rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue - Honey Burst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • from Nashville November 1, 2014Music Background:
    Playing guitar since 1972

    Great deal!

    I own Gibson Les Paul's, Fenders and several other brands. I was carrying 3 or 4 guitars to jobs for years. I bought this Nighthawk just to
    see if was worth playing.
    I have been impressed! I really like getting different sounds from all my guitars. My LP has the Seymour Duncan Triple Shot pickups and switching system. I love those things too.
    The Bass player told me the Nighthawk sounds a lot like the
    '58 Tele RI, 95 Les Paul and 95 Strat I have been using live!!
    Beats the crap out of changing guitars all the time!
    And NO! It does not sound exactly like the other guitars, but it's really close!
    Now I mostly take the Nighthawk and a Martin and cover all guitar sounds.

  • from Vineland, N.J. September 29, 2014

    No reason not to be your goto guitar because of price

    I have the Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue in a Fireburst finish. Aesthetically it looks like a character drawing of a Gibson Les Paul and has the tone of a cross between a Fender Stratocaster and a Gibson Les Paul.
    It has an excellent symetrical flame top that is not overpainted/oversprayed around its circumference. It has a nice bright yellowish face and does not look dark like others I have seen I this finish. The tone and volume knobs are tight, smooth and appear durable. The finish has no defects front or back. The tuners work well and are solid.
    When I first plugged into a Fender Machette clean channel my jaw dropped. The bridge humbucker was so clear and not harsh or overly bright. It is powerful but very responsive. At first I thought it was an active pickup by its sound. The amp was getting sound with only a slight turn from being rolled off. The tone knob has a nice effect and has a large range before it becomes unusable. Another surprise was the middle single coil pickup. It is the first middle pick up that actually has a fantastic tone that my ears enjoy. I usually never use the middle pickup on other guitars I have played because they sound so sterile. The neck pickup has that great fat bluesy Fender Strat sound that I really love. I have 4 Strats and I like the tone of the Nighthawk neck pick up (clean and dirty) better then any. The 2nd and 3rd positions of the 5 way selector sound like a Fender Strat Quack/cluck but not overdone. I forgot to mention this also is the first guitar I have played where the coil tap is not thin and the tone is spot on. Their is a massive drop in volume which can be adjusted by rolling up the volume. Once rolled up the single coil pickup tone is there. Clean with no discernible artifacts. The build is as good as any guitar I own including my top of the line Fender, and middle line PRS/Gibson guitars. This guitar in particular is built as well and plays as well as any premium guitar I own. Price aside this guitar is quickly becoming my favorite!

  • from vegas March 21, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    what a beauty

    cant be beat for the price , really nice axe , great feel ; lotsa sounds out of the pickup config ... hard to believe the Gibson cost 5 times as much

  • from Boise, Idaho June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone Nighthawk Reissue

    Great guitar - plays very well - excellent sound, light weight and versatile. I'd recommend this to anyone who likes the versatility provided by the multiple pickups on the guitar. sounds great played through a multi-function effects pedal or straight through your great bargain, as well!

  • from March 14, 2013

    Great all around guitar

    I am a drummer of 30 years and have also toyed around with playing guitar, bass and piano. I also have a small home recording studio. Although I am not a seasoned guitarist, I do consider myself a tone/sound fanatic when it comes to gear. I can be quite obsessive when it comes to this stuff and I will do hours and hours of research and demo's and listening.

    I got to the point where I wanted to get a bit more serious about guitar and dove into learning all I could about pickups, woods, manufacturers, etc. I originally came to the conclusion that I wanted a strat and was on a quest to find the right one for me.

    Well, I was at my local music shop one day and one of the workers plugged in a guitar and started playing. I was really taken back by the sounds coming from this thing. It was the best sound and tone I had heard to that point, even better than some of the higher end strats I had played before. I had no idea what guitar it was that he had plugged in, I assumed probably something beyond my means. Turns out it was the Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue.

    So I went home and did research on this guitar, and after feeling confident that the quality was there to match the sound I bought one. I love everything about it. I run mine through an Avatar 2x12 cab and a Hughes and Kettner Tubemiester 18 head. It really does sound incredible and I can get pretty much any sound and tone imaginable. I did change the stock saddles with stainless steel ones and changed the strings to DR Pure Blues. Not because I was disappointed with it stock but because i wanted to feel like I customized it a little. The changes did in fact improve on the tone even more.

    The finish is flawless and beautiful, I could find no problems with anything after recieving the guitar. The pickups and all combinations are bright and chimey on my set-up. Neck pickup is a bit on the dark side of tone but thick and satisfying. My favorite is switch position 2 with the neck mini humbucker and the single coil. Gets the beef of the humbucker and the clear bell-like chime of the single coil all mixed into one sound. Overall it's a truly astounding instrument all on it's own merits, and then you add in the low price that it goes for and you just can't find a better buy in guitars right now. Regardless of price this thing is quality gear.

  • from Louisville,Ky October 20, 2012Music Background:
    active musician at church and home

    just as good as the real thing !

    All i can say is WOW ! from the time i took it out of the box and played the first note,i was absalutely blown away.are they sure this is a copy ?i can say that,because i also have a gibson nighthawk,and this one plays just as good,if not better.very pleased with my purchase.Thanks sweetwater for the fantastic service and sales team.

  • from New York, NY May 4, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbiest/ Amatuer Musician

    The Best Value i've come across in my 25 years of playing

    First off i have to say i've owned the original Gibson Custom shop nighthawk with the same pickup configuration. This guitar is an equal to that. This guitar seemed like it was carefully crafted even though the guitar says it was made in Indonesia. Also i have to be honest and say i did not but this guitar from Sweetwater. This was only because they did not have this in stock. Sweetwater has much better support then the other stores and internet music sites I have bought from including where i bought this guitar from. I was very nervous and fortunately didn't have a problem on this one but when you buy at Sweetwater you know if there are any issues you know you'll be taken cared of. This guitar is work of Art from Epiphone at an amazingly low price. Cheers.

  • from mississauga,ontario,canada April 23, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    GREAT AXE FOR THE DOLLARS

    Just got this item yesterday and cannot put it down. Great addition to my collection. finish and quality are superb.The craftsmanship is like gibson. the color in picture does not do it justice (got the Honeyburst).The sound is incredable,intonation bang on ,well made quitar for the price. The features are insane for a guitar of this price coil tapping whooo what an axe well worth the dollars grab one before they are gone. P>S> very light weight.

  • from BENTON, ARKANSAS - U.S.A.. March 27, 2011Music Background:
    RETIRED MUSICIAN

    A GRAND SLAM 5 STAR GUITAR

    A 5 STAR KNOCK OUT GUITAR IN EVERY RESPECT. THE ATTENTION TO DETAIL, CRAFTSMANSHIP, AND SUPERIOR PLAYABILITY AND SOUND ARE UNMATCHED AT ANY PRICE. I OWN GIBSON'S, FENDER'S, ESP, GRETSCH'S, AND RICKENBACKER'S AND THIS GUITAR WILL HOLD ITS OWN WITH ANY OTHER GUITAR COSTING 5 TIMES THE PRICE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS GUITAR. BUY ONE AND YOU ARE GOING TO BE TO HIGHLY IMPRESSED WITH THIS AMAZING INSTRUMENT. A PHOTO DOES NOT DO JUSTICE TO THIS BEAUTIFUL GUITAR.. I WILL NO DOUBT PURCHASE A SECOND NIGHTHAWK IN THE NEAR FUTURE.

  • from Indiana April 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, forever a student, wishing I was a pro.

    Honeyburst Nighthawk

    First off I have to say, Customer service at Sweetwater was fantastic. I didn't have any issues with my purchases but Im sure if I did Sweetwater would help resolve anything that came up. I will definitely return for future purchases. My sales rep was Nick Church and he was great. I don't claim to be a professional musician by any means but Ive been playing for around 5 years. Now the nighthawk. I like it. I did a little setup work on it just to please my personal tastes but it was totally playable out of the box with no problems at all. Everybody has their own tone they like and I have no problem finding good sounds with the nighthawk. I play through a tube ampeg VL502 half stack with celestions and sometimes use a GSP2112 tube processor and I like a wide variety of music. I also have an ESP MH350FR with EMG's and a Breedlove acoustic. The Nighthawk covers anything from high gain metal to nice warm cleans and anything in between. I may at some point switch out the bridge humbucker for a JB but the factory is fine for now. I really like the mini humbucker in the neck. With 9 different pickup combos surely you can find some you like. Finish on the guitar was almost perfect. If you put your face 3 inches from the guitar and scour every square inch of it, Im sure you will find a tiny imperfection somewhere, but overall the guitar is gorgeous. Nice flamed top. A lot of people make comparisons against the Gibsons or other high end equipment and to me thats kinda like apples and oranges. I got mine way on sale. Whats a new Gibson cost? If your wanting the flawless gibson with the gibson name on the headstock, you'll have to pay for it. Personally Id rather have the epi and spend the difference on something else. For the price, I couldn't be happier. We cant all afford a gibson every time we want a new axe. (Wish I could) but I cant. As far as my star rating on this guitar, I gave it a 4.5. I take the price into consideration. Playability and sounds vs dollars... She gets a 4.5 maybe a 5. Its a great instrument for the money. If your debating the nighthawk, buy it. You wont be disappointed. Its a nice guitar at a great price and Sweetwater will take care of you.

  • from New Jersey March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    What a deal

    Excellent guitar plays as good as guitars I've paid three times as much for. The best thing about this purchase was dealing with sweetwater they are very nice people and the service is fast. I love that they e-mailed pictures of the guitar while I was waiting for it to arrive,they really understand the customer. Thanks

  • from Nampa, ID March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice instrument, outstanding value and service

    Happy to say the other reviews are spot on...great build quality and playability, good range of tones (stock electronics not bad at all), overall a nice little guitar. Very good value for the money and Sweetwater service can't be beat.

  • from Los Angeles May 18, 2011Music Background:
    Retired musician - been playing for ~45 years

    This is an incredible guitar!

    Just got my Nighthawk last week from Sweetwater and I have to say how impressed I am with the quality of this thing. The finish is beautiful, I tuned it up and it played super smoothly. I think when I played the first few notes I said to myself, "Wow!" The sounds comign out of it are amazing. I'm sure I still haven't figured out all the sounds I can get from it. It really is a dream to play and, did I mention, it's really cool, too -- not just the same old les-paul-type axe that everyone else has. I really can't get over the attention to detail you get on this guitar, especially for the price. Only reason for the 4.5 rating is that I'm super picky and the slot in the top for the selector switch could have been finished a little better. Otherwise, I'm really happy I got this thing. Really happy with Sweetwater so far, too.

  • from Colorado Springs, CO USA August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist home recordist, songwriter, worship band member

    Loving this guitar more and more

    The tappable HBs, with the 5 way and the hot SC in the middle give this guitar tons of tonal variety with the same signal chain. I'm using it several times a month paired with either a Digitech RP500 or a recently acquired Zoom G5 in worship team use playing recent modern worship songs from Bethel Live, Hillsong United, Tomlin, etc.

    Incredibly versatile. I have two very small complaints about my particular specimen that keep me from rating it 5 stars: There is a stain flaw on the back of the guitar at the neck joint, under the varnish, and the low E string simply can't be intonated properly. It was supposed to arrive set-up from Sweetwater, which the other 5 strings were nailed right-on, but the low E is noticeably sharp starting about the 7th fret and moving on up. I've adjusted the saddle towards the bridge - all the way that it will go without totally crushing the tensioner spring on the saddle, and it's STILL sharp. Since I don't play the low E much (I'm mostly a rhythm player that avoids barré chords), it's not in the way much, but it is frustrating. Someone more skilled than I can probably sort this out. One other thing that I did adjust was that the SC in the middle seemed quite a bit hotter than either of the HBs. I took care of that by simply lowering the pup just a bit.

  • from White Lake, NC USA March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Technician, Hobbyist, and Student of guitar

    Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue

    Really easy to cord and with the nine base tone variations along with the tone dial on each tone selection, you can play really good lead for any song you want. It's not a Gibson, but I didn't pay for a Gibson either. Out of the 4 guitars I own, I would rate the nighthawk 2nd to my PRS, but again, it didn't cost as much as the PRS. For the money, it holds it's own with any guitars I know of within $200 dollars of the price range.

Questions about the Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue - Honey Burst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway