0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Epiphone Allen Woody Rumblekat Artist Series - Wine Red Reviews

5.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone Allen Woody Rumblekat Artist Series - Wine Red?

Questions about the Epiphone Allen Woody Rumblekat Artist Series - Wine Red?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Tx January 2, 2017Music Background:
    Over 50 years

    Bass

    Love the length of neck the sound is awesome is of playing is amazing best looking bass I've seen

  • from PA October 12, 2016Music Background:
    717-283-3338

    Made me a believer

    Ok I have ALWAYS been a USA made long scale only guy. I would never consider a bass made in China. When I opened the box I was happy to see that I got Bit o Honeys this time. (Instead of those horrible hard candies) The fit and finish was flawless. The only thing I saw was the fit of the nut was a little funky, but not bad. And thats being picky. The set up was perfect. I was going to slap flats on it but the round wounds that come with it are just fine. I plugged in and played it thru my Mark Bass Amp. It has a really nice mellow sound. I played some Eric Church, BB King and Clapton. The neck feels great. I am very pleased with this bass. It may be my new "go to" bass.

  • from March 14, 2016

    Rumblekat Growls

    I've been playing an old Fender Telecaster Bass for many years and I love it, but guess what, one day I just picked up a Rumblekat in a shop and that was it! It felt so good I just had to buy it and believe me I was not disappointed. After putting on some roundwounds, that thing just started to talk. It not only rumbles but it growls. No problem with the tuning and on mine, the action and intonation is just perfect.
    I still love my Telecaster bass but she gets to stay home a little more often now :-)

  • from Youngstown, Ohio March 11, 2016Music Background:
    Moderate

    Simply Flawless

    Quick on delivery. Packaged well Color, Finish, Action & Setup remarkable. Sound is unbeleavable. A great guitar.

  • from Pennsylvania February 10, 2016Music Background:
    Musician and circuit designer for musical instruments

    Excellent Short Scale with great tone!

    The first thing I noticed about this guitar right out of the box is that it is a beautiful guitar. Secondly it plays like a dream. Finally I noticed that both pickups are located closer to the neck than expected. For me this was an opportunity to achieve thunderous tones that I never got on other bass guitars and I simply used a Stage 3 Booster to add that piano string bell like clarity when I needed it. This is not just a great bass guitar for the money it is the best bass guitar I have owned so far. I played this straight into an Ampeg and with the Booster and it was all awesome!

  • from New Hampshire December 6, 2015Music Background:
    40 yrs. of Rock,Blues, whatever

    My "Other" Bass

    I`m a dedicated Fender guy but I wanted 1 bass with a different sound. The reviews are true! This has a great sound and the build quality is excellent. It has a bit of a "woodier" sound than a Fender. The only thing that could be improved on is the tuners. It is a little difficult to keep in perfect tune, but I still love this thing. The neck is a perfect 10. The thickness of the body doesn`t bother my wrist at all. It sounds great for recording. I`m playing a 3 pc. classic rock jam today and can`t wait to play this baby! It`s worth every penny......Rob

  • from August 11, 2015

    outstanding

    I have had many basses, from Fender to BC Rich... When I got my Rumblekat this passed December I was blown away! This is the one bass I wil not let anyone else touch!
    Well worth the money!

  • from June 25, 2015

    The Rublekat Rumbles

    The Allen Woody Rublekat really rumbles! The semi-hollow body is wonderful to play for hours. I could not put it down, and it sounded great right out of the box.

    The rich sounds are fantastic. As a longtime fan of the Gov't Mule and Allen Woody, I expected to pay at least twice as much as it cost. The wine red color glows in the sunlight. A real beauty.

    A great bass guitar.

  • from Montana June 18, 2015Music Background:
    many genre, but now mainly blues - blues rock

    Awesome!

    I love the tone and feel of this bass, just awesome. Not only a great bang for the buck, it's great period. I enjoy playing this bass as much or more than any bass I've owned in 33 years of playing bass. That's 10 prior basses, some of which were extremely expensive.

    I can't stop playing this Allen Woody Rumblekat! *Sweetwater's service was outstanding!!!*

  • from Ann Arbor, MI April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Musican, Composer, Demo Recordings

    Very Pleased

    I had done my research on the Rumblekat and knew what to expect in terms of sound/fit and finish/playability and I was not disappointed! The sound is warm and rich (I am not a fan of overly bright bass sounds). This thing plays even faster out of the box than I was expecting. Nice job on that Sweetwater! It really is a beautiful bass and I don't think the photos quite do it justice for some reason. The value on this is outstanding. I nearly purchased a different bass for over three times as much and I am not sure that I would have been any more satisfied than I am with the Rumblekat. Something to keep in mind with this bass, not only is it short scale, but the finger board seems slightly narrower than I was expecting. For me, this was a positive and I think it helps my play, but just an FYI in case this is not your preference. I have read elsewhere that this bass may have been designed with pick playing in mind, but I primarily use my fingers and I still dig the sound.

  • from roseau mn, usa May 21, 2013Music Background:
    amature bass player

    excellence all around

    I have not had personal service like I got from Sweetwater in a very long time. It's a breath of fresh air talking to a live person here in the states and someone who makes you feel like your appreciated as a customer. I love my guitar and case, even your set up techs were top notch, clean shiny and in tune right out of the box. All my music purchases will be with your company in the future, make sure my sales rep is taken care of he is top notch.

  • from jennings,la. April 29, 2013Music Background:
    playing music since a teen. i now play in church for our choir.

    Rumblekat bass

    I have really enjoyed this new bass. Right out the box was setup perfect. I own a 1968 Hofner and just recently picked on it no comparison. It plays so much easier and the deeper tones are wonderful. Took a few hours in learning the neck and controls but very satisfied with the bass. Sweetwater thanks again, Norbert you day man.

  • from San Francisco, CA February 26, 2013Music Background:
    Got Stars in my Eyes

    Fits right in the band, ready to play

    I play guitar and am the primary song writer in my band. When I wanted a bass to have around to craft some bass hooks, I was drawn to this guitar primarily because of its short scale neck, which I thought would make it a bit easier for me to to play. My Sweetwater hookup, Robert Johnson, played the guitar a bit to confirm that it was good to go, and boy was it. I love playing it, its got a great throaty sound (through an Ashdown amp) and is among the well built Epiphones (I've played a lot of Epiphones, and some are definitely better than others). Maybe I don't know much about bass guitars, but my bass player got ahold of this and it's now the "band bass." He's what some call an "active" bass player (plays off the root and all over the neck), and he confirmed that the set up is pretty great right off the factory line (and the Sweetwater techs). The sound, the feel and the look fit right in and keeps up some thumping bass lines along many different feels (classic rock, funk, alt. rock).

  • from MO Ozarks March 16, 2012Music Background:
    guitar strumming hobbyist who always wanted a bass to play as well

    Outstanding instrument...looks and sounds wonderful

    I am a complete novice when it comes to playing bass (I have been playing guitar off and on for 13 years now but this is my first bass guitar that i have ever played. Because of that I can't give an informed opinion on how this rumblekat sounds/feels/plays in comparison to other basses. I have always played epiphone guitars (el dorado acoustic and 61 G-400 lim edit 1997) and have been extremely happy and satisfied with that company so I wanted my first bass to be an epiphone as well. On top of that, I am a HUGE allen woody fan and all things Gov't Mule/ABB/Blue Floyd etc., so I was very interested in the rumblekat right off the bat. Once i did some research and realized it had a shorter neck (which I assumed would be a more natural feel as a guitar player) and was a limited edition model, I decided to go with the A Woody Rumblekat. I also loved the vintage look of the instrument which would have caught my attention even if it didn't have the Woodshed signature. After placing the order, the bass showed up 2 days later w/ free shipping and ready to go. I was thrilled to see that it looked even better in person. I have been playing it for about 3 weeks now and i LOVE the feel and the way it sounds (I am only using a Marshall 15 MB series combo amp) I couldn't be any happier with this bass guitar. I think the price is very very reasonable and again considering it is a limited edition run, i assume you won't find hundreds of them for sale on ebay and craigslist which should help this particular instrument keep its value (which isn't the case with many Epiphone models). One thing I highly suggest is to buy the hardshell case that is specificly designed for this bass guitar.

  • from June 8, 2015

    Allen Wood Rumblekat

    Guitar player for years but never had a bass. So this is my first. I am familiar with all the popular basses but this is all I need.
    This bass sounds, plays and looks great. Plus you can't beat the price

  • from Phila Pa February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Player at Honeyspot Blvd....

    Great Bass for the money....

    The bass was packed nice, delivered on time... The bass played well right out of the box! After changing the strings to Flatwounds and resetting the intonation! The bass has a nice rich warm tone from low to high... I have not put this bass down... I'm really impressed with this bass... Thank You Sweetwater...

  • from April 3, 2016

    Nice Mid-Range Bass

    Looking for short scale as I'm primarily a guitarist but wanted a bass for recording as the MIDI wasn't cutting it. Playing a short scale is a bit different than the long scale as the strings are a bit looser but works well with my style of palm-muting, pick-playing with a light touch. Action is low and the bridge is solid and adjustable. The warmth of the mini-humbuckers is there for sure. It may not be the one for you if you have large hands or want to slap or hard pluck then a long scale (like Fender P or J-Bass) is your ticket. Of course, Sweetwater is the place for online guitars with their set-up and inspection - intonation and all were spot-on! Probably upgrade with flat-wound strings and get the custom case next.

Questions about the Epiphone Allen Woody Rumblekat Artist Series - Wine Red?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close