0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Epiphone Thunderbird Pro - Natural Oil Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Thunderbird Pro - Natural Oil?

Questions about the Epiphone Thunderbird Pro - Natural Oil?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Central Pa. December 8, 2014Music Background:
    Student Hobbyist

    Awesome T Bird

    Whoa, Just amazing, BAM right outta the box, tuned , shiny and ready to ROCK !!! Thanks , Zach and Sweetwater !

  • from Upstate NY June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Over 50 years performing part-time musician.

    Wow!...is right!

    I'm a new-comer to bass, but I have played guitar and banjo for over 50 years. A few months ago, I bought a really nice Acoustic-Electric Bass Guitar from Sweetwater and have been really pleased with it. Never-the-less, the short scale and piezo electronics, while more than adequate for the bluegrass music I play, didn't seem to have enough "punch" for the blues, old rock, and country. So, I started looking for an affordable, full scale, solid-body. Much to my grandson's chagrin, I'm usually very conservative about the shape of musical instruments I buy and at first glance, the "T-bird" was too far-out for me.....BUT...then I saw this one with the natural oil rubbed finish and something clicked, probably due to the nice mahogany, maple, and walnut blend, absent of any gaudy paint. At that point, I figured that I should open my mind a bit and at least try her out....after all, Sweetwater has that very generous return policy if I didn't like her. When I opened the box, even before playing her, I was immediately impressed by the quality. Then, when I played her, I was bitten by the love-bug. She's a dream!! She has beautiful action, I find her really comfortable to play for long periods of time and she has that deeper, punchier sound for which I was searching. My horizons have been expanded! What a deal! Compare this one to the walnut bodied Gibson T-bird and you'll see what I mean. I'm not here to knock Gibson, but the price of the Epi was far easier on my wallet than the Gibson would have been and I think that the quality difference is only minimal. The only downside is the generic manual that comes with the "T-bird". There's no mention of a bass in it at all and it would be really helpful to have a diagram of the specific function of each control knob... I guess you don't have to be a rocket scientist to figure it out by yourself. That trivial matter aside, buying one of these bass guitars is an investment which you will never regret. Two little tips: Buy the Epi T-bird case for this model, because you'll have a devil of a time trying to find a generic case that fits....and buy yourself a can of Butcher's Boston Polish Amber Paste Wax and keep her protected and good looking with a nice satin sheen.

  • from Independence, MO USA June 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Epi T-bird Pro

    Absolutely excellent. Had to do a small bit of nut work and intonation, but that's expected on ANY guitar. Once intonated, it stays in tune forever ( I did put flatwounds on it.....) Buy the dedicated case. No other will fit.

    My only concern is that once I die, my wife will sell all my guitars for what I told her I paid for them......

  • from Baltimore, MD February 26, 2014

    bad*** bass

    Start off by saying my sales associate Ben was awesome, and the customer service was impeccable. I got my bass quickly and it arrived ready to play out of the box.The finish is a work of art,looks like I paid twice as much for this bass.The sound is crisp and thunderous. The only thing I will change is the strings and that is personal preference. I don't think the neck dive is as pronounced as some say.It came today at noon and I can't put it down.Quite pleased with my purchase and Sweetwater's customer service.You have a customer for life.

  • from March 13, 2013Music Background:
    HOBBY, MUSICAL EVERYWHERE

    bass for the buck

    I have owned several bass guitars in my time, Including signature series that were very costly. I have also owned several epiphpone bass guitars in the past including a regular t-bird, So out of all the enjoyment I had gotten out of the old t-bird I missed it , So this time around I decided to pick it up anotch and go for the pro, The sales staff at seetwater were #1 . And with the New guitar gallery you get what you see, the cost with the inspection, and warranty is a no brainer, The active pickups are hot! I can not express the joys of the over all look of the guitar, the playing is # 1 as the neck feels, i normally havve in the past sanded the necks, did not feel i needed to on this one, I had not played in nearly 2 yrs before making this purchase , and feel I am a better player today than what I was then. I never wanna put it down, and it was ready right out of box, all in all if you are a fan of the t-bird and love to have that gibson put wanna save the $ get a pro, I do not think for one bit you will be dissapointed, or simply enjoy it till that day comes where the sales staff can help you again at sweetwater !

  • from Alabama August 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Thunderbird Pro IV bass Guitar

    The bass is great , love it. The service is best I've ever experienced, and I will certainly recommend Sweetwater to my friends. It's unusual to deal with a company that follows through and really cares that you get what you pay for.

  • from Michigan May 17, 2017

    Great T-Bird

    Just got this BAD BOY! Great bass for the $$$. I've always wanted a T-Bird! I've tried newer Gibsons but found the build quality to be lacking. The look and feel of this Epiphone is fantastic. Epiphone has really upped their game. I also have a Epiphone Zenith that is great, too bad they are discontinued. And, again a great big thanks to Tyler and the staff at Sweetwater! You guys ROCK!!!

  • from DeLand , Fla. September 30, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist , sound engineer

    Great bass

    Thank guys ! Love this bass !

Questions about the Epiphone Thunderbird Pro - Natural Oil?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway