0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Ernie Ball 2221 Regular Slinky Nickel Wound Electric Strings Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the Ernie Ball 2221 Regular Slinky Nickel Wound Electric Strings?

Questions about the Ernie Ball 2221 Regular Slinky Nickel Wound Electric Strings?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Nashville January 10, 2017Music Background:
    Glam Metal Hard rock prog metal

    Epic strings

    Best strings I've played for drop c and drop d. Good for metal to hard rock to metalcore to prog metal

  • from January 7, 2017

    Can't go wrong

    Great product and the price is spot on. Best customer service of any company EVER! We first bought one pack of strings a couple years ago because oh the price, and the service they provided kept us coming back. They take the worry out of ordering online and they know their products and stand behind their word.

  • from May 25, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Guitarist

    Great, Reliable Strings

    EB ten gauges are hands down the best strings I've ever used. Great sustain and bite and on top of that, they almost never break. The price helps too

  • from Kensington, CA December 17, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Professional

    Great Strings! Greater Store!!!!

    I've been playing for decades semi-professionally(hundreds of paying gigs) and there just aren't any better strings out there. I suppose that's why Eric Clapton and Keith Richards used them as well.

    But this really isn't a review of the strings, It's a review of Sweetwater. I ordered three sets but they were apparently out of them. I got a call from Sweetwater within five minutes of my order apologizing for any delay. The strings showed up at my door out in California a couple of days later with a huge Thank You note and some Christmas candy, which absolutely thrilled my children.

    Let me remind you, this was not an order for a $3,000.00 boutique amplifier, this was and order for three sets of guitar strings.

    Based on my experience, Sweetwater is an exemplary music comapny in all regards and I would recommend them in the highest regard allowable my man.

  • from United States March 7, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Nice Strings

    Great strings. Sound nice, work good, look nice, etc. What more do you want? They don't cost a ton of money, and they do the job. I have them on a strat and a Les Paul and they are awesome on both. I play an hour or so every day, and they seem to hold up pretty good. No reason to buy really expensive strings, these are perfect.

  • from Huber Heights, OH October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Well-Balanced Strings!

    I have since the start relied on Ernie Ball for my strings on electric guitars. Part of the reason is how popular and wide spread they are. My favorite Artists/Bands use them too! ; Jimmy Page, The Edge, Jimmy Eat World, Switchfoot, Anberlin. These strings provide both warm and bright tones. Best of both worlds right?! Providing a balanced range, with clarity, and sustain. Work great with not just Standard Tuning but also; Drop D, Half Step, Drop D#. These are a must equip for your electric guitars!

  • from philadelphia pa usa October 12, 2012

    The best

    There are no other strings for my guitars

  • from Florida June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist for 14 years.

    Great Strings

    These are the lightest strings I use when recording. They are relatively easy to solo with, and have great tone and bottom end.

  • from Brazil September 15, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    The Best

    Just resurrected my guitars in the studio.

  • from May 10, 2011

    Perfect

    I love them! I would recomend them to anyone. The sound is great!

  • from Cleveland, OH USA January 31, 2010Music Background:
    Former Amature Punk Guitarist, Hobbyist, Home Recording

    Best electric guitar strings.... period.

    I've been playing guitar for 13 years, and have used almost every type of string out there, until I tried Ernie Ball. I used to use the pink Super Slinky strings, now I use the Regular Slinky (little easier on my fingers and better bass frequencies) for both my six and seven string guitars, wouldn't string them with anything else!

  • from Fort Wayne IN January 22, 2010Music Background:
    Guitarist

    The best strings i ever had

    Very good strings and they last a long time.They are cheap but play like they are the best.They are the best i would recommend it to anyone who plays guitar.

  • from Edgewood,MD October 11, 2008Music Background:
    Play guitar in a band for about 5 years

    The Best String

    This strings are awesome. They last long, sound great, and soft on your finger tips. I been using this string and they never let be down. I recommend to clean your string with a microfiber cloth everytime your done playing(helps it last longer). And apart of this its ships for free here at SWEETWATER.

  • from miami, FL January 6, 2017Music Background:
    music business

    quality

    great strings to ring in the new year awesome company fast shipping thanks!!!

  • from Ann Arbor, MI May 2, 2016Music Background:
    Bands/Recreational

    Ernie Ball=Solid!

    I have used these string for about 7 years now and haven't looked back. By far the .010-.046 strings are the best out there in my opinion. They have nice sustain and I feel have a great sound for music from mellow to metal. Oh I almost forgot, I did have a high E string snap as I was setting up my guitar. It didn't get snagged or anything, it just broke. I did have the strings around for a good while though. So, I emailed Ernie Ball to see if the strings can lose strength over time or "go bad." They explained that they shouldn't as they are sealed (makes sense). They ended up asking for my address and mailed me 2 new high E strings and a ton of stickers. AWESOME customer service! (Just like Sweatwater) ;-)

  • from Radford, Va. October 21, 2014Music Background:
    About 40 years of gigging, 15+ running a recording studio, live sound.

    What can you say?

    A solid performer for years.

  • from May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Long lasting, great tone

    These are the only strings I can rely on that have great tone and won't break after one or two gigs like other brands I've tried (and I've tried a LOT!). Also, they don't rust easily (I sweat like a maniac on-stage) and will last a long time if you keep them clean.

  • from July 12, 2015

    Alright, Consistent Strings

    I used to rely exclusively on these strings. They are very average. Now I use these only when cost becomes priority over performance, which is on certain guitars, under certain conditions. Here's why.

    In my experience having gone through countless packs of these over the years, their quality is very consistent. They are also very well-priced, which leads to much of their popularity. They also feel pretty good to play, kind of on the soft side when new.

    They sound pretty good, but they are nowhere near the top of the heap for tone. They are not the longest-lasting or strongest strings out there by any means. They are just very average, which is fine. They stand up to everything you would want (heavy bending, whammy bar dives and pulls). They take a little while to break in (stretch) compared to some other brands but once they're broken-in, they have a decent lifespan with consistent tone across much of their useful life.

    Overall I can't say anything too terribly great or negative about these strings. After using them exclusively for years and finally upgrading more recently, I must say that I still buy a handful of Regular Slinky packs every once in a while. They're inexpensive and good to have around. They are consistent performers, so you always know what you're getting.

    They're also very well-packaged if you care about that sort of thing.

  • from CA September 18, 2014Music Background:
    been playing guitar over 50 years, hoping to get it right some day

    Classic Product, Classy price.

    What can I say? If you are a player you know about these strings. I first used them back about 1969, I think. Had heard that Hendrix played 008s. So I did too for several years. Gradually found I liked a somewhat heavier string. And they don't break the bank!

  • from Republic, MO February 29, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    My all time favorite strings

    I've used Ernie Ball regular slinky strings for over 30 years. Every time I try something different I come back to these. They have been the most reliable strings I've used. As long as you change them regularly, based on how often you play, they never break and hold their tone as well as more expensive strings.

  • from Taunton, MA February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, Musician

    Great long lasting

    I switched to ernie ball after having some work done on my guitar. I never thought there would be a big difference but there is, these strings really last, have a great tone and I have not broken one since the switch. Great long lasting string!

  • from muncie indiana February 2, 2016Music Background:
    35 year player tons of gigs

    eenie ball regular slinky

    great sounding strings.....i usually use daddario. i broke the high e string after about a week though. i guess that happens sometimes.

  • from So. Cal July 3, 2015Music Background:
    Semi professional for 33 years.

    An old standard...

    These strings are nice. Consistent quality, and overall good sound and average string length. I usually get a couple weeks out of them.

  • from Deltona, FL March 5, 2016

    I hate them

    I don't know why people love these strings, but good for them. They go out of tune much quicker and just seem like Walmart strings to me. I like Gibson vintage strings. Fender bullets for the strats.

  • from Greenville Pennsylvania July 6, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur guitarist and blues lover

    Don't buy these pieces of crap

    I can't express how much I hate these strings. Once you play them for about an hour you feel like you need changed them again. Because I put these strings on my brand new Stratocaster I start to like it a little less every time I play it. The only reason I give it one star is because Sweetwater won't let me give it zero.

  • from Spokane,WA USA April 1, 2005

    these are great strings

    these are very good strings if you like to play fast or like power chords these strings are not heavy strings but they are really good strings to play with i love them because i play single notes really fast so thats why i say buy these strings!

Questions about the Ernie Ball 2221 Regular Slinky Nickel Wound Electric Strings?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway