a nice weight and sized between the LP and SG, comfortable to play. Great workmanship,..a beautiful guitar.

  • from Moyock, NC July 20, 2011Music Background:
    35 years loving the guitar

    Awesome Guitar!

    First - my thanks to Mike Baldonado - what a great guy. Last year he helped my wife with a Christmas gift for me. She bought me a micro-cube amp so I didn't have to lug around one of my full size amps to parties, etc. When I looked at this thing - I said to myself, "you gotta be kiddin me." Then I put my Strat and Les Paul through it - UNBELIEVABLE! My wife said that Mike was super helpful, took a personal interest in helping her select the right gift, and then he called back to follow up as to whether I was happy with my gift. 5-Star service across the board. Recently I decided to buy a Nighthawk. First guitar I've ever bought without holding/playing it. About a 1/2 hour after I placed my order online Mike called me. We spoke for at least a 1/2 hour on his dime. He remembered dealing with my wife, wanted to know why I was looking at buying a Nighthawk, and then we went into my 35-year history of music and guitars. He went as far to pull the guitar (I ordered by serial number) and call me back with answers to my questions. I received the guitar yesterday evening. I inspected it - ABSOLUTELT BEAUTIFUL - quality made instrument. I tuned it and played it through three different amps - I now have a new favorite guitar. I played it for hours. You will not find a better instrument for the money. I am sold on Sweetwater - you can't beat their prices or their personalized customer service. I will buy everything from them for now on, from picks and strings to a new axe (oh yes, there will be ones). Thanks Stillwater and thank you Mike! Best Wishes, AJ

  • from Durango, CO October 8, 2013Music Background:
    I love the blues and want to learn to play 'em!

    I can't keep my hands off!

    This is really a fine guitar and I couldn't be happier with the purchase! The sound is great, the build is great and it looks...great!
    I didn't give it a full 5 stars because after an hour of playing the jack plate for the lead came loose. Not a big deal, I fixed it 5 minutes.
    I'll leave the technical stuff to the pro's, but I do need to say that my sales engineer and Sweetwater as a whole are just an outstanding company and it's easy to see that they put customer satisfaction right at the top. I should be working right now...but I'd rather have this guitar in my hands!

  • from Kansas, USA June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby

    Solid, good looking guitar with great tone!

    Guitar arrived promptly, and with a quick truss-rod adjustment was ready to play. Great, versatile tones sound very nice to my ears.

    Looks very nice, good workmanship.

    Easy to play, light and comfortable. Truly a hidden gem in my opinion.

Questions about the Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue - Trans Amber?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway