0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

ESP LTD EC-256FM - Lemon Drop Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the ESP LTD EC-256FM - Lemon Drop?

Questions about the ESP LTD EC-256FM - Lemon Drop?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Cape Cod, MA January 15, 2017Music Background:
    Music/Guitar Buff

    WOW

    This guitar is rock steady. For the money you cannot go wrong. It played super, right out of the box. Before receiving it, I thought I would have to change the pickups. I was wrong. These pickups are just fine for anything out there. The guitar is thin, light and beautiful. This is a keeper. I want to give a special Thank you to Mr. Luke Herian for all he did to get me set up with this ax. Sweet Water is my go to place for all my music needs. Thanks again Luke.

  • from Gainesville, FL August 30, 2016Music Background:
    Playing for 20 years

    Best Value in the Guitar Market Today

    First of all, I own several four-figure guitars so I know quality when I touch it, play it and hear it. The LTD EC-256 sounds, plays and feels better than some of my Gibsons and I'm not exaggerating. It's that phenomenal. The immediate impression when picking this guitar up for the first time is quality. It is thinner than a Les Paul at only 1-5/8" thick but it still weighs 8 lbs, 6 oz. Keep in mind that most of Gibson's newer weight-relieved Les Pauls, which are 2" thick, are in the 8-1/2 lb range.

    The way LTD keeps the weight down is to make the guitar thinner. No swiss cheese holes here, just solid mahogany with a stunning maple veneer cap. I was most impressed by how it sounded. Its sound is comparable to guitars that cost seven or eight times as much. The neck is fast and easy to navigate, the belly contour and thinner body make the guitar sit close to you as you play it so it's very comfortable. It feels very much like a Strat when you play it but has that thick, lush tone you associate with a Les Paul.

    The EC-256 is the best of both worlds. And if you want a Strat-like sound it has coil tapping available for you as well. The quality, tone, and playability is why I say this is the best value in the guitar market. It's simply unrivaled for what you pay.

  • from Tullahoma, TN August 16, 2016Music Background:
    Retired professional recording engineer

    I'm amazed at how much I love this guitar!

    First of all, they were back ordered when I ordered mine, so I had about a month and a half to get worried about ordering a guitar that I'd never played before and I was pretty nervous by the time it showed up. But, when I started unpackaging my guitar, I was struck by how well it was packed (A+) and then by how beautiful the finish was (A+) and then when I pulled it out and hit a G chord, it was almost perfectly in tune! (How's that possible???)

    I am really blown away at how this guitar is exactly what I wanted! I owned a 1985 Les Paul Studio for about 20 years and had to part with it a few years ago and this was my chance to replace it. I never thought I'd say it, but it plays so much better than my Les Paul! I would describe it as a Les Paul Custom fretboard, but probably a little skinner with nice flat frets. Pretty sure the body is thinner than a Paul, but has plenty of tone. It plays so easy, I hate to put it down. I haven't experimented with the tone & pickup combinations very much, but they do what I expect. It's a little heavier than I expected, but it's not too bad.

    So, if you're thinking this is the one for you... go for it!

  • from Ohio January 30, 2016Music Background:
    Played guitar for 35 years and still playing in my own band

    retired and playing my musical hobby

    I have been wanting this guitar for sometime and made my choice and i do not regret it at all. It is really a super nice guitar and the finish is super nice thanks to my sales person Chris at Sweetwater. Do not know what i would do without him and his concern for all my needs, and he has helped me a lot on getting the best for me. I would not have it any other way cause he knows what i need and want when it comes to my music gear. He knows what kind of music i play and that helps my day and makes me very happy and he cares and does the right thing just for me. This Lemon Drop is a good guitar and even plays and looks better that i thought it would. The neck is so smooth and sounds and plays very well with no flaws what so ever. If i were you, do not hesitate on getting one of these guitars and you will be very satisfied and surprised on what it will do, no matter what kind of music you play and it is worth every penny. WOW, it blew me away completely.

  • from January 13, 2016

    ESP LTD Eclipse EC-256FM - Lemon Drop

    I have been looking at this guitar for about a year now and finally ordered one. It looked great out of the box, I couldn't find any flaws. I had read that some of them feel light and flimsy, not this one, solid as a rock. I also read the pickups need to be swapped out, the pots are not great quality� I fully expected to be doing some of this work which wouldn't be a big deal at this price point. After playing it through my Morris Grinder (a great amp that lets you know it your guitar is the weak link) I am not going to touch a thing for now. It sounds excellent. I didn't realize the coil splitting feature was for both pickups, I thought just the neck. With the coils tapped and the toggle set to the middle position, you can adjust each pickup's volume to dial in some really interesting, useful tones. Not Fendery, not Gibson per se, really its own thing. Very nice with a clean or distorted sound. I'm shocked at the quality for the money. I am having the frets professionally leveled, crowned and polished, the edges were a bit rough and the action was higher than I prefer, but this wasn't a super priority, I just know my tech can make it play even better, and this guitar is worth it. This is an amazing sleeper of a guitar, I think it's impossible to go wrong with this purchase.

  • from Woodridge, IL October 31, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, playing off & on since '63

    Best money I've ever spent for a guitar

    After playing Fenders, mostly Strats, my entire 'guitar life' I thought it was time to get a 'Les Paul' so I started doing my research -- there were a few 'musts' the guitar should have. Bound Body & Fretboard, Pearl 'block' Fretboard Inlays, 2 Humbuckers with Coil Splitting, Set Neck, Flame Maple Top, a 'Thin' Neck, and cost under $400.00. Only one guitar came close, the LTD EC-256FM by ESP, so I bought it and haven't looked back. And I've played it every day since I've had it, 8 months now. I'm playing it today too.

    The guitar came in two days and it was playable right out of the box, after tuning naturally. The action setup is unbelievable, I couldn't get it any lower if I tried. And the Large 13.7" FB Radius & Extra Jumbo Frets was no problem getting used to from Fender's small FR Radius and fret size, the EC-256 plays like a dream. The fit and Finish was also perfect, not the tiniest of 'blems'. And to me the LH-150 PUPS sound just fine, no upgrade required. IMHO, the only way to improve on this guitar's factory build is to have Locking Tuners as standard. Not that the stock :LTD tuners are bad. Locking Tuners help my 'old fingers' change strings :-)

    So if you're looking for the best 'les paul' for the money, I say the ESP LTD EC-256FM is it. Buy it today if you can..

  • from Louisiana June 15, 2015

    Rocks

    This guitar does just what the specs says it does its amazing.I would advise anyone to buy it its rock solid.

  • from Minnesota May 14, 2015

    For the money it's a Winner

    This guitar is a players guitar, with great looks, this guitar came out of the box and I was playing
    I have upgraded the pick ups not because the pickups are bad I wanted a different sound and I would not
    Have put anouther $ 190.00 into to the guitar if I wasn't happy with how easy this guitar plays, it's a rocker
    Also every place I take all I hear is that's a great looking guitar and when I tell them what I paid the response is your kidding, For the money you won't find any guitar that comes close to this one.
    I need to say it again it's the easiest playing guitar I have, and own others guitars that cost $$$$ more!

  • from Edgar Springs, MO February 27, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    As Good As It Gets

    Just recieved my new ESP Lemon Drop guitar today, & I can honestly say the quality playability ,,finish & attn'' to detail are second to none..Ive made my living with a guitar for over 40 years,,have & still own at least 1 of everything out there including high end Gibson & Fenders..I can tell you ESP,,,& I own 3 of them does not stand in the shadow of any of the big head stock names...Ive read other reviews about swaping out the pic,ups...Nonsense...these pups sound great,,One more note,,have no reservations about ordering a guitar online from SweetWater..Ive never experenced customer service from any music store of this equal..When you actually see in detail the instrument,,including serial No.. you are buying,,this my friends is first class service.....Thanks again S.W. & especally Jeff Jent'''you guys are the Best.....regards,,,,Tim M....

  • from Lovington, New Mexico June 10, 2013Music Background:
    Just play for fun.

    Great neck great fast service.

    This ESP 256 Lemon Drop has a great feeling neck, beautiful finish and a perfect setup. Nick called me to see if I neede anything and I told him no. Then I checked website and saw the guitar. I called him back and ordered it. That was a Monday and received it on Wednesday. Great service, and guitar is really sweet.

  • from January 14, 2016Music Background:
    Played guitar for 35 years and still playing in my own band

    retired and playing my musical hobby

    I wanted this guitar about 2 to 3 months ago and changed my mind to get something else. But now i decided to finally get the ESP that i found and will have it shortly. I know some things about ESP guitars and for this price, i am going to grab it while the getting is good and do not have a lemon color guitar at all. I know when i play this, i will enjoy the good sound and the feel of it and it will blow me away. I have a lot of name brand guitars and this one will be the last of my many collections to my kind of music that i play. The ESP LTD ECLIPSE 259 FM is going to be so nice to have that i will not have to buy any lemon drops to eat ever again, if you know what i MEAN !

  • from tampa fla September 27, 2015Music Background:
    front porch picker

    onethe best values out there

    I just got the ec256 cherry flame top model and this is one nice looking guitar.The guitar has alot to offer for the budget buyer the quality of build is right up there with the best. The pick ups are solid and give you good tone neck pup is a bit muddy but bridge pup has nice tone coil tap gives you exta tones that are very useful. I you want lp type guitar that rocks at an unbelievable price give this guitar a look . I may upgrade pups someday but got too break in the guitar .Check one out you wont believe how nice theseguitars are

  • from Brooklyn, NY July 11, 2015

    Unbeatable Value

    Simply put, you will not find a better guitar for this price. Amazing construction, excellent playability and at the price point, you would be hard pressed to find a better guitar. The only weak points are the pups and the tuners, but those can always be swapped out. Plays and feels as good or better than some LP's that are 3 to 4 times the price. Seriously, do yourself a favor and get one, you won't regret it!

  • from Binghamton, N.Y. December 12, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Instructor, Studio musician.

    Amazing deal!

    This guitar was the last in a string of bad instruments from me simply not taking the time to read up on what I was buying. I opened the package & BOOM! There it was in all of it's H H glory, Shiny, nearly tuned perfect with zero fret buzz.
    The only (slight) complication I encountered was that the input jack needed to be tightened. I also noticed from ESP's site that the guitars do not come with a warranty card - you must download that along w/ the manual from ESP's home page. I found the action to be much more user-friendly when I changed the default .10's to .09's. Intonation & tone are spot on although the neck pickup needs to have the bass turned down along with effectively using the pull pot for a less muddy sound in the neck position.
    Overall I must say that this is the best guitar I EVER bought for the current price (December 2013) The WOW factor hasn't even come close to wearing off yet & I've been playing it for around 5 hours a day for 2 straight weeks!
    I MUST give it 4 &1/2 out of 5 because of the pickups although I must say that they are STILL quite snarly. I say ORDER IT!

  • from Mountain Time Zone December 19, 2015Music Background:
    Dun sum

    My BBW

    Bought the Cherry version of this model (sold-out) came back to check the specs, yeah, they left out the weight. According to my bathroom scale: 10#, those things lie, so guess closer to 12. Hey, researched the model and all said she was a goodie, yup, *solid construction, 95% good frets, stays in tune and no buzz or humms. Replaced crappy strings first off, ok action (1 pick to 1 1/2 top to bottom), intonation acceptable - right out of the box. Got at a great price, recommend - beauty, but like my BBW you know when she's on ya. PS: 5 stars to Sweeeetwater

  • from Plainville, MA. June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend warrior...

    ESP LTD Eclipse

    This is my first electric guitar and I am blown away! I've been playing a great acoustic for the past few years and I absolutely love playing this guitar!
    It sounds fantastic and feels good too!

  • from Surprise, AZ April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Old pro with day job, currently songwriter/hobbyist

    Great guitar, great value, setup concerns

    I LOVE THIS GUITAR ... NOW. The first one I received played beautifully but had a faulty toggle switch. The replacement had a much better flame on the maple top, but lousy action. I had to dig out my nut slotting files and got a pro to file/crown the frets (everything above the 12th fret was high). Since then, it's been my No. 1 guitar. I like it more than guitars I paid 3x as much for. Best features: lightweight, tonally versatile, looks like you paid a lot more for it (I've received numerous compliments).

  • from Los Angeles May 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    light lp style guitar

    I wanted to get a light LP style guitar and this caught my eye. Mine is a tad under 7 pounds. It has a thinner body than the typical epi/Gibson. It has good fit and finish and is a good value. When mine was shipped, there was a large amount of buzz on the low e sting which had me worried. However I adjusted the bridge a bit and it is now gone. Overall I am quite happy with it. If you want a good value and light lp style guitar I think this is a good way to go. If sounds very nice, both clean and distorted, but it doesn't quite have the Gibson snarl if that is what you are looking for.

Questions about the ESP LTD EC-256FM - Lemon Drop?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway