0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Ernie Ball 6166 250K Mono Volume Pedal for Passive Electronics Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Ernie Ball 6166 250K Mono Volume Pedal for Passive Electronics?

Questions about the Ernie Ball 6166 250K Mono Volume Pedal for Passive Electronics?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Muncie, IN March 20, 2017Music Background:
    Home Studio/Road Gigs

    Great Expression Pedal

    After some calibration with my Eleven Rack, this works great as an expression pedal. Between the switch inside this pedal and the 11R settings, it has a nice sweet spot. Even sweeter is the fact that I do not have my signal running to my pedal board.

  • from Bronx, New York January 13, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ernie Ball 6166 Mono Volume Pedal

    This pedal is well machined and the action is very smooth. I prefer to use it to control the wah effect in my multi-effects processor rather then add an external traditional wah. This way you lose nothing in the signal path. It's very strong too; I can't imagine someone breaking it. I purchased two of them; one to control volume and the other to use as an expression pedal. I wish the taper was more linear as a volume pedal but nothing is perfect.

  • from Bronx, NY December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ernie Ball 6166 Mono Volume pedal (Almost perfect)

    This is a solid well machined volume pedal. I use the two that I purchased to control volume and expression on my G-System. They look like rudder pedals for an airplane. Very solid and smooth back and forth movement. It controls volume and other parameters very smoothly. I would give it five stars if the parameter control were more even; meaning the the first half of the pedal travel downwards has less of an effect on the parameter than the last half of the pedal's travel. The taper switch helps but I guess nothing is perfect.

  • from Eugene, OR November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Works as advertised

    I have been using an Ernie Ball Volume pedal for 20 years now. They work great, are quiet, and require no power. I tend to get about 4 - 5 years of regular use out of them before the string invariably breaks. You can get a string replacement kit for less than $4.00, but I have never had any luck replacing them. Mine tend to seize up after a few uses. I find it easier to buy a new one to avoid the hassle.

  • from MI February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    So far so good

    I was surprised how big this pedal is, but that's good for max control. I find myself using this pedal constantly, often to get that swelling sound. I almost wish there was a way to put stops in it for specific volume settings, but that's probably asking too much. I can't imagine not having a volume pedal on your board.

  • from Florida January 20, 2008

    Great Pedal, but Had issues

    I have had this Volume Pedal for a year, and throught that year, it was great. I tried a few other pedals, and this one exceeded them in feel, and usability. It did, however, eventually get a noisy circuit and the kevlar string brake on me. It gets alot of abuse from me though, and has lasted more then my other pedals, so overall its great, gonna get a new one, but its not indestructable.

  • from Bellingham, WA USA July 16, 2006Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician/recording engineer

    Built like a tank

    I honestly believe this is one pedal that's going to last me forever. It is chunky and heavy and the sound is clean because it apparently has a sealed pot that doesn't let dirt in. This is one pedal that goes with me to all my practices, gigs and recording sessions. The travel is smooth and once you get used to it you can set the volume where you want it on the fly, or "play" it and since it is so heavy it isn't going to travel across the stage when you are rocking it back and forth.

Questions about the Ernie Ball 6166 250K Mono Volume Pedal for Passive Electronics?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway