0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Epiphone ECACS Guitar Case for SST Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from United States February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Music Major, 15 year musician in guitar, vocals, drums, etc.

    Epipohone SST guitar case

    This is a fantastic guitar case. Very high quality inner lining and outer hardshell. Fits my Epiphone SST Studio perfectly. Has a compartment for picks/strap/capo, etc. Very secure. Guitar does not move around. 5 Stars!

  • from Leesburg, Indiana January 23, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby Musician

    Epiphone ECACS Case for the SST Classical

    The shipping was two days! Great. The case was excellent quality andf it fit the guitar perfectly. The was not our first purchase from Sweetwater nor will it be our last! The case was for my grandson and he loved it.

  • from USA June 6, 2011Music Background:
    40 + years working musician, Luthier, energy systems engineer

    Epiphone SST case

    This case is actually fantastic and much better than pictured. The material is a faux like leather, very smooth. The squared off head room is very nice also. The latches are a sturdy chrome with three latches in the front. My guitar (SST) fits perfectly! The Epiphone logo is a nice touch as well. What else can I say...I LOVE this case! Very solid and built like a tank! I recommend this case to anyone looking for a GREAT case for their SST! Nothing else works or fits your SST like this case! (I know because I've looked at them all)

  • from Long Island, ny May 12, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    excellent case for Epiphone SST classical

    The case arrived in excellent condition and the "Epiphone" stencil was clean and unscratched. Good deal!

  • from October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Case

    Fits my SST nicely.
    The internal finishing is awesome. Externally the outer shell seems a little bit fragile but it is just my impression. It will protect your guitar just fine.

    It is made to fit the guitar perfectly so be carefully if you store it with a strap. It might pinch the guitar finishing when you close the lid.

  • from Canada October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Musician for 45 years

    SST Studio case

    Case fits the guitar perfectly,great price,great service.

  • from United States March 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, 20+ years of playing experience

    Keep your Epiphone SST safe!

    First off I want to say this is my first time ordering from Sweetwater and their custome service is of the highest standards, very friendly staff! I needed a case badly for my Epiphone SST and this is the only case that fits it, as it was made for it. Although its not quite as sturdy as I hoped for, it is more than adequate to transport and store such an awesome instrument. My only other criticism would be is it only has 3 latches, would've preferred it to have 5. Overall, this case is a good buy, and Sweetwater not only had in stock, other retailers show no stock of this case until at least July 2012, they also have the best price , plus quick, FREE shipping!

  • from Durham, NC March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    SST case works for Yamaha AEX-502

    The Yamaha AEX-502 came with a padded zippered case and I wanted a hard shell case which would offer more protection. This case was reasonably priced and it fits the guitar which is in between a les paul and a 335. It was frustrating because no one publishes dimensions of cases.

  • from Wilkesboro, NC USA December 29, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Epiphone SST guitar case

    Very well made case that fits the guitar very good without being to tight on the guitar. Good quality hinges and latches. Hopefully will last many years

  • from Columbus, OH February 22, 2011Music Background:
    Live solo and band gig

    ECACS Case

    This case is actually the 2nd one of the pictures, not the first. The case is great for what it is. The material is like a faux leather, very smooth looking. The case has a more squared off head than the main top down cover closed view. The epiphone is in gold, but the latches are all chrome. The reason I gave this guitar 4 out of 5 stars is that it only has 3 latches on the opening side and none on the back/hinged side. The guitar (a gibson SST) fits perfectly. I painted over the epiphone logo, bought a big nice white gibson sticker and sure enough, the case looks fantastic. It is not as solid as the gibson sst case, but it also is about 150 less. overall i'd recommend this to anyone looking for a good case for their gibson sst.

  • from Orange County, NY. April 17, 2012Music Background:
    Played guitar for nearly 50 years.

    Not great, but a lot better than a gig bag.

    Finding any case for an SST style guitar is not an easy task. The Authorized dealer I where purchased my 1998 Epiphone SST Custom had no hard case in stock, but did offer to order one for me, or sell me a gig bag for $39. I decided to look online for one and found that the Epiphone ECACS was the recommended case.

    As Sweetwater was the only dealer that had it in stock at the time, I ordered one from them. The case arrived on time as promised. The first thing I noticed was that the case did not match the picture on the web site. Further inspection revealed that the web site actually shows two different cases. The old style cases, as in the main view shown, were similar to the Gibson cases with four latches and a very tough exterior covering. The new style cases, as shown in the open view, aren't nearly as strong or well made, having only three latches and an exterior that will not stand up to much ware much less any abuse. I had received a new style case.

    Fit and finish of the new style cases leave something to be desired. The interior body is about a half inch oversized in length, (Not too bad), the waist is oversized by almost an inch on each side, the upper and lower bouts fit nicely, the headstock space is somewhat tight with the tuners just touching the sides of the case on each side, and there are about three inches of extra length at the top. The instrument can move inside the case but overall it is limited to about half an inch forward and back with little movement side to side. The accessory compartment is rather small, being barely wide enough to hold a set of strings. The grey, plush interior is more than adequate to protect and cushion the instrument.

    The body appears to be fiber board, and is somewhat flexible, but not unacceptably so. There were small "globs" of glue visible at some of the seams. The exterior covering had some small irregularities, especially near the edges. The carry handle is padded, and not the typical hard molded type.

    The latches, as supplied were unacceptably loose, opening with only the slightest pressure on the bail lever. They were so bad, I nearly returned the case. But, as there are not many hard cases which will fit both a wide lower bout and a body depth of only 1.75 inches, I decided to modify the latches myself. I tried adjusting the springs, but they are not robust enough to be of much use. I finally solved the problem using four inch cable ties. Looping one around the mating surface of the top piece and hiding the joining end behind, the added distance between the latching surfaces did the trick. The draw latches now snap shut with authority, and will not open unexpectedly.

    Bottom line is, this is a $79 hard shell case for a hard to fit guitar. Gibson SSt's came with a hard case, and there is no replacement listed on the Gibson web site. A standard LP or SG case from Gibson is well over $200, and even a Gibson gig bag is nearly $100. The ECACS is no Gibson case, but it's a lot better protection than some padded, Cordura bag. If you can live with modifying the latches yourself, $79 for this case is money well spent. Overall I give it a 3.5, not great, but a lot better than a gig bag.

Questions about the Epiphone ECACS Guitar Case for SST?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway