0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Epiphone DR-100 - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Vintage Sunburst?

Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Vintage Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Concordia March 9, 2017Music Background:
    Metal rock blues

    Beautiful tones

    First off this is my first acoustic guitar. I don't have a guitar store close to sample different guitars from so I read reviews and watch videos so I'm limited by that. I never know how something feels until I hold it. That said I'm very impressed with this guitar. The finish is impressive. Shiny and smooth. Yet feels good holding it. Tuners are smooth turning and hold well. I installed a new set of Ernie Ball on mine and all went very well. The sound is what impressed me the most. Big sounding when I want it and soft as well. I have no complaints with the neck other than my own limitations as a beginning player. I don't get to practice as much as I like but this fits me very well. Just feels good holding it. I'm 5'11" and the size is perfect. It's hard to believe that this is priced as low as it is. So call your Sweetwater Engineer and buy one. Hard to beat this

  • from May 17, 2016

    Awesome!

    Awesome sound, looks amazing! Anyone should be thrilled with this guitar.

  • from GA April 27, 2016

    Just WOW!

    I was looking for an inexpensive acoustic for my son and I to mess around with. I read all of the great reviews on the DR-100 and thought I would give it a shot. I have some experience with Epiphone guitars and trusted this one would be just as wonderful as the others. Sweetwater had it to me in 2 days. It was double boxed, as they always ship guitars. I ordered the vintage sunburst. The finish looked great. The clear coat was nice and even. The binding on the edges of the body was flawless. How they can throw that in at this price is beyond me. The neck looked/felt nice and the frets were set well. I was very impressed with the overall craftsmanship and build quality. The tuners left some to be desired but considering the price point on this guitar, they are fine and get the job done. The action was a bit high for my liking. I took the saddle down a 32nd of an inch and now its perfect. It plays like a dream. I could not be more pleased with this DR-100 and the last Epiphone LP Standard I bought. Way to go Epiphone!!

  • from Woonsocket, R.I. August 20, 2015Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Sweet !

    My wife went and bought me one of these a couple of weeks ago for my 56th Birthday in the Vintage Sunburst finish. After 35 plus years doing the band thing, I recently decided a few months ago to make the switch to Acoustic and during that time, I've amassed a small collection of a couple of Fenders and a Mitchell and IMO, this one can definitely hang with them. When I got it, I took off the stock strings, cleaned the fretboard with some Lemon Oil , adjusted the truss rod so I could have some lower action, and then put on a set of Elixirs which made a huge difference. Now I can't put it down. I used to think that these were junk but it seems that Epiphone has definitely improved on these . I've noticed that the tuners are now die cast and that they actually hold tuning quite well , so those are staying and the saddle pins even thought they are plastic , do a good job of producing great tone from this baby. I can't believe that this is not a laminate and is actually a Spruce top with Mahogany back & sides, which a lot of guitars in this price range are usually plywood, so IMO this is one hell of a deal for either a beginner or the musician on a budget. Well done Epiphone.

  • from June 26, 2015

    DR-100

    Awesome! Very pleased!

  • from April 17, 2015

    Great first Guitar with good price!

    Great first Guitar with good price!

  • from www.reverbnation.com/trevorfield April 8, 2015

    A Dreadnought worth WELL OVER $100

    I received my Epiphone DR-100 two days ago. Since I took out out of the box, it played amazing, felt amazing, and looked amazing. I replaced the bridge pegs with a set of bronze ones and new strings, and let me tell you something... this guitar sounds like an old Guild

  • from Dayton, OH April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Rank beginner

    Rank amateur likes it

    Although I know next to nothing about guitars, I was impressed with this instrument when I pulled it out of the box. I bought a demo, figuring if I never get beyond a few chords the minor investment wouldn't be a drain and any condition issues really wouldn't matter that much.
    I must say I thought they made a mistake and sent me a new guitar, as I couldn't find any signs of wear and it only required minor tuning to be playable.
    Really happy with the guitar and the service. Now it's all on me to get up to speed, but Brandon and Sweetwater made the first step easy. Thanks!

  • from Osceola Mo December 25, 2014Music Background:
    Sound,play Live..and give lesson's..1st class.

    Dr ~100 Epiphone

    I have High end Takamines...and Gibson's..But no Choke..I laughed at buy n this guitar,For 100 $..Kid n Me..This thing sound's so goodm, All i did was take it out of box , Tuned and new string's China's far off, And Jammed ..NEVER..in 35 yrs have i seen a 100$ guitar for this Money..Ha..Still Laughing...with a big Smile Thank you Sweet water..Han's down best.and Devin very helpful..Merry Christmas guy's.

  • from New Hampshire October 10, 2014Music Background:
    student

    nice, nice sound, super value

    I'm 66 and never played anything. Decided to try guitar but didn't want to get in over my head expense wise in case it wasn't for me. The great reviews of this instrument sold me and I'll gladly add my 5 stars to them. First of, visually, the finish is stunning and my example (sunburst) had not one flaw. It buzzed just a bit when I received it but a very inexpensive visit to my local guitar shop and a simple and minor truss rod adjustment made it right. New lighter gauge strings made it sound better too and easier to play as well. With only 3 lessons under my belt, and wanting to know if my mistakes were mine alone or partly the guitar's, set-up, I asked my instructor to check it out. It sounded awesome in his hands and he handed it back with one word..."Perfect".

  • from Modesto, CA August 19, 2014Music Background:
    Slobbyist

    Awesome bang for the buck!

    Epiphone does it again...I've played some 99 dollar acoustics before, but nothing that came anywhere near this ones tone, feel, and looks! The tuners were decent, but I had an extra set of grovers that I put on it, and have been recording with it, using a seymour duncan woody. I could not be more pleased with my purchase, and with sweetwaters service, and product options!!!:)

  • from Omaha, Ne August 9, 2014

    Great first acoustic guitar

    The sound is amazing from this guitar. Its nice-looking and well-made. The customer service from Sweet-water is wonderful. Great communication and fast delivery. I wish that all companies followed the sweetwater model in caring about their customers. This guitar was the best priced option I could find- its good quality and affordable. My 15 year old son was excited to receive it as a gift- he loves the sunburst appearance. He will use it for a guitar class in high school.

  • from Buena Park, CA June 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    DR 100 a great value

    I've been a pro musician for 35 years and this guitar is a great value and plays very well for practice or taking out for a sing along around the campfire. You don't have to baby it. The action and set up are good, the tone is very nice, tuning consistent. I great startup guitar, glad I bought it.

  • from Rossville, Ga December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Church musician

    Great Deal

    This was a gift i sent to my son who is serving in Afghanistan, and he absolutely loves this guitar! To be honest, i was kind of nervous about it arriving safely, but it arrived in pristine condition. I have never doubted the quality of Epiphone guitars, as myself, i have had several. I currently play an Epiphone Les Paul Standard. Thank you Sweetwater for providing such quality service!

  • from Buffalo, NY November 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Value Ever

    I won't lie, I purchased this guitar because of the PRICE! I did a lot of shopping around. I agonized for months and finally decided on this Epiphone. I love the way this guitar sounds. Super bright sound. It produces a rich and full sound, and in my opinion, it can hang with most guitars that cost 2 or 3 x as much. Everyone who hears me play this acoustic thinks that it is a $300-$400 guitar. If you buy one, I think you will be pleased.

  • from Polo, IL April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Really nice instruments

    I've actually purchased four of these beauties in the past three months. After a quick tuning, they play and feel great right out of the box, and look AWESOME. Really pretty guitars. I can't give any long range comments as I've donated all four DR-100's to Guitars For Vets in Rockford, Illinois. The organization and students love them, so I'm satisfied. I wish my starter guitar was this nice.

  • from United States April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Student touring musician

    Amazing

    This is truly a wonderful and affordable starter guitar. Also good for campfire playing because its loud and if it gets damaged its not a very expensive guitar. If you play gigs I would not recommend it as I said a starter guitar. Would recommend it for beginners as a touring musician.

  • from Apple Valley,Ca March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Sound engineer.

    One word.... Fantastic

    This guitar is an affordable incredible music device. It sounds as great as a much more expensive guitar. I love it, it's gorgeous too. The strings provided may need to be swapped for better ones. Truss rod may need to be adjusted. Other than that it sounds good. Also the action may need to be changed depending on your style of playing.

  • from Hutchinson, MN USA August 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Epiphone DR-100 Vintage Sunburst

    This guitar is a bargin you will not be disappointed. I didn't know what to expect when I ordered this guitar but let me just say that I was blown away by the finish quilty on this product. I immediately replaced the strings with Martin SP extra light bronze steal strings adjusted the truss rod to get rid of the buzz mainly on the G string. That sounded dirty but the tone coming out of this thing now is way above anything I expected. Well worth it's price. I have had no problems with it staying in tune. This would be a great guitar for anyone starting out.

  • from Florida May 21, 2015

    Keeper

    Very playable right out of the box!!! Awesome deep tone. Nice crisp highs. I put on some decent strings, adjusted the neck and saddle. Now the action is awesome! (less than the thickness of a quarter at the 12th fret. No buzzzzz)) Got this guitar to keep on the bus but I am rethinking that...

  • from Virginia March 14, 2015Music Background:
    Over 25 years playing stringed things.

    DR100 Sunburst

    Make sure to get this thing cleaned and setup! If you do not know how to do these two things either take it to someone who does or do a quick online search on to find out how. This can be the difference between this guitar being barely playable or a gem.
    Now onto the review.....
    Upon receiving this guitar I took the factory strings off and cleaned the fret board and restrung with some D'Addario coated strings. Stretched them out and retuned. Checked neck relief and found no bowing. after letting it sit for a couple days now and playing it a few times i found the tuners to work just fine. There is a small finish flaw but for $100 am i really going to complain? No. The nut and saddle are plastic which I plan to replace with bone. The overall construction is solid and I am impressed it is this good for the price. The fret board is a bit wide but I am over six feet tall and have big hands so its not an issue for me.
    After three days it is holding tune pretty good and sounds good as well.
    I searched reviews all over the net, watched youtube reviews on this guitar and bought it. Glad I did. This particular model seems to be a hit or miss if you read the reviews online. For a $100 gamble and Sweetwaters return policy I seen no reason to not at least try one. The guitar is hard to put down really.
    Taking into account what it is your paying and what it is in general I highly recommend anyone in search of an entry level acoustic, a backup acoustic, a campfire sing along guitar, or anywhere you dont want your treasured guitars to go to pick one of these up. I can only imagine with a bone nut and saddle this thing will be a contender for many years to come.
    I repeat.
    Make sure to get this thing cleaned and setup! If you do not know how to do these two things either take it to someone who does or do a quick online search on to find out how. This can be the difference between this guitar being barely playable or a gem.
    Kudos to Bob Mondok and everyone at Sweetwater. Very good job, fast shipping, and informative emails during the whole ordering process and delivery. This is real customer service at its best! This isnt my sweet tooth talking.

  • from September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician and music teacher

    Excellent Extra Guitar and Great service from Sweetwater

    I've been a pro musician for almost 40 years. I needed a cheap guitar for camp/fish trips. I didn't want to take my Alvarez, Taylor, or Guild guitars on camp trips. No.
    I ordered this guitar from Sweetwater for $100. Excellent service and price, I talked to the rep twice on the phone, and got the guitar today. Free shipping. Figured it would be a cheap piece of (deleted) . I am blown away. It sounds and plays great. I will not only use it as a camp guitar, but as a back-up guitar on stage. What a bang for the (small) buck! I recommend it for any entry guitarist or anyone else wanting a backup.

  • from new madrid mo December 27, 2013Music Background:
    sound man live / musician and a studen of the world

    awesome guitar

    I gave it a 4.5 cause I had to set it up the strings would buzz badly and the strings are so stiff they hurt my fingers and I have played for about a year I thought I was over that but not other than that good solid guitar has a awesome full voice and the lows are just that low I have owned a epiphone before but was a electric and that was over 20 yrs ago but I love it the sound is so full and ritch....

  • from Atlanta, GA USA November 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A lot of bang for the buck!

    This is my first acoustic guitar and I just have to say WOW! It sounds really good, and the price makes this guitar a steal. I am a beginner guitar player and would recommend it to anyone learning how to play guitar.

  • from South Dakota June 18, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend musician

    Great value

    I'm a bassist , but needed an acoustic guitar to sing a couple songs for my uncle's memorial service . I looked locally, but started researching on the Internet and this guitar seemed to be well liked.
    I was happy with the looks and sound when it arrived, but it needed set up, including some sanding on the bridge, and truss rod adjustment. Even cosidering that, still a great value, and a very nice guitar for very little money.

  • from Titusville Fl. October 30, 2016

    my new guitar

    Very good guitar. Play and sounds great.

  • from February 23, 2016

    Very nice for the price

    Very nice guitar. Seems durable. Little tweaking with the truss rod and there are no buzzes. I was looking for a guitar to just have laying around the house for writing and beating around on, and this is nice for that.

  • from Right now - Florida vacation - home is Ontario, Canada February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur lifetime player - local bands

    It's so fine!

    I was very pleased with my entire purchase experience with Sweetwater - all products were as advertised and everyone I spoke with was very courteous and professional. The free shipping was appreciated. The Epiphone DR-100 sounds great and is easy to play - it is advertised with a slim-taper neck that suits my small hands perfectly. It is sounding a lot more mellow as I play it compared to when I first received it.

  • from Mineral Bluff, GA August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced Musician

    Amazing for thre Price!

    The quality of this Chinese made guitar was a real surprise. I was reluctant to buy any Chinese made guitar, but I needed an inexpensive guitar for traveling. Upon receipt of the guitar, because of where is manufactured, I went over the guitar with a "fine tooth comb". There were no visible defects or flaws. The guitar looks and feels great, and it is easy to play. The sound is phenomenal. Try one!

  • from Mineral Bluff, GA August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced Musician

    Totally Satisfied

    It is hard to believe that this guitar was made in China because it is very well built, right down to the minute details, and it sounds great.

  • from USA March 17, 2014

    A happy customer!!!

    The DR-100 was my first guitar and its great for beginners! I know
    it's hard to believe that something so inexpensive would be good quality
    but the DR-100 really is made well. The pitch sounds really nice and I look forward to learning how to play on it.

  • from Oregon November 11, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Instructor

    Epiphone DR 100

    Incredible value in an entry level dreadnought. Fit and finish were really good. I had to shave the saddle to get playable action. Sounds excellent. Warm defined notes. I replaced the strings with diaddario exp 11 gauge set which are coated. I bought this guitar for my son and I think he will be pleased. A very good student guitar. It has a faux truss rod cover above the nut but the actual truss rod adjustment is via the sound hole.

  • from Gibson City Illinois December 16, 2016

    Epiphone DR 100 acoustic guitar

    Very pleased wjth shipping boxing package . Attractive guitar Tuned up nicely with great tone and volume. Perfect for casual playing which was my intent to be able to play and practice with no fussing with amps and cords etc.

  • from United States September 28, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer/pro musician

    best for price

    Excellent beginners guitar. Plays quite well after a little adjustment. A real bargain for the price.

  • from Murrieta Ca April 16, 2017

    Doesn't feel right

    Too big hard to play need long arms to play.

  • from NC August 29, 2016Music Background:
    Over 30 years playing guitar and drums

    DR-100 review

    Purchased for my Granddaughter.
    Out of the box it was out of tune. Had to make major adjustments to get it tuned. Two strings that came with guitar popped trying to tune it. Martin strings worked great after guitar adjustments. Still does not feel right!
    I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • from Pa September 26, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/teacher

    Terrible!

    The first one I bought arrived with a defect in the neck. I promptly returned it and got another one. After 5 months under normal conditions, the neck warped so bad I could only play it in first position. A guitar tech tried to adjust it but was unsuccessful. He told me "you got what you paid for"! I took the loss and brought the guitar to the school I teach at. The guitar was in the closet for another 5 months and after the summer vacation I am shocked to see that it is bowed the other way now! The strings are far away from the neck! I bought this for a cheap but decent guitar but in my 2 instances, I wasted my money. They are selling it for less now, maybe trying to get rid of them. If you buy! I hope you are luckier than I was!

Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway