0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance Last Chance

Epiphone DR-212 Dreadnought 12-String Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone DR-212 Dreadnought 12-String?

Questions about the Epiphone DR-212 Dreadnought 12-String?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Cleveland February 25, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Perfect first 12 string.

    I just got my DR212 today and I'm more than happy with it. First of all it came 2 days early. I was super pumped to see that fed ex driver pull up and get out with that box. Props to Sweetwater for that. The guitar itself is everything I wanted. I don't have anything to compare it to, but I was very hesitant after reading reviews online. There seems to be a large amount of people who think you have to spend at least 500 on a 12 string to get something playable. I've been playing all the Zeppelin tunes that I wanted this thing for and it sounds great to me. I can't wait to jam with it around a camp fire.

  • from IL December 20, 2016Music Background:
    2178201221

    The Best!

    I can't thank you guys enough for the exceptional customer service I have received. I was a CSR,so I know what you have to deal with on a daily basis. I have gained a lot of knowledge from Ashton and he's been right there when I have a question. What I really like is the customer follow up. I'm loving my new guitar but I really want a Taylor guitar now, so when I'm ready to invest in another guitar, I will buy from Sweetwater. Thank you Ashton and everyone who got my guitar ready to ship. Merry Christmas!

  • from Michigan June 21, 2016Music Background:
    Musician/Songwriter

    Extreme Value!

    When this showed up, I put on a great set of ultra-lights, tightened the truss rod and I am super impressed. At this price, I was keeping my expectations low but I got it to play so nicely and I love the sound. I have never owned a 12-string before so I had to go the the interwebs to learn some of the finer points of tuning one (and no, if you want to get some of the most interesting sounds out of it, it is not as simple as just using a tuner to find A440), but once I learned how to tune it, I can't put this thing down.

  • from lake forest california January 8, 2016Music Background:
    beginer and future music strar

    good

    for the price you cant go wrong the best thing you could buy for 200 bucks

  • from Brentwood, CA December 7, 2015

    My Epiphone Experience

    I bought the Epiphone on a whim and want. It arrived as promised, the guys at Sweetwater kept their promise. I pulled it out of the box, tuned it up, and it sounded a little flat. However, I was not disappointed. All the reviews I read had recommended changing out strings and doing a set-up. My local music store, charged me 45 bills, plus strings. Once my purchase went through a set up and changed out the strings, it sounds phenomenal. So don't let the price fool you, drop the 200, get a set-up, and you will not be disappointed. I also think that Sweetwater can do a set-up as well. Silent Lucidity sounds awesome...

  • from Little Rock, Arkansas October 31, 2015Music Background:
    I'm 57 years old and my Dad put my first guitar in my hands when I was seven.

    Epiphone DR-212 Dreadnought 12-String

    What an awesome guitar at such an affordable price, I've had Ovations that didn't play any better!!

  • from FT Wayne In August 17, 2015Music Background:
    40 years Pickin'

    Epiphone DR-212

    f;or the price, this 12 string delivers a very good sound, but I'm kind of bias since I own 5 epiphone
    guitars. Try It, you"ll love it!

  • from Clinton, ME September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, aspiring musician

    No Brainer, BUY IT

    This review will be short and sweet.
    I wanted to purchase my first 12 string to see if it was something of interest to me without breaking the bank.
    I have purchased MANY Epiphones in the past and have never been disappointed. Once again, Kudos to Gibson for producing a fine product for cheap money.
    It took some getting used to stringing and tuning it but that just the nature of the beast. The stock string were cut off immediately, Epiphone always puts junk strings on their guitars so I don't even bother with them. After putting on good strings and tuning I was off and running.
    Stunning guitar at any price!!! How do they do this for the money?
    I would buy this guitar at almost any price. I played several expensive 12 strings at my local guitar shop, this one is equal to anything I played/
    If you are considering purchasing a 12 string but not sure whether it's something you will use or not, BUY IT. If you KNOW you want a nice 12 String, BUY IT. This one can't be beat at ANY price!!!!
    I'm no idiot, I own 3 Martin acoustics. I will NOT purchase another 12 String, I am good with this one for as little as I will use it.
    Fit, finish, sound quality and playability....A PLUS.
    5 stars, regardless of price

  • from Laguna Beach, CA January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pozer

    Great Guitar

    This guitar sounds big and bright. I keep it tuned to e-minor and the action is still great.

  • from Laguna Beach, CA November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Snake Charmer

    Sounds Great

    Big bright sound. Nice and clear. No dead spots or chatter. Super deal.

  • from September 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Buy one now!

    Amazing value! Great 12 string guitar for an amazing price. If you always wanted to try out a 12 string then grab a DR-212 now. Quality and playability of a more expensive instrument at a very affordable price.

  • from Seattle, WA September 11, 2013

    Don't think twice, just buy it

    This guitar is beautiful with a flawless finish. I was a little concerned as it isn't very expensive but I am totally blown away at the looks, the sound and the build quality. The tuning machines all turn smoothly and the neck is strong and (after a truss rod adjustment) straight. Action is surprisingly good. I especially like the compensated bridge, a nice touch.

    I had considered a different guitars that costs a few times more but I am so glad I didn't pay the extra money. This is without a doubt the best bang for the buck in for a 12-string guitar you will ever find!

  • from Kansas September 23, 2012Music Background:
    Active Musician

    A very nice instrument

    If you're looking for an acoustic 12 string give this one serious consideration. I just recieved mine the other day and I was very pleased and not surprised because I own several EPI guitars and I enjoy all of them. This is a beautiful and well made guitar as I expected it would be. I made a very LIGHT adjustment to the truss rod and, the action improved GREATLY. The strings that it came with aren't the best, most aren't but, I'll play them till their done, I've already ordered some D'Addario EJ41's and I'm sure these will improve the sound and playability to suit my taste. There aren't a whole lot of cases that fit this instrument just do the overall length but the one I'm looking at is the Gator GL Dread 12-string Lightweight Guitar Case
    It appears to be the best choice for my needs. I have an SKB case for my Flying V that is this type of case and, it's perfect for my needs. Think I'll do a Seymour Duncan SA-3HC Hum-Canceling Woody PU to complete this purchase as I do not wish to install anything permanent or alter the instrument in any way. Great sounding,Great looking and, for the right price.

  • from Ft Collins,CO December 5, 2015

    Beautiful guitar

    An incredible guitar for a great price.I love the way a nice 12 string has a sound that shimmers.This one is like that,just beautiful.Brings me back to the '70's.

  • from Rockford, IL March 16, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar, Alto, tenor and barritone Sax, oboe, clarinet etc.

    Great for the Price

    This was my first 12 string. I wasn't looking for anything super fancy, just enough to mess around with. This guitar is incredible for the price range. I've been playing for 15+ years and i've played all brands ranging from high end to bare bones and I can say this thing plays a lot better than its price tag portrays. smooth action, strong bridge. bright clear tone without being "twangy". Pair this with some clear tones or elixur polywebs and you can't go wrong. As always sweetwater received my order Thursday afternoon on 03/12/15 and I received my guitar on Friday morning 03/13/15. Best online shopping experiences ever. Thanks again Ian roegels!

  • from Bakersfield, CA July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    epiphone dr-212

    Wow! Plays great, looks like something you would pay 400 or more. The strings it came with needed to be replaced immediately. Otherwise I would have rated 5 stars. Oh well, can't have it all

  • from Draper, UT September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    As good as advertised

    I had played this model guitar before, so I knew what I was getting into. But, this was my first time purchasing a guitar on-line. It came, on time, well set up out of the box. The high "G" string snapped on the second day, but I was prepared and had ordered a set of strings with the guitar. No problems so far, 30 days in. Holds a tune well.

  • from June 16, 2014

    Very happy

    For the price i couldn't be happier.

  • from Minneapolis, MN February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist. Loves Musical Instruments.

    Excellent Value for the Price

    I'm new to the 12-string world. That's why I felt I could only rate it a 4.0. It seems to be beautifully made and sounds fantastic. The price is unbelievable. I was shocked when I opened the box and saw what a nice guitar it is. The people at Sweetwater were fantastic to work with. They treated me like I had just bought a $4000. guitar. And the shipping was incredible. I received my guitar in two days!! I'll definitely be making all of my future purchases from Sweetwater !! BEST company EVER !!

  • from In the Arkansas Delta July 31, 2013Music Background:
    singer,songwriter, performer ,soloist and 48 years of guitar experience

    35 years later

    I originally bought an Epiphone 12 string in Sacramento around 73.
    Traded a Gibson in at the same time.
    Loved that guitar, it was the Japanese version of the Gibson 12 string I believe and I knew I couldn't afford the Gibson version then.
    Last year I decided to replace it and ordered this one and was pleasantly surprised .
    I added a Gold Plus Martin pickup to it and play it daily.
    I have had it almost a year now and consider it a fine addition to my other instruments ........maybe it isn't as expensive as other models, but you really do get your money's worth .
    I did as others, replaced the strings, in my case, GHS bronze lights , I use them on my Martins too, and I had the neck set up .

  • from Lexington, VA March 25, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Playability of the DR-212

    I was pleasantly surprised with the guitar. I immediately changed the strings and slightly touched up the neck truss and started to play. Very good tuners, stay in tune with hard playing and after days of non use. The neck is not too wide as many 12 strings are. The finish is as good as any guitar. If I have any criticism it would be it does not project quite as good as a $2000.00 guitar. But then I did not pay that much, did I? I would highly recommend this guitar to anyone of any playing caliber.

  • from Southern California March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Home player for my own amusement

    Great Value for the money

    Bought this based on Acoustic Guitar Mag's reccomendation. Was looking for a 12 string again, but for the limited use I knew it would get did not want to spend a lot. This guitar is the answer. It's a bit "thin" sounding for a 12 string, but for the money, the fit, finish, quality, etc. is spot on. Highly recommended if you're looking for a "once in a while" or fill in guitar

  • from February 23, 2012

    Epiphone DR-212

    This guitar was great right outta the box, the only thing i done was change the strings. If your looking for a good starter 12 string this is the one you need.

  • from williamston sc October 29, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist

    a good guitar

    i bought this guitar becouse i can't aford a guild or martin it is well worth 170 dollars so if you wan;t a guitar that sounds good this is the one

  • from northport fl. USA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, christian music, and folk

    not great, but not bad for 199.00

    Good starter 12 string. Had to put new strings on it, the ones it comes with are not good! But, I looked at the reviews on this guitar, and every one said put new strings on it, so I made sure I ordered strings for it when I bought it. You will have to replace them. Anyway after I replaced the strings it sounded 100 times better. If you want a 12 string, and you don't want to shell a lot of money, this one is not bad for the money. Im having fun with it, but I will be buying a better one down the road.. I love the sound of them... Thanks sweetwater for your help .

Questions about the Epiphone DR-212 Dreadnought 12-String?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway