0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Epiphone Jack Casady Artist Series Signature Bass - Metallic Gold Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Jack Casady Artist Series Signature Bass - Metallic Gold?

Questions about the Epiphone Jack Casady Artist Series Signature Bass - Metallic Gold?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 5, 2016Music Background:
    College student BS in audio production

    Love this bass

    This is the first bass I have every bought and oh my! I love it! The neck is chubby but feels awesome and nothing feels wrong with the neck

  • from February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Epiphone Jack Casady

    Well made - top of Epiphone's quality line IMO. Good range of tones and comfortable to play sitting or standing. The stock Dean Markley Blue Steel strings work well to bring out growly mids and bite; fitting flats (I use Labella Deep Talkin') gives more fundamental tones and thump. Then again, a change of string type can do more to adjust your tone than thousands spent on amps.

    A very good value bass; the only possible downside is the body size for some: it is essentially the same size as a Gibson ES 335 which smaller players can find awkward. Watch the bridge studs too; I've heard they can work loose but gluing them in place readily solves the problem it seems. Tuners and other hardware work flawlessly and the factory set up was fine - only usual minor tweaks needed.

  • from CA USA May 10, 2011Music Background:
    Pro

    Jack Casady Signature Bass great in the studio

    I have one of the first JCB's made. It's a modern take on the Gibson Les Paul Sig Bass. The great Gibson design makes this new Epi version the best electric hollowbody bass available. A unique and great sounding bass that sounds incredible with the LaBella flatwounds 760fl set. Set the varitone switch on the lowest setting 50ohms, then roll the tone knob back about halfway for a sweet organic ballad tone. Advance the varitone for more aggressive, meatier tones. A killer studio bass.

  • from Western USA December 8, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Jack Casady bass is one of the best basses available

    This is one of the best buys in the bass world. Priced for the masses, but sounds as good or better than any pro bass available. Has its own round, organic sound, but can do rock, too. I use 760FL La Bella flatwounds on mine and it just kills! A recording monster, too.

  • from Neverland November 23, 2015Music Background:
    Played concerts in the 60s

    Casady Impedance Switch Purpose

    Lots of Misinformation everywhere about this switch and what it does. The impedance switch on the Casady is NOT a VariTone circuit.

    A real VariTone has selective frequency cuts and shifts your tone tremendously. The Casady impedance switch has NO change to your tone while it allows you to pick three radically different volume levels for the same tone with no loss of highs or detail or tone.

    Compare that with regular volume controls which typically kill your tone when you turn down. This switch does NOT kill tone. You can set the low volume (50) to match your stage amp for a clean tone and then use the two louder settings for more punch for solos.

    Or you can set the loudest setting as your "normal sound" and dial it back WITH NO LOSS OF TONE by using the lower switch positions. Your choice.

    This bass, in other words, has a tremendous dynamic range!

    Set it up with favorite strings and get your best bass sound---then use that tone at ALL different volume levels. Louder for solos and less for background backup.

    The bass by itself has a distinctive classy tone and this switch allows you to do the most possible with dynamic attack!!! Just like Jack.

    And the fact that all this control is at your fingertips means you can get sounds normally only possible in the studio---but LIVE through your amp on stage!

  • from Huntsville, AL January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Vox & Bass (Hobbyist)

    Great bass at a great price

    First thing I had to do was to tighten everything! After that, it was good to go, although I did change the action, strings and intonation. I thought it sounded better with heavy strings (.105 - .050). Has a great woody tone (I didn't really know what that meant before this bass!) Thumpy but not muddy. Perfect for the music I like: '60's, '70's and Country.

  • from Birmingham, AL USA May 15, 2010Music Background:
    Lifelong Bass Guitarist

    Fantastic Bass

    I love this bass. In a field full of solid bodies that sound very similar comes this unique guitar. The responsiveness to touch and technique is very intimate. Position of the plucking hand really shines through on this one.Playing around with the varitone and tone control yields a number of useful tones: Don't let one pickup make you think it is a one trick pony.
    The 34" scale keeps it from being muddy. There are not many full scale hollow body bass guitars around.
    Build quality is very good. My only complaint is the large body. This does contribute to the great sound though. It is not heavy, at least.
    The gold color is beautiful. You get noticed.
    If you want to get out of the pack ( both sound and looks) this is your ticket!

  • from Philadelphia, PA November 4, 2014Music Background:
    Entusiast

    Very satisfied

    This is a very good bass for the money. I can't believe the sound you get from only one pickup. Somehow the impedance selector switch performs magic and can transform it from an acoustic to a jazz bass to an outright rocker. I do have a couple of issues with it which is why I did not give it five stars. First, since the body is semi-hollow it does suffer from a slight deck dive when standing. Second, the impedance switch is a little flimsy and you need a light touch so you don't turn it past the pre-defined settings. Finally, it arrived with the action set way to high for me. I needed to release some tension on the truss rod and lower the bridge setting. Oh yeah, the pickup was a little loose which caused some buzzing, but tightening the screws took care of that. Once I got it setup, I'm now very satisfied. The customer support along with fast shipping from Sweetwater made the purchase a breeze.

Questions about the Epiphone Jack Casady Artist Series Signature Bass - Metallic Gold?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway