0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Epiphone DR-100 - Natural Reviews

4.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Natural?

Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Gary
    from Illinois December 30, 2015

    You won't dread this dreadnought!

    The Epiphone DR-100 is definitely an outstanding example of more
    BANG FOR YOUR BUCK! Ease of playability, great set-up, and
    beautiful woods are just a part of the total package that this guitar will
    bring to you. Don't let this great guitar pass you by. You'll dread
    it if you do. This is a sweet deal from Sweetwater!

  • Gil Mosko
    from Pueblo, Co December 3, 2015Music Background:
    Playing since 1966

    Great Deal!

    OK, this is not a thousand dollar work of art. But seriously, the tone, the straightness of the neck, and the all around excellent workmanship make this guitar an amazing value for the very low price! The action is acceptably low. There are no buzzes or bad harmonics. It could pass for being equal to a guitar costing five times as much.
    Thank you, Sweetwater!

  • Customer
    from August 19, 2015

    Best dollar for dollar guitar!

    Forget about starting off with "for the money"..., this guitar has an outstanding feel and sound. I measured this guitar against a dozen of $300 - $400 guitars, and the DR 100 was clearly a superior product.

    You want a great " play everyday " guitar, that feels and sounds great, get the dr 100. way to go epiphone and thanks for delivering another high quality, low cost guitar.

  • David
    from Chilhowie, VA February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar instructor, Intermediate classical guitar, long time lover of 6 string steel string guitars

    Very good guitar

    I bought this online here at sweetwater with some hesitation since I had not played it in person. Once I got it I was blown away. Setup was perfect. The strings needed to be replaced - they don't hold tune. I put Martin Lifespan Mediums on it and now it holds tune forever (days). I had an all laminate guitar from Takamine my mother bought me in 1982 when I was in high school. It was all laminate also but isn't as loud or nice sounding as this Epiphone. I also had trouble with the nut width on the Takamine - I kept buzzing strings I wasn't fretting because the strings were to close together.

    When I first got the Epiphone I flipped in Dust in the Wind by Kansas and played along. Totally sounds wonderful. Then I put in Landslide by Fleetwood Mac and it sounds great playing along with that too. This guitar is louder than I thought it would be and that can be motivating under heavy strumming.

    I would buy this guitar again in a heartbeat. Totally happy. I waited a few weeks for the newness of the guitar to wear off before reviewing it. It still sounds great. I can't believe what $99 buys these days.

  • Polly Slovikosky
    from Pennsylvania February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Parent of student

    Beautiful Instument Amazing Service

    This was our first guitar purchase. A family member recommended the Epiphone brand. My daughter searched the internet, and found the look that she wanted, and a price that I would agree to. Sweetwater's service was above and beyond any service I had ever received from an on line purchase. This is a beautiful instrument! I hope my daughter will keep this new hobby, if we ever have a need for another guitar, Sweetwater will be our first place to shop.

  • maripp2002
    from Madison, WI USA February 1, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Guitar

    I use this as my practice while watching TV guitar. I love the sound, and it played great out of the box. The frets can be a little rough, but overall, for the price, the quality is there.

  • Gary Beck
    from Littleton, CO August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Played on/off for about 40yrs( since grade school)

    Absolutely Stunning

    I bought the AJ-100 which is the Jumbo version of the DR with a cutaway, just to learn how to setup an acoustic. (setup all my electric guitars/basses since I was young). The fitment and finish on this guitar are unbelievable There is not a blemish anywhere and the wood grain is positively beautiful. Tuners are very smooth and once the strings are stretched, it holds perfect tune. The fretboard is good, frets on mine are dead level, but need to be polished as they are a little rough when bending strings.

    It does not come setup from Epiphone so YOU must do it yourself (which is why I bought it) or pay someone to set it up for you-unless you like very high string action and a bowed neck.

    I set the neck perfectly straight and ground the saddle down until I just started to get a bit of string buzz when plucked hard. The neck and fret level is so good I ended up with a tad under 1/16" (3/64ths) action which is amazing for any guitar. I put Elixir 12's on it and it now plays exceptional(blow on the strings and it sings as they say).

    It also sounds as good as any acoustic costing many, many hundreds more, so I put a GraphTech Tusq nut and saddle on it, and installed a Martin t4 pre-amp electronics. That amazing sound is now even better through an acoustic amp or directly into my digital recorder or computer(audio interface needed). For the price of the guitar, the Tusq parts, and Martin Pre-amp/pickup, I have an acoustic that looks and sounds amazing for less than $150. And since the finish is beautifully flawless, I figured it deserved an Epiphone case.

    I cannot possibly say enough good things about this guitar that cost under $100.

  • Noah Larssen
    from United States April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Student touring musician

    Amazing

    This is truly a wonderful and affordable starter guitar. Also good for campfire playing because its loud and if it gets damaged its not a very expensive guitar. If you play gigs I would not recommend it as I said a starter guitar. Would recommend it for beginners as a touring musician.

  • Justin C.
    from Apple Valley,Ca March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Sound engineer.

    One word.... Fantastic

    This guitar is an affordable incredible music device. It sounds as great as a much more expensive guitar. I love it, it's gorgeous too. The strings provided may need to be swapped for better ones. Truss rod may need to be adjusted. Other than that it sounds good. Also the action may need to be changed depending on your style of playing.

  • Barbara Sterenberg
    from Forest Grove, OR September 20, 2014Music Background:
    I play at Jamm sessions ,home and used to play ,with my Family before passing .

    Epiphone DR-100 Great for the Money

    I have played Martin guitars and Epiphone's and out of the 2 . ,My pick was the Epiphone was the best sounding . My Brother them went and special ordered his own after playing and hearing mine . Back then it was another 6 string . Love them only ones for me.
    The price is right from Sweetwater company also. Great Job Guys .
    Your the best. Thanks
    Barb from Forest Grove ,Oregon.

  • Scott Nicol
    from Pleasant Grove, Utah March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar for great price

    Just got my DR-100 today, feels good and plays good, and sounds good. No complaints, I have a good home and camping guitar in one.

  • Customer
    from Pennsylvania September 9, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    EPI name but Gibson Quality

    This guitar sounds sweet even before you put new strings on it. This is a quality instrument, I am proud to own. The projection and resonance are amazing, and the workmanship is flawless. What a pleasant surprise.

  • Dennis Hodo
    from April 24, 2015

    Epiphone DR-100

    Really great guitar and unbelievable price.

  • Tony
    from On the water March 17, 2015

    Nice guitar

    Bought my DR100 8 months ago. When I got it the action was too high. I lowered the action and changed out the plastic nut and saddle for Tusq and am now thrilled with the sound and playability of this guitar. It has become my favorite guitar to gig with and I take it to work daily just to play it when I have a spare moment.

  • Tim Coats
    from Ft Wayne, IN USA February 21, 2015

    Great Guitar For the Price but...

    This guitar sounds amazing. It plays very well also. Though, I have encountered a couple of problems that are common with cheaper instruments. First, rough fret edges, not a huge deal and that can kind of be expected on a 100 dollar. Second, the neck around the area where the neck meets the body bows slightly and sometimes you'll get the 14th fret note while playing the 13th fret on the high E. It's not a huge deal, especially because it's only one fret on one string but having to put a shim under the bridge to avoid that problem raises the action even higher when it already is quite high. I've had this guitar for a year now and as I said previously, it sounds amazing for the money. I bought this guitar mainly as a beater to take away to school with me, but I have done some recording with it. It sounds that good.

  • William
    from Detroit, MI May 15, 2014Music Background:
    Playing musician

    I liked the first one so much, I bought a second

    Seriously, for the price you just cannot go wrong. I originally bought the Epihone DR-100 to teach my daughter to play guitar, but didn't want her practicing on my Martin or Takamine. Also, I wanted to limit my investment on the chance she wouldn't stick with it. Well she loves it and so do I, so much I bought a second one for me to used as a "stand around" guitar, to take on trips, etc. The quality, finish, sound and playability are ridiculously good for a guitar priced this low.

  • Hank
    from August 6, 2012

    Excellant for the price

    It is a pretty nice guitar for what I payed, Sturdy, Nice look. Was very surprised at the sound after i put the strings I wanted on it. Great starter Instrument for anyone, and for those on a budget this is agood one to buy..

  • David
    from Alabama January 17, 2017Music Background:
    Just play for fun and get togethers

    Christmas Gift for a Friend

    I bought this for a friend on Christmas. I contacted him and he said it is a real good guitar. The action and tone are really good.

    I am planning to buy this as a second guitar for myself.

  • Bruce Maass
    from Rocky Mount, Virginia July 13, 2016Music Background:
    amateur guitar player/vocalist

    Surprising

    Ordered this for a "signature guitar" to keep at The Harvester Performance Center in Rocky Mount Virginia where I work. Plan to have artists (especially guitar players and guitar playing vocalists) sign it. Very pleased to learn how well it played for a budget guitar. I have other Epiphones and should have anticipated good value for a dollar spent.

  • Tom
    from Washington, DC March 4, 2016Music Background:
    High intermediate-low advanced couch picker

    Great Beach Guitar

    I needed something cheap that I could take to the beach that could handle rough travel, sand, bumpy roads and humidity, lots of humidity. Based on the reviews, I bought this Epiphone. Happily surprised that it does exactly what I wanted at such a low price point. Great sound, comfortable neck, holds its tuning. It did need a complete set up, but even my luthier was surprised at how nice this guitar sounded when he finished. After almost three months exposed to daily 85-90 degrees and 60-90 percent humidity, I recommend without reservation. Money well spent for excellent travel guitar, or entry level acoustic.

  • T Turner
    from N E Florida, USA April 16, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Epi DR-100

    this is a nice guitar for a $100. It plays a little rough but a set of Elixer strings will do wonders for that. The frets are rough but like I said it's a $100 guitar. It is okay for what I bought it for, a haul around instrument for places you wouldn't want your Taylor, Martin, or Gibson to go.

  • Gil Mosko
    from Pueblo, CO April 21, 2016

    I should have waited before reviewing!

    Sadly, after about 4-months, the neck on this guitar has warped horribly! Excuse me, but it was not in the sales agreement that I had to store my instrument in a specially climate-controlled space! Being in Colorado, the wood just dried out, and went flooey. I hope my sales "engineer" will help me with this problem. Did you know there is NO WAY to access any truss rod for adjustment? Very sad.

Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway