0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Fender Eric Clapton Vibro Champ 1x8" 5-Watt Tube Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
  • from Calgary, Alberta May 22, 2016

    Top shelf amp

    I have owned many quality amps over the years but nothing as pure and touch sensitive as this unbelievable amp.

    This is a players amp and it doesn't lie. Your pick attack, your general playing ability and style flow through this amp naturally. The cleans are beautifully clean and driving the amp gives you that stunning vintage tone. Truly every spot on the dial is a sweet spot.

    I'm a gear head and I've owned so many guitars and amps over the last 10 years. A constant cycle of gear, but I truly have no desire to buy another piece of gear after plugging my Strat into this amp.

  • from Louisville Ky June 24, 2015Music Background:
    Blues musician and life long student of the sounds of Chess and Sun

    The Champ is Here!

    About 15 years ago I was recording an album with a jump blues band. The engineer suggested I use one of the old 57 champs that they had basically for decoration. I hooked up cranked it up and was blown away by the huge tone and touch sensitivity. This amp was old and rough but I never matched the amazing tone, until now. I got the new EC Vibro Champ from Sweetwater and once it warmed up my lust for that tone was immediately satiated. The new amp is well built, tight resonate pine cabinet. The tremolo is gorgeous on this little guy. The amp is very sensitive to the amount of guitar volume and finger attack. Little Champs are on tons of famous recordings and just have that sound from a bygone time. I will be incorporating it into my live blues shows. I will mic it up. Club owners, sound men and my own taste for nostalgic tone have pushed me to the small amps as of late. I've tried them all and own some of the best. The Champ is a jewel that outshines all the others. It's expensive for its size but you really can't buy this tone in other amps.

  • from Chicago, IL April 7, 2015

    Bad ass amp

    Very impressed! Awesome amp with adjustable vibrato. Great practice amp for the home. Very happy

  • from Lowell, Ar USA November 6, 2014Music Background:
    Professional player/teacher

    Wonderful professional giging amp

    Played a wedding last weekend. Gave it some slapback echo and some reverb, put it on an amp stand behind me,and finally put on a audix i5 mic and a cab grabber.i never had to turn it up past 5.The guys in the group said it was the best I ever sounded. I hear people saying that you can't get a clean tone and that it won't compete with a drummer. I say get another drummer. He's probably getting you fired from all your gigs anyway for playing too loud. I play rockabilly, blues, and country this amp does it all and allows me to keep the stage volume down and have a great tone at the same time. If you are playing heavier rock and want to have a great natural distortion not only will it compete with a drummer, you could probably play a small room without going through the pa. Also a grouch ing club owner will probably tell you your too loud!
    Great amp....well worth the money

  • from Alabama August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    EC Vibro Champ

    The EC Vibro Champ is a great little amp! The sound quality and workmanship of this amp is top notch. At 5 watts, this amp is also surprisingly loud and certainly fits my need of home use and recording. This amp is expensive but compared to similar amps, is probably not overpriced. This was also my first purchase from Sweetwater and I was very impressed with their customer service!!! Sweetwater has earned my repeat business.

  • from Los Angeles, CA December 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love it Love it Love it

    I've owned 5 other amps in the past and this is by far my favorite. It sounds just beautiful!!!! I will never sell this amp. I don't use any effects with it. Love the clean tone and it breaks up nicely past 7 or 8, but can be a bit loud for my little condo, so use it around 4. The neighbors have not once complained since I bought it two years ago. The styling is suburb, the craftsmanship is impeccable and it only weighs 15 pounds and carry it around in my TSA rated cargo/amp box when I go on trips so can travel with peace of mind.....it was a bit expensive, but I was going back and forth between the EC Vibro Champ and the Fender '65 Princeton Reverb Reissue and the price difference was only $100 and the compact size and smaller speaker (remember I live in a small condo), and power attenuator made this the best choice....plus it looks good too.....overall....best amp of it's kind for the money spent.

  • from N. Florida July 18, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, home studio and student of music!

    Got the Blues?

    Plug-in to this and you won,t for long! Always wanted a tweed Champ. This is probably one of the most recorded amps of all time! ZZ Top, Aerosmith, Joe Walsh, EC, and the list goes on and on. If you record guitar you need one, too! Tone to the Bone, very cool!

  • from Arlington Heights IL July 17, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter/producer

    EC Vibro Champ

    All I can say is GREAT. Used on s gig ...cuts right thru...used on a recording session with fantastic results. This is the ultimate portable amp...fits inside a small bag and the vibro is wonderful!

  • from California October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Life long guitar enthusiast.

    Swampy and Sweet

    I'd been searching for this quality of tone in this size package for years without investing $$$$ in old relics. If sweet ,swampy and clean is for you then this is the one. Perfect size for the CAVE.

  • from Sebastian Fl. USA August 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Best amp ever

    Great tone, excellent quality, perfect size.
    Amazing volume. Very happy.

  • from New Mexico July 9, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist (Blues, rock, jazz, junk)

    Freaking Awesome!

    These 5 watts just ate the lunch of my 135 watt late vintage Twin and 50 watt Peavey classic 50 410!! I've never played an amp that was this responsive to volume adjustment from the guitar, not to mention how responsive it is to pick attack.

    Don't get me started on the tone. Think BB ca Live at the Regal or Live from Cook County Jail. Or Eric on Beano. It's dead on for Beano. No fiddling, no pedals, just fantastic tone. I've played all of my guitars through it (Strat, LP with HB's, Strat type with P90's, LP type with P-90's) and each sounds uniquely awesome through this amp. It's expensive, but well worth the price.

    It sounds really harsh at first, and you might think "What did I just spend a ******* grand on!?!", but give it about 5 minutes of hard playing to warm up and you'll be in heaven. The only other drawback is how quickly it breaks up (which you should expect, but bears mention). Don't get this amp expecting to be able to play clean with a band (or even with a backing track on a reasonable sized stereo). Mid-levels give you crunch, and it only gets awesomer from there.

  • from NYC March 15, 2012Music Background:
    Bands forever & playing 50+years

    More than impressed

    I am stunned by this amp. I bought it expecting it to be good I mean after all down through the years Eric has never endorsed an amp before. I own 2 Eric Clapton signature guitars one is the standard issue and the other is the Custom Shop exactly what Eric uses model. They are both super excellent guitars in terms of what you buy and what you get. Of course the custom shop is over the top. Once you play the Clapton Strat with the soft V neck it's over your spoiled. It's the only neck you ever want ever again.
    So anyway the Clapton Vibro Champ whew! I can't believe it. Just can't believe it.
    When you first hear it it's not just Wow it's exactly what I wanted or expected.
    Oh no it is so far beyond what you expect I just stood there in stunned reaction hitting a few chords every few seconds and playing some Riffs. Then I started to play some Clapton stuff off of 461 Ocean Blvd and the Slowhand LP.
    The tone was absolutely on the Mark
    Spot on!as Eric would say.
    Play it for yourself all the favorite tunes of 461 and Slowhand and of course Layla and other assorted love Songs, they are right there it's just amazing.
    I have three other Fender Amps and a Dr. Z 18 that I love, absolutely love
    They cannot hold a candle to this little 5 watt monster in tone and playability.
    Try one! / go down to your local music shop and try it.
    Hey just a lil extra tip. Buy it from SweetWater! I must have bought at least 5 -10 thousand dollars worth since I discovered SweetWater.
    So I had a problem with the Clapton Amp after I had it for maybe 5 days.
    Called and let them know / I told my Salesman.
    In two days I had a replacement / no questions asked. SweetWater is the BEST no doubt about it.
    Songw

  • from Philadelphia November 8, 2014

    Great Amp

    If you haven't owned a 5 watt amp before you might be surprised how loud it can be. It's a perfect practice amp. The attenuator, weber speaker and tremolo are great additions to a classic amp

  • from Florida September 25, 2013Music Background:
    Play by ear & personal satisfaction. Do it as a Hobby.

    A Great amp for it's size

    I only play for myself and wife at home, and have this amp in my (bedroom) type sitting.... I have three other vintage Vibro-champs, and I must say, this amp is pretty close (to my ear) in sound as my other three. However, I must admit my Blackface sure is sweet. I am impressed with the build quality and the nice tone this amp gives. The amp has plenty of volume for my use and presently, only running it a half power. I will admit the amp is pricey, and thought I would never pay this kind of price, but now that I have it, I am not disappointed in it's sound or build quality. It is a pleasure to play through and I really enjoy the amp. It would have been nice if Fender added a tone control, but along with my 65 American Vintage strat , is quite capable in giving me the warm tone that I enjoy. I also play a G&L Legacy, and with the alnico pickups, and the right control settings, I get that nice smooth warm tone as well. Again, nice amp and I am not disappointed.

  • from Ankeny, IA August 26, 2013Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    Size - doesn't really matter!

    Agreed this is a SMALL amp in size. But in tone it rivals many amps three times it's size. The quality of this amp is amazing. I currently have some nice amps, and have owned many very collectible amps in the past, this one holds it's own and will only be a piece of history that will be worth something in the future. It is loud, but not sure it is as loud as my Marshall Class 5. Completely different tone than Marshall (both Class A).... each has it's place, so not planning on getting rid of either. If I had to, the Marshall would be the first to go. Is it loud enough for a band setting or practice? Seriously doubtful, but if you have a quality PA and you can mic it, then feed it back through your monitor, it would be fine, but without being mic'd ,no way.

    I love the simplicity of this amp, two controls and really you mainly use one (volume). The tremolo is fantastic, but more than likely would only use for a grin every now and then.

    The amp seems fairly clean up to around 7-8 (remember goes to 12), then it starts to really break up nicely... that classic great tweed breakup that you just can't get enough of... also the low power really cuts the overall sound down and the tone still remains. I will say, my Strat can sound a bit harsh in the bridge pickup on other amps, most of the time I have to turn back the treble, I really can't get a harsh sound out of this amp, it is fantastic in all pickup settings on the Strat... something I can't say about many other amps. Love that Weber and believe it will only get better the more it's played.

    Would I buy this amp again at this price? Well, more than likely I would, I did get a great deal which made this a no brainer, but I agree the street price is a bit high, but the tone and quality is worth it. Also other amp makers have similar amps (hand wired) at that same price, so it is prices with others in the market.

    Buy one - I don't think you will be disappointed - I sure am not and really wasn't planning on getting another amp...

  • from TN January 31, 2013

    Great little amp

    This is a great little amp for home. Love the tone, especially with a Strat running into it. The Vibro function has a great throb to it and is foot-switchable. Also has a 1/4-1/2 power switch for when you really want to overdrive it at low volumes. No effects necessary with this little one. Quality build as well.

  • from February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Sweet little amp

    Great classic tone, great practice amp and even small gigs.superb quality.
    My only complaint is that speed knob on the vib function only goes from slow to fast. You need a twenty dollar foot switch ( optional? At this price?) to turn it off. Overall if you are into classic tweed amps and their sound, this is a great addition. There more I use it, the more I love it.

  • from Chantilly, VA March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Fender Eric Clapton Vibro Champ

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYM26YLbIoM
    Please watch my review of this amp on YT under Larry Soulcactus.
    You will find out everything you need to know, good & bad.
    The amp has a fantastic sound. I didn't give it a 5.0 because the amp does not come with a Foot Switch & the stock tubes are less then stellar!
    But for an amp of this size, the features & tone of this amp is not to be missed. It beats out it's boutique competition with ease. This is the real deal with out any vintage amp headaches.

  • from Colorado October 20, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Teacher

    Quality Issues

    Was excited for this amp, and ordered one about 10 months ago. It arrived and sounded perfect right off the bat. But after about 20 minutes of playing, everything got fuzzy, It was impossible to play anything clean (at low volumes, of course) for more than 20 minutes. I exchanged it for a new one, but it arrived with the feet badly out of level and a dead power indicator. Contacted Fender and all they could say was they were sorry for the bad experience. Too many problems for an amp at this price point,

Questions about the Fender Eric Clapton Vibro Champ 1x8" 5-Watt Tube Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway