rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Ernie Ball 2723 Cobalt Super Slinky Electric Strings Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Ernie Ball 2723 Cobalt Super Slinky Electric Strings?

Questions about the Ernie Ball 2723 Cobalt Super Slinky Electric Strings?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Bobby White
    from Brandon, MS June 21, 2015Music Background:
    Semi retired semi pro guitarist

    Amazing string! no hype

    I've been a guitarist for over 40 years. I was a huge Dean Markley ultra lights guy for a long time until I made the switch to Ernie Ball Super Slinky's in the late 70's. From time to time, I've tried others just to check them out. Always ran back to Super Slinky's. I tried the Cobalt Super Slinky's a few months ago very warily and skeptically. Man, was I impressed! I've swapped all my guitars to these strings and won't go back! They are louder and "punchier". The notes are clearer and cut through the mix. They are easy on the fingers and last a LONG time. I'm all over the place on genres from Hendrix to Breaking Benjamin and my primary guitars are (all American) Les Paul Custom, Explorer, SSH Stratocaster, and Deluxe Telecaster. There was a very noticeable positive difference on every guitar. If you pay attention to your tone (and you should), the difference is well worth the extra dollars!

  • John Isom
    from De Soto, Ks. June 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician,54 years experience. Toured US & Europe.

    EB Cobalt strings

    Great strings! I had a set on my Parker Fly for almost 6 months.

  • Paul Z..
    from Sierra Vista, Arizona March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love m

    After reading all the hype I decided to try a set of, Ernie Ball Slinky Cobalt strings on my 02 Jackson DKMG. The Slinky Cobalt strings changed the voice of my guitar, richer, fuller, more body, and will handle higher bending of the strings without brakeage. So smooth fingers glide over these strings. I have ben using E.B. Slinky Cobalt strings for four months on same guitar, and the tone is still great. Only one con, if you like shiny strings buy nickel. I LOVE M.

  • Carp
    from Ohio July 18, 2012

    Good strings...

    Put these on a new Tele. I normally use 10's but thought I'd give them a try before I had to change the set-up. I think these strings actually sound and feel like 10's to me. I know all strings are different according to your tastes and feel, but I really think I will keep these around awhile and not change to 10's yet. Can't really comment to the output difference claimed, but for me it's all about the feel and tone, which I like so far. I will report again as these strings get played a little more as this Tele is not my main guitar.

  • Rich Murphy
    from San Diego October 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, lead guitarist in band

    Worth the investment

    These strings arrived yesterday and I can say I am genuinely impressed. Usually I think of products like this to be pure hype and marketing, but these things are definitely not. Probably the best part of them is that they entirely eliminate a muddy and booming low end, these are very clear and focused, and makes it have almost an acoustic fullness to them even with 9s when playing clean (I use an SSS Strat); and with the overdrive on they are never booming and very pleasant to listen to. I like the feel of these strings however apart from slightly easier bending they feel the same as normal slinkys, which is nothing to complain about. I can't say much yet on durability and life but will update my review when I can. These are a bit pricy, and Sweetwater was great as always.

  • Joey Ratledge
    from InnerBanks, NC June 27, 2013Music Background:
    Full-time Musician, part-time saint.

    Zoinnggs!

    These strings are on the pathway to greatness! A great work in progress, they heat up pickups unlike any other.
    That said, be careful on the light gauge, as they will snap on you during performance more than others.
    Maybe they can alloy the non-wounds to perform as well without the possibility of losing an eye while playing the solo to "let's Go Crazy."
    Mike Godlove and everyone at Sweetwater are the tops in service and personable service!

  • Terry W. Chaffee
    from Carlsbad, San Diego, CA November 7, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar for 35 years, mandolin, uke

    Ernie Ball 2723 Cobalt Super Slinky Electric Strings

    Heard about them at the NAMM show in Anaheim last year so thought i would try a set or two. If you like a "light" gauge string starting at .10, try the super slinky starting at .009. The "light" gauge super slinkys start at .11 or .12. These super slinky's really produce a little bit of extra volume or resonance and they sound really good on my Gibson SG. Recommend trying them for a different sound....

  • Customer
    from March 31, 2017

    Ernie Ball 2723 Cobalt Super Slinky Electric Strings

    I didn’t find the tone or feel to be any better or, worse than any other set of middle of the road strings by any of the major manufactures.

  • Jason Sellards
    from MI May 23, 2016

    Cobalt Super Slinkys

    Actually got rusty b and e strings in my first pack. Sweetwater made it right though.

Questions about the Ernie Ball 2723 Cobalt Super Slinky Electric Strings?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close