0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Epiphone AJ-220S - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone AJ-220S - Natural?

Questions about the Epiphone AJ-220S - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Long Island, NY February 9, 2016

    A GREAT guitar

    Former drummer, now noodling around on guitar. Just received this guitar, it couldn't arrive fast enough. Delivery was quick & uneventful. My sales engineer Ryan Thorpe gave me a great deal. I actually bought two! Great tone and volume. Guitar arrived in great condition. Having fun getting to know my new "friend".
    Beautiful fit & finish. I always use Sweetwater for my equipment, the BEST customer service.

  • from central Florida January 7, 2016Music Background:
    guitar player for almost 50 years!

    Epiphone AJ 220 natural

    Ive owned a 220 before,they are great,for the price you would be hard pressed to find a better sounding,better playing guitar anywhere!!! And Sweetwater makes it so easy, I don't have to drive to the music store, put up with traffic, or spend the gas money!! Just shop,decide,and order that simple!! Perfect for today's on the go people!

  • from Ohio January 29, 2015

    Really?

    Really awesome! This guitar has become my pal, and I rarely play another instrument now. It Sounds great and the Sweetwater team sure sent it to me with a perfectly low action. It sounds great with brass strings instead of the phosphor bronze strings I prefer on other guitars. I bought it with a gigbag but soon I will be buying a nice hard case for her. Great and buy it please.

  • from San Marcos, CA April 30, 2014Music Background:
    Jazz Guitarist

    Unbelieveable

    Really?!? Only $199. This guitar is awesome. It's solid wood with a Sitka spruce top!!! The finish was flawless and the set up was spot on. Great intonation! The heck with it being a beginner's guitar, everyone who needs a flattop should own one of these! David Cochran, my SWEETWATER sales engineer, came through, once again, with flying colors. A killer deal on a killer guitar. SWEETWATER rules!!!

  • from Ponte Vedra FL April 6, 2013Music Background:
    Many Genres, many bands. Ive settled down to playing lead guitar in my Praise and Worship band.

    UNREAL FOR $199!

    I've been playing for 16 years and have owned every guitar under the sun. I had an old beater acoustic for "around the house" playing, that was on its last leg. I read a few reviews on this one, and pulled the trigger. I got a price match and got it for $180 out the door from Sweetwater. It was at my doorstep 2 DAYS later!. Opened the box and all I can say is WOW! The volume on this baby rocks, and it is so crisp and clean. I keep telling my wife "this thing sounds as good as my Taylor". Unreal deal for the $199, and you may be able to get it for less. This was my first purchase from Sweetwater, and it will not be my last.

  • from United States January 14, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    what a nice guitar

    I have played guitar for 30 years or so. I owned a Martin D28 for 15 years or so. When I saw the AJ220 s on sale, I thought I would try it out and see if the reviews were true. Folks this is a great guitar , for the price you cant beat it. I love this guitar! The quality i s great , the guitar is beautiful. The sound is so close to the Gibson J45 that i played in the store it's hard to believe. Sweetwater was great , tracked the guitar from warehouse to my front door.

  • from Springfield, MO December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    More than I expected

    I've played drums for 15 years and recently took an interest in guitar. I wanted to buy a decent acoustic guitar and shopped around for about a week. I came across the Epiphone AJ-220S and it immediately caught my eye. It not only looks great but, sounds great as well. I don't know a lot about guitars but I do know good quality and this guitar is just that. For $200 you can't beat it. View some of the videos on youtube and you will see and hear how impressive it is. If you're like me and on a budget but, still want a quality acoustic, I don't believe you can go wrong with this one.

  • from Granitecity, Ill. November 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist/student

    My trusty old AJ 10

    You cant go wrong selecting the AJ-220. My AJ-10 (vintage 1969) sounds grate and the ageing has improved the sound and the aged spruce top has dakend a little and revealed a nice grain. No matter what guitars I own this one is a keeper.

  • from lucas ohio usa October 18, 2012Music Background:
    casual player 20plus years

    blown away

    All I can say is WOW! Bought this guitar from sweetwater excellent service great price superb quality. I've own two other epiphones a DR500 masterbuilt and a old 70's small body acoustic but this one is awesome the quality for the price is out of this world the finish the tone everything about this guitar makes it worth 4 times its price I highly recommend this guitar to anyone who wants something to start out on or for the seasoned player who wants another guitar for a cheap price this guitar is amazing thanks sweetwater

  • from October 12, 2012

    Superb value acoustic tone machine

    I was trying to remember the last time that I got so much for so little... I gave up! This guitar is awesome! Rich, throaty tone, excellent playability, beautiful finish and detail. The advanced jumbo shape is just right, without the boxy look and feel of most dreads. It's just a flawless guitar and very inspiring to play! I don't see how they can sell something this nice for this price. Your eyes, ears, and wallet won't believe the deal you just got.

  • from USA December 26, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Epiphone AJ-220S

    It's a well made guitar!

  • from Celina,OH January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great value

    Sounds great, plays great, great price. Bought for a Christmas gift but will be buying one for myself shortly

  • from Fort Wayne, IN May 13, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for 2 years

    Great Guitar for the Money

    This is my second acoustic guitar and a huge upgrade from what i'm used to playing. I can't tell the difference in sound quality from this guitar to a $600 guitar. I recommend to throw on lighter gauge strings to prevent the top from being under too much stress. The strings sit a little high off the finger board but service center fixed that for free. Only thing I didn't like was the Epiphone logo on the pick guard so i pried it off, nbd. Can't say enough about the great service and information i received from the Sweetwater employees. Also comes with a free guitar lesson!

  • from CO. July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Extensive

    Epiphone AJ-220S

    True value. The solid spruce top sold me at the price. Aesthetics. Feels and sounds like a much more expensive instrument. Tonal balance outstanding. Also dig the satin neck back, and the full binding (headstock excluded). 35 years in the biz and retired, I can smell a good axe. Nice addition to my collection. It's light as well. Buy one if you're looking for a well rounded acoustic, no disappointment here. Thanx Sweetwater !

  • from Northport fl. USA. March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Christian, and Folk music. And the love of guitars

    Better than i expected !

    I watched the reviews on youtube, and also read reviews from sweetwater customers. For 199.00, this Guitar is Great. The action is very good, I did put new strings on it, and this guitar rang out. When I watched the youtube review, I was very interested in the talent they used for the vidieo and how they raved about the guitar, and at the end they where blown away at the price. So, the only thing I can say, is if you want a guitar that you can take places, and not worry so much about, and plays great, this guitar is it. And Thank You Sweetwater! Your staff is Great and very helpful. Im not just saying it, I am a return customer. I also bought the DXMAE Martin,all I can say is, I love it!! So, buy the Epiphone AJ220S it will surprise you...

  • from January 6, 2014

    Epiphone

    Excellent starter...

Questions about the Epiphone AJ-220S - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway