rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

LR Baggs Element Active System Reviews

3.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the LR Baggs Element Active System?

Questions about the LR Baggs Element Active System?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Jim Donbavand
    from San Antonio, TEXAS May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing the difference

    Based on hearing only once, for an hour or so, In a brand new Gibson J45 Custom. Using same amp as I've used for an SJ200 with a Fishman Under saddle passive transducer. The LR Baggs blows that one out of the water. It sounds like the actual guitar.

  • Chip Todd
    from Friendswood, TX July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Father of Peavey guitar; former Fender Dir. of R&D

    LR Baggs Element Active System

    I have never been disappointed with LR Baggs products and comsider them the best in acoustic transducer manufacturers. This particular transducer was quite easy to install and it's clarity made the work well worth the time spent.
    The real surprise was this first-time dealing with Sweetwater. Every bit of this experience was a pleasure, and I received a phone call shortly after receiving the pickup system, to be sure it arrived and to see if I was completely satisfiied.

  • Ryan Livingston
    from Michigan April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Contemporary Church Musician

    LR Baggs Element Active System

    I love this thing! For years, I've been consistently unhappy with everything I've used to amp my Taylor 113ce. You name it -I've tried it: Taylor and Fishman under-the-saddle systems, sound hole mics, sound hole pickups, and even the I-beam. Most were great for finger style suff for me as long as I didn't get to physical with the guitar -and I love to jump around with that guitar. Most of the time, I like to play hard with a light pick. Feedback and body noise just made any non-under saddle pickup system unacceptable for my preferences and style of playing. The other big problem -I just couldn't get good "definition" from my strings with most of those systems. Most other systems would put out tone, but I really wanted the whole sound of each string. I finally tried the LR Baggs Element Active System and got exactly what I wanted: no unacceptable feedback, the least body noise of anything I've ever tried, excellent battery life, no noise, and best of all, great amplification of the sound I really want to pull from my guitar for the way I play -and I'm guessing that 90% of players play the way I do. Thank you LR Baggs!!! I don't know if it was dumb luck or engineering genius, but I don't care. Either way, you've saved my life with this thing!

  • Paulo Clayton
    from Orlando, FL January 20, 2014Music Background:
    Worship pastor, session/touring musician, songwriter/arranger, recording engineer, basic guitar luthier/repair

    Solidly made, easy to install, great-sounding picking...

    I've had an LR Baggs Dual Source system in my Larivee acoustic for many years, and I alway get complimented on the plugged-in sound. The balance between the omni-directional mic and the Element under-saddle transducer is nearly flawless. Over time, I've discovered how impressive the Element works by itself as well, and in turn I've installed them in several other acoustic guitars for members on my worship arts team as well as other artists/session players I work with. Very easy installation, and the players are always struck by how great their guitars sound, even no-frills imports. My only comment is they could use a bit more output. I run mine with the LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI (which makes it sound even better) in order to bring the output level up comparable with other pickup/preamp systems. Other than that, this is the only aftermarket pickup I recommend for acoustic.

  • Scott Eastman
    from SW MO June 19, 2017Music Background:
    30 yr pro

    do it

    I haven't purchased many pickups like this so I'm going with a '3'.
    but I played a patio gig with the guitar I had this installed in and it blended and kept up with my partner's Boulder Creek really well the other night.. has a sweet top end, although I keep pretty fresh Elixir 11's on.
    was able to keep the EQ on the channel strip flat as well, come to think of it.
    I don't think you can go wrong with the Element!

  • Mike
    from Texas December 13, 2016

    Element active

    I purchased this, installed it and have string separation issues. One sting will sound half as loud as the others. Called Baggs, they said it's a problem with my saddle, it must be uneven, however, it's not uneven. If I only strummed, this may work great, but I don't just strum.
    I'll be getting an ibeam, I know I can make that sound good, and I won't have the string separation prob.

  • Mark
    from Dover December 7, 2015

    Maybe in a Larger Body Guitar

    One of these came in a new Gibson L-00 12-fret limited edition purchased here at Sweetwater, factory installed. While the actual guitar is 100% awesome the Baggs Element is a major disappointment. Very tinny on the treble and very low output. Tried to correct with a Baggs Para Acoustic DI, no luck. While I'll likely not play this L-00 out, guess I'll need to mic it with a condenser to record with it. What a travesty. What was Gibson thinking? Not a good match for a small-bodied guitar.

Questions about the LR Baggs Element Active System?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway