rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Whirlwind EDB1 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box Reviews

3.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Whirlwind EDB1 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Questions about the Whirlwind EDB1 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • BUNNY
    from Houston, TX April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Director, On The Level Games

    It DI's

    If you don't need anything fancy...its your workhorse! Didn't add any noise and did the job.

  • Tom Yaron
    from Paden City, WV March 10, 2014Music Background:
    Simple DJ, and a house hold of aspiring musicians

    Great for a beginner

    Marc M. was great at giving me a primer for selecting a DI box. I agree with his assessment, about quality but choose his second recommendation based on cost. It is still made of quality material and works wonderfully for my beginning daughter and son. Another guitarist (local bands) liked the quality and cost. So I would recommend this for a beginner/novice. Nice construction, and good connectivity.

  • Dave
    from Arizona August 20, 2013Music Background:
    50 years guitar+bass. Singer/Songwriter/Performer

    STILL STANDIN'

    I've used my EDB1 for over 10 years and it's still standin' up to what it needs to do. I'm surprised at the low ratings from some on this page but, as with anything, if you don't take care of it, it won't take care of you.

  • Matt
    from Tamps, FL March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist for 25 + years, Studio owner

    Still impressed, and a decent Re-Amping box also!

    I posted a review about a year ago. surprisingly, even though I've beaten it up quite a bit, this thing keeps working great. and, i've found a new use for this.... in a bind or on a budget, this works remarkably well as a re-amping box. By hitting the ground lift and engaging the 40db pad, this sends a signal from my DAW to my amp without any additional noise. I compared an amped and reamped track, and my peak volume was within 0.2 db and my RMS volume was within 0.5 db when I made the comparison. to my surprise, it took repeated, very careful listens to spot any differences between the tracks. After repeated, careful listens in "solo" mode, I detected a very slightly reduced high end, and maybe just a tiny bit less "bite" and body overall... I think that perhaps there could be a bit less detail in the reverb tail and delay echos as well, but its really subtle. I used software tools to confirm that over 10k there is a slight reduction (around a db) in the response of the re-amped track, and also a slight reduction (again around a db) in the response of the re-amped track around 6k and again around 200hz and lower. In the context of a full mix, I could not distinguish any difference, especially once EQ and compression had been applied.

    Don't get me wrong, I still would want a purpose-built re-amping box for critical work, but in a bind or on a budget (or both) I really would have no problem using this as a re-amper.

    And, while it certainly isn't the best sounding DI, for the cost - its very respectable and would get me through most sessions in a bind.

  • Ryan Caldwell
    from Chicago, IL USA February 10, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    It works

    Its a stripped down DI box that is reliable and compact. It does what its supposed to do. Nothing added, Nothing taken away and its cheep.

  • madfordmac
    from Madison, WI December 6, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro classical recording engineer

    Does what it's supposed to

    It doesn't do anything fancy, but it's not supposed to, either ;-)

    Quiet, clean interface at the right price.

  • Matt
    from Tampa, FL March 19, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Producer/Engineer/Musician/Writer

    Surprisingly good for the price, but not road worthy

    First, a quick note to those who think that a DI will eliminate hum - please keep in mind these are not magic boxes. Can they eliminate hum/noise in many situations - yes. Is one box on one instrument going to fix a whole PA system full of problems - not likely. On top of that, for most boxes - like this one - the ground lift is a handy sidekick but not the main character.

    This does what it is supposed to do, and for the price - does it surprisingly well. I have heard a few cheap DIs over the years that were noisy or even that seemed to dull the sound, but this is nice and clean, with no noise. The ground lift is a nice addition, although I've yet to find a situation where it provided any benefit as I'm in a pretty clean, well laid out studio environment relatively free of hum and loop issues.

    The pad feature is nice also, but again, its rarely used. Mostly, I use this to track a guitar or bass direct and through the amp at the same time, or even simply to get a nice clean direct tone into the board and not even bother with the amp.

    There is nothing about this box that is stunning or amazing, its a utility piece, but it works.

    The construction is pretty light and I wouldn't recommend it for the road or even heavy stage use. light live use and typical studio use and this should hold up fine though.

    There are DI boxes out there that add tube warmth or big transformer fatness but this is just plain vanilla. its cheap, and it works...

  • Chase
    from FL November 14, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer/Musician

    Average DI Box

    I have four of these DI's and they're used for our churches worship band on a weekly basis. Out of the four, one of them has gone bad (over a 4 month period.) The DI's work fairly well, but on occasion do not fix the hum. Bottom line, you get what you pay for. If you need a cheap quick fix, this might work just fine, but if you're going to spend the money, you might as well get the IMP 2 for a little bit more.

  • Ron
    from Columbus, OH August 5, 2011Music Background:
    DJ and sound man

    Whirlwind EDB1

    The item did not work with my sound systems. Did not do anything for the hum noise.

Questions about the Whirlwind EDB1 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway