0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Epiphone Goth Thunderbird IV - Pitch Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Goth Thunderbird IV - Pitch Black?

Questions about the Epiphone Goth Thunderbird IV - Pitch Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Matt Alexander

    My Epiphone Goth Thunderbird IV bass has served me well for nearly 10 years as I've played it across the country. With a classic body design and unique features - like the 12th fret inlay and the celtic cross pick guard - it sets me apart from other bass players. Easy playability and deep, rich tones have made this my go-to bass for years.

  • from California, U.S.A. September 19, 2016

    Sweet Bass!

    Great price, Great look, and best of all, excellent quality and sound!

    Thank you Sweetwater and Epiphone!

  • from March 22, 2016

    Sweetwater. Rocks!

    I bought a epiphone thunderbird IV (goth bird) wirh a peavey vypyr 2 amp for my 12 yr old daughter. the amp and guitar are the perfect combo. her music tastes cover Jackyl, In This Moment, Crue, Papa Roach, Poison...you name it! the. "bird"has all the deep growling bass youd expect, plus the right amount of punch! the Vypyr 2 has got to be the best.small venue amp ive ever heard! not to mention she plays her ICX 220 Ibanez through it too! and her Double Bass! (got a seperate pickup) . All in all im giving this a 5 star rating. customer service, delivery, and packaging were excellent.!!! Thanks Ian! YOU ARE THE MAN! i will never do bussisness anywhere else!

  • from Blairsville, GA February 7, 2016

    Good Lookin Classic

    I've always wanted an Epiphone Blackbird but didn't care for the iron cross inlays and light colored fingerboard. Even the older goth's had a light fingerboard. The new models are great, just what I was looking for. Blacked out with a dark stained fingerboard with no inlays except at the 12th fret. The guitar looks and plays great. The neck is a slim tapered, quite slim and narrow at the 1st fret. Murphy's Law, if you introduce an aggressive style, something else has got to give. The strap nut is on the neck plate which causes the body to lean forward a bit with a little neck dive, nothing too bad because your forearm sits on the wing which counter acts it leaning forward and neck dive. It plays very well with the action being sorta medium normal, not too low or high. All basses sound different and this one sounds like it looks, heavy without being boomy, muddy or thin. The controls are excellent. Definitely worth every penny. I can't think of any cons, time will tell. As always Bob Mondok was on top of things through the whole process.

  • from Bassett,VA May 22, 2015Music Background:
    In a punk/Metal Band

    Great Value

    Can't beat it for the money the action is just right, looks great. Very playable.

  • from Arizona September 23, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist

    Sweetwater- What an awesome busienss and customer service

    Mind. Blown. I wanted this Matte Black Epiphone 4 string bad ass bass so bad! I said what the hell and tried for the 3 payment option- lo and behold, I was approved! No fuss, no muss!

    Spoke with Lyndsy - She was awesome! Great help! I will definetly be doing more business with SW!

    The Bass itself is a great low ender- only complaint I ahve is the strap bolt on the neck plate- was long, too long and the head was to wide for standard Schaler or Dunlops - So I had to drill a hole close by- Not the same weight balance now. Threw it off for the dreaded "Neck Dive". Love the bass regardless of this one minor issue!

  • from Landover, MD November 6, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    This bass is awesome

    I bought this bass a day later after my bands first gig performance as a way to treating myself for a job well done. I started off with a squier j bass and used it for the performance. Shortly after I saw the goth thunderbird I said I had to have it. A few weeks later my band performed again this time I used the goth and it was awesome. I love it's thunderous sound and it's light weighted which is a plus. This is a huge upgrade for me and everyone I know love it people couldn't stop staring at it. It's perfect

  • from Pilot Grove, MO November 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great sound

    Ordered this bass for my wife and it arrived earlier than expected. This particular bass was on backorder, but still arrived within a week. It sounds great and looks awesome. Not too heavy and not too light. The wife loves it. The service we receive with Sweetwater is GREAT and we will continue to seek our music needs through them.

  • from Bowling Green, KY April 14, 2016Music Background:
    Home Musician

    Sounds as Awesome as it looks

    This was my first Bass and I have to say it brings the rumble you'd expect from an Epiphone. The weight is easily managable and very well balanced. Rock Solid Construction, Very nice tuners, and I was even surprised at the factory strings that came on the guitar. I have not had to change them yet and I've been playing it daily for a month straight now.

  • from September 12, 2015

    Another homerun!

    It was exactly what I thought I was getting and per usual the good people at Sweetwater are without a doubt the most accommodating music professionals in sales. Thanks again!

Questions about the Epiphone Goth Thunderbird IV - Pitch Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway