0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue - Fireburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from PA August 20, 2014

    Epiphone Nighthawk

    This is a great guitar. I have wanted one of these for a while and just could not pass it up. This is my first buying experience from Sweetwater and will not be the last. The customer service is exellent shipping fast and great prices.

    Thanks Sweetwater

  • from Warren, OH USA February 28, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner/Hobbyist

    A steal and a show stopper...

    I am relatively new to playing the guitar, but have been around music and guitars for a while, and this is my first venture into electrics, but I was amazed when I opened the box and saw this beauty. I wanted something unique, something different, and the Nighthawk fits the bill! It is easy to get around the fret board, and plays sweet. It has 9 unique tones, and definitely isn't a Strat or a Les Paul. The build quality is top notch, and the fit and finish is beautiful. It is a bit neck heavy, but I knew that when I bought it, so it is not an issue to me. The price Sweetwater offered it at was remarkably lower than everyone else, and my decision to buy was a no brainer, even though it was backordered. It arrived quicker than I anticipated and Mark Chapman kept me informed every step of the way. Sweetwater is top-notch all the way around and I will definitely be shopping here again!

  • from El Dorado, AR December 6, 2013Music Background:
    longtime amateur

    Excellent guitar.especially at this price

    My sales engineer Jimmy Hart picked this guitar out for me; I asked him to pick the lightest of the 4 available with the nicest wood grain, & he undoubtedly picked the best one (I got a Fireburst). I can't thank Jimmy enough, not only for this, but also for all the help & time he's given me.

    When I was high school, I got a used Gibson SG Standard for Christmas; this Nighthawk is better, by far. I can't find a flaw in the finish, the Grover tuners turn like butter, and the 9 possible pickup combinations will keep me busy from now on.

    The only thing that wasn't up to expectations were the stock strings; I put on a set of Elixir Nanoweb lights, and now it plays as good as it looks. Because of this beautiful guitar, I'm definitely going to get at least one more Epi...the hard part will be deciding which one(s). But it'll definitely be from Sweetwater; the service & selections are unbeatable.

  • from brooklyn, NY November 1, 2013Music Background:
    40 years, and more Hobby 56 Guitars !! , Onle RCA tubes will due !!

    A sound experience if you know what to do with it!!

    Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue
    A sound experience if you know what to do with it!!
    Once again another Score from my Sales Engineer NICK CHURCH ext. 1262 at Sweetwater
    Letís begin with the pickup combinations: 5 way switching 9 combinations:
    (1)-Position (1) Humbucker, with Push Pull pot In Position.
    (2)-Position (1) Single Coil, with Push Pull Pot out Position.
    (3)-Position (2) Humbucker and Single Coil with Push Pull pot In.
    (4)-Position (2) Coil Tap on Humbucker and Single coil with push Pull Pot Out.
    (5)-Position (3) Center Single Coil Pickup.
    (6)- Position (4) Center Single Coil Pickup and Neck Mini Humbucker, with Push Pull pot in the: In Position.
    (7)- Position (4) Center Single Coil Pickup and Neck Mini Humbucker,know coil split ,with Push Pull Pot In the Out Position.
    (8)- Position (5) Neck Mini Humbucker ; Full Mini Humbucker with Push Pull in: IN Position
    (9)- Position (5) Neck Mini Humbucker in Coil Tap (Single Coil Position) with push Pull in Out Position.
    Like so!!!

    In all, 9 distinctive sounds, with switching on a 5 way switch and push pull knob. This will take you to a little Les Paul, to Tele to Strat , maybe not exact but really a beautiful rendition of sounds that are well worth taking a look at for this price . You Ca n Also find on Sweetwater website the alternative for the bridge humbucker , wich is a slant humbucker ,from Seymoure Duncan for upgrade if you feel it is necessary .
    I ask all who really play to remember not every guitar is made for you, and also to remember to learn to play before you make a decision on any instrument because we all canít be Eric, or Stevie Ray . And With this said you need to make your mind up, experiment. Most guitar players have more than one guitar and have made more than one mistake in purchasing what they thought would work for them, but did not. So please if you want try this Nighthawk reissue, even if it is not first in your arsenal of guitars, Iím sure you will agree itís a Keeper.

  • from March 14, 2013

    Great all around guitar

    I am a drummer of 30 years and have also toyed around with playing guitar, bass and piano. I also have a small home recording studio. Although I am not a seasoned guitarist, I do consider myself a tone/sound fanatic when it comes to gear. I can be quite obsessive when it comes to this stuff and I will do hours and hours of research and demo's and listening.

    I got to the point where I wanted to get a bit more serious about guitar and dove into learning all I could about pickups, woods, manufacturers, etc. I originally came to the conclusion that I wanted a strat and was on a quest to find the right one for me.

    Well, I was at my local music shop one day and one of the workers plugged in a guitar and started playing. I was really taken back by the sounds coming from this thing. It was the best sound and tone I had heard to that point, even better than some of the higher end strats I had played before. I had no idea what guitar it was that he had plugged in, I assumed probably something beyond my means. Turns out it was the Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue.

    So I went home and did research on this guitar, and after feeling confident that the quality was there to match the sound I bought one. I love everything about it. I run mine through an Avatar 2x12 cab and a Hughes and Kettner Tubemiester 18 head. It really does sound incredible and I can get pretty much any sound and tone imaginable. I did change the stock saddles with stainless steel ones and changed the strings to DR Pure Blues. Not because I was disappointed with it stock but because i wanted to feel like I customized it a little. The changes did in fact improve on the tone even more.

    The finish is flawless and beautiful, I could find no problems with anything after recieving the guitar. The pickups and all combinations are bright and chimey on my set-up. Neck pickup is a bit on the dark side of tone but thick and satisfying. My favorite is switch position 2 with the neck mini humbucker and the single coil. Gets the beef of the humbucker and the clear bell-like chime of the single coil all mixed into one sound. Overall it's a truly astounding instrument all on it's own merits, and then you add in the low price that it goes for and you just can't find a better buy in guitars right now. Regardless of price this thing is quality gear.

  • from Louisville,Ky October 20, 2012Music Background:
    active musician at church and home

    just as good as the real thing !

    All i can say is WOW ! from the time i took it out of the box and played the first note,i was absalutely blown away.are they sure this is a copy ?i can say that,because i also have a gibson nighthawk,and this one plays just as good,if not better.very pleased with my purchase.Thanks sweetwater for the fantastic service and sales team.

  • from Bellingham, WA July 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro muscian (was), hobbist (now)

    Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissiue (Fireburst)

    I have read several reviews on this guitar, and all were favorable, so I decided to pull the trigger and buy one. I figured it would be a pretty nice guitar for the price, and when I opened the box and played it a couple of days, I felt a got a pretty nice guitar for the price.

    I took it to the music store and they set the neck, lowered the action and installed a bone nut......when he handed the Nighthawk to me and I held it....HOLY CRAP!!! It was a completely different guitar. It plays as smooth as butter, intonation is supurb, the action is off the charts. I LOVE, LOVE,LOVE this guitar.

    If you buy one, or already own one...PLEASE do yourself a favor and have it set up...it will make this nice guitar into a work of art.

  • from Fargo, ND USA December 17, 2011Music Background:
    I've playing guitar and singing for 45 years.

    I love the Nughthawk

    I'm impressed by the number of different tones I get from that guitar. The action is up to par with any american made Gibson.

  • from Central, NJ December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar, Bass, Keyboard, & Drum Player for over 20 yrs.

    Latest guitar in my collection

    Well I just added the Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue to my collection of a dozen+ guitars and have to say this one is the most versitle. It probably on paper be the best back up guitar you can have because of all the tone switching combinations. I have several other Epiphone guitars including 2 Les Pauls, Wilshire, and Dot, but right now this is my favorite Epiphone I own. I can reccommend this guitar to anyone that does not have a lot of money to spend but still want a decent guitar.

  • from baltimore March 7, 2011Music Background:
    Active musician

    Great Guitar

    Got the trans. amber it's a sweet lookin piece. The finish is perfect and the combination of tone woods come together to create a great sound. The coil splitting gives you a barrage of usable tones that you can't find on most guitars. It came set up pretty good out the box, i'll probably just raise the pups a little. If the pickups were a little better I would have given it 5 stars. The fit and playability of it are near perfect. Overall I'm very happy with it and don't think there's a guitar out there right now that compares for the price.

  • from Lexington,SC August 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Musician, Home Recorder!!

    Epy Nighthawk Custom Fireburst

    Really really good remake! Having been the owner of a 1996 Gibson N/H that I sold, and am very sorry to have done so, this Epy reissue more than fits the need! It was in stock and S/W shipped it the same day with the B/S HT-5RH and the HTV-112 Cabinet. They arrived in no time it seems! Great service, what more can I say about that? NOTHING! Out of the box the action was set a little to high, also, the intonation was off a little. Once I corrected those issues this thing spreads notes and chords like butter!! Lots of great tones with all of the combinations you can dial in. Best of all, this Guitar looks amazing! Happy, Happy, Happy!!!

Questions about the Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue - Fireburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway